Newspaper Clippings

DatePaperSubjectComments or Copy
1900-02-07ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, February 7, 1900.  Reclamation Scheme  — Although his option on the James Bay mud flats, granted by last year’s counsel has expired, Mr. Henry Croft has by no means dropped from the scheme. He recently had a letter from the agents in London, who are place that before the British capitalists, stating that there was some difficulty in floating companies at present on account of the war, but they were hopeful of success. Mr. Croft believes the option will be renewed if he succeeds in forming a company.
1900-06-14ColonistSwimming in the Gorge British Daily Colonist, July 14, 1900, p 3.   SWIMMING SPORTS Opening Day. Mr. St. Clair’s generosity to the Orphanage.  The new swimming baths at the foot of Pleasant Street, Point Ellice, will be formally opened today, Saturday, at three o’clock p.m. by his Worship the Mayor. Mr. St. Clair, the instructor and manager, has arranged for an exhibition of swimming, diving and aquatic sports for the entertainment of visitors , and has generously donated the entire proceeds of the opening day for the behalf of the orphanage.
1900-07-07ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, July 7, 1900.  A Letter to the Editor  Attract Visitors.  “Victoria, BC, the Pleasure and Health Resort of the Pacific Northwest. Charming scenery, splendid boating, delightful drives, magnificent winter gardens, seawater swimming baths and public parks.”  Sir;  This is a description of Victoria it should be in all English, Canadian, American, in fact, all national guidebooks. This is the description that should be in all railway in steamboat companies’ guidebooks; and this description can be in all these guidebooks if the people of Victoria will say that it shall be there. It can be put there, and it can be inserted in all such books and other tourist literature and in almost every newspaper in almost every city in Canada and the United States of America free from all charge to this city just as soon as the people of this city wish it. But it will be necessary for our citizens to see to it that this description shall be a true one in every particular.  To make such a description true it will be necessary for the present and the future city Council to follow a “health and pleasure resort policy” that is, to recognize that one of the best assets, if not the best asset the city possesses is its natural beauty and its fitness for a health and pleasure resort, and to realize that it may be necessary to carry out certain improvements with the object of demonstrating to the outside world that we are alive to our advantages in this regard and that we are going to supplement them in so far as may be practical.  The first improvement along this line, and one which would be of most vital importance to the city as a whole, is a carrying out as a municipal work of what is known as the Croft scheme, or something along the same lines.  The object I have in writing this letter is at our counsel should be urged by the citizens to carry out some such scheme as a municipal work without delay. I shall not go into details as to what this public improvement should consist, but in general terms say that it should comprise a permanent roadway from Government Street to Belleville Street, and Birdcage Walk in a straight line with the post office; that on the side nearest the water there should be a 4 foot Causeway, and a 6 foot Boulevard, and then another 4 foot Causeway, and a drive or roadway of the same with as the present roadway, and on the other side of this roadway a 6 foot Causeway; abutting on this Causeway should be erected 20 stores of 25 feet in width, leaving in the center a 40 foot entrance to the pleasure grounds which should be formed by filling in that part of James Bay. In the center of these grounds should be erected the winter gardens and, if feasible, seawater swimming baths.  The foregoing was, I believe, largely when Mr. Croft proposed to do, and all he asked from the city was that he be given the land rent free for a term of 50 years. And should he have been successful in forming his company, this should be ample consideration. The citizens of approved of this arrangement. Now I suggest that the city Council carry out the scheme in the event of Mr. Croft not doing so, and keep the ground rents for the city, and there’s little doubt but that they will in a very few years almost double the amount necessary to pay the interest on the loan. For the sake of argument, suppose the whole scheme cost $3 million; this, at 3 1/2%, would mean $10,500 per annum for interest. Against this lacy income from 20 stores at, say $30 per month for the 1st 3 years and you have over one half the total charge for interest, whilst the city has several acres of pleasure grounds with costly buildings that surely ought to bring in a large portion if not the whole of the remainder.  What would be the benefit of such an improvement to the city?  1. It would provide us, probably free of cost, with a permanent roadway to James Bay and the government buildings, which must in any event be forthcoming (or a new bridge) in a short time. 2. It, together with the government buildings, would be one of the most beautiful portions of the city, and be unequaled by any portion of any city in Canada. 3. It would have a tendency to raise the value of every residential lot in the James Bay District, by doing away with a objectionable bridge and to make Government Street property more valuable also. 4 the pleasure grounds however, would be the greatest benefit to the city. There is not a city in England, United States or in any other part of Canada situated on the sea that has such beautiful surroundings and such a suitable climate for health and pleasure resort as has Victoria. Hundreds of visitors have spoken enthusiastically of our natural advantages and have said that if it were known that we had provided amusements and entertainment for visitors, we should have thousands of visitors for one, to in 3 months all the summer, and a great part of the winter as well. I don’t several cities in England that could not compare with Victoria, and that 50 years ago had not over 1000 inhabitants which have now from 20,000 to 75,000 people; and the city’s older prosperity to the fact that they provided attractions and entertainment for their visitors. Take Blackpool and Southport; both the city’s older popularity and their largely increased population to the establishment of winter gardens and such places of entertainment, and it must not be forgotten that they have to compete with other cities that are following a similar policy, while Victoria as practically no competition.  There are many enterprising public caterers who would be only too glad to lease such grounds from the city and provide such attractions as would speedily commence to draw visitors from all parts of the United States and Canada. These visitors might in some cases for a day, a week, a month or more, and many of them would become permanent residents. During the summer months Spencers, Weller’s, Hutchinson’s,Sehl’s and all our stores due almost doubled their present local business if Victoria became the acknowledged pleasure resort of the Northwest, while almost every class of house would rent either for a boarding or lodging house, if for nothing else. All hotels would be filled, and I know that the auctioneers would have a larger and more profitable business.  5. The railways, steamboats and tramways would all benefit through increased travel. 6. Victoria would be able, every year, to look for a class of trade that would be a certainty, no matter how business might be affected through other circumstances and a class of trade that is always remunerative. 7. Victoria’s importance as a commercial and mining center would be advertised more by these visitors coming amongst this than by anything else. 8. Victoria would be advertised by all the railway in steamboat companies, without any cost to the city, as she has never yet been advertised. Why, sir, some of the pleasure resorts in England have between one and 2 million visitors annually, and it does not cost the city’s a dollar. The lessees of the various public parks, pleasure grounds, winter gardens, etc., notify the railway companies that they will have some special attraction on certain days and the railway people organize excursions and issue cheap weekend and monthly tickets and advertise them. When any church, society or other public body in any nearby city desires and outing they organize an excursion to the city where they know they will find some amusements as well as attractions, and here’s some good music. All these instances can be made to apply to Victoria.  We often hear from many sides the question: What is the future of Victoria? They never should have been a question about that. Where the Victoria is, or is not suitable for a commercial center or a railway terminal city, she is eminently well-suited to become the foremost pleasure resort in the Pacific Northwest, and, like Southport in England, one class of visitors and summer and another in winter; in summer from the South and East, and in the winter from the North and Kootenay, and also from the Sound and East.  It is very gratifying to know that our city councils have been for a few years past, more progressive, and that we have a progressive Council at the present time, one which I firmly believe wishes to see the city go ahead and which will do all it can to make it do so. I therefore suggested this matter the place before them in a proper way and that no stone be left unturned until a broad and progressive pleasure resort policy be inaugurated, and that the public improvement known as the crop scheme be the 1st step in that direction.  In the past 10 days I have mentioned this matter to many leading businessmen, large property owners, and workingmen, and all have requested me to publish this letter and to endeavor to bring the matter before the public. I am painfully aware of the fact that this is a very poor exposition of the views I wish the public to grasp on the question and feel that no good result will be achieved if the matter be allowed to end here. Therefore, in order that the matter may be thoroughly discussed, that if it be deemed advisable by the citizens generally that the Council should take some action in the matter, a largely line requisition should be presented to the Mayor, asking him to call a public meeting for an early date. There never was the slightest reason why business in Victoria should be quiet in the summer, it should be by a long way are very busiest season, and it rests with the citizens themselves to see that it shall be.  HERBERT CUTHBERT, Victoria, July 6.
1900-07-11ColonistGold RushDaily Colonist, July 11, 1900.  A Monster of a Gold brick Cariboo Sends One worth Hundred and Thirty-Five Thousand Dollars. Ashcroft, July 10 — Parker’s Cariboo stage line brought down to-day what is said to be the largest gold brick which has ever been made. It is the first clean-up of the season from the Consolidated Cariboo Mines, J.B. Hobson, manager, at Quenelle Forks, and more commonly known as the Cariboo mine. The brick is worth just $135,000. It is the result of 35 days’ work. The outlook for another big brick the coming fall is of the best, and the net result of the season’s work should not be less than $325,000,
1900-07-14ColonistSwimming in the Gorge British Daily Colonist, July 14, 1900, p 3.   SWIMMING SPORTS Opening Day. Mr. St. Clair’s generosity to the Orphanage.  The new swimming baths at the foot of Pleasant Street, Point Ellice, will be formally opened today, Saturday, at three o’clock p.m. by his Worship the Mayor. Mr. St. Clair, the instructor and manager, has arranged for an exhibition of swimming, diving and aquatic sports for the entertainment of visitors , and has generously donated the entire proceeds of the opening day for the behalf of the orphanage.
1900-09-03ColonistSwimming in the GorgeBritish Daily Colonist, Sept. 3, 1900, p 2.  Swimming Races  The swimming championship of the High school will be held to-day at the Pleasant street swimming baths. Good form and distance will be considered more than speed. The girls will have the baths in the forenoon and the boys in the afternoon.
1900-11-18ColonistRunaways elopingDaily Colonist November 18, 1900  Elopers Married  –  John Hurlbert and Ethel Gray, who eloped from this city to Seattle, as told in the Colonist yesterday, managed to secure a license in the Sound city, and are now man and wife. They reached Seattle from Victoria on Thursday evening, and were taken into custody on the strength of a description telegraphed by the Victoria authorities. Miss Gray was then given over to the care of the police matron, and Hurlbert allowed to go free on Friday morning. Hurlbert went to the police and convinced them that Miss Gray was over 18 years of age, and they, being therefore unable to prevent her marrying whom she pleased, released her. Hurlbert then secured a license  and Mr. and Mrs. Hurlbert are spending their honeymoon in Seattle.
1900-12-04ColonistBastion Square Ian SunderlandDaily Colonist, December 4, 1900.  STILL ANOTHER BIG BLOCK.  Handsome Structure to Be Erected at Corner of Bastion and Langley.  Should building operations in Victoria continue during the coming year as they have in the past 12 months, and there is every prospect of them doing so, this city of many attractions will soon be as famous for her handsome blocks as she now is for her beautiful residences, pretty surroundings and solid financial firms. Many buildings are in contemplation for next year, and, as is possible in this favoured spot, builders do not have to wait for spring to commence for there is little delay caused from bad weather in winter.  One of the first large buildings to be commenced in the new year will be a handsome three-story, pressed the brick and terra-cotta block, to be erected on the vacant lot at the corner of Langley and Bastion Streets, by a Vancouver gentleman, represented here by the British Columbia Land and Investment Agency. Mr. F. M. Rattenbury, the architect, is calling for tenders for this building, which will be especially adapted for lawyers’ offices. It will be heated by hot water, and there will also be open fireplaces in each office. Six vaults and other modern conveniences will make this the most up-to-date office building in the city. The offices will be arranged to suit the requirements of tenants. The building will be substantially erected, cover a full -sized lot and be first-class in every respect.  There has been a great improvement in the class of buildings erected in Victoria during the year, the Hepburn and Earl blocks, on Yates Street: the Vernon block, on Government Street, now occupied, and the Porter and Todd blocks, in course of construction on Douglas Street, being as substantial as any on the Coast.
1900-12-08ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, December 8, 1900.  Proposed Improvements  There are 2 important notices of motions on the bulletin board at the City Hall, both aiming at much-needed improvements. They will be moved at Monday evening’s meeting of the Council.  The second, signed by the Mayor, follows:  “I hereby give notice, that at the next meeting of the city Council I shall recommend to the Council the following resolution, viz: That a special committee be appointed to consider and report upon plans and estimates, submitted here with, for the reclamation and utilization of the James Bay tidal flats, and for the construction of a stone retaining wall with steps and landing and permanent roadway on or near the site of the present James Bay bridge.
1900-12-09ColonistJames Bay Causeway Daily Colonist, December 9, 1900.  TO IMPROVE JAMES BAY FLATS.  On learning that His Worship Mayor Hayward had posted a notice to the effect that he would bring up, on Monday, at the City Council, the question of a permanent roadway across James Bay and the reclamation of the tidal lands, the Colonist waited upon him and obtained a copy of the plans of the proposed structure, which are reproduced in today’s paper. They are well worth examination and will show that the plan which His Worship has in mind is one that will meet a long felt want. It contemplates that there shall be an end to bridge building and repairing across James Bay, and that the unsightly mud flats shall be replaced by a series of town lots, raised to the level of the present bridge. It also contemplates that Douglas Street shall be extended to Belleville Street, although the 100 feet width will not be maintained, the idea being that the street across the reclaimed land shall be only 60 feet wide. It is proposed to run to streets from the site of the present bridge eastward. One of them will extend to the extension of Douglas Street and the other nearly to the rear of the property occupied by the Reformed Episcopal Church, where a short Street will be extended at right angles to Belleville Street. Land reclaimed will be divided up into 61 lots. The tide flat will be filled in by a pumping dredge, which will take up the sediment in the bottom of the harbor and deposit it behind the retaining wall. This method of reclaiming land has been tried in many places along this Coast, and always with very great success. The pumps carry up the sediment, mixed with a great quantity of water, and the latter drains off, leaving a solid foundation. In Seattle, Tacoma and Olympia, where similar work has been done, the soil thus made has been unusually solid and is capable of carrying any kind of structure. The work can also be done more quickly by this process than in any other way. Great benefit would also accrue to the harbor. The pumping dredge’s can convey the sediment for practically any desired distance, the only necessary cost being in the length of pipe required. His Worship said that he had given the subject his best consideration and had called in to his assistance, in securing data to be submitted to the citizens, the City Assessor and the City Engineer, as well as some private gentleman. They were all agreed upon the feasibility of the plan and as to its profitableness to the city. The letter of the City Engineer very fully describes the contemplated work. TO HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR, VICTORIA BC; Dear Sir: – in accordance with your instructions, I have prepared plans, sections and elevations of a permanent roadway and retaining wall across James Bay, from Government Street to Birdcage Walk with the view to reclaiming the entire flats; together with an estimate of the probable cost of same. The following being a short description of the work contemplated. It is proposed to continue the present lines of Government Street across James Bay to Birdcage Walk and fill in the mud flats with rock and ballast to the present level of said streets, and by confining such filling in position by a substantial retaining wall. The inner line or parapet of this wall will take up the present West line of Government Street and the wall will be brought up from a solid foundation with concrete, etc., to about 3 feet above ordinary high water level: from this point to the coping of parapet wall which will be 3 feet above the roadway level. The wall will be built of solid base very in rock face ashlar, the natural dead appearance of same relieved by balconies at each 100 feet in length of wall, projecting from the face of same, therefore forming recesses of 3 feet from inner line of parapet. In these recesses seats will be fitted up. Electric lights will be placed at each angle of balconies. The stone stairways, 19 wide, with iron newels and railings, are provided at the Government Street and Birdcage Walk ends of wall for easy access to the waterfront, the spandrels of said stairways forming solid abutments to the wall at either end. Platforms 100 feet long by 16 feet wide extend from the lower landings of these standards, said platforms will terminate in stairways to ordinary low water level, so that easy access can be had from the waterfront of wall to the higher levels at all states of the tide. With reference to the filling up of the flats, I would respectfully suggest that the Dominion government be asked, when dredging operations are begun in the harbor, to have the material placed at the disposal of the city for reclamation purposes, thereby reducing the cost of construction of the whole undertaking considerably. In conclusion, I may say I have gone carefully into this matter and of the opinion that the whole improvement herein mentioned can be successfully carried out for the sum of $100,000., And probably considerably less, under certain favorable circumstances. Trusting the above will be of some value, I have the honor to be, your obedient servant, C.H. Topp, City Engineer. Several estimates were made of the probable value of the property to be reclaimed, but he would only cite that given by the City Assessor, as this could be regarded as expert opinion. Mr. Northcott was very conservative in all his estimates, and the people will accept his view as well within the mark. That gentleman wrote as follows VICTORIA, BC. DECEMBER 8, 1900 TO HIS WORSHIP THE MAYOR; Dear Sir; – I have the pleasure of handing you, as desired, detailed statement of the valuation of lots in the James Bay Flats when filled in and leveled. The total valuation amounts to $96,625. The value of same to rent or lease for, say 36 years, is $5315 per annum. The land being free from taxation Wm.W. Northcott. In making this estimate, Mr. Northcott explained that he had given what he considered would be the cash price receivable from the sale of the lots at the present time. He made no allowance for any increase in value due to the growth of the city. What this increase will be is necessarily a matter of opinion, but the Mayor felt it would be very considerable, especially for property so desirably situated as this would be. He felt quite safe and adding to Mr. Northcott’s estimate a sufficient sum to increase it to $100,000 for the purposes of the consideration of the case as it presented itself at present, and to put the probable rental value of the property for 36 years at $6000 per annum. If this is correct, the city would be able, out of the rental of the property, to realize the interest and sinking fund upon the whole cost of the undertaking, so that it would cost the ratepayers nothing at all. It is not very easy to calculate just what the expense of maintaining a bridge over James Bay would be, but allowing for renewals, the cost of a wooden bridge for the period of 36 years would doubtless average $2000 a year, which would be saved to the ratepayers. This of itself would in time pay off the principal invested in the work, if it were invested in a sinking fund. This was a most conservative view that could reasonably be taken of the case. He had had estimates made upon a basis of probable enhancement in the rental value of the land. He had taken periods of 5 years each, and estimating a moderate increase in the rental value, had found that at the expiration of 36 years, the revenue from the reclaimed land will have not only paid all interest, but will have wiped out the principal and the city meanwhile will be relieved from the cost of building two wood bridges and keeping them in repair. They still bridge on stone piers were put up, the cost would be nearly as great as the propose causeway and filling, and the steel bridges would entail more or less repairs constantly. The steel itself would have to be repeated occasionally and the roadway required to be repaired. In point of appearance, the propose causeway would be far ahead of any bridge. Forever, any kind of bridge would leave the tide flats on reclaimed, and he felt sure that the citizens were unanimous as to the necessity of the longer delay the important work of filling in this unsightly locality. The mayor said that he proposed to ask the $150,000 should be borrowed. The Engineer’s estimate was, that the work could be done for not to exceed $100,000, and probably for less; but there are some other things to be taken into consideration. To extend Douglas Street, it will be necessary to institute some condemnation proceedings, and there will be damages to pay. There may be some other claims to be met. He did not think the cost of these features of the project would be large. In fact, he regarded the margin of $50,000 as excessive, but it was desirable to provide for enough, so as to be able to meet any probable outlay without again coming before the ratepayers. It was not contemplated that a dollar more should be spent than is absolutely necessary.
1900-12-09ColonistPlan to fill James Bay outlined in detail CausewayDaily Colonist December 9, 1900. JAMES BAY BRIDGE.  We present a statement from Mayor Hayward in regard to the proposed James Bay Bridge and the filling in of the tide flats. That something must be done in this regard is evident both to the sense of sight and of smell. The present bridge must very shortly be replaced, and something must be done to clean up that filthy hole at the Government Street end of the bridge. This will cost considerable money. It is probably a conservative estimate to say that, taking one year with another for a period of 40 years, a wooden bridge will cost fully $2000 a year. Twice this sum would pay interest on a sum that would construct a causeway that would be permanent and fill in the tide flats, thus giving the city a fine revenue-paying piece of property. It will be seen from Mr. Northcott’s estimate of the present value of the flat, that once filled in, that the value of the land will equal the cost estimated by the City Engineer of the whole work. In other words, the whole causeway and filled area only cost what the filled area would be worth at present cash value. As by such work the city would save the $2000 a year, which the bridges are estimated to cost, taking into account renewals and repairs, the city would be a gainer to the amount of $2000 a year by the transaction, if this were all there is involved in the project. There would, however, be some further expenses. It is proposed that Douglas Street shall be extended, and it will cost something to get the piece of land between Humboldt Street and the flats, necessary for this purpose. There may be some other charges to be met. The Mayor’s estimate allows $50,000 to cover these contingencies, but we think the amount is excessive. According to Mr. Northcott’s estimate, the reclaimed land could be sold for the cost of the whole work, which would square the transaction, and there is no doubt that the $2000 a year which would be saved by replacing a bridge by a permanent causeway, would more than meet any interest and sinking fund on the amount of the contingent expenditure.  But it is not necessary to sell the lots into which the reclaimed land will be cut up. They can be retained by the city and be leased upon favorable terms. Calculations made on the rental value of the lots with allowance for appreciation, show that after 36 years the property would be all paid for out of the rents, and the city would have a clear income from the improvements, but we shall not go into this phase of the case. It seems sufficient to be able to claim with good reason that the proposed improvement, will not, in point of fact, cost the city a dollar.  Mayor Hayward deserves much credit for the care he has taken in preparing for the consideration of the citizens so easy a solution of what looked like a formidable proposition. We think he will have all the Alderman with him, and if so, and no difficulties are suggested that cannot be got over readily, it is worthwhile for the citizens to consider it would not be a wise act to send back to the City Council the Mayor and the whole Aldermanic Board, with instructions to carry out this very attractive proposal, and continue Street improvement in the business section along the same lines as have been followed during the past 2 years, but on a larger scale.
1900-12-11ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, 11 December, 1900.  Notes from the Council Meeting of December 10, 1900.  A Letter; Victoria, December 10, 1900  His Worship the Mayor:  Dear Sir:  I beg to enclose a copy of the resolution passed by the special committee appointed by the citizens to take into consideration the improvements advocated in connection with the James Bay bridge and mud flats. I venture to enclose a resolution with the object of having it brought before the Council at the present time. In view of your proposals of on this matter, as I think it is due to the members of that committee that the result of their deliberations should be before the Council when this matter is considered. Of course, as a member of that committee, you are aware that several meetings were held at which this matter was discussed from almost every standpoint, and that the committee arrived at a decision favorable to the building of a permanent roadway and the filling in of the mud flats. In connection with this may I ask you, Mr. Mayor, to explain to the Council that this report was not submitted to a public meeting because of the very many matters of interest that were engaging public attention at the time the committee was ready to report, and not through the apathy of the committee. I may say that the committee in suggesting that the land reclaimed be laid out in pleasure grounds did so only as a temporary arrangement until the property could be leased to someone who would erect buildings there on an leased the property at a fair rental to the city, or until other profitable use could be made of the same. Several estimates of the value of the land were made by members of the committee and other gentleman well qualified to value the same, and none were less than $200,000.  It is to be hoped that the Council will see their way to have this very necessary improvement carried out, the matter what is afterwards done with the land, and that they will include in the same bylaw and appropriation sufficient to build a steel bridge at Point Ellice, so that with the paving of Government Street, the most pressing needs of the city will be met and the street where a way company will be able to complete their contemplated double tracking improvements. I may say that the enclosed resolution was passed anonymously by the members of the committee present and those who were not there assented thereto. I am quite sure that any or all of the members of that committee would be only too glad to cooperate with the members of the city Council in having these improvements carried out. Yours faithfully, Herbert Cuthbert, Sec. of the Citizens Committee.  Mayor Hayward, in Introducing is resolution, re-the reclamation of James Bay flats and the building of a permanent roadway over the bay (as published in the Colonist) explained that the proposal was not a new one, as a scheme with the same object in view had be considered as far back as 1874, since which several plans had been brought forward, but never carried further than the preliminary stage. He thought the present the most practical scheme that had been proposed, and that the time was right for definite action to be taken by the city area the estimated cost, $100,000, would easily be recouped to the city from the rent of the lands reclaimed, as many expert real estate men calculated the value of the land at a much higher some than the estimate in the report, and predicted that the entire cost would be returned to the city in a few years, with a valuable asset free from debt to the good.  Alderman Hall also favored the scheme.  Alderman Kinsman would like to see a good solid roadway over the bay, and hoped the proposal would be carried out.  Alderman Stewart endorsed the Mayor’s idea that the scheme be referred to the city engineer, and whom and his staff, it would be difficult to find a more competent lot of officials. (Here, Here).  Alderman deck with would like further information as to the basis upon which the revenue to be derived from the reclaimed lands was calculated. He also emphasized the necessity of dealing with Humboldt Street and getting rid of the unsightly shacks with which it is now encumbered.  Alderman Cameron would heartily support the scheme.  The motion was then put and carried unanimously.  His Worship added Alderman Yates to the committee.
1900-12-21ColonistLime kilns atkinsThe Daily British Colonist, December 21, 1900, page 6   Another New Industry,  Following close on the news that cement works are to be established at Sidney, comes news of the proposed building of lime kilns near Parsons bridge, by a recently formed company, consisting of Messrs. Price Bros., John Day and several others. An abundance of good material has been found there, and the promoters of the new enterprise expect to build up quite a large business.
1901-01-12ColonistCanadian Pacific terminalBritish Colonist, January 12, 1901. Page 1.  CPR Gets the CPN. Local Navigation Company Acquired by the Big Railway.  Which Has Purchased Shares Giving It Controlling Interest.  Improved Service Promised by Placing New Steamers in Commission.  Negotiations which have been proceeding for some time resulted yesterday in the acquirement by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company of a controlling interest in the Canadian Pacific Navigation Company. The final details of the big deal were arranged by Mr. C.C. Chipman, Commissioner of the Hudson’s Bay Company, who had been in the city on this important mission for the past few days.  Official information is to the effect that a greatly improved service will be inaugurated in the acquirement of fast up to date vessels to run between Victoria and Vancouver, and from British Columbia ports to Skagway. It is also mentioned that no bonus in consideration of such improved service will be asked for by the Railway Company.  Officials of the companies interested in the big deal, seen last evening by the Colonist, were disinclined to give out for publication this morning further information as to details of the arrangement which has been arrived at, or the plans for the future.  The announcement will be hailed with great satisfaction on all sides, it being particularly gratifying that an amiable arrangement of the pressing transportation difficulties with which the two companies interested had to contend, has been arrived at.  Permission is given to state that a large sum of money will be spent in improving the company’s equipment.
1901-01-13ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalCPR’s Big Purchase.  Messrs Rithet, Irving and Briggs Sell Their CPN Interests.  Nothing Known As to the Company’s Plans for the Future.  Brief History of Pioneer Transportation Business Now Changing Hands.  The announcement made by the Colonist that the CPR acquired a controlling interest in the CPN Co., naturally formed the one topic of conversation among all classes of citizens yesterday; anything affecting the status of so important a local enterprise being a subject of first importance.  The Colonist interviewed the gentlemen interested in the consummation of the deal, with the object of eliciting further information regarding details, but was informed that little further was to be said at the present time. It was learned, however, that the C.P.R. had secured most all of the shares in the C.P.N. Co. , including the large interests held by Capt John Irving, R.P. Rithet and T.L. Briggs, besides those of the Hudson’s Bay Company.  The price paid is not yet been divulged, but it is stated that the shareholders received 95 for their sharers, an advance of 45 cents over the price quoted a few weeks ago. The shares held by Thomas Earle, M.P., have not yet been acquired by the C.P.R., but it is said that these and all the shares will in a few days pass into the hands of the big company.  Those who are in a position to speak with knowledge on the subject expressed the opinion that it is premature to indulge in speculations regarding the plans of the C.P.R. Absolutely nothing is at present known beyond the bare fact that the C.P.R. has acquired a controlling interest in the C.P.N. Co., and that it is contemplated to improve the services between Victoria and Vancouver and to Northern British Columbia and Alaskan ports — in the latter connection placing the Canadian coast cities almost immediately on a basis of equality with the Sound cities in the matter of up-to-date transportation facilities.  Both Mr Thompson, managing director of the C.P.N. Co., and Mr. C.C. Chipman, commissioner of the Hudson’s Bay Company, consider that the consummation of the deal will prove to be beneficial, both to Victoria and Vancouver and the province in general, and the certainty which has said that these and all the shares immediately raise the standard of the steamship equipment of the C.P.N. Co Pub to that of its own great enterprises — first class in every particular. For that reason the gentleman mentioned think there is cause for rejoicing.  There was some fear manifested among those who discussed the news of the deal yesterday that Victoria might ultimately suffer by the CPR removing the CPN Co’s base in this city to Vancouver. As there is absolutely no information on that point available at present, time alone will tell if such be the intention. Those who follow a large business transactions pretty closely are of the opinion that Victorians will do well “not to import climb a hill before they come to it.”  The Canadian Pacific Navigation Company was formed here in 1883. It was the culmination of Capt John Irving’s efforts. Prior to that Capt John Irving had been running vessels on the Fraser, since at the age of 20 he took command of his father’s steamer Onward. In 1875 the late Commodore of the C.P.N. Co., who was one of the shareholders bought out by the C.P.N. Co., purchased the steamer Lillooet acquired a fleet consisting of the steamers Hope, Gelnora, and Royal City, as well as the Onward and Lillooet. In 1876 the Hudson’s Bay Company, other shareholders who was interest has been acquired by the CPR, enter into competition on the Victoria — New Westminster, route, and Capt Irving purchased the Wilson G Hunt and operated her on that route. His rival’s secured the Olympia, since re-christened the Princess Louise, and although a combination was soon formed which was maintained until the formation of the C.P.N. Co competition ran high. In 1880 the Cassiar was placed on the route and another contest was precipitated, which lasted until the vessel was lost in the following year. In the meantime the Western Slope was built by Capt W Moore, and he was running her through to Yale. Capt Irving had the Elizabeth Irving built to compete, but she was burned before earning a dollar. Capt Irving, rallying from his loss, then built the steamer R.P. Rithet, and soon after words bought the Western Slope at auction, on the failure of Capt Moore. In 1885 the People’s Navigation Company composed of Messer Turner and Finlayson, of Victoria, and some Nanaimo people, bought the steamer Amelia and put her on the Nanaimo route in opposition to the C.P.N. Co. A bitter war waged for a brief period, ending in the amalgamation of interests. When the C.P.R. was completed in 1886, ruining steamboating on the Fraser, the C.P.N. Co withdrew, and since that time it has confined its operations to the Vancouver, New Westminster, British Columbia ports, West Coast and Lynn canal routes.  When the articles of incorporation of the C.P.N. Co., were foiled on January 6, 1883, the company was capitalized for $500,000, divided into 5,000 shares. The incorporators were Capt. John Irving, R.P. Rithet, Capt. William Spring, P. McQuade, M.W.T. Drake, William Charles and Alex. Munro. Capt. Irving was manager and R.P. Rithet, Robert Dunsmuir and Alex. Munro, directors. The steamers taken over by the company were the R.P. Rithet, Princess Louise, William Irving, Western Slope, Enterprise, Reliance, Otter, Maude and Gertrude, of which but the first two and the Maude are still in operation. The Yosemite, which was purchased in San Francisco from the Central Pacific Railway Co., was added soon after the company was formed. The steamers now in possession of the company are the islander; Charmer, operating on the Vancouver run under Capt. Rudlin; Yosemite, Princess Louise, on the New Westminster route, under Capt. Sears; Danube, Amur and Tees, in the Lynn Canal trade, under Capt. Foote, Le Blane and Gosse; Willapa, in the British Columbia ports trade, under Capt. McCoskrie; Queen City, on the West Coast route, under Capt. Hughes; R.P. Rithet, Capt. Hickey; transfer, on the Fraser route; and the Otter and Maude, which carry coal and do general freighting.  The Vancouver-News advertiser, in its Saturday issue, under the caption, “An Important Transaction,” dealt editorially with the deal as follows:   “We publish elsewhere an authoritative announcement of a transaction, consummated yesterday in Victoria, which will have a most important and favourable influence on the commerce of the province, and particularly on the progress of Vancouver and Victoria.   “As will be seen, the Canadian Pacific Railway Company has acquired a controlling interest in the stock of the Canadian Pacific Navigation Company. The latter company’s steamship service will, as a matter of fact, become a part of that of the railway company. The importance of this to the commercial interests of the two principal Coast towns of British Columbia will be evident to everyone.   “ The arrangement implies of the cooperation of the great railway corporation in the efforts of our merchants to gain and hold the larger part of the Northern business. It has been alleged in the past that as the railway company did not own the steamers running between Vancouver and Victoria and Northern ports, it made no difference in its interests whether the freight it hauled across the continent was shipped off to the Yukon from a Puget Sound or British Columbia port. Now this will be changed. It will be the railway company’s interest to see that the Yukon business is directed as largely as possible into British Columbia channels, and it is difficult to over estimate the importance of this new factor in the competition for a trade which, now in its infancy, is destined to reach large proportions and contribute greatly tot he building up of the commerce of Vancouver and Victoria.  “Besides the important bearing which this acquisition by the railway company of he navigation company’s business will have on the Northern trade, it will undoubtedly result in a great improvement in the service between here and Victoria. It is well known that the railway authorities have frequently urged that a better service between here and Victoria should be inaugurated. Whilst the navigation company did not see its way clear to place the service on such a footing as the railway company desired, there can be little doubt that the latter will soon make great improvements in it. The railway company will regard the service across the Gulf as part of its through service from Montreal, and deal with it in a manner very different from that in which the navigation company was compelled to deal with it as a matter of business. There is no question that the change will benefit Victoria very greatly, as the better the service the larger will be the number of those who patronize it.  “This transaction would appear to solve the problem of better steamship connection with the North and in a manner which, without any cost to the taxpayers of Vancouver, will place our merchants and traders in a more favourable position for trade than is enjoyed by their rivals on Puget Sound.
1901-05-04ColonistCauseway James bayDaily Colonist, May 4, 1901.  From the Colonist accounts regarding the Provincial Legislature.  “James Bay Flats.  On motion of Hon. Mr. Eberts, the bill empowering the Lieutenant  Governor in Council to convey the James Bay Flats to the city of Victoria, was read a second time, considered in committee, and read a third time and passed.”
1901-06-01ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 1, 1901.  James Bay Flats.  The bylaw to provide for the reclamation of James Bay mud flats was read a second time, passed through committee and reported complete.  The bylaw empowers the city to borrow $150,000, repayment of which is to be spread over 50 years, debentures to bear interest at 4% per annum.  Council then adjourned.
1901-06-18ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 18, 1901.  The Bylaws.  There remains to be considered the James Bay Causeway and the filling of the tide flats. One gentleman said to the Colonist a day or two ago, but he was willing to have the Causeway built, but the flats would be filled up without expense, if we would only wait. He did not say how they would be filled, but if he proposes that the citizens shall wait until the dump now being made on the South side extends over the whole area, he expects them to exercise a great deal of patience. If we are to have a permanent Causeway across James Bay, the flats must be filled at the same time. If they are not filled they would become the worst pest whole in the country, and there would be an instant demand for the work being done. The James Bay bridge must be replaced at an early day, and by far the cheapest way to replace it is by means of a permanent Causeway, and the filling of the flats, for the latter will create a valuable property. How this reclaimed property shall be used must remain in abeyance for the present. It is sold, it will nearly, if not quite pay the whole cost. If it is retained by the city, it will be of great value for whatever purpose it may be employed. The flats must be filled. Even if you’re not proposed to make a Causeway but only a bridge, it is imperative or sanitary reasons that the flats shall be filled. The city is growing and conditions which were tolerable years ago, and when there were fewer industries here are intolerable now.  For designs see page 6.
1901-06-19ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 19, 1901.  The James Bay Project.  It was to be expected that some objection would be developed to the propose causeway and filling a James Bay. Yesterday the Colonist encounter two persons who declared that they would vote against the bylaw. One of them gave as his reason that it was not proposed to spend enough money, and the other that it was proposed to spend too much. The first mentioned thought that causeway which was not ornamental would be objectionable. He did not say what he wanted in the way of ornament, the doubtless he had some very good ideas on the point. We are inclined to think that the propose causeway will look very well indeed. Doubtless a far more imposing structure could be put up, but the City Council must consider the question of cost, for the ratepayers most certainly will, when their turn comes to deal with any project. Let us get a good, substantial causeway, and if the citizens think by-and-by that it needs ornamentation, they can both the money. For our own part, we are very much of the opinion that an ornamental causeway is beyond the present requirements of the city, and would entail needless expense. Then there may easily be a difference of opinion as to what would be proper ornamentation in such a place. We are quite certain that a solid wall, relieved by stone balconies and flanked by stone stairways, we look very well, much better, indeed, and a meager effort at putting up an ornamental structure.  Why anyone should consider the proposed expenditure to great must remain a mystery. If a permanent way can be built across the Bay and the tide flats be filled for the contemplated some, which is $120,000, the remainder of the amount asked been to cover certain contingencies, which may or may not arise, we do not see how anyone can say that the amount is too great, in view of the fact that a permanent bridge would surely cost something like $100,000. It must be remembered that the crossing of James Bay cannot be satisfactorily made by a bridge, unless it is very much wider than bridges in this part of the world usually are. Room for two tracks for tramways, a wide driveway and two sidewalks for pedestrians must be provided. The existing bridge is not nearly wide enough. It is  absurd to have in the very heart of the city a bridge over which horses can only be driven on a walk, and were three pedestrians cannot conveniently walk abreast. That such a bridge of the length of that across James Bay can be built for a smaller some then we have mentioned above is most unlikely.  Seeing that these things are so, and seeing also that a new bridge must be built at a very early day, what is the use of caviling over details? Suppose the opponents of the bylaw are successful and the project is defeated, what shall be done? Will the present bridge be allowed to remain where it is until it topples over into the bay, carrying with it, perhaps, many people and giving the city another disaster such as that at Point Ellice? We tell those people who are opposing the bylaw, and thereby causing no one knows how much delay in this very matter, that they are assuming an exceedingly grave responsibility. We believe that on consideration they will see the matter in this light and will give the project their support.
1901-06-21ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 21, 1901.  The Bylaws.  Let us look at the proposed bylaws from a practical point of view.  First: The James Bay project. Is it necessary? We think so, and for these reasons:  The existing bridge has already outlasted what all competent engineers say is its life as a structure subject to traffic which it has to carry.  The existing bridge is an adequate to existing traffic; because it cannot carry streetcars equal to public requirements in the small cars now used are not permitted to cross it fully loaded; because it is compulsory to watercourses across it, which means lots of time and inconvenience; because it cannot be double tracked for tramway purposes; because the accommodation for foot passengers is in adequate.  The existing bridge, having come to be in such a condition that no engineer will pronounce it safe for any length of time, the city will undoubtedly reliable in heavy damages if any accident should occur.  The present condition of the mud flats is a menace to the public health, and the condition is rapidly growing worse, and the provincial health authorities may at any time take steps to compel the city to remedy the evil.  The filling in of the tide flats will create a valuable piece of property, which will be owned by the city.  The existing bridge and the present condition of the mud flats are an eyesore to everyone and a discredit to the city.  The question has been before the public a great length of time, but while we have heard and read many statements in opposition to it, we have heard or read no reasons advanced against. A correspondent thinks that the reclaimed land will not be worth as much as the Mayor thinks. Suppose it will not be, that does not affect the necessity for a new means of crossing James Bay, and a causeway is far better than a bridge, and with a causeway there must be the filling of the flats. Even if it were decided to build a bridge, it would be necessary for sanitary reasons to do something with the flats. It is contended that the city cannot afford this work. This is an objection that is raised to every proposal of this nature. We think the facts show that the city cannot afford not to make this improvement.
1901-06-22ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 22, 1901. (Excerpts).  In Favor of Bylaws. A Public Meeting of Citizens Decides to Vote for Improvements. And at Local Firms Be Given Preference in Awarding Contracts.  The meeting of citizens held last night in the City Hall to discuss the merits of the bylaws, which are to be presented for ratification by the ratepayers on Monday next, was was rather slim lead attended, considering the importance of the occasion.  Mr. C. H. Lundgrin was next asked to address the meeting.  “The James Bay flats was another eyesore that should be not allowed to exist. The bridge at that point was not safe. What the strangers think when, in the heart of the city, they were asked to leave the streetcar and walk over a bridge? It was a disgrace as well as an injury to the city. Nowhere in Canada would such a disreputable structure be found on one of the principal streets. It was enough to destroy the reputation of Victoria as a place of residence. If it should go out as a news item that the bridges and Government Street were to remain in their present condition, the damage to the reputation of the city would be incalculable. Government Street was not good enough, as some people were asserting. It was not as good as many of the country roads. The days of macadam for the principal business treat of a city or pass, and the street in its present state was damaging to the merchants, injuring their goods with dust. The cost of repairing Government Street and James Bay bridge was almost enough to pay interest on the improvements, but it should not be a question of cost. It was not what the city could afford, but what it could not afford, that was, to defeat any of the bylaws.”  “The chairman presented figures showing estimated cost of Point Ellice bridge and they work at James Bay flats. The latter could be done easily for 100,000, but it was thought advisable to provide 50,000 for contingencies  expropriations, etc. The owner of one property assessed at $800 or $900 had asked $60,000. That would be a case for expropriation. Then there were certain shadowy sure rights that would have to be dealt with. He assured the meeting that the debentures would only be issued for the actual amounts required.”  “Mr. Jeeves said that the Dominion government had a suction dredge wood might be used to fill in the James Bay flats he was in favor of all the bylaws”
1901-06-23ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 23, 1901.  A Bylaw.  Relating to James Bay Mud Flats.  Whereas the present state and condition of the James Bay Mud Flats is so unsanitary as to constitute a nuisance dangerous to health and the continuance of said mud flats in their present state and condition constitutes a continuing and serious menace to the public health of the city;  And whereas the Council of the Corporation constitutes the Local Board of Health in and for the Municipality of the City of Victoria;  And whereas the Council of the Corporation of the City of Victoria have by resolution determined that the nuisance so existed shall be abated by the filling in of the said mud flats whereby permanent roads and highways may be constructed thereon:  And whereas the carrying out of the work mentioned will be $150,000 and it is desired by the Council of the Corporation to raise such some by way of loan upon the credit of the Corporation of the City of Victoria:  And whereas the whole ratable land and improvements or real property of the said Corporation of the City of Victoria according to the last revised Assessment Roll for the year 1901 was $14,003,985:  And whereas the total amount required to be raised annually by rate for paying the debt which will be created herein under and the interest there on an for creating an annual sinking fund for the pain off of the said debt within fifty years according to law is $7330.:  And whereas it will require an annual rate of 5/8 of a mill in the dollar for payment of debt and interest:  And whereas a petition under section 69 of the Municipal Clauses Act has been presented to the Municipal Council signed by the owners of more than one tenth in value of the real property in the City of Victoria as shown by the last revised Assessment Roll requesting the said counsel to introduce a bylaw with the objects here in appearing:  And whereas this bylaw may not be altered or repealed except with the consent of the Lieutenant-Governor in Council:  Therefore the Municipal Council of the Corporation of the City of Victoria enacts as follows:  One. It shall be lawful for the Mayor of the Corporation of the City of Victoria to borrow upon the credit of the said corporation by way of the debentures hereinafter mentioned from any person or persons or body or bodies corporate who may be willing to advance the same as a loan for a sum of money not exceeding in the whole the sum of $150,000 currency or sterling money at the rate of 4.8 6 2/3 dollars to the 1 pound sterling and to cause all such sums so raise or received to be paid into the hands of the Treasurer of the said corporation for the purposes and with the object here to before recited:  Two. It shall be lawful for the said Mayor to cause any number of debentures to be made, executed and issued for such sums as may be required, not exceeding, however, the sum of $150,000 either in currency or sterling money (at the rate aforesaid,) and all such debentures shall be sealed with the seal of the said corporation and signed by the Mayor thereof;  Three. The said debentures shall bear date the first day of August, 1901, and shall be made payable and fifty years from said date at such place either in Great Britain, the United States of America, or the Dominion of Canada, as may be designated thereon, and shall have attached to them coupons for the payment of interest and the signatures to the interest coupons may be either written, stamped, printed or lithographed.  Four. The said debentures shall bear interest at the rate of 4% per annum from the date thereof, which interest shall be payable half yearly at such place, either in Great Britain, the United States of America, or the domain of Canada, as may be expressed in the debenture and coupon.  Five. It shall be lawful for the said Mayor to cause the said debentures and the interest coupons, either or both, to be made payable at such place, either in Great Britain, United States of America, or in the Dominion of Canada, as may be desired.  Six. It shall be lawful for the Mayor of the said corporation to dispose of the said debentures at a rate below par and to authorize the Treasure to pay out of the sum so raised by the sale of the said debentures all expenses connected with the preparation and lithographing of the debentures and coupons, or any discount or commission or any other charges incidental to the sale of the said debentures.  Seven. If deemed advisable by the Mayor there shall in the said debentures be reserved to the Corporation the right upon any future consolidation of the debenture indebtedness of the city to substitute debentures of such consolidation secured upon the credit of the City generally. Such consolidated debentures shall contain the like covenants, conditions, and restrictions as are contained in debentures issued in pursuance of this bylaw, and in each debenture issued hereunder a clause condition for such substitution may be inserted.  Eight for the purpose of raising annually the required some for the payment of the interest on the said debentures during their currency there shall be raised annually the sum of $6000 and for the purpose of creating a sinking fund aforesaid for the payment off of the debt at maturity there shall be raised annually the sum of $1330.  Nine. For the purpose of the payment of the said sums in the next preceding paragraph mentioned, there shall be raised and levied in each year a rate of 5/8 of a mill in the dollar on all the ratable land and improvements in the City of Victoria during the continuance of the said debentures or any of them.  Ten. This bylaw shall, before the final passing thereof received the assent of the electors of the said Corporation in the manner provided for in the Municipal Clauses act, and shall take effect on the third day of July, 1901.  Eleven. This bylaw may be cited as the “James Bay Mud Flats Reclamation Bylaw, 1901.”  Passed the Municipal Council on the third day of June, 1901.  Take notice that the above is a true copy of the proposed bylaw upon which the vote of the Municipality will be taken at the Public Market Building, Cormorant Street, for the North, Central, and South Wards, on Monday, the 24th day of June instant, that the poll will be kept open between the hours of 8:00 AM and 4:00 PM, and that William Walter Northcott will be the Returning Officer to take the said vote.  Wellington J Dowler, CMC, City Clerk’s Office, 11 June 1901.
1901-06-25ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 25, 1901.  Progress Is the Decision. Property Owners Passed All the Bylaws with Large Majorities.  The property owners of Victoria were called upon yesterday to say whether the city was to go ahead and take its place among the other cities of the Pacific Northwest or fall behind in the race for supremacy. They decided that the city was to go ahead and this answer was given and no mistake about terms. All 4 loan bylaws were carried by large majorities……..  it is necessary for a loan bylaw to receive a 3/5 majority, and that all did so is shown by the following figures:  James Bay Flats        For  Against Central Ward      233  53 South Ward      337  55 North Ward      612  89        1182  197  Majority for……………………………………………… 985
1901-06-27ColonistCauseway James Bay Daily Colonist, June 27, 1901.  Now that the bylaws have passed and it is likely that the various works authorized will be preceded with at once, it would seem a good opportunity to carry out the intention of the people of Victoria to erect a lasting monument to Her Late Majesty, Queen Victoria. This can be accomplished in one of two ways, viz., a small park might be set apart on the reclaimed James Bay flats, about midway between Humboldt and Belleville Street, to be called “Victoria Place,” in which a statue of Her Majesty would be erected, or an arch might be built at the center of the permanent way surmounted by such a statue. Either of these plans could be carried out effectively and at little expense, for the city Council, having very wisely provided for contingencies in calculating the cost of the James Bay improvement, will have a surplus after filling them in, and this, if necessary, supplemented with private subscriptions, would provide a suitable memorial of our lamented sovereign.
1901-07-19ColonistSwimming on the Gorge British Daily Colonist, July 19, 1901, p 6.  Well Patronized.  Many Attendants and Learners at the Pleasant Street Swimming Baths.  When the Pleasant street swimming baths were opened last year, there was considerable doubt as to whether they would be patronized, but Mr. St. Clair was patient, and this year he is being liberally patronized by those anxious to take a dip and also learners. There is a jolly crowd at the baths every day now.
1901-07-19ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, July 19, 1901.  Government to Assist.  New Dredger to Be Used in Filling James Bay Mud Flats. Will Do More Work in 3 Months and Mud Lark in 2 Years.  The new suction dredge being constructed by the Dominion government at New Westminster is to be brought to Victoria and will be used for 3 months in pumping the mud from the bottom of Victoria Harbour and placing it on the James Bay mud flats, thus assisting greatly in the work of reclaiming those flats for which the citizens voted $150,000. It is expected that the action of the government in putting this new dredged to work here in place of the Mudlark, which loads the mud on scows, will effect is saving of between 30 and $40,000 to the city, as it would be necessary for the city to engage a dredge of the same kind to do the work or let it out by contract at a cost of about $.18 a yard for 200,000 yards, the amount which City Engineer Topp estimated would be required to fill the flats. The following letter from the minister of public works to Sen. Templeman, who has been working in this direction for some time tells of the decision of the government:  Ottawa, July 11, Hon. Sen. Templeman, Victoria: My Dear Sen.  Your letter of June 20, read dredging the mud from Victoria Harbour and placing it on tidal flats, has come to hand.  After consultation with my officers, and especially with Mr. Roy, I have come to the conclusion that I could give you the use of the dredge for 3 months. If our expectations are realized she will do more work in those 3 months than the Mudlark could do in 2 years.  Hoping that my decision will be satisfactory to you and to the people of Victoria, I beg to remain, yours truly, J Israel Tarte. The dredge will be completed in August, and after some necessary work has been done on the Fraser, will be brought to Victoria.
1901-07-27ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, July 27, 1901.  James Bay Causeway.  Details in Connection with the Work Now under Consideration.  No time is being lost by the city Council in commencing work on the James Bay causeway. Yesterday a pile driver was moored to the bridge and was used in driving railway rails into the mud to determine what length the piles which are to form the foundation for the wall will have to be. In some cases the rails went down 30 feet through mud and Clay, so it will be seen that the engineers have no easy matter to provide a foundation for the wall.  The special committee of the Council appointed to deal with the tenders for stone for the wall that yesterday, but did not finally conclude their work, but on Tuesday evening there will be a meeting of the Council when the whole question of the causeway will be gone into and the details decided upon. There there is some difference of opinion among the aldermen as to the advisability of placing the wall on a pile foundation, but the engineers have no doubt of the ability of such a foundation to hold any weight placed upon it, for as pointed out many of the large buildings are built on such foundations. Another matter to be dealt with by the Council in connection with the causeway is the advisability of purchasing the lot at the corner of Wharf and Government streets just opposite the post office, so as to give the city more foreshore. By doing this the city would preserve an unobstructed view of the harbor and Parliament buildings from Government Street and would greatly improve the appearance of the vicinity.
1901-08-13ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, August 13, 1901.  The Business of the City. Engineer Order to Proceed with Pilings for James Bay Bridge.  Joseph E Phillips wrote as follows: To His Worship the Mayor and Board of Aldermen:  Gentleman: I understand that my tender for the James Bay Causeway stonework has been rejected. I desired state to your honorable board that my whole tender for the above work, all granite, was $380 less than the accepted bids, and think I was entitled to the whole contract. By separating the work the Board saved $1420. By giving Mr. Woods be cut stonework, which I’m sure any rate they are will agree with. But in regard to the rubble my tender being $1800 less for granite and Mr. John Haggerty for Koksilah sandstone, which was rejected from the Parliament Buildings as being unfit for use. Now, gentlemen, as a ratepayer, I think it would be to the best interest of the city to put in granite rubble, as it is well known fact that it is far superior to any stone for that kind of work. While some may be of the opinion that it cost more to build granite and sandstone, but in a wall of that dimension there is no difference and I hope your honorable body will give this communication due consideration. I remain Yours truly, Joseph E Phillips.  Alderman Cooley moved to the letter be received and filed, but Alderman Williams thought this was a somewhat peremptory way of dealing with the matter.  HIs Worship explained that this communication had been already dealt with by the bridge committee, and in filing the letter it was not dealing with it in an unseemly manner. Alderman kinsman thought that Mr. Phillips was entitled to the contract. The award had not been made to the lowest tenderer.  Alderman Cameron could not see how the Council could justify themselves to pay more for sandstone than for granite.  Alderman Beckwith, as one of the committee, said that in voting as he did, he had been very largely guided by what the engineer said. Mr. Phillips had sent in his tender as measurement in the wall, and the fact that he had sent in a note a few days after practically giving a new price should not be allowed to weigh in the matter.  Alderman Yates had gone to the meeting entirely unbiased, and after 3 hours they had arrived at their decision. A practical man had stated that the tender accepted was preferable to that of Mr. Phillips. He deemed that the Council would now get a cheaper stone in situ, under the present contract. The motion to file prevailed.   The bridges and streets committee adopted the following findings:  To His Worship the Mayor and Board of Aldermen:  Gentlemen, Your streets, bridges and sewers committee having considered the under mentioned subject, beg to recommend the following resolutions to the Council, viz., 1. Re steps and landing in connection with the proposed James Bay wall. Resolved that these be dispensed with for the present. 2. Re James Bay wall. Resolved at this wall be constructed with curves at each end at a radius of 80 feet, and that lot 1, block 70, Fort property, be expropriated. 3. Re driving piles in James Bay. Resolved that the city engineer be instructed to order the necessary piles, and to proceed with the work of driving them for foundation and other purposes, at once, and to proceed generally with the work required. 4. Re rock crusher. Resolved that a new rock crusher be ordered by the city engineer, as soon as the necessary appropriation thereafter has been made, the same crusher to be delivered at Victoria, duty paid. 5. Re cement. Resolved that the tender for cement of Messrs. R. P. Rithet and Company of 29 April 1901, be accepted. 6. Re steam drill, etc. Resolved that His Worship the Mayor, the purchasing agent and the city engineer be authorized to negotiate for the purchase of the necessary plant for the work connected with the permanent roadway across James Bay and Point Ellice bridge.
1901-09-05ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, September 5, 1901.  Notes As Reported from the City Council Meeting of September 4, 1901.  “The Bylaw to Expropriate Additional Land for the James Bay Causeway Was Given Its 3rd Reading and Passed.”  To His Worship the Mayor and Board of Aldermen of the City of Victoria: Gentleman: Your special committee appointed to interview Messrs. Pendray and Co., with reference to their claims for interference with their rights as riparian owners on James Bay, that to report as follows: Your committee met Messrs. Pendray and Monro, representing the BC Paint Works, and George Weiller, representing Weller Brothers, and had several interviews with them, and asked them to state what they regarded as the equivalent in value for each interference, and they have submitted the following proposition: Mrs. Pendray and Co., will take that strip of land fronting on a road to be proposed along it, plus the sum of $8000 cash. Messrs. Weiler Brothers will take a piece of land, and do not require a payment of any cash.  In view of the fact that the depth of lots 211 and 212, from Humboldt Street, is mentioned in the title deeds to the property, your committee is up opinion that it would be advisable in the interest of the city, to have the matter referred to the city solicitor and barrister, for their opinion as to what rights (if any) Messrs. Pendray and Co., and Weiler Brothers, have in the matter, and further, your committee would recommend that the work of filling in the said flats postponed until such rights are determined and (if they exist) settled for. All of which is respectfully submitted.
1901-09-12ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, September 12, 1901.  Work proceeding  Although there has been some delay in getting the necessary piles for the foundation of the main wall for the James Bay causeway, this is not put a stop to the work altogether. Yesterday workmen commenced to lay the drain which is to carry the water from the waterway which empties into the head of the bay and another party of men are at work on the cofferdam. This latter cannot be completed until all the piles are driven, but it will follow closely the pile work, so that soon after the piles are down the dam will be completed, and then the water can be pumped out and the foundation laid.
1901-09-24ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, September 24, 1901. From City Council meeting. Communications.  The following communications were received: From the secretary of the Department of Public Works, Ottawa enclosing a copy of order in council granting the city’s application for a strip of land on the west side of James Bay.  A. Munro, representing the estate of Alex Fraser, deceased, protesting against the expropriation of Lot 1, block 7, fronting on James Bay, at North end of bridge. Referred to city solicitor.  Drake, Jackson and Helmcken wrote to notify the Council that Mr.Cloutier, owner of lots 210 and 211, would claim damages for the loss of his “water rights” if the filling in of James Bay flats was preceded with. Referred to the city solicitor.
1901-10-08ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, October 8, 1901.  “At last night’s meeting of the city Council the Mayor and all the aldermen except, Alderman Brydon, were present. The business was confined almost entirely to regular routine work and the consideration of bylaws relating principally to the James Bay flats improvements.  Bylaws  The committee went into committee on the Douglas Street extension bylaw, which provides for the extension of the street from its present southern terminal to a new road to be formed around the northern shore line of James Bay flats, and for that purpose to expropriate the portions of Lot 71 and 215 for the purpose of such Street.  The bylaw was reported and passed through its final stage.
1901-10-25ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, October 25, 1901.  An Editorial Comment   – Mr. Justice Drake remarked yesterday that the James Bay tide flats were not a nuisance except to a person with a delicate nose. A delicate nose, indeed! A man would need a cast-iron nose, and have been vitrified inside at that, to stand the stench that rises at a certain stage of the tide. But Mr. Justice Drake lives in another direction, and the fact has not been brought to his judicial notice.
1901-11-09ColonistCauseway James Bay flatsDaily Colonist, November 9, 1901  James Bay Flats – The pumps which are to be used in emptying James Bay after the cofferdam has been closed are being put together on a scow, and it is expected that they will be started at the lowest tide on Tuesday. Everything is now in readiness, and all that Engineer Topp is waiting for is the lowest tide. The pumps are immense ones, and the bay should be dry in a very short time. Then the work of erecting the wall will be rushed. First the piles will have to be sawed off, and then the spaces in between them filled with rock, and the whole covered with a layer of cement. The broken stone for filling purposes is being obtained in the park.
1901-11-28ColonistBridges in VictoriaDaily Colonist, November 28, 1901.  LETTERS TO THE EDITOR.  POINT ELLICE BRIDGE.  Sir:  It being an absolute necessity that a bridge must be built at Point Ellice, the most important problem in connection with the matter is that this bridge shall be in all ways be an improvement to the city, and be built in such a manner as to be the most advantageous to the citizens of the city. At the present time it is apparent that we are unable to construct a steel structure ourselves not having the plant, and in any case we should have to buy the steel. Fortunately there is no reason why our choice should be limited to a steel structure so far as the city is concerned, there seems little question that a stone bridge is what should be built in this instance. The spans at Point Ellice are not or need not be great. We have every particle of the material here except the cement alone, a comparatively small item. We have also the labour to erect it. We have not the steel or the machinery necessary so as to be able to erect a steel structure. Now, surely we are not so busy here that we can afford to remain idle and employ the citizens of another country to do the work for us that we can do ourselves. I have not gone into the question as to the cost of a stone bridge, but putting it at the extreme outside figure, supposing it did cost $200,000, almost every cent of this would be paid out amongst ourselves, and we should have a magnificent bridge, a beautiful and attractive feature at the entrance to our principal pleasure resort, and we should all be busy. On the other hand, we remain idle; we have an ugly, unattractive, and by no means as durable a structure, and we sent over to Seattle a check for $90,000 or thereabouts.  FM Rattenbury.
1901-12-22ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, December 22, 1901.  Reclamation Works. – City Engineer Topp is making good progress with the work of reclaiming the James Bay flats. The layer of large broken rock between the piles, has been put in, and now the workmen of putting down a layer of broken rock, mixed with beach gravel and cement. There will be about 6 feet of this, which will become as hard as rock. When weather is considered favorable for this kind of work is a concrete sets better, but it is feared that if the present heavy rain continues the work may be delayed by the surface water, the drains to carry it off not yet being complete.
1901-12-29ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, December 29, 1901.  NOTICE  James Bay Bridge is closed to vehicular traffic until foundation of wall is completed.  By order, C. H. Topp, City Engineer.
1902-02-19ColonistChinatown VictoriaDaily Colonist, February 19, 1902.  The Terminal  The stentorian puff! puff!! of the diminutive locomotive of the Terminal Railway Company now resounds almost within the perlieus of Chinatown. The engine and cars now come as far down Fisguard as Douglas, and the unexpected sound in such locality forcibly reminds the hearer that this is a railroad age.
1902-02-19ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, February 19, 1902.  Water Too High.  – Work on the James Bay retaining wall has been delayed for a couple of days on account of the high water in the Bay, the heavy rains having raise water to a considerable extent. Some of it was let out yesterday, but still the concrete foundation for the wall at the north end of the Bay is underwater.
1902-03-02ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, March 2, 1902.  No Stone. The delay in proceeding with the James Bay Causeway retaining wall is due to the fact that for two weeks past no stone has been delivered from the Nelson Island quarries. The stone scow left for the island sometime ago, but has not yet returned, and there is no means of communicating with the quarries to find out what is causing the delay.
1902-03-06ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, March 6, 1902.  Stone Arrives. Work was resumed on the James Bay Causeway wall yesterday, a fresh supply of granite having arrived from the quarry. It is expected that the work will now be proceeded with without interruption.
1902-03-16ColonistCraigflower etcDaily Colonist, March 16, 1902.  LETTERS TO THE EDITOR.   Census of Vancouver Island Colony, A.D. 1855. Sir,  Rummaging amongst some dust-laden books a few days ago, “The Written Census Returns of Vancouver Island Colony, 1855,” came into view. At this time the V.I. Colony had of course nothing to do with the Mainland, now called British Columbia. The census of course includes the employees, buildings and farmers of the Hudson’s Bay and Puget Sound companies. This probably was the first census taken of the colony.  Be this as it may, the census places the number of the entire population (excluding Indians), at 774 men, women and children, of whom only 36 were above forty years of age, and 147 males and 139 females under fifteen years of age.  Victoria town is credited with a population of 232 bodies, of whom 80 are below fifteen years of age; 79 houses, outhouses 21, and stores 12; one church. Nanaimo had 151 souls. Constance, over Skinner’s farm, 34; Maple point (McKenzie’s farm) 76; Burnside 26; upland’s (H.B. Co,’s farm) 15; Esquimalt town, 20; Fort Rupert, 12; San Juan, 29, now American territory. The remainder scattered on various mentioned farms.  There were thirty-seven farms, valued at £56,530, 1418 acres under cultivation, producing 1715 bushels of wheat, 1730 bushels of oats; 1567 bushels of peas; 381 bushels of barley; 6125 bushels of potatoes; 2000 bushels of turnips; cheese, 690 lbs.; butter, 4394 lbs.; wool, 900 lbs.; horses, 284; cows, 240; oxen, 216; cattle, 560; sheep, 6214; swine, 1010.  There were three schools, Victoria School had 26 pupils; Maple Point, opposite Craigflower, 26; Nanaimo, 29. Education probably free; the teachers paid out of colonial funds.  Taking the whole colony of Vancouver Island, there existed 243 dwelling houses, 39 stores, 144 outhouses, 3 flour mills, sawmills, 6 waterpower and one of steam at the Lagoon, near Esquimalt. Bricks were made by machinery at Craigflower, and lime burned at Colwood; coal at Nanaimo.  There are some other items in this census of no present consequence. All this was suddenly changed during the 1858  1859 by the Fraser River gold excitement.  It must be borne in mind that the colonization of Vancouver Island really commenced in 1850, when the Norman Morrison arrived with eighty immigrants under the agreement with the Hudson Bay Company.  The Tory followed with those for the Puget Sound and other companies. Some of these are still living in Vancouver Island, and confess it to have been a happy day when they choose Vancouver Island for their future home. The Muirs, now of Sooke, at arrived previously but had gone to open coal mines at Fort Rupert. In the census Colquitz is spelt Coulcouts, and in a vocabulary found enclosed in the same book, “Cowichin” is spelt “Kawaitchin.” J.S. HELMCKEN.
1902-05-04ColonistPowder DynamiteGiant Powder Company Consolidated, Cadboro Bay – article and photos on page 11
1902-05-07ColonistBrickmakers brickDaily Colonist, May 7, 1902. Death of Maurice Humber. Passed Away at 6 O’clock Yesterday Morning after a Long Illness. The half masted flag over the tower at the City Hall yesterday morning announced to the people of Victoria that another who had been identified with the upbuilding of the city had passed to the great beyond. It was the last official mark of respect to Maurice Humber, the contractor and brick maker, who died at 6 o’clock, after an illness extending over five years. It was a long, hard fight against death, in which he was assisted by an iron Constitution. Five years ago he underwent an operation from which few men would have survived, but to the surprise of all, he was able to be out after a few months’ confinement in his room, and will never as strong as before, he was able to be around until a couple of weeks ago. When compelled to take to his bed again, he realized that the end was near, and remarked to a friend that he would have to give up. Word was sent to his only daughter, Mr. Ousterhout, of Port Essington, and she is expected on the steamer Boscowitz now due from the North. Mr. Humber was a native of Ventor, Isle of Wright, where he was born on June 28, 1834. He emigrated to Canada when but nine years of age, and settled at Howmanville, Ontario. In company with Sheriff McMillan, Ald. Kinsman, Jonathan Bullen and others, he started for Victoria in 1863, at the town of the gold excitement, coming via the Panama route. Mr. Humber engage in contracting and continued in that business continuously, unlike most of the Argonauts, not being taken with the gold fever. He constructed many of the larger buildings in the city, and from his Brickyard, on the Saanich Road, supplied millions of bricks to other contractors here and on the mainland. He also had various contracts for bricks for the naval and military forces. Mr. Humber took a keen interest in municipal affairs, and was three times elected a member of the City Council, in 1884; under Mayor Hayward; in 1892 under Mayor Beavan, and in 1898 under Mayor Redfern during his terms he was a member of the police committee, before the Commissionerships were established, and also took a likely interest in the affairs of the fire department. He was one of the oldest and chief supporters of the Methodist Church in the city. For many years he was one of the trustees of the old Pandora Street Methodist Church, and once one of those identified with the establishment of the Centennial Methodist Church on the Gorge Road, with which he was connected up to the time of his death. He was a past noble grand of Columbia Lodge, number two, IOOF, of which he had been a member for 27 years. Besides his daughter, he leads a widow and three sons, Luc, Russ, and Dr. A. A. Humber. The death of Mr. Humber leaves a gap in the ranks of the old-timers of the city, which will be felt by a very large number of citizens. He was popular among all classes of citizens, even with those who could not agree with his views on public questions, and he had strong views on many, particularly that of temperance, of which he was a constant advocate. His family have the sympathy of the whole community in their bereavement.
1902-06-15ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, June 15, 1902.  Voters League.  The committee of the above appointed at last Tuesday evening’s meeting to investigate concerning James Bay and Paardeburg gate improvements, and who have given notice of intention to wait upon the Mayor and aldermen on Monday evening, have decided to postpone the interview, hoping the communication, of which the following is a copy, will make it unnecessary;  His Worship the Mayor and Board of Aldermen of the City of Victoria;  Gentlemen; In view of the press of business before the Council, the committee appointed to wait upon you, have decided to postpone their interview and to trust that you will render it unnecessary by kindly answering through the press the appended questions, a copy of which appeared in the form of a notice in the Colonist of June 13.  In propounding these questions on behalf of the league, we would assure your Honorable body that it is in no spirit of obstruction, but rather that the rumors and doubt that are afloat among the ratepayers may be set at rest and they wished-for improvements be carried out in the best interests of all concerned;  QUESTIONS.  1. By what authority and for what reason for the plans of the James Bay Causeway, submitted to the ratepayers (and on which the money was voted), changed, doing away with the stairs and boat landings at each end of the Causeway?  2. Why the rustic features of the original design were replaced with dressed stone at a large additional expense and destroying the artistic effect of the design?  3. Whether the money voted for the Causeway and reclamation of James Bay flats can legally be used for Belleville Street improvements?  4. Whether the foundations for the seawall in front of the Parliament buildings is deep enough to allow of dredging sufficiently to accommodate boats landing at low tide?  5. Wehner said foundations will admit of carrying the seawall of to the level of Belleville Street as a retaining wall, at low water?  6. Whether architects have been consulted as to the merits of the plan presented to the ratepayers through the press, whether it is in proportion to and in keeping with the government buildings to which it is a frontal finish and approach?  7. What action has been taken by the Council in regard to the work already began on the Belleville Street waterfront, and out of what funds is a cost being met?  8. What compensation money has already been paid to property owners abutting the flats and what further claims are pending?  A. J. Morley, Secretary of the Voters League.
1902-06-21ColonistCauseway James bayDaily Colonist, June 21, 1902. – Editorial  THE CARNEGIE LIBRARY.  There is no doubt but that the bylaw providing for the acceptance of the Carnegie Library building will be passed, provided that ratepayers who favor it take the trouble to vote. But we entreat the people of Victoria to remember that there are always those who will vote against any civic improvement from a shortsighted idea of their own interest, and that if the bylaw is lost, it will be lost through the apathy of those who are in favor of it. The general opinion seems to be, and we are in hearty agreement with it, that the bylaw providing $15,000 for the purchase of a site should be defeated, and that one of the sites already owned by the city should be utilized. We favor the site opposite the post office. If the actual amount of ground owned by the city is too small, enough can be acquired for a very reasonable sum, to expand the area to an ample site for the purpose of a library building. A building at this point instead of an unsightly massive rocks, will very properly round off the appearance of the new breakwater when completed. The site is perhaps not so central is some which might be purchased, but it is central enough. The business of all takes them to the post office, and on that ground no objection could be raised to the site in question, which would not apply equally to the location of the post office. A library built their wood not merely be an ornament to the city, but it would in itself have an open prospect to the Bay, providing ample light to the interior of the building, and also giving an adequate opportunity for architectural talent to take advantage of the situation. A really artistic building placed upon this site would add to the already conspicuous beauty, so far as buildings go, of this part of town, the first which strikes the visitors. When the James Bay Causeway is completed, and the fine sweep of the retaining wall now being built has come into full relief, when the flats have been reclaimed, and made the site of a fine hotel and Opera house, setting off the Parliament buildings, the Carnegie Library and the post office, the 1st impression of strangers will be that Victoria does not owe all her attractions to her natural advantages, but that her surroundings have bred in her citizens and artistic sense of appropriateness and beauty.
1902-07-03ColonistCauseway James bayDaily Colonist, July 3, 1902.  Decide to Build Steps. Improvements for North End of Stonewall across James Bay.  The city engineer submitted a plan for the completion of the stone wall at the North end of the James Bay causeway, with concrete steps leading to the water, and a platform, which was considered and recommended favorably to the council. It was also decided to place the tablet which was to have been laid by H.R.H the Prince Of Wales during his visit here in the wall, and cut what inscription is to be placed on, when in position. This tablet will be placed just under the coping. The work, in so far as the wall is concerned, will be completed in 2 weeks. The engineer will submit an estimate of the cost of the whole work to the Council on Monday.
1902-07-04ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, July 4, 1902.  Committee Proposed Construct Steps in Causeway at Each End.  It has been decided practically to include a landing stage and stairway at the town and of James Bay embankment, so that facilities for access to the water at both ends of the Causeway will be assured. The steps and the foot of Government Street will be carried out on the lines as shown in the illustration of the improvements which appeared in the colonist last year. The stairway and approach will lead to a float, which will be placed at such a point as to be available to small boats even an extreme low tide. This decision has been arrived at by the Bridges and Streets committee, and will be embodied in a recommendation to the Council, which will come up for discussion at the regular meeting next Monday night.
1902-07-04ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, July 4, 1902.  Dredger Coming.  King Edward Expected to Reach Port Today from Fraser.  The dredge King Edward is coming. It has not been learned whether she will be met with the band and reception committee of the Mayor and aldermen, perhaps she will not. However, the dredge is coming, and is expected to plant her spuds in James Bay today, if she arrives on time. The dredge, which has a large capacity, will be placed at work as soon as the steps are completed at the embankment wall of stone, which is expected to be completed within 2 weeks, to throw the mud over into the flats, which will be filled for the most part with the silk taken from the harbour bottom by the big dredge.  It is not known whether the dredge will be put to work at once in the upper harbour, but it is hoped so by shipping men, for there is much necessary work to be done in the upper harbour, especially in front of the Victoria Machinery Depot, where a marine ways will be built, and at the sealers wharf.
1902-07-09Colonistlime kilns atkins colwodThe Daily British Colonist,  August 9, 1902, page 3  Atkins Bros., of the Colwood lime kiln, are offering to supply lime to contractors at 50c per barrel, making the contract good for a year or more if necessary.
1902-07-10ColonistCauseway James BayDaily Colonist, July 10, 1902.  The city engineer’s plans as to the James Bay improvements were then taken up. The proposition contemplates a building of approaches to the water at the North end of James Bay revetment, and also the expropriation of an additional 10 feet of Lot to the West of the approach to the Causeway on Government Street end, on which to erect the Carnegie Library.  His Worship stated that the ratepayers would have to pass on the site in any event, as they had refused to grant a loan to purchase a site. Therefore the committee would have to recommend one of the sites belonging to the Council. It would be well to submit the matter to a vote, as a Council had promised it would be done.  Alderman Vincent moved into this step be recommended to the Council and that the matter referred to the ratepayers for a decision. This met with approval and the section of the report referring to the site for the library was struck out.  The matter for completing the permanent sidewalk on Yates Street between Commercial Alley and Wharf Street was taken up and ordered to be carried out forth with.  City engineer Topp asked for definite information as to the steps at the North end of the retaining wall. This could be done without having the additional 10 feet, but the extra land would make a better finish. To put in the steps would cost about $2830. The dredge would start work at that point first thing, and the cofferdam would have to come down. The steps were wanted and it would make a great improvement.  His Worship here read a statement prepared by the city engineer, which showed it up to date $89,200 has been expended on the James Bay reclamation scheme. This included $9750 paid for lands expropriated and $2705 spent on Belleville Street. The actual construction to date with $79,459.64 which included a supply of coping and stone sufficient to complete the entire wall. In answer to His Worship, Mister Topp stated that the entire cost of the work would be less than $100,000. The tidal steps at Belleville Street would cost about $1000 and would be constructed of concrete.  Considerable discussion took place as to the necessity of steps at the North end of the structure, it being pointed out that in case the Carnegie Library were erected there, the appearance without the steps would be quite as finished looking as if the steps were erected.  Alderman McCandless did not see that the steps were absolutely necessary; it would cost $1000 for land and about $3000 for the steps. A landing could be secured for less.  It was finally carried that the Council be recommended to carry out the city engineer’s plans as to providing steps at the North end of the Causeway without purchasing the additional 10 feet of land as proposed.  As to providing a connection the city drains from the paint works, the city engineer was instructed to complete the work.  Before adjournment the city engineer stated that work on the steps from government Street would commence this morning.
1902-07-11ColonistHistoryDaily Colonist, July 11, 1902  Douglas Estate to be Transformed Into a Popular Resort.  Through the efforts of the Tourist Association, the old Douglas estate, Belleville street, is about to be utilized as a popular recreation ground, where nightly band concerts will be given during the summer. The need for such a pleasure resort has been felt for years, not only by visitors to the city, but by the residents, for Beacon Hill Park, beautiful as it is, is too open and exposed to the sea breeze, refrigerated by the snow-capped Olympians, to make its temperature dependable even on a midsummer evening, while Oak Bay offers the same objection to thorough enjoyment. The spacious and beautiful grounds of old Government House, on the contrary, are sheltered on all sides from the winds and will provide a perfect pleasure ground. Arrangements have been made with the Fifth Regiment band to give nightly instrumental concerts, and it is hoped that other attractions may be secured so as to afford variety to the nightly programme. The green sward of the lawn will invite to the merry dance, and a myriad of colored electric lights will brighten up the scene. The lower floor of Sir James Douglas’ residence will be thrown open for the accommodation of the audience, and light refreshments will be served in the rooms, and at numerous tables scattered about the grounds. Ping-pong, swings, and possibly a carousel, will be provided, so that those who desire movement and exercise in conjunction with their enjoyment of the music may have their tastes gratified. The necessary work of preparing the fine old property for its new use will begin today, and it is hoped that the opening concert will be given next week, probably on Tuesday.
1902-07-11ColonistCauewayDaily Colonist, July 11, 1902  What Will They Do With It?  Prospective Unexpended City Balances That Amount to Over $100,000.  Surpluses From Point Ellice Bridge and James Bay Causeway.  It now looks as though the city will be about $100,000 ahead as a result of the financial operations in connection with the James Bay reclamation and Point Ellice bridge. This handsome surplus will result as follows: The loan for the James Bay reclamation is for $150,000, and interest to 31st December $208.65; and City Engineer Topp states that less than $100,000 will see the work completed, while the Point Ellice bridge will not, it is said, cost more than $75,000 to pay for which the city has in sight $30,000 to be contributed by the government, $20,000 that the Street Car company have guaranteed, and the proceeds of the loan raised last year, which at the 31st December, with accrues interest amounted to $75,120.21 (and it is still earning interest). This gives a possible surplus of over $50,268.65 on the James Bay job, and $50,120 on account of the Point Ellice bridge. Of course against the prospective surplus in connection with the causeway must be charges whatever amount of damages the different claimants of riparian rights may succeed in establishing against the city. But these cannot be very great, as Mayor Hayward states that a survey made by the City Council establishes the fact that at least one of the more permanent buildings lately built on the flats encroaches 20 feet on the city’s property, and in others the filling in of the land will bring low lying lots up to street grade and thereby enhance the value of the lots. It is understood that the lot at the foot of Douglas street, which the city will expropriate, is held at the fancy price of $60,000. But it is not at all likely that the land will cost the corporation and such sum. So that in any event, after all claims arising out of these matters have been satisfied, there will be nearly $50,000 remaining unexpended, which, added to what is likely to remain over after finishing the Point Ellice bridge, will give a very tidy sum that will have to be applied to other improvements. This money, it is claimed, cannot be applied to paying current expenses, and like the crematory loan of a few years ago it will have to receive the sanction of the ratepayers before it can be diverted to any other that the objects for which it was borrowed. Extensions of the sewers and street paving have been suggested, as also have been the water works and their requirements.
1902-07-30ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, July 30, 1902.  Harbour Improvement.  Mr. Laird moved that a committee be appointed to take up the matter of harbour improvement on the lines of the Sorby scheme. In a few remarks Mr. Laird gave reasons for the necessity of this matter being taken up. If Mr. Sorby’s scheme had been taken up the city would not have been compelled to build the Causeway, the Point Ellice bridge nor the Terminal railway. A Todd, JS Richards, E Bragge, EW Knight, W Laird were named as a committee.
1902-08-02ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, August 2, 1902.  Retaining Wall. The steps leading down to the water from the northern end of the causeway are nearing completion, the bed upon which the stone steps will be laid being ready as well as the foundation for the concrete landing at the foot of the steps. Into this latter, wrought iron bars have been built, and to these a float will be secured. The view of the wall secured from the level of the landing is very fine and gives an impressive idea of massiveness that is relieved by the niches in the parapet which project over the wall, and thus breaks the uniformity of the long stretch of granite.
1902-08-07ColonistausewyDaily Colonist, August 7, 1902  Belleville Street Retaining Wall.  Work Will Commence on This Immediately  Substitute for Paardeberg Gate.  Engineer Arranged Months Ago Wires Must Cross Embankment Underground. As soon as the traveling derrick, which has been removed from its position on the top of the cofferdam at James Bay Causeway can be placed upon a scow, the work of finishing the Belleville Street retaining wall will be taken in hand. A sketch of this portion of the work was published a few days ago, but it is well to point out that this plan and the Paardeberg gate scheme must not be confounded. At present design, the wall along the Belleville Street front will be built to one or 2 feet above high water mark, and the remainder of the bank will be sodded, down almost to the high water level. At the end of the Causeway proper, on the Belleville Street end, will be steps leading down to the top of the low wall above referred to. Along the top of the wall will be a pathway from one end to the other. About the center of the low wall will be steps from the street line down to the top of the wall, and a third flight will be provided at the western end. It has been proposed to carry the center flight of steps down to low water in order to permit of a landing he made at that point at all stages of the tide. But to do this will necessitate the building of a cofferdam around locality in order that the foundations which would be beyond low water Mark, by delayed. This point has not therefore being definitely settled. As well will be seen though provision is made for the Paardeberg Gate, but, of course it would be an easy manner at any time hereafter to erect this monument on the low wall which is about to be built. But Engineer Topp in common with a great many other citizens, is of the opinion that the gate would not attract that attention which it is desirable such a commemorative monument should. It would not be seen by the crowds passing along Belleville Street, and the high parapet of the Causeway prevent a good view of it being obtained from any other point then Wharf Street, or from boats on the harbour itself. The engineer proposes that the small V at the Belleville Street end of the bridge formed by the curbing of the latter Street to meet the bridge, and the lines is followed by the streetcar track, and the center of Belleville Street, should be utilized for any monument which it may be decided to erect. In this position the memorial to our brave dead would attract the attention of all, and would occupy one of the most prominent and public positions which it would be possible to select. As to the provision of a conduit, in which all wires crossing the embankment shall be carried, it may be noted that Engineer Topp attended to that point many months ago. In fact when the derrick was first erected on the cofferdam the question arose as to whether the wires would not interfere with the working of the spar, but by a little care it was found unnecessary to move the wires. However Mr. Topp at that time pointed out the fact that a conduit would be necessary into which all the wires must go. Is stated that notice have been given to the club to remove the James Bay boathouse from the foot of Menzies Street, so that the wall can be continued to the western line of that thoroughfare. It is also said that the wood yard adjoining the club encroaches upon the street
1902-09-16ColonistCauseway.Daily Colonist. September 16, 1902.  … Three tenders had been received for the supply of 14 cast iron electric light posts for James Bay causeway: Victoria Machinery Depot, $400; Marine iron Works, $276; and Albion Iron Works, $406. The contract was awarded to Marine iron Works.
1902-09-30ColonistCauseway Daily Colonist, September 30, 1902.  The city engineer submitted the usual report from his department in connection with some minor matters which was received and adopted. A second from the same writer was in these terms: I have the honor to report that the stonework on the James Bay Causeway was finished on Thursday last, with the exception of a small concrete platform on Belleville Street, which cannot be done at present.  I am pleased to state that the entire undertaking has met with success and is well within the estimate, notwithstanding the many difficulties and the unfavorable season of the year during which the construction of the foundations, etc., was carried out. I may say that the Causeway in question is involve a large amount of extra work as hereinafter mentioned: 1. The adoption of the day labor system has no doubt involve much extra work for me, viz.: all the duties and the details which would fall upon the contractor, together with his responsibility and method of carrying out the construction work at all its stages. 2. Much over time was found necessary owing to the season of the year, the tide being unfavorable during working hours when the cofferdam and foundations of main wall were under construction. 3. I have been responsible for the designing and carrying out the entire work  which in my opinion, has been a great saving to the city. 4. During the construction of the cofferdam, in order to satisfy myself, I visited the works on most every night, and on two occasions found it necessary to be on duty between 4 and 5 AM. I cite those instances merely to show the interest taken in the work.  With regard to the cost, it is considerably below the estimate given by me of $80,000. There are a number of items which I could not be expected to estimate upon, as, for instance, the second pipe-drain, costs of arbitration, moving of Macintosh’s boat-house, etc., and there are a number of valuable assets belonging to the city, acquired in the construction of the work  such as the Derek and rock crusher, and drill; which can be fairly charged to this work and the bridge proportionately  not to mention the lumber taken from the cofferdam, which is worth quite $1000.  Without taking credit for any portion of these, the total cost of the wall is only $82,400; while, if the work be credited with them, as it clearly should be, and the cost divided between the two undertakings, the cost of the wall to the city is only $76,150 or $12,000 and upwards below the estimate.  Under these circumstances, I would respectfully ask the Council to consider the application made by me in December last for renumeration in connection with this work, a large portion of which was outside my regular duties. I consider I was entitled to ask the Council for the services of a consulting engineer. Had I done so, his feet probably would have been 3 ½% on the estimated cost, or about $3000. I might also have insisted that a clerk of works be appointed. This would’ve cost of not less than $1800, without overtime. Taking into consideration that I have, by much labor, save the city these two items alone about $4800, I do not think it would be unreasonable to ask the sum of $3000 as a renumeration for my services.  Alderman Grahame express the opinion that the first portion of a letter was a most credible showing, and Mr. Topp was well entitled to something in the way of a bonus, but he thought half the amount asked would be what was right. He moved accordingly that the payment of a bonus of $1500 to Mr. Topp be recommended to the Finance committee.  Alderman Williams was afraid that this would be premature, as a Council had not yet finish the work, and might still have to fill up the flats and build the roadway. Not that he did not approve the work of the engineer, but it would be safest to put off bonus seen anybody until the work was completed  Alderman Bernard asked if the Finance committee could override a resolution of the Council? He was answered in the affirmative, and proceeded to point out the anomaly of having three members of any committee absolutely controlling the finances of the city, and that too in spite of majority of those elected by the ratepayers. If such was the law he for one thought it should be amended, as without wishing to reflect on the Finance committee it was a most absurd proposition. As to Mr. Topp’s renumeration, he was in favor of giving him what was certainly his due in connection with the James Bay works. The city had granted a bonus to their legal advisor and the engineer should be considered.  Alderman McCandless move that this matter should be deferred. He was in favor abolishing professional men, but it was a little too soon to pay a bonus in this connection.  Alderman kinsman seconded this. The wall had been built to carry an embankment and until the embankment was filled in no one knew what it would stand. Not that he thought the wall would not stand all it was expected to. It would be better to leave the matter over.  His Worship said that the test of the work had not yet been applied, and the wall had been built as it was upon the advice of the engineer. It was too soon to bonus anybody in this connection.  Alderman Cameron advised that it would be better to discuss this matter in committee.  The communication was for the time being laid on the table.
1902-10-07ColonistCauseway Point Ellice BridgeDaily Colonist, October 7, 1902.  Point Ellice Bridge  City Engineer Topp will on Friday, with the gang of men who have been employed all summer at the James Bay Causeway construction work, commence preparatory arrangements at Point Ellice for the laying of the foundation of the new steel bridge over the Harm. A number of granite piers will be erected as bases for the steel supports. It is estimated that this work alone will cost in the neighborhood of $32,000.
1902-11-04ColonistPoint Ellice BridgeDaily Colonist, November 4, 1902.  Tenders for Bridge Opened.  Six Proposals to Build Point Ellice Structure before City Council.  Victoria Machinery Depot Offers four Plans to Undertake the Work.  Yesterday evening’s meeting of the City Council was a very important one, and a mass of interesting business was transacted. The most important item on the program for the evening was the opening of the tenders for Point Ellice bridge. There were six in all, and they were as follows:  Heenan and Froude, New Heath iron Works, Manchester England,  – 7c. per pound weight to cover all costs, except extras (no estimate given as to weight of bridge).  Puget Sound Bridge and Dredging Company, Seattle Washington  bridge and floor complete, with piers and approaches of concrete, $99,000.  Dominion Bridge Company, Montréal  Estimated weight 1,092,000 pounds; tender, 6.54 cents per pound; accepted check for $2000 deposit enclose; date of completion of metal superstructure, during the month of August next.  King bridge company Cleveland, Ohio  Estimated weight 1,030,000 pounds; tender 6.55 cents per pound; no Chinese or Chaps to be employed; local labor and material to be favored as much as possible; wages two dollars per day for day of nine hours; estimated time for completion of contract, 24 months; accepted check for $2000 enclosed.  Canadian Bridge Company, Walker Bill, Ontario  Estimated weight 1,000,000 pounds; tender, 6.97 cents per pound; accepted check for $2000 enclosed; estimated time to complete, 10 months.  Victoria Machine Depot  Estimated weight 1,000,000 pounds; tender for superstructure complete 4.63 cents per pound; this figure contingent upon company verifying its quotations price steel plates on which estimate was made; it will cable at once tender is entertained by counsel; otherwise tended to be considered null and void.  The Victoria Machinery Depot submitted three alternative tenders, as follows; (2) Bridge practically identical with plan on file with exception of riveted connections instead up in connections  $96,000, (3) complete modern steel bridge  $98,000, (4) modern armored concrete bridge, which would be in keeping with the style of James Bay Causeway, and practically imperishable  $124,500. There was no discussion of the tenders, which were submitted to the city engineer for report.
1902-12-09ColonistVictoria Public LibraryDaily Colonist, December 9, 1902.  The City Library Calls for Reform  Quarters Are Too Limited and Books Are in Poor Condition.  A few weeks ago the Colonist, in a report of an interview by one of its representatives with Alderman Vincent, published the statement that the latter had expressed the opinion that the public library in Victoria today was in a very undesirable condition  so much so that no person who had the interests of Victoria at heart could, with any local pride ask a visitor to inspect the library quarters.  A Colonist reporter within recent days took occasion to visit the City Library and attempted to ascertain what were the prevailing conditions. From the librarian, Mr. Goward, he learned that the room facilities furnished by the city for the quartering of the public library in the City Hall are entirely inadequate, and that conditions generally for the successful conduct of a public library in Victoria are far from satisfactory.  The major portion of the books which are available to subscribers in the library are in a state of thorough disrepair. They are ragged, shorn of bindings in many instances, and, generally speaking, unfit for handling.  Besides that, the library accommodation generally is very bad. Situated in the City Hall upstairs, elderly ladies find themselves much inconvenienced in climbing the flight of stairs which bring them to the library rooms.  Owing to the lack of proper facilities in the library arrangements, it is impossible for the librarian at the City hall to furnish an up to date catalogue; and, as a consequence it is now impossible for a new subscriber to the library to locate a book which he may want: and when he does receive the book he finds it difficult to read it owing to the disused state in which he finds it. To put it briefly, it is the opinion of the librarian of the Victoria Public Library, and a great majority of its patrons, that the present library is a disgrace to the city of Victoria. The quarters for housing the books are too small, the books are in an astounding state of disrepair, and there is no catalogue which can be characterized as up to date. Reform is needed; and that at once.
1903-02-03ColonistCauseway Carnegie LibraryDaily Colonist, February 3, 1903.  Bylaw to Settle Propose Carnegie Library Site Will Be Introduced.  Once more the Carnegie library! Nor is the end yet. However it is once more up to the ratepayers, and if they approve of the bylaw which Alderman Stewart gave notice of at last night’s Council meeting, this, like the Point Ellice bridge nightmare, will be given its quietus. Alderman Stewart once the ratepayers to sanction the expenditure of $4500 under the current revenue for a site rails decide that the piece of a lot at the end of the Causeway is a suitable one.
1903-02-12ColonistCauseway, Mud flats Daily Colonist, February 12, 1903.  THE CAUSEWAY.  To the Editor.  Sir,  I am pleased to see in this day’s Colonist an article on the reclamation of the James Bay mud flats, but regret that a doubt is expressed therein that it is unlikely the dredge King Edward will return during the present year (which we have only just begun), to complete the work of filling. Apart from politics, this is a serious matter, for if there is any doubt as to the return of the dredge within a reasonable time, there can be no doubt that the city should take some steps to complete this work at an early date, and thus sidetrack the many inconveniences that the citizens of Victoria will otherwise suffer, and perhaps prevent another lamentable disaster. The writer remembers the old wooden bridge across the river Thames at Putney, when only one load (and light at that) was permitted to be on the bridge at any one time. Now, surely, we do not want this experience, and judging by the undulation of the James Bay bridge when a heavy load crosses, must be but a short time before it will be found necessary to place the same restrictions as were placed on the Putney Bridge to avoid catastrophe. Again, on the seaside of the retaining wall the yachtsmen and owners of both houses have a legitimate complaint against the dumping of mud into this only convenient anchorage, with no present hope that it will ever be removed, except what his silted away by the tides. Victoria is naturally a beautiful city, but there must be something in the atmosphere that makes us sit so quietly under all our woes and do so little to remedy them, or is it that we are so asphyxiated by the fumes of a single industry that we cannot awake to the fact that in this case it might be worth our while to make inquiries as to the expense and possibility of chartering a dredge, so that the money expended on the retaining wall may prove of some benefit. Signed GC.
1903-03-31ColonistCauseway James Bay Bridge Daily Colonist, March 31, 1903.  James Bay Causeway.  In two or three days’ time the Legislature will be again in session, and the quintessence of brains which constitutes its membership, will be winding its weary way to and fro across that antique structure known as James Bay bridge. It is, therefore, a good opportunity to remind the world at large that it is now some time since the policy of the city was directed towards securing a modern Causeway across James Bay, and that this policy seems to have been overtaken by a general decrepitude, of which the present condition of the bridge itself is an apt illustration. Is not fair to our representatives to make them traverse such a structure. If any people in the world require firm ground beneath their feet at all times to keep them from “wobbling” they do. But there is a more serious aspect to the question. There are certain overhanging rocks on a cliff near Edinburgh regarding which there was a tradition that they would fall on the wisest man who ever passed under them. Quite a number of people voted these rocks on that account. It was not the kind of thing to take unnecessary risks over. But our legislatures have practically no option but to cross James Bay bridge, and the risk of the bridge being crushed by sheer weight of intellect, is excessive. Some scoffers are rude enough to say that nobody would be hurt. But if the bridge fell down, it would be better down anyway, and that nothing will ever be done to build the Causeway till it does fall down, and that of a legislator or two fell with it and stuck in the mud beneath it would merely be a scientific harmonization of their external environment but these are people of undue levity, and a sneering habit of mind. The members of the legislature should be warned in time, that if they use the bridge they do so at their own risk.
1903-04-17ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, April 17, 1903 . Must Vacate Premises  At Monday evening’s meeting of the City Council, Alderman Vincent will move a resolution that notice be given to the tenant of the candy store on lot one, block 70, adjoining the James Bay Causeway, to give up possession, and that soon as the store is vacated the city engineer be instructed to remove the building and to level up the lot to prevent the continuation of its unsightly condition when an influx of visitors to the city may be looked for.
1903-05-20ColonistCauseway Empress hotelDaily Colonist, May 20, 1903.  TO BUILD TOURIST HOTEL.  A conference was held yesterday at the Driard hotel between a committee representing the City Council, Board of Trade and Tourist Association and Sir Thomas Shaughnessy, president of the CPR, at which an offer was made by the CPR president for the erection of a first-class hotel at James Bay Causeway at a cost guaranteed not to be less than three hundred thousand dollars on certain conditions which the committee say are not onerous and which, it is understood, are that the city furnish the site, remit the municipal taxation for a term of years and furnish free water for a similar term. . At a conference held yesterday at the Driard hotel between Sir Thomas Shaughnessy, president of the Canadian Pacific Railway and the joint committees of the City Council, Board of Trade and Tourist Association, Sir Thomas Shaughnessy made a definite offer on the part of his company to build a first-class hotel at a cost guaranteed not to be less than $300,000 on the James Bay Causeway. At the conference the railway knight says that upon certain conditions which are not onerous he was willing to recommend to his directors that they erect a first-class hotel on the James Bay Causeway the cost not to be less than $300,000 and he said his experience at being that a far greater amount would be spent with such a sum was stated as the lowest estimate.  The joint committee of the three boards, the City Council, Board of Trade, and the Tourist Association met on Monday evening, and then a smaller committee, consisting of His Worship Mayor McCandless for the City Council; DR Ker and JA Mara for the Board of Trade; and H Cuthbert for the tourist association was appointed to interview Sir Thomas Shaughnessy on his arriving in Victoria in connection with the project.  Meeting was held at the Driard hotel yesterday, and after the matter was discussed, and the advantages of the program were shown, Sir Thomas Shaughnessy said he was willing to lay the matter before his directors, and in this connection he said that he had not yet found an occasion when a recommendation he had made and not being confirmed by the directors. In these premises it can be taken the offer coming from the president of the Canadian Pacific Railway is practically certain of confirmation.  While the committee did not care to make public the conditions proposed by Sir Thomas Shaughnessy, it is understood that these conditions are that the city shall give the company a site on the James Bay Causeway for the hotel, and that the bylaw for this purpose shall also contain sections granting the company freedom from municipal taxation for a term of years  the period is said to be 10 years  and that the city shall furnish the hotel with free water.  The committees have been working on this scheme of having the Canadian Pacific Railway build a hotel in the city since December, 1901, when a committee was appointed by the Board of Trade to take the matter up with the Canadian Pacific Railway, and this committee has been working on the matter since. The committee met last December, and then other committees were formed by the City Council and the Tourist Association, and a scheme formulated for presentation to the CPR. The joint committee, taking advantage of the coming to Victoria of the Canadian Pacific Railway president, that on Monday when the smaller committee was appointed which interviewed Sir Thomas Shaughnessy at the Driard hotel yesterday, when the railway president offered to build the hotel, which, it is to be guaranteed, will not cost less than $300,000 on the James Bay Causeway, providing the citizens accept the conditions, which the community state are not onerous.
1903-05-29ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalBritish Colonist, May 29, 1903, Page 3  Victoria Is The Home Port.  The Steamers of the Canadian Pacific Railway on Coast Stationed Here  So Says Superintendent Piers — Danube Sails for Naas and Way Ports.  Superintendent Piers of the steamship lines of the C.P.R., in an interview given at Montreal, said that the C.P.N. service, which was taken over by the C.P.R., will hereafter be known as the C.P.R. British Columbia Coast Service. He is quoted as saying: “Some critics in Vancouver have sought to show that some part of the coasting service should be in that city rather than, as it is, in Victoria. Upon this phase of the question Superintendent Piers this morning said: “I think Vancouver people are asking to much. They should recognize that they already have the Empress vessels, which are worth much more to them than are the coasting vessels to Victoria. Again, it must be remembered that the C.P.N. was organized in Victoria, and its directors are all resident there.” “Is there any chance of a transfer being effected?” asked the reporter. “I scarcely think so,” replied Mr. Piers, “Under all circumstances the C.P.R. Company would scarcely be justified in making any change.”
1903-06-09ColonistThe Empress – Canadian Pacific railwayEditorial urging city to work out deal with CPR   Also look at Sept 3, 1903 – page 3 – a bylaw authorizing same deal  Sept 11, 1903 – further to the above page 3
1903-06-09ColonistCauseway Empress hotelDaily Colonist, June 9, 1903.  Meeting Yesterday Discussed Fast Atlantic Service and Victoria Hotel.  Montréal, June 8,  Sir Richard Cartwright came down from auto on this morning and was closeted with Sir Thomas Shaughnessy all morning, afterwards lunching with him at the St. James’s club. It is stated that the matter under discussion was a fast Atlantic service. A meeting of the CPR directors was held this afternoon. The meeting was the regular one, and no statement was given out except that the usual board met and considered matters of a routine nature.  The principal matter considered at the meeting, however, was the proposed new hotel at Victoria BC. It was explained that at a conference which Sir Thomas Shaughnessy had with the municipal representatives and businessmen at Victoria it had been urged that the city would provide a free site on the James Bay Causeway and guaranteed exemption from taxation. Sir Thomas explained to the board that he had promised that the hotel would be built under these conditions, and the board decided to adhere to the promise of the president.
1903-06-09ColonistCauseway Empress hotelDaily Colonist, June 9, 1903.  THE NEW HOTEL.  We sincerely hope that the City Council will lose no time over to matters very important to Victoria. The first is signing a provisional contract with the Canadian Pacific Railway for the erection of the new hotel, and submitting it to the people. The second is preparing the flats and putting them in condition for a hotel to be built upon them. This hotel is the issue of the spirited policy of public works which the city inaugurated sometime ago, and is a remarkably good illustration of the fact that of the city wants to go ahead, initiative on the part of its own citizens will be seconded by enterprise on the part of others. If a beginning and not be made by reclaiming the flats, their utilization in the manner contemplated would have been impossible. As it is, it will take some time before the hotel is open and ready for guests, but that time can be shortened by the city, and it certainly will not be increased by the CPR. That company having decided to build is not likely to delay in completing its design. We presume there will be some opposition to the bylaw submitted. The opposition that will manifest itself will be largely based on the argument that, as the CPR has never done anything for Victoria, there is no particular reason why Victoria should do anything for the CPR, a very neat illustration of the proverb of cutting one’s nose off to spite one’s face. It does not always follow that, when someone else is benefited, the one who bestows the benefit is injured. We should certainly hope that the CPR will benefit from this opportunity to erect a hotel. If the company is going into the scheme to oblige Victoria, we have a very poor opinion of the company, and his Board of Directors should promptly have extinguished Sir Thomas Shaughnessy and his plan. The CPR Company has accepted the idea with a view to profit, immediate or deferred, and upon no other basis with the proposal be at all satisfactory to Victoria. Because upon the company’s profit depends the city’s profit. In what way will the city benefit? In many ways; In the first place by the utilization of a large piece of waste land increasing the value of the surrounding property. The reclamation of the flats will cost the city roughly $100,000. But apart from the flats, the city will have a good road and a handsome seawall to show for that expenditure, in place of a dangerous, unsightly, and expensive bridge over of pestiferous and malodorous expansive mud. The renewal of James Bay bridge which had become a necessity, takes a large sum of the capital expenditures carried out by the reclaimed ground. Whether the land remaining in possession of the city after the hotel is built will produce a revenue equal to the interest on the remaining some invested, we do not know, but we are of the opinion that with the hotel, this land will produce as much revenue as the whole surface without the hotel. So that, by the gift of the land, the city does not lose one cent in revenue. As regards revenue from taxes, if this property were used for taxable buildings (the hotel will be taxable in 15 years) it would be very largely covered with buildings which would and will be built somewhere else in any event, whereas the hotel proposed to be built would not be built somewhere else in any event. So that in taxable property the city will lose nothing. In fact it will gain, because such a building will have a tendency to increase the number and improve the character of buildings in the city. It is, however, when we come to the indirect revenue to the people of the city that the advantages of the hotel become most apparent. A hotel accommodating 300 guests is worth more to a city, a good deal more, than a factory employing 300 workers, especially when remember that the CPR to fill that hotel innkeeper filled will have to develop and stimulate the steamboat traffic of the port. It is not so much that the CPR as a Railway Company as a CPR as a navigation company with which we are dealing. The company must, for its own sake, and are heartily into the business of bringing people to the city, something it has never done, and could not be expected to do, for our sakes. Furthermore, just as a Causeway led to the hotel, so will the hotel lead to improved steamboat service in all directions, and that in its turn will eventually bring about notable improvements to the harbour. We are not filling up to suppose that this hotel is a sort of cornucopia which is to shower prosperity upon Victoria, any more than we are silly enough to suppose that Victoria would not continue to prosper without it. But it is undoubtedly a link in a chain of the development of the city’s legitimate opportunities which we cannot, as a sensible community afford, to overlook. We have put down a few of the reasons why the citizens should support this hotel proposal, not so much because we think there is much danger of its meeting with serious opposition, as to arm in supporters who are legion against the arguments of its opponents, who are few in number now, and who, if the enterprising citizens of the town do their duty in canvassing and persuading, will not gain in numbers nor in influence.
1903-06-26ColonistCraigflower SchoolhouseDaily Colonist, June 26, 1903.  CRAIGFLOWER’S ANNIVERSARY.  For Fifty Years Pioneer Schoolhouse Housed Happy Children.  An Appropriate Celebration of the Event Yesterday Afternoon.  Pretty Ceremony of Raising Flag Presented by Mister D. M. Eberts.  The fiftieth anniversary of the erection of the Craigflower school building was duly celebrated in a fitting and appropriate manner yesterday afternoon. After the closing exercises had been gone through with, a very pretty and impromptu ceremony was performed. A flag, which Mister D. M. Eberts, K. C., Had presented to the school, after a short speech from the donor, was hoisted on the new flagpole, which had been erected to mark the fiftieth anniversary. Mister Eberts said he was very pleased to have been able to be present on such an auspicious occasion, and was sure those present, as well as the scholars, were also gratified to be there. It afforded him great pleasure to present this flag and he hoped that one and all would join him in singing “God Save the King”. On the first strains of the National Anthem the flag was hoisted to the breeze. Reverend Mister Barber, before the prizes were distributed, on a platform erected under a large spreading tree, said that he had great pleasure in being one of those who had been present on this very pleasing and rare occasion in this country. It was in antiquity about the place that pleased him, as one of the first things which a person noticed coming to this country was a newness of everything.  Mister Pope next read the following letter he had received from Mister Russell:  “FOUNDING OF SCHOOL.  Victoria, BC, twenty-fourth June, 1903.  To S.D. Pope, Esquire, teacher, Craigflower School.  Dear Mister Pope: I regret very much had not been enabled to be with you tomorrow at the picnic on Craigflower School ground because having been identified and the founding of Craigflower School half a century ago, and when I reflect that many happy memories will be revived at your gathering, I will have missed a treat rarely offered. It is most laudable to commemorate any good thing that may have transpired, but to preserve in memory a school which was the precursory of our free school system in this land of the” Far West” is beyond all praise.  I desired to make a few remarks of what led up to the founding of the school, and perhaps some who may be with you tomorrow would like to hear them through you. It is only fair to the memory of my brother in law, the late Kenneth McKenzie, to state, that when leaving Scotland for Vancouver Island, in charge of a number of families, young men and women, he was not unmindful of the great responsibility and trust placed in his hands, namely, the education of not only the bairns that were going with him, who had gathered hips and slaes on Scotland’s Bonny braes, but other bairnies that might be expected after our arrival, hence he made it a condition that a schoolmaster should be engaged at the expense of the Company before leaving. Mister Barr was engaged to fill the position, himself and wife arriving with us on the ship Norman Morrison, on 16 January, 1853.  At the time of our arrival at Fort Victoria, the late Sir James Douglas was Governor of the colony, and head of the Hudson’s Bay Company, and having full control over all matters, and no schoolmaster being at the Fort, Mister Douglas retained Mister Barr for that section  thence we had to locate at Craigflower without a teacher. An afternoon class was established for the benefit of the children who had been at school before leaving, until a schoolmaster could arrive, which occurred in the fall of 1854.  It might not be amiss just at this juncture to give the names of the little band of adventurers who founded Craigflower; they are as follows:  Mister Kenneth McKenzie, Mrs. McKenzie and six children  Agnes, Jesse, Dorothea, Wilhelmina, Kenneth and William. James Stewart, wife and one child  John. Robert Weir (widower) and six children  William (grown-up), John (grown-up), Hugh, Adam, Isabella and Robenia. James Linddle, wife and one child  John Robert Anderson, wife and three children  John, Robert and Elizabeth Norman. Andrew Hume, wife and one child  Andrew. George Deans and wife. Duncan Lidgate, wife and three children  Maggie, Elizabeth and William. William Veitch, wife and three children  Maggie, Christina and Elizabeth. John Russell and wife. Peter Barttleman and wife. Robert Melrose and wife. James Wilson and wife.  James Tait and wife. James White, wife and four children  George, James, Agnes and William. James Downie, wife and three children  two boys and a girl. Joseph Montgomery, wife and one child  Bessie. Single  Isabella Russell, Harriet White, Christina Bell, James Deans, John Instant, John Bell and Thomas Russell.  In the fall of 1854 the ship Princess Royal arrived, bringing with her are much-wished-for schoolmaster, Mister Charles Clark and wife. Shortly after their arrival, the school was opened with due form and ceremony, the enrollment consisting of eight boys and six girls from our own little party.  The school gradually grew in strength, and continued to flourish under Mister Clark. One sad event took place at the end of the summer of 1855, in the death of Mrs. Clarke. She had always taken a deep interest in the welfare of the school, and especially in the girl pupils, by whom she was dearly loved: and in her death all felt that they had suffered an irreparable loss. Mister Clark resigned his position as teacher in March, 1859, returning to England in the same ship on which he had arrived.  Much might be written about both school and pupils, but that is unnecessary just now.  In possessing yourself and wife as teachers of the school, the trustees are exceedingly fortunate, and I sincerely trust you may long continued to directed. Yours very sincerely THOMAS RUSSELL.  He read statistics he had compiled, as follows:  Vancouver Island became a Crown colony in 1849. For years later, 1853, this school building was erected, the school having at that time the very appropriate name of Maple Point. In the Colonist of March 16, 1902, the Honourable Doctor J.S. Helmcken states that in 1855 the census returns of Vancouver Island colony show the following:  “There were three schools, Victoria School had twenty-six pupils; Maple Point, opposite Craigflower, at twenty-six, Nanaimo, twenty-nine. Education probably free,; the teachers paid out of colonial funds.”  From the foregoing, as well as from information kindly given by old residence, we learn that Craigflower then was directly across the Arm from where we now are, and having a population of nearly 80 in all. We have also been informed that a large flour mill with bakery attached, was located there, and that at that time the name of the place was written “ Craigflour.” It may reasonably be inferred that when the wheel of the mill ceased to grind, in consideration of the great number of wildflowers with which this vicinity is especially beautified, a happy change was made in the spelling of the word “Craigflower.”  In 1852 or 1853, the Major Tompkins, the first mail boat running between Victoria and Olympia, was wrecked at Macaulay’s Point. The bell of this steamer was purchased for the use of this school. It may be of interest to say that the bell was not used for many years, on account of the expense of hanging it, and that on the occasion of the visit of Lord Dufferin, in 1876, was kindly loaned to the Victoria trustees, who so admired its sweet tones that they were only too willing to retain permanent possession. They doubtless would have accomplished their desires, had it not been for the very persistent efforts of Messieurs the late James Stewart, Robert Porter and Martin J Dodd, your then trustees.  On July 23, 1870, Craigflower School district was giving boundaries, which since have been altered and redefined at various times.  I shall now endeavor to give the chief points of interest connected with this school, as given in the reports of the superintendence of education from the inception of the present school system, in 1872 to the present time:  in 1872, the superintendent of education reports as follows on the condition of the school building  then nineteen years old:  “Building exceedingly dilapidated and almost past repair. New schoolhouse required.” During the following year the government expended $1125 in repairs on the building, and since that time repairs and improvements of a minor character have been made.  The first pupil of the school to pass the examination required for entrance to a High school was Thomas Pottinger, in 1876.  At the departmental examination held in 1879, the highest percentage in the “A” papers was obtained by Frederick Adams, and in the “B” papers by W. Parker the following additional pupils have passed for the High school in 1881  Couper W. Newberry, J. H. Ker, Albert Parker. In 1882  Janey H. Newbury, Herman Tiedman. In 1883  Katie Williams. In 1885  Mary Caroline Austin. In 1889  William Seafe. In 1891  John. B. Adams In 1892  Alice Porter. In 1897  Mabel Shepherd. In 1900  S. D. Harold Pope. In 1901  John B. Stewart, Alfred Williams. In 1902  Constance Williams.  Prior to 1872 the only teacher of this school known to me, now residing in the province, his Mister Thomas Russell, of Victoria. The following is a list of the teachers of the school during the past thirty-one years:  1872  1875  L. Lievre. 1875  1878  George Pottinger. 1878  1883  John C. Newbury. 1883  1887  John Mundell. 1887  1890  A.M. Bannerman 1890  1892  R.C. Johnston. 1892  1892  E.R. Mulder 1892  1900  S. Sheperd. 1900  1903  S.D. Pope.  In 1872 the trustees were James Stewart, R, Downer and Martin J Dodd. In the following year a complete change was made, Robert Porter, William Hillier, Henry Cogan, being the trustees. Two changes were made in 1874, Martin J. Dodd and John Parker being elected.  Since this time and including the above the following is a length of service of each trustee:  Robert Porter  twenty years James Stewart  eighteen years Martin J Dodd  fifteen years E. Whittier  ten years JW Rowland  twelve years. J. J. Wilson  two years. George Osborne  one year. The last three named are our present trustees.  While we would say all honour to those trustees who have so ably conducted the affairs of this school in the past, we should accord a mead of praise to the present trustees who are so earnestly endeavoring to emulate the example set them by their predecessors.  Ladies and gentlemen, I have carefully prepared the foregoing statistics, and I trust that they have not been only interesting but they will recall pleasant reminisces. The most important thing that took place during the afternoon, most probably, in the scholars’ minds, was the distribution of prizes, which were as follows:  Margarita Wilson, roll of honour; for Deportment; Edith Predmore, roll of honour for punctuality and regularity; Maie Rowlands, roll of honour for proficiency; Effie Johnson, a book, for writing;Maud Mockler, a book for reading; Alice Wilson, a book for writing and drawing; Willie Johnson, a book, for general improvement; Harley Stewart, a book, for regularity; Lily Osborn, a book, for regularity; Freeman Harding, a book, for reading and writing; Maurice Carmichael, a book, for general improvement; Albert Gurom, a book, for rapid progress; Harold Kaye, a book, for general improvement.  After the presentation was over, and three cheers given for Mister Pope, the teacher, by the school children, refreshments were served.
1903-07-17Colonistsandstone Saturna CarnegieCarnegie Library – At Monday evening’s meeting of the Council authority was given to issue a call for tenders for the construction of the new Carnegie library building. City Assessor Northcott yesterday inspected the pans and specifications prepared by Mseesrs. Hooper & Watkins. It is intended to use Saturna Island sandstone in the building. Alderman Kinsman is much opposed to that class of stone, claiming it will not be sufficiently durable. Two weeks will be given to contractors to submit their figures and work will be pushed with all expedition once a commencement is made.
1903-07-18Colonistsandstone Haddington andesite libraryThe Question of Stone — there is every indication that there will be a lively dispute at the council board before a decision is reached as to the character of the stone to be used in the Carnegie library building. It is suggested that sandstone from Saturna Island be used but Ald, Kinsman point out that it is not durable and he opposes it. A.W. Huson is anxious that the library should be built of Haddington Island stone. He offers to supply it at the nominal price of 25 cents per ton. “This stone, ” he says, “which was used in the legislative buildings and the Bank of Montreal, can be readily cut with saws (when freshly quarried) into blocks and veneering of any size or thickness, and will harden by the action of the weather till it becomes practically indestructible. Of course, contractors are willing to use the cheapest stone available, without regard to durability.”
1903-07-19Colonistsandstone Haddington CarnegieCondemns Use Of Sandstone  Ald. Kinsman Points Out Weaknesses in Material Suggested for Library  Cites Buildings in Which Lack of Durability is Shown  As indicated in a short paragraph which appeared in the Colonist yesterday morning, there is every indication that there is going to be all kinds of trouble at the council board before a decision is reached as the particular kind of stone to be used in the Carnegie library building, which is to go up on the corner of Yates and Blanshard streets. In the plans and specifications as drawn by Messrs. Hooper & Watkins, the architects, it is stated that the building is to be constructed of sandstone. And it is generally understood that the particular stone in view by the intending contractors is a sandstone to be brought from Saturna quarries.  And it is just here where Ald. Johns Kinsman arises and registers a vigorous kick against any such procedure. He declares that sandstone is no good – that it will not wear nor stand the ravages of time – and therefore he is much opposed to the suggestion that it should be used for the Carnegie library building.  A Colonist reporter saw Ald. Kinsman yesterday and he said: “ The suggestion that sandstone should be used in the Carnegie library building is one which I will oppose at the council board to every extent possible. As you know, I have had the experience of a lifetime in handling building materials, and I ought to know what I am talking about. I unhesitatingly declare local sandstone for building purposes to be a huge failure, and in justification of that statement, I point to numerous buildings in town erected many years ago, in which sandstone was used, where glaring wasting away is shown, and other natural weaknesses disclosed, which further proof that eh stone does not possess that quality of durability which ought to be insisted upon when we select a material for a public building of the importance of the Carnegie library edifice.  “That I am correct in what I say will be seen by anyone who cares to inspect the old masonic hall on Government street – a building which was erected in 1866, if I remember rightly, and which adjoins Messrs. Hibben & Co.’s establishment. The stone is crumbling, faded and stained, and fast losing all the properties of durability. Stone of a similar character showing the same evidence of decay may be seen in what is known as the rice mill building on Store street, and the store occupied by Messrs. Clark and Pearson on Yates street. Some years ago, I inspected the San Francisco mint building, and it was then I first had my attention drawn to the weaknesses of Coast sandstone as a building material. I shall certainly oppose its introduction into the Carnegie library building, as I consider it entirely unfit.  “Just what particular sort of stone ought to be selected I am not in a position to say. We do know that the stone from the Haddington Island quarries, which was used in the Bank of Montreal and the parliament buildings, is a first class stone, and that it can be obtained at a very reasonable figure. Stonecutters object to it, I believe, on the grounds that it is very hard to cut; but I do not know how far that complaint is justified. The stone from the Cobble Hill quarries is, I believe, of good quality and quite suitable. But you may say that I am strenuously opposed tot he use of sandstone. As I have said, It is no good.”  A special meeting of the city council is to be held on Friday, when the question of the sort of material to be used in the Carnegie library will be threshed out.
1903-08-11ColonistCausewayThe Daily Colonist, August 11, 1903.  The Dredging Operations  Public interest in the work of the big dredge King Edward at the task of filling in the James Bay flats shows no abatement and the most sanguine expectations are entertained at the huge job will be completed in a short time, as excellent progress is being made. Cooperating with the King Edward in the important work of harbour improvement is the Mudlark, which is now engaged dredging the channel into the inner harbour. The material is being conveyed to the front of the Causeway, and utilized by the King Edward in the reclamation work. The channel will be deepened sufficiently to allow the Princess Victoria and Puget Sound Company’s new steamer, and all similar vessels entering the inner harbour.
1903-10-07ColonistCauseway Empress Daily Colonist, October 7, 1903.  Position of Hotel.  It was reported yesterday be the intention of the C. P. R. To erect the big tourist hotel at a point much nearer the Causeway on James Bay than was first mentioned. The idea mentioned in this connection is to so place a hotel building that it will attract the eye of all arrivals by the steamers landing at the outer wharf.
1903-11-07ColonistCauseway EmpressDaily Colonist, November 7, 1903.  More Good Work  Another excellent day’s work was put in upon the mud flats yesterday by the various fillers. The ground is rapidly reaching the level of the old bridge, and before long the permanent causeway should be undertaken.
1903-11-10ColonistCauseway EmpressDaily Colonist  November 10, 1903.  The New Hotel  — An interesting item to Victorians appears in a late issue of the Montreal Herald, as follows: “The first practical step toward the erection of a palatial hotel in Victoria by the Canadian Pacific railway is being taken in the head offices today where Hayter Reed, Manager of the Chateau Frontenac at Quebec, and F.M. Rattenbury, a Victoria, B.C., architect, have the plans for the structure under consideration. Mr. Rattenbury came from Victoria to consult with the C.P.R., and Mr. Reed, as a practical hotel man, was also summoned to be present. The new hotel will be fitted out in the most approved fashion, but work upon it will not begin for some time. It will be admirably located at James Bay causeway, and will be an important addition to the chain of fine hotels now operated by the Canadian Pacific.”
1903-11-15ColonistCauseway Empress James BayDaily Colonist, November 15, 1903  Letters to the Editor. James Bay Causeway.  Sir.  Overlooking for the time being all matters leading up to the present lamentable condition of the retaining wall, and on whom the responsibility rests, the fact remains that the citizens voted a large sum for a permanent improvement, and nothing less will fill the contract, as on that rests the carrying out of the hotel project. Now, Mr. Editor, the citizens have had good cause for lack of faith, and inasmuch as the original plans were departed from with the results now apparent, they have the right to a full explanation from the council of the plans now to be adopted, with an assurance that a permanent improvement will be the result. Failing this the citizens will no doubt seek other means of safeguarding their interests and will also require a full investigation of the whole matter, but this last can rest till the ship is safe in port.  A.J. Morley, Victoria, B.C. 11th Nov. 1903
1903-11-15ColonistCauseway, Empress James BayDaily Colonist, November 15, 1903  The Retaining Wall  In justice to Mr. Gamble, C.E., it should be stated that he has not yet given any opinion whatever regarding the James Bay retaining wall, about the condition of which he was consulted by the mayor the other day. .
1903-11-20ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist November 20, 1903  James Bay Causeway  Sir:– I submit that newspaper controversy cannot make good what is at fault. The Council in obtaining expert opinion, although tardy in so doing, is no doubt doing the best under the circumstances. Of next importance in the permanent completion of the work at as little extra cost as possible, is that we benefit by the experience by making it impossible of recurrence in other municipal works.  At the time the Voter’s league took account of the funds voted for this improvement being used for another, the following suggestion was made: “That when a bylaw for the expenditure of money is to be referred to the ratepayers a clear description of the purpose for which the money is required and the plan of its expenditure shall be made part of the bylaw; that where works of construction are to be carried out the completed plans and specifications and estimates shall be made part of the bylaw.”  This would definitely place the responsibility upon the Council to the people, and upon the engineer to the Council, and while compelling the engineer to exercise every care in completing his plans, would remove the opportunity of after-charges by the council.  A city engineer is of necessity responsible for work in his department and if called upon to carry out an extraordinary work has the same right to demand consultation as a physician in like circumstances, but under no circumstances should he be interfered with in the carrying out of his plans once they are passed by council. This is always supposing the engineer to be competent. In England, and still more in the United States, the contract system is favored as being the only means of safeguarding a city against loss. A contractor can be compelled, under bond, to complete his contract for the price named, subject to the approval of the city engineer, but it is obviously impossible to compel city engineer to back up his mistakes or mishaps with hard cash.  A.J. Morley
1903-12-01ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist  December 1, 1903. Report to City Council. The following letter was read from the city engineer Gentlemen: In accordance with instructions I have the honour to submit the following report of the work I consider necessary to be done to improve and strengthen the James Bay retaining wall. As previously instructed a cluster of piles has been driven as close together as possible for a distance of 50 feet on either side of the centreline of wall and 10 feet from the face of same and since this work was done I am pleased to say no further movement has taken place. I would now further recommend that the mud be dredged out in sections and hard bottom obtained for a distance of 30 feet from each end, and 12 feet from the face of above mentioned cluster of piles. In this area so formed piles to be driven at five or 6 feet centres, the space between and outside of the piles be filled in with rock up to the foundation level of present wall. On these piles and rock filling a solid concrete platform 15 feet wide be erected to high water line; from this point the work to be carried out to correspond with present wall as indicated by sketches number one and number two. In conclusion I may say, should either of the above plans be adopted, I have no hesitation in stating the same would add greatly to the appearance of the structure as well as making a substantial buttress the point required. Report adopted, clauses three and four be left over for future consideration.
1903-12-11ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, December 22, 1903.  URGES THAT FLATS BE FILLED. ARCHITECT Rattenbury ADVISES CITY COUNCIL TO PRECEDE WITH GREATER EXPEDITION.   Senators Templeman and McDonald desirous of helping Causeway.  In the absence of His Worship Mayor McCandless last evening Alderman Cameron was moved to the chair and presided at the regular session of the city Council. Alderman Yates, though back from the Old Country, did not attend. Business transacted was purely routine in character, the most important item being a letter received from FM Rattenbury, re the CPR hotel site. Letters were red from the Honourable Senator McDonald and Honourable Senator Templeman regarding to an application from the Council for their assistance re-the propose causeway of Rock Bay. Each gentleman has written to the department at Ottawa urging that the request of Council be acceded to. Letters received and filed and written to be thanked for their good services. A letter from the Deputy Attorney General was read, stating that the application of the Council on the Rock Bay matter has been forwarded. Received and filed.  The following letter was read from F. M. Rattenbury, architect, CPR hotel:  To His Worship the Mayor and Aldermen of the City of Victoria.   Gentlemen: since I returned from Montréal now over three weeks ago, I have been busily occupied preparing the working drawings necessary for the erection of the new CPR Tourist hotel on James Bay embankment these drawings will soon be completed, and we shall be prepared, ready to commence. I wish, therefore, call to your attention of the flats still require some more filling in, at least 5 feet I should judge, so as to bring them up to the level of the adjacent streets, as the city agreed to do during the past three weeks nothing appears to have been done in the direction of completing this filling, and unless the work is expeditiously pushed ahead, the commencement of the foundations must be necessarily be delayed. Another very important matter that, it seems to me, requires your consideration, is that the surplus water of the filling in any done is draining away very slowly. Some additional facilities appear necessary so as to allow the water to escape so as to give the filling a chance to consolidate. This should be a comparatively easy matter to arrange and it would hasten matters a great deal if it could be done at once. As you are doubtless aware preparing a firm foundation for the hotel to rest of will be a formidable task at the best. But whilst the filling remains in its present liquid state it is well-nigh impossible. While the method that will be adopted for the foundations is not yet definitely settled and cannot be in till the ground consolidates and tests are made, it is probable that piles will be driven in about 20 feet deep over the site to be built upon, then withdrawn and the holes filled up gravel or concrete. To do this however, requires that the filling in, shall be dry and firm enough to hold itself up, when we withdraw the filing. Yours obediently,  FM Rattenbury, Architect
1904-01-01ColonistCauseway mud flat mudflatsDaily Colonist, January 1, 1904.  There is no doubt that the construction of the James Bay Causeway and the filling in of the mud flats have added very largely to the value of property across the Bay, as well as providing a fine thoroughfare for the antiquated and ugly wooden structure that carried the traffic. But the completion of the causeway will not justify the Council dismissing the subject of improvements in that vicinity. By the location and purchased by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company of a site for its wharf, and by the erection by the same company of a hotel on the land donated to it by the city, the importance of the new thoroughfare will be greatly increased and the value of the frontage in the causeway correspondingly enhanced. It will be for the City Council to consider carefully how the frontage that the city will have can be utilized to the best advantage. The change in the landing place of the steamers from the Mainland, which the Railway Company is intending to make, will entirely alter the situation. For certain lines of business stores and offices adjacent to the hotel and fronting on the causeway, should command very good rents care should be taken that the buildings erected should be in a style in harmony the architectural features of the hotel. By that means the visitors first impression of Victoria will be very favourable, and that counts for a good deal more than may be supposed.
1904-01-15ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalBritish Colonist   January 15, 1904   page 7  The Puget Sound Service  The announcement that the Canadian Pacific Railway Company has acceded to the request of the Board of Trade and will place the steamer Princess Beatrice on the service between here and Seattle, will be heard with general satisfaction. The manner in which that company carries out any undertaking on which it enters is so well known that the people of Victoria will realize that the service between here and Puget Sound will be placed on a basis that it has not occupied since the loss of the City of Kingston. In the Princess Beatrice the company has a vessel immediately available that in seaworthiness and character and style of her accommodation for passengers leaves nothing to be desired for the winter service on this route. Doubtless if the volume of summer traffic makes it necessary to put a vessel with more extensive accommodation for passengers, the company will be equal to the situation and having taken up the business will not permit either money or energy to be lacking in developing it to the utmost possible extent. The company’s reputation is so well known that the announcement that it has placed a vessel on the Victoria and Seattle rout will produce a most salutary effect on the mind of the traveling public which can scarcely fail to have been disturbed by the appalling accident last week. The effect of that incident might have been injuriously felt for a long time in a diminution of the traffic in the ordinary course of things and the appearance of the Canadian Pacific Company on the scene and its occupation of the route is a calculated to have a most beneficial effect on the volume and character of the traffic.
1904-01-15ColonistClallam sinks Was Passed by Victoria Officials on July 2nd, 1903  The certificate of inspection granted to the steamer ‘Clallam’ by Capt. R. Collister, inspector of hands and equipment, and Capt. A. Thomson, inspector of boilers, was given to the lost steamer on July 3rd. The inspection of the steamer was made on July 2nd by both inspectors. The certificate, which was witnessed by a Colonist reporter yesterday, is signed by both officials. It certifies that the steamer is a vessel of 365.78 tons, under deck tonnage. Her gross tonnage was 657 tons, registered net tonnage of 415 tons. The tonnage of her houses on deck was 306.22 tons. The vessel had one boat with a carrying capacity of 32 persons, and five lifeboats with a capacity of 155 persons. She had 530 life preservers, 25 fire buckets, 6 axes, 6 lanterns, 4 life buoys. She was entitled to carry 250 passengers and freight, or 500 on excursions without freight. The boiler inspector certified to the steamer being fully equipped. She had 66 nominal horsepower, and her boiler was certified to carry 165 pounds of steam to the square inch.   Regarding inspection the Seattle Times says:   “The ‘Clallam’ was a new boat, having been in commission only six months. Presumably she was duly examined by government inspectors and pronounced seaworthy. Presumably, also, her officials were duly examined and properly licensed to operate such vessels. The fact that a new steamer running between Seattle and Victoria springs a leak within the short space of six months makes pertinent the query:   “Do inspectors really inspect? Are their examinations of applicants for positions on ships as thorough as they should be for the proper protection of the traveling public?   “A few years ago the marine service on Puget Sound was scandalized by the putting of a number of unseaworthy vessels on the Alaskan service. A few disasters and an indignant public brought about a better inspection service. The unexpected disaster to the ‘Clallam’ suggests that possibly more care should be exercised in the inspection of boats placed in commission.”
1904-01-15ColonistClallam sinks Cabin Boy Tells of the Occurrences of the Fatal Friday  Archie King, cabin boy of the lost steamer ‘Clallam’, gave evidence yesterday morning to the coroner’s enquiry which Dr. Hart is now holding to investigate the disaster, with C.R. Lugrin appearing on behalf of the Dominion Government, and A.E. McPhillips on behalf of the province, to see that the facts are brought out. The Victoria boy, who has been cabin boy of the vessel since she entered service in July last, said that about a month before the disaster the steamer ‘Clallam’ stopped one day off Port Townsend, having broken down, and two tugs came out to her. One passed a line to the ‘Clallam’. Some of the passengers embarked on one a lighthouse tender, and went back to Port Townsend.   After the bodies of Col. W. Thompson, of Tacoma; C.H. Joy, of Harberton; Mrs. Margaret J. Gill, of Dawson, and Peter La Plant, of San Juan, had been identified, King was sworn, and after telling of the voyage of the ‘Clallam’ until she left Port Townsend, he said he did not notice anything unusual until between 2 and 3 o’clock. The weather was rough. He went below, and on looking through the grating down into the engine room, saw water on the floor of the engine room, where the second steward was standing. He remained there for some time, and when he went along the main deck from the engine room door into the dining room he noticed that, some life-preservers were being handed around. He then assisted in taking them down and handing them to passengers. While going into the rooms to get out life-preservers he found a little boy about four years of age lying asleep on the lower berth in room 54 or 56, he was not sure which. He took out the little fellow and carried him to the saloon, where he put a life-preserver on him and left him there. After going up on the boat deck, when the crew were lowering the boats, he did not see the little boy again. He did not know who the child was, or if the parents were on board.   Shortly after he was ordered to the hurricane deck and assisted in lowering the boats, which was hard work on account of the storm. The boats were launched on the starboard side before going across to the port side. The steamer was heading toward San Juan and the islands when the boats were launched. The engines were working after he left the engine room, and he could not say when they were stopped. The steamer was standing when the boats were launching, rolling in the trough of the sea. The steamer was then about five miles from shore. He could not see the boats when they dropped below the texas, where he stood, but saw them turn over in the water and saw the people struggling in the water. The captain and officers were there at the lowering of the boats. Afterward the crew were ordered to the lower deck to throw off cargo. The crew and passengers in the meantime had started bailing with buckets.   Witness said he had no idea where the water was coming from. It seemed to come from somewhere in the stern. He did not see any pumps being used. Some of them were pretty tire bailing in the evening and went on deck, when they saw the tug which proved to be the ‘Holyoke’, running toward them. This was about 8 o’clock. It was getting dark, and he only knew that the tug was coming by seeing its light. The ‘Holyoke’ went around the ‘Clallam’ a couple of times and then threw a heaving line, which was caught and a line was passed on board. She then commenced to tow the steamer to Port Townsend. The water had reached the engine room grating when the tug came. The steamer had one sail up, the jib. The passengers and crew continued to bail to the last minute. The stern of the steamer was sinking when they stopped, and as they reached the deck the vessel was well over on her port side. The tug ‘Sea Lion’ approached and Captain Roberts shouted through a megaphone that the steamer was foundering, and it seemed to witness, although he could not hear the language, that the captain asked the ‘Sea Lion’ to take off those on the ‘Clallam’.   The passengers then hung over the rail on the starboard side, and the ‘Clallam’ continued to go over the port. There was a heavy sea and they were being washed off, one or two at a time. He was thrown into the water and floated for some time before he was picked up by those on a raft. It was quite dark, but he could see the tug and the ship in the distance. He was the second but last to get on the raft, and had difficulty in getting onto it. Capt. Roberts, First Officer Delauney and about ten others were on the raft. Captain Roberts kept us shouting “Help!”, and then we saw the tug approaching. The men on the ‘Sea Lion’ had heard us and came to our assistance.   We were rescued by a couple of men in a boat from the ‘Sea Lion’. When they were close they threw a heavy line, which we caught and held, drawing the raft toward the boat. We were taken off, one at a time. When the ‘Sea Lion’s’ crew got us on board they made hot coffee and gave up their bunks to us. After all got on board, the ‘Sea Lion’ kept steaming slowly about the place until next morning, when she left for Port Townsend. The sea was calmer, but was still pretty rough, and there was quite a swell. There was not a great difference in the weather when the boats were launched and after the ‘Holyoke’ came. The moon was out, which aided a great deal in rescuing the passengers from the water. If the moon had not been out the tugs would not have been able to pick up half as many as they did. He could not say whether it was possible to put the passengers on the tug ‘Holyoke’ when the tug had come to the vessel. It was pretty rough. Lives might have been lost in the attempt. He would have preferred to stay on the vessel.   In answer to questions by jurymen, he said there were lanterns at the bow and stern, and as many as they could get below. He could not say how many there were. There were enough to work with. The engines were going steady from the time the vessel left Port Townsend until the stoppage. The closest the steamer reached Victoria, he believed was about four or five miles.   He heard no orders to make distress signals, or saw none until the lantern was put up after dark. It was hauled up and down. He heard no distress signals being made, nor could he say whether the flag had been reversed as a distress signal. He had not looked to see. He thought he saw the lights of a steamer at night, but it may have been a lighthouse.   It was the custom to hold fire drills on board the steamer. Three or four had been held since he joined the vessel on her first trip to Port Angeles from Victoria on July 4th. It was rough that day. The other boats had fire drills once a week. We didn’t have so many. The boats were not all lowered on the occasion of fire drills, only the one on the starboard side. Those at the others stood at their positions. He could not say whether there were rockets on board.   About a month ago, when the ‘Clallam’ was off Port Townsend, her engines stopped and two tugs came out to her assistance. The steamer refused to take their line. It was not rough at the time. He did not know what was the matter. The steamer had been near Port Flagler, and one of the boats which came out was a lighthouse tender. The officers expected that the steamer would be all right at any minute. The lighthouse tender passed a line on board and some of the passengers went back to Port Townsend. He could not remember the engines having gone wrong at any other time. He had gone into the hull of the steamer and had never seen any sign of her leaking before Friday last.   Questioned by Mr. C.H. Lugrin, he said first when he first noticed the water on the floor of the engine room the steamer was of the island nearing Victoria. He looked into the engine room from the freight deck doorway, looking down through the grating. He saw very little water. This was about fifteen or thirty minutes before the engines were stopped. He did not go near the pumps and could not tell anything about them. When the boats were launched Capt. Roberts was on the hurricane deck. He did not see anyone moving the life rafts which were on that deck. No effort was made to put them over to the rescue of the people who were struggling in the water after the boats capsized. the tug ‘Holyoke’ took the steamer with the wind when she started to tow her toward Port Townsend. He could not say whether this was in the same direction that the steamer had been drifting. He had not heard of any of the crew leaving their position on the ‘Clallam’ on account of her leaking prior to the day of the accident. The ‘Holyoke’ came close enough to the ‘Clallam’ to throw a line on her first appearance.   Witness had not seen any oil put over the side to calm the water at the time the boats were launched. There were no women and children on the steamer to his knowledge, after the boats were launched. There was a big flag flying, but he could not say whether it was upside down as a distress signal. He had not looked. He could not say, from his knowledge, whether there were any rockets or distress signals on board.   To Mr. A.E. McPhillips he said he had gone to the engine room about 2 o’clock, going without any reason. He saw the second engineer standing in his place beside the lever. He noticed some water on the floor, not much. The floor was wet, but the water was not very deep. He did not think anything about this. He had never seen water there before. The engines were below the floor on which he saw the water, and the water must have been deeper there. After retelling the incident of finding the child, he said he went to the boat deck, following some friends who had gone there. Practically all the crew were there. He noticed the captain shouting, but could not hear his orders.   When the boats were launched, he could not say whether the steamer had way or not. She appeared to be rolling in the though of the sea without moving. When the boats were capsized and the passengers were in the water, the captain was in a position to see the boats turn over. He heard the captain give no orders to assist those in the water. He heard no officer give orders for the saving of the lives. Some boats were lowered after others had capsized. He did not hear any remarks regarding it being folly to continue launching the boats after the others had capsized. He saw at least two boats floating around after being launched. The bailing was commenced after 4 o’clock. There were six boats and all except one was launched. The captain ordered everyone to throw off freight. When witness went down the bailers had commenced lifting water out of the fire room and engine room with buckets. Everybody was helping and ordering. He thought Livingstone Thompson was in charge. He seemed to have taken charge anyway. About eight persons were bailing in each shift.   About twenty were bailing altogether. Witness was helping in the fire room, and when a man dropped off he ran down to the engine room. The water was up to the grating when he was bailing, but did not appear to gain headway. The officers kept coming and asking if the water was gaining. Witness had not seen any vessels pass in the daytime, neither had he seen the ‘Holyoke’ make fast to the ‘Clallam’.   The fact that the water reached the engine room grating would show that the vessel was full aft. When the ‘Sea Lion’ came Captain Roberts was shouting by megaphone to the tug that his steamer was foundering. Witness was under the impression, he could not hear the language, that Capt. Roberts wanted the tug to take the passengers. Witness did not hear any of the passengers dispute the action of the captain. There was no mutiny.
1904-01-15ColonistCPR steamship service Steamer Princess Beatrice Will Be Placed on Victoria Seattle Route   Will Commence in a Few Days Direct and Speedy Service to Seattle   Agreement Made By Local Merchants to Give Their Business to C.P.R.  The steamer ‘Princess Beatrice’, of the C.P.R. will be placed on the Sound route between Victoria and Seattle in a few days, arrangements to that effect being now under way. The ‘Princess Beatrice’ will give a direct service, omitting the call at Port Townsend. This will make at least an hour and a half difference in the time for the voyage, a great saving. The call at Port Townsend involves an hours delay, in that a stop of half an hour is made, and half an hour is spent in making and leaving the wharf. With the steamer making the voyage direct she will save half an hour in steaming direct without rounding in to Port Townsend.   The steamer ‘Princess Beatrice’ is a fine new vessel, staunchly built and splendidly equipped, having been built of unusual strength for the run to northern British Columbia ports, and the inauguration of a steamship service between Victoria and Seattle with that vessel by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company is another showing of the policy adopted by the C.P.R. to further the interests of Victoria. The corporation has decided to add still further to the interests being acquired in Victoria, and, with the building of the new tourist hotel, the company, by improving the steamship connections with Victoria will endeavor to keep the hotel well filled. With the establishment of a service by the steamer ‘Princess Beatrice’ on the Victoria-Seattle route, and the ‘Princess Victoria’ giving a four hour service between Victoria and Vancouver, the connections between both the British Columbia and United States mainland, will be much improved.   The ‘Princess Beatrice’ will be placed on the Sound route as soon as the necessary arrangements can be made. The matter was finally arranged at a meeting of the council of the board of trade and C.P.R. officials held yesterday. A committee was appointed on Tuesday by the board of trade to take up this matter with Capt. J.W. Troup, superintendent of the C.P.R. Steamship Co., coast service, and he attended a meeting of the committee. Following up the overtures made in August, 1902 when the C.P.R. was unwilling to engage in a service between Victoria and Seattle, strong pressure was brought to bear upon Capt. Troup by the committee and the council of the board of trade offered to get a unanimous guarantee from the merchants of Victoria that they will give their freight and the passenger business controlled by them to the C.P.R. This arrangement was similar to the proposals made by the board of trade to J.F. Lawless, when the then manager of the Pacific Coast Steamship Company recently visited this city.   Mayor McCaudless, on behalf of the city of Victoria, also wired to Sir Thos. Shaughnesay, president of the Canadian Pacific railway, in this regard, and yesterday a meeting of the council of the board of trade was held which was headed by E.J. Coyle, general passenger agent of the C.P.R.; R. Greer, general freight agent of the C.P.R., and Captain J.W. Troup, superintendent of the C.P.R. Steamship Company. Before the officials of the C.P.R. would consent to undertake this service they asked that an assurance be given that it was the wish of the merchants and shippers of Victoria that they did so. A draft of an agreement, similar to the offered to the Pacific Coast Steamship Co., was produced by the council of the Board of Trade, and meeting with the approval of the C.P.R., it was decided to circulate the agreement, which was as follows:   Victoria, B.C., Jan. 14, 1904   In consideration of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company operating and maintaining a proper and satisfactory steamer service between Victoria and Seattle, we the undersigned importers and shipping merchants do hereby agree and guarantee to support to out utmost the Canadian Pacific Railway in such service, and to this end agree to give to the said company all the business we can control or influence both passenger and freight in and out of Victoria by this route, and promise to instruct, on the inauguration of such steamer service, all our shippers in Seattle and other points where we are making purchases, to route our business by said company.   This undertaking to include all trans-continental freight through Seattle.   It being understood that the present tariff rates of Puget Sound Navigation Company are satisfactory and that in the event of a rate war or any cut in rates being made by any opposition company or companies, we will not avail ourselves of same, but will give our undivided support to the Canadian Pacific Railway on the basis of the present tariff rates of the Puget Sound Navigation Company.   The firms included among those who have signed the agreement are as follows:   Government Street: The Brackman-Ker, Prior & Co., D. Goodacre, Dixi Ross, B.C. Market, Fletcher Bros., W. & J. Wilson, T.N. Hibben & Co., Henry Young, David Spencer, Victoria Book & Stationery Co., Weiler Bros., R. Porter & Son, The West End Grocery, W.M. Waitt, The Westside, Sea & Gowen, J. Sehl, Hickes & Lovick, Sidney Shore. Wharf Street: The Hudson’s Bay Co., J.H. Todd & Sons, E.B. Marvin, Wilson Bros., E. McQuade & Sons, Turner-Beeton & Co., F.D. Brodie, B. Wilson Co., Loewenberg & Co., W.S. Fraser & Co., Rithet & Co., B.R. Seabrook, Hamilton Powder Co. Fort Street: Robt. Ward & Co., Fell & Co., M.R. Smith, Speed Bros., W.J. Mellor & Co. Yates Street: Henderson Bros., S.J. Pitts & Co., R. Baker & Son, F.R. Stewart & Co., Hickman Tye, Geo. E. Munro, Lens & Leiser, Pither & Leiser, J. Piercy & Co., B.C. Electric Railway, Sylvester Feed Co. Johnson Street: McDowell & Rosie, A. McGregor & Co., Saunders Grocery Co. Store Street: Radiger & Janion, Albion Iron Works, Andrew Gray, Victoria Machinery Co.Broad Street: B.C. Pottery, J. Mesion, A. & W. Wilson. Bastion Street: W.A. Ward, Martin & RobertsonCapt. J.W. Troup, superintendent of the C.P.R. Steamship Company; E.J. Coyle, general passenger agent of the C.P.R., and B.W. Greer, general freight agent, left for Seattle, last night by the steamer ‘Dolphin’ to make arrangements for wharfage and other arrangements for wharfage and other matters in Seattle.
1904-01-31Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, January 31, 1904 a committee consisting of Alderman Oddy, Beckwith, Elford and the purchasing agent was appointed to interview S.T. Styles with a view to purchasing a lot Spring Ridge for the purpose of securing gravel with which to fill in the James Bay for. The purchasing agent was authorized to purchase all necessary material point Ellice bridge.
1904-02-09Colonistsandstone Saturna CarnegieFine Stone – the stone blocks for the Carnegie library being received from the sandstone quarries at Saturna island are splendid specimens. Some of them weigh seven tons and measure fourteen feet long by two feet deep. The largest are intended for the doorways.
1904-02-18ColonistCAUSEWAY EMPRESSDaily Colonist, February 18, 1904. SPECIAL MEETING OF CITY COUNCIL. Arrangements Are Now Being Made for Filling in of James Bay Flats. The adjourned special meeting of the city Council was held yesterday afternoon in the committee room to decide on the agreement with the BC Electric Railway Company Limited, for hauling filling for the James Bay mud flats. There were present: His Worship the Mayor and Aldermen Grahame, Elford Goodacre, Audie, Stuart and Vincent. The special committee’s report regarding the purchase of Lot 47 Spring Ridge, was read, as follows; Your committee, who have had this matter in hand, beg to report that they find it impractical to carry out the recommendation contained in the latter portion of the report presented by us to the city Council on the third inst., in so far as it relates to the acquirement of a right-of-way to Lot 47 over Lot 30 of 5 acre lot seventeen. Your committee would, therefore, now recommend that all reference in said report of the third inst., to said right-of-way, viz, that portion of the report beginning with the seventh line and terminating with the seventeenth line, both inclusive, be rescinded and the following substituted in lien thereof, viz.: We recommend that the Corporation acquire the temporary right-of-way over acre lot number forty-nine, with a view to facilitate the line of a temporary track to the property proposed to be purchased. The owner of said acre lot number forty-nine has agreed to allow said right-of-way for a period of twelve months in consideration of the payment of an amount equivalent to the taxes for the current year. Mister Styles, the owner of acre lot forty-eight is agreed to allow freak right-of-way over said acre lot forty-eight. We further recommend that the proper agreements be drawn up and duly executed by the owners of said lots forty-eight and forty-nine. The report was received and adopted The following letter from John Haggerty was read, received and filed. Mister Haggerty to be informed that other arrangements have been made; Gentlemen  I hereby offer to supply 5000 to 8000 yd.³ of filling, or whatever quantity may be required to fill in the roadway at James Bay Bridge, for the sum of forty cents per cubic yard. Since submitting my former offer I have been able to secure filling on easier terms. I am gentlemen, James Haggerty PS could deliver the above quantities in sixty days. The following letter from the city solicitor was received in all matters their order carried out;  thirteen February, 1904. His Worship the Mayor, Victoria BC; Dear Sir  I have approved the title to this property and prepared a conveyance from Mister S.T. Styles, the registered owner. I have also prepared deeds giving to the city right-of-way over lots forty-eight and forty-nine. The consideration in the case of Mrs. Williams is to be the amount of the one year’s tax. I am informed by Mister Kent that last year’s tax amounted $21.60. Will you please instruct Mister Kent to hand to me a receipt from Mrs. Emma Williams for whatever some I am to fix as consideration. I shall also require a check for the sum of $2000 in favour of Mister S.T. Styles. All of the above documents are executed by all the parties, and I await instructions to complete. JM Bradburn. Go to sleep
1904-02-20ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, February 20, 1904.  With the approach of the spring, the outlook for business in Victoria during the coming twelve months will be a matter of interest. As far as can be judged the prospects are favourable for a good years trade. Last year the early months were disturbed by labour troubles, and although they were not as acute here as in Vancouver, they had a serious effect, discouraging investment and making people reluctant to engage in various enterprises. It is to be hoped that there will be no repetition of them during the present year. Each year the tourist travel becomes larger and more important to Victoria. By the efforts put forth by the Tourist Association and other agencies, this city has become well-known all over the Continent as a delightful place to visit for either a Long or short period. Although it is yet too early in the season to be able to forecast the volume of tourist traffic that will occur this year, reports of railway authorities and others indicate that the prospects are that it will be very large. Indeed, it is said, that for this period of the year it has been beyond average. The Canadian Pacific Railway Company is making arrangements for great improvements in its transcontinental service. This will attract a greater flow of tourist and other travel over its line, and no town will benefit more largely from this then Victoria. With the Princess Victoria on the route between Vancouver and Victoria and Seattle, it is certain that service between here and those two places will be largely patronized, to the great advantage of Victoria. Locally also the prospects for activity in business in various lines are favourable. The completion of the James Bay Causeway, the construction of the new Canadian Pacific wharf and the commencement of building operations on the new hotel will give employment and increase the amount of money in circulation. Then the business conditions throughout the Province are favourable, and this will have an effect on the local situation, is not withstanding the rivalry of other towns, Victoria still retains her position as a centre of Provincial activity in many lines. The last few years have seen great improvements made in our streets, and it will be in the interests of the City that there should be a continuance in that direction. In various other ways the Board of Trade is striving to advance the interests of Victoria, and in the building up of the industries of the island there is a field for exploitation which cannot fail to yield large returns in the way of increased business to this city.
1904-02-20Colonisttransportation, marine, shippingSeattle Paper’s Extraordinary Statement Regarding Princess Beatrice   In yesterday morning’s edition of the Seattle Daily Times the question of the steamship services between this port and the Sound is discussed in the following article, which is very evidently ‘inspired’ from a source friendly either to the owners of the steamer ‘Princess Beatrice’ or of the traveling public of Victoria and the Sound cities. To all who are in the least familiar with the facts, and most Victorians are, this article carries with it its own refutation. The assumption that it is impertinent for a Canadian company to trespass upon preserves sacred to American companies for twenty years is, at least, comical, as well as novel. It is a funny argument to put forward in this great Western country where merit only counts, and precedent, prestige, habit and custom not at all. Why the Canadian company should not operate steamers between Victoria and the Sound with as much freedom as the Americans should operate them between the Sound and Victoria, is one of those pieces of logic that comes under the head of unsolved mysteries. The Colonist is in a position to say that the service provided by the steamer ‘Princess Beatrice’ has given the utmost satisfaction to the traveling public as well as to the shippers who do business with the company. The Daily Times extraordinary article is as follows:  To force an American steamship company from operating vessels between Seattle and points in British Columbia, and to give Canadian companies control of the traffic, a few Victoria business men are now making an effort to have the Puget Sound Navigation Company either withdraw the ‘Whatcom’ from the run or change the present schedule.  Victoria merchants contend that the new steamship ‘Princess Beatrice’ went on the run across the straits to improve the service. Instead of placing the vessel on a schedule which would give Victoria a night and day boat, the Canadian Pacific Railway Company arranged a time card almost identical with that of the Puget Sound Navigation Company.  Victoria merchants are not satisfied with the running schedule of the two boats at the present time and desiring a change, have appealed to the officers of the American company to better the service.  Instead of improving the service the ‘Princess Beatrice’ is now looked upon as an opposition craft in American waters, making an effort to control business which has been in the hands of American companies for the past twenty years.  The Canadian company operating the ‘Princess Beatrice’ did not announce its intention of placing a boat on the run until the steamship ‘Clallam’ foundered in the Straits January 8th. At a time when the Puget Sound Navigation Company was short of boats, this company despatched the ‘Princess Beatrice’ to Seattle to take the old schedule of the ‘Clallam’. In marine circles the move on the part of the Canadian company has never been looked upon with favor.  The first news of trouble to the steamship ‘Clallam’ reached Seattle Friday afternoon, January 8th. The following morning the steamship ‘Rosalie’ went out in the ‘Clallam’s’ place. The vessel continued on the run until Tuesday morning, when the Alaska steamship ‘Dolphin’ took the run and continued operating between Seattle and Victoria until the ‘Whatcom’ left the shipyards.  As an excuse for placing a vessel on the Victoria run under such conditions, the officers of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company announced that the merchants of Victoria demanded that another vessel be added to the traffic.  Before the company would place the ‘Princess Beatrice’ on the Seattle-Victoria run the merchants pledged themselves to give all their freight to the new boat.  The fight between the two companies has reached the acute stage and Seattle merchants are coming to the support of the American company. Contracts are now being signed and pledges made that every pound of freight reaching Victoria for shipment to this port will be carried by the American steamship company’s vessel.  During the course of a year many boxes of liquors from Scotland, England and Ireland reach Victoria in bond. Upon being taken out by dealers in that city the goods are shipped to Seattle in large quantities. In the future that trade will all go to the American boats.  It would be impossible for the Puget Sound Navigation Company to send the ‘Whatcom’ out on a night schedule because of a United States mail contract. It provides that the mails shall be delivered in Port Townsend not later than 12 o’clock each day and be on the dock at Victoria by 3 p.m.  Local merchants and shipping men assert that if Victoria residents want two boats a day it is proper for the last vessel on the run to arrange the schedule in accordance with their wishes and not try to drive an American company off the route by refusing to support when previous government contracts make such a change impossible.  The ‘Whatcom’ and ‘Beatrice’ leave each morning for Victoria.
1904-02-25Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, February 25, 1904. Work at the Flats  Work at the James Bay flats is likely to be prosecuted with vigour during the next few months. Boring has been practically completed. The pipe has encountered hard bottom at a variety of depths, the greatest being 90 feet. Hardpan has been struck in many instances and penetrated. The gravel, which will be obtained at the recently purchased Lot in Spring Ridge will not be deposited on the main area, but along the line of the roadway. This the city will complete as rapidly as possible.
1904-02-28Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, February 28, 1904. Start in Few Days –  During the coming week the tramway company hope to be in a position to make a start on the job of filling in the James Bay flats. The rails have already been laid to the gravel pits at Spring Ridge and dump cars are being made ready to handle the dirt. It is intended to operate two shifts, keep in the car is moving about eighteen hours continuously and it is believed that in six weeks’ time the space under the bridge will be filled for the permanent roadway. The work is not being undertaken a moment too soon, as the old bridge structure is in a pretty shaky condition.
1904-03-09ColonistCauseway empressDaily Colonist, March 9, 1904. Work at Hotel Site   – Enquiry has elicited the information that, contrary to an impression which prevails in some quarters, not the slightest difficulty will be experienced in getting a good, solid foundation for the big tourist hotel which the CPR is to erect on the James Bay flats. The boring operations demonstrated this conclusively, the greatest depth at the site of the building where it will be necessary to drive piles, being 40 feet. This morning the tramway company will commence dumping earth and gravel from the Spring Ridge pits into the space where the roadway will be extended from Government Street to Belleville Street. This should be finished and the old bridge torn up inside of four weeks.
1904-03-11Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist  March 11, 1904.  Adjusted Difficulty  A special committee of the city council, consisting of Aldermen Oddy, Elford, and Beckwith yesterday adjusted a slight difficulty which had arisen between the corporation and Mr S.T. Styles over a small strip of land through which access to property purchased by the city is obtained. The gravel from Spring Ridge to the James Bay flats by the tramway company will now commence at once.
1904-03-13Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist  March 13, 1904.  Hauling Gravel   – The work of hauling gravel to the James Bay flats commenced yesterday morning. Several cars especially adapted for the work are now employed. The planking of a portion of the bridge has been removed and the filling in material will be dumped between the joists.
1904-03-29ColonistcausewayDaily Colonist, March 29, 1904. Ready for Rails  the new roadway is now almost in shape at James Bay Causeway for laying the tram rails, and it is likely this work will be undertaken at once. As soon as the cars are running on terra firma the remnants of the old bridge structure will be torn away and filling in operations resumed. The tramway company did splendid work in this latter connection with the portion already finished, and the balance of the job ought not now to occupy a very great length of time.
1904-03-30Coloniststreet lightsDaily Colonist, March 30, 1904. The Streetlights  Very general satisfaction is felt in the city at the action of Alderman Vincent in arranging that the streetlights be operated each evening during the year, instead of as heretofore been run on the “moonlight schedule”. Nothing has been more annoying to more wide-awake citizens than to notice on certain evenings that when the moon was “supposed” to be shining that the streets were in darkness save from what flight emanated from store windows. That visitors thus got a very poor impression of the city was the opinion of everybody, and it is very satisfactory to that such a poor policy is going to be a thing of the past.
1904-04-21ColonistCauseway James Bay bridgeDaily Colonist, April 21, 1904  Work at James Bay  Stone having arrived from the Newcastle quarries in considerable quantity, work has now commenced on the job of constructing steps from the water to the street level in the centre of the James Bay retaining wall. a fine wide plank sidewalk has been laid from Government to Belleville streets just inside the wall, and is proving a great convenience to pedestrians. the work of filling in underneath the remaining portion of the old James Bay bridge structure is now almost complete and in a few days, they will not remain a vestige of the old bridge.
1904-05-18ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalBritish Colonist, May 18, 1904 page 3  C.P.R. Wharf Contract Awarded.  Messrs Armstrong and Morrison Secure the Building of Important Work  Operations Will Probably Commence Within a Week or Two.  In reply to a telegraphic enquiry from the Colonist as to the letting of the contract for the new wharf for the Canadian Pacific Railway Company in Victoria harbor, Mr. R. Marpole telegraphed last evening from Vancouver that the contract has been awarded to Messrs. Armstrong and Morrison of Vancouver and New Westminster.  Captain Troup on being asked when work was likely to begin on the new wharf replied last night that the matter lay with the contractors, but here was every possibility they would commence active operations within a week or two att the most.  The proposed wharf has been described exhaustively in these columns several times, but it may suffice to say that the structure will be in every way worthy of the C.P.R., and a thorough credit to the Victoria harbor. The amount of the contract cannot be learned, but it is well understood that a most substantial piece of work is to be done on the wharf. Messrs. Armstrong and Morrison are noted throughout the province for their successful handling of large contracts and no doubt they will sustain their reputation in the present instance.  Messrs. Armstrong and Morrison said last night to a Colonist representative that nothing definite could be said at present regarding the commencement of the Victoria wharf.
1904-05-21ColonistcausewayDaily Colonist, April 21, 1904. Work at James Bay —   Stone having arrived from the Newcastle quarries in considerable quantity work has now commenced on the job of constructing steps from the water to the street level in the centre of the James Bay retaining wall. A fine wide plank sidewalk has been laid from Government to Belleville Streets just inside the wall, and is proving a great convenience to pedestrians. The work of filling in underneath the remaining portion the old James Bay bridge structure is now almost complete and in a few days there will not remain a vestige of the old bridge.
1904-05-26Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, May 26, 1904.  The Hotel Project  Victorians will be glad to learn that arrangements for the early commencement of works on the big CPR hotel are progressing nicely and an early start on the foundations is anticipated. Superintendent Marpole of the CPR, as being in the city for the past two days negotiating for the purchase of the Bay View hotel property, situated on the southeast corner of Government and Humboldt Street. To a request for information as to how matters were progressing, Mister Marpole said that an understanding had been reached with Mister Pendray, and the company was now in communication with the owner of the corner property with a view to its purchase. The latter is in England, and a cable is expected from him at any time. Mister Marpole added that every other consideration had been dealt with, and as soon as the ratepayers endorsed the proposal with respect to the flats, work on the hotel would be started.
1904-06-17Colonistcauseway empress poemDaily Colonist, June 17, 1904.  JAMES BAY MUD FLATS.  When I survey the wondrous flat I always stop and think, And put my fingers to my nose To guard away the stink. But very soon it will be gone, No more offensive smell. And what will be the city’s pride, The CPR hotel.  J.L.
1904-06-21ColonistausewayDaily Colonist, June 21, 1904.  The New CPR Hotel Proposals.  There is an addendum to the original proposal for the erection of a hotel by the CPR on the James Bay flats, which was voted upon by the ratepayers some time ago it will come not in the nature of a surprise, as it has been generally understood for several months past that a new proposal was on foot. Negotiations have been going on quietly on the part of the CPR Company to secure the strip of land along the Humboldt treat from and including the Pendray property to the Bay View saloon. The option for this has been completed. Negotiations have also been going on between Mayor Bernard, on behalf of the city, and the CPR for a modification of the arrangement already entered into and completed under the terms of the bylaw past last year. Mister Marpole, General Superintendent of the CPR, was in the city yesterday, and the preliminaries of the proposed new agreement were settled upon. The Council will meet today consider them. Mayor Bernard has given notice that he will recommend the proposal, and a new bylaw to be introduced for the purpose of submission to the ratepayers in the usual way. As the members of the Council have already informally had the details before them for consideration, it may be taken for granted that no opposition will originate in that body.  The details of the proposal are practically as follows: The city agrees to give to the CPR free the remainder of the flats between Douglas Street and the Causeway; to expropriate Lot 171  the property upon which the Bay View saloon is situated  and make a public square there; to grant immunity of taxation for fifteen years on the property along Humboldt Street to be purchased by the CPR. On its part the company agrees to throw all the land secured from private owners as referred to, and all the land obtained as a bonus from the city, into a hotel site and use it exclusively for that purpose; and to contribute to the cost of expropriation $20,000.  This will provide as a site for the new hotel all the land included within the boundaries formed by Douglas Street, the Causeway, Humboldt and Belleville Streets. The advantages that are claimed for the amended agreement are that the proposed Street from the Causeway to Douglas Street will not be required to be constructed; that the city will be relieved from paying compensation to private owners on account of riparian rights, etc., and that the new and an enlarged site, be in much more spacious, will add greatly to the general effect. As at first proposed, the hotel building would have been located on one corner, and would have dwarfed surrounding buildings, which, if in the hands of private parties, could have been put to use in and built in a way that would have been anything but satisfactory to the public. The square to be made at the corner of Government and Humboldt Street belong to the public as a breathing spot, which will be duly appreciated.  Altogether, we believe that what is now proposed is generally advantageous to the city. Enlarged hotel site will be in harmony with the picturesque surroundings, and the conditions are such as to impose very little, if any, extra burden on the ratepayers. It is quite a necessary to expatiate on the advantages of a hotel such as is proposed, owned and operated as it will be by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company. The primary object will be to attract all the travel to Victoria possible and thus assist in the fulfilling its manifest destiny as the greatest tourist resort on the Pacific Coast.
1904-07-06ColonistcausewayDaily Colonist, July 6, 1904. MAYOR EXPLAINS HOTEL BYLAW. Gives Reasons Why Measures Should Receive the Hearty Support of Citizens. Respecting the bylaw which is to be voted upon tomorrow His Worship Mayor Bernard says: “The company upon passage of the bylaw will exercise the option already obtained from Mister Pendray, and will contribute $20,000 towards the cost on expropriation Seeley , known as etc. a lot, which will be taken by the city and used in conjunction with lot on the corner of Government and Wharf streets, already expropriate in making a handsome to the Causeway in the shape of a small public square. “The city in return are to convey to the company that strip of land lying between Douglas Street and the Causeway, which was not deeded to them under the first arrangements, thus the whole of the property bounded by the Causeway, Belleville Street, Douglas Street and Humboldt Street form the hotel site. “The land purchased by the Company will be exempted from taxation until they dispose of it or cease to use it for hotel purposes, not exceeding in any event the period of fifteen years. Land may be deeded to them by the city is exempt for the full period of fifteen years. “The advantages to the city of this arrangement are many. “Firstly, the citizens will have the satisfaction of knowing that the undertaking when completed could not in the matter of site be improved upon. I am sure it would have been a never ending source of regret if the hotel were erected on one side of the Causeway instead of in the centre of the property. Moreover, I am sure that it once it was erected it would only be a matter of a year or so when the citizens would be so dissatisfied with the surroundings that they would compel the Council to acquire the property on Humboldt Street, now so unsightly, in which event the expense would far exceed anything that it is now sacrificing to attain that end. “Secondly, all claims for damages so far as the property between Government and Douglas streets is concerned, by reason either of filling, interruption of access to water or to the buildings by the process of filling are set at rest. Mister Pendray placed these damages and not less than $10,000 and without admitting that he is entitled to damages on these heads, in a question that might assume serious proportions and cause to all parties concerned, including the city, considerable expense has been disposed of. “Thirdly, city is save the expense of making the road known as Hotel Avenue, between Government and Douglas streets, to which it was found under the original agreement to make. This road in a few months, in all probability, would have to be block paved, and provided with concrete sidewalks, so that the amount saved to the city by our providing the new agreement that it shall not be constructed will run into several thousand dollars. “Fourthly, the fact that the CPR Company are willing to invest in our city and real estate to the extent of upwards of $100,000 for the purpose of improving the site already granted to them, shows that they have every confidence in the future of the city, and is by no means calculated to do us harm with the outside public. “Fifthly, the citizens will have the great satisfaction of knowing when the whole work is finished, at with the government buildings on one side, the post office on the other and the hotel in the centre, they will have a group of buildings unequalled as to site and beauty in any city in Canada, and so far as I know on the continent of America. “We are only going to get one chance to carry out this undertaking properly, and this is the chance. That is seize the opportunity and not hereafter have the unnecessary annoyance of hearing visitors remark that the building is a beautiful one, but that it is a great pity that it was not properly located. “On Thursday the voters of Victoria will have an opportunity to show that they know a good thing when they see it, and that when they make up their minds to do a thing, they propose to do it well.”
1904-07-10Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, July 10, 1904.  NOTICE TO CONTRACTORS.  Tenders for the construction of the foundation of the hotel to be built by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company in the City of Victoria, will be received up to noon on Monday, July 18, 1904, and to be addressed to Mister GH Webster, Division Engineer, Vancouver, and whose office plans and specifications can be inspected on and after July 8. Lowest or any tender not necessarily accepted.  R. Marpole, General Superintendent, Vancouver BC, June 29, 1904.
1904-07-30Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, July 30, 1904.  FOUNDATIONS FOR THE HOTEL.  Will Be Constructed This Fall  Acquisition of Property Adjoining.  Jas. Seeley and the Expropriation of “Seeley’s Corner”  Mister Pendray’s Move.  Today the deeds for the additional land asked for by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company for the hotel site will be ready and the city probably will hand it over to the company on Monday. According to the agreement, as soon as this is done, the company must proceed to acquire the property adjoining the flats belonging to Mister Pendray and the Seeley estate. The only way that Seeley’s corner can be required is by the city to expropriate it. A bylaw for this purpose having already been passed. The CPR has undertaken to contribute $20,000 towards the purchase of this property and the balance, if any, will be paid by the city. The price will be fixed by arbitration. It is understood that the price is likely to be in the neighbourhood of $20,000, Mister James Seeley, of the CPR detective service, has been in the city for some time on this business. It is understood that he is not satisfied with the price proposed to be paid for the property, but his nephew has recently parted with his interest and so the majority interest in the property is out of Mister Seeley’s hands. However, he probably will make a fight for what he considers a fair price. Mister Seeley points out that the Brown Jug corner recently sold for $35,000, and he considers that Seeley’s corner is worth at least three times as much.  Mister WJ Pendray’s next move is another matter which is of interest in view of the early turnover of the property. Mister Pendray has an option on one possible site for his soap factory, namely the old rice mills. The price is said to be a very low one, and although authoritative information on the subject could not be secured, it is stated that $50,000 is the figure asked. Mister Pendray has not made any sign at present as to what his intentions are, but it is believed that he is negotiating for other sites, including Sehl’s Point and that his decision will depend upon the price asked for the latter.  In regard to the commencement of the construction of the big hotel, it is understood that the contract for the foundations will be awarded immediately the opinion of the Chicago expert, to whom the matter was referred, is received. Company hopes to have the foundations to the hotel but in this public that the company is most anxious to have the hotel built as soon as possible, and any delay that may occur will certainly not be the company’s fault.
1904-08-10ColonistFire in VictoriaDaily Colonist, August 10, 1904. VICTORIA SCENE OF DESTRUCTIVE FIRE BLAZE WHICH BROKE OUT IN ALBION IRONWORKS BURNED 4 BLOCKS, DESTROYING MANY RESIDENCES AND DOING GREAT DAMAGE. MANY ARE RENDERED HOMELESS. AREA BOUNDED BY GOVERNMENT, PEMBROKE, BLANCHARD STREETS AND QUEENS AVENUE, THE STRICKEN DISTRICT  LOSS PROBABLY $100,000 FIRE which originated in the pattern room of the Albion Ironworks, yesterday afternoon, destroyed the eastern section of the building and about 35 houses situated east of Douglas Street, from Pembroke Street to Queens’s Avenue. The fire in the residential quarter rendered homeless a number of families, and in addition to the loss of the houses a considerable amount of furniture and personal effects was destroyed. The total loss is estimated at about $100,000. The efforts of the Fire Department prevented the flames from spreading to the lumber yards of the Shawnigan Lake Company, adjoining the Albion Iron Works, but little could be done, to save the houses above Douglas Street. The question of relief to those of the sufferers who can least afford their losses is under consideration by city authorities. One of the most destructive buyers in the history of Victoria occurred yesterday, resulting in a total loss estimated approximately at $100,000 and rendering homeless some 35 families. The conflagration started at about 4 o’clock in the pattern room of the Albion Iron Works on Store Street. A general alarm was sent into the fire department, which was on the scene in quick time. But the strong south-westerly wind prevented the firemen from extinguishing the blaze, which gained very rapid headway, and all of the building east of the foundry was seen to be doomed. The flames and smoke poured through the roof and were carried across the vacant ground towards the big brick brewery on the other side of Government Street. That building, however, resisted the attack. While streams of water were being poured into the Ironworks some of the lumber stacked in the yards of the Shawnigan Lake Mill Company, on the other side of Harold Street, caught fire and the firemen had to direct some of their efforts towards extinguishing that. Had the big lumber yards gone up it is hard to say where the trouble would have ended. With the high wind prevailing half the city right have been destroyed. While the attention of the department was taken up with this work, the wind had carried sparks right across to Douglas Street and started a lively conflagration in 2 houses on the corner of Pembroke Street. Almost immediately afterwards sparks from these buildings were carried up to a house on Douglas Street at Princess Avenue, from which the conflagration spread to various houses in the vicinity until practically to hold streets from east of Pembroke to Queens Avenue, above Douglas Street, were ablaze. Very fortunately the fire area in this section was confined owing to open fields lined to the north and east. Nothing else could have stopped the spread of the fire. Within an hour of the time the 1st house on Douglas Street was a fire practically all of the section described was in flames. While those in the houses adjoining the fire took such measures as they could to save their property, the furniture and household effects in the doomed houses were hurriedly removed by the residents and a large number of volunteers. These included a big company of Marines and blue jackets from Esquimalt, who answered the call for help in double quick time and a number of the soldiers from Work Point, who also arrived at a run. Meanwhile the fire department, having got the blaze at the Ironworks under control, came up in force to Douglas Street, but the water pressure, which had been poor on Store Street, practically gave out on the higher level, and little or nothing could be done with the hose. The remarkable feature of the conflagration was the manner in which the flames “jumped” from one place to another in the strong wind doomed to destruction the buildings immediately in its path left unscathed those buildings adjoining to the south or west. Thus several houses on Douglas Street between Pembroke and Queens Avenue escaped destruction. The Leland Hotel on the corner of Douglas and Queens Avenue was one of these, although ex-Mayor McCandless’ house, immediately behind, was one of the 1st to go. The houses on both sides of Pembroke Street above Douglas were safe, probably by the action of the blue jackets and Marines, who tore down an intervening house and several wooden fences and outbuildings on Princess Avenue. Great excitement prevailed in the city during the conflagration. Crowds from all parts assembled about the scene and many helping hands were extended to those who were being “burned out”. The fields beyond Blanchard Street and Queens Avenue were dotted with household effects guarded by the owners, and there were some pathetic scenes witnessed among those who had lost all their worldly possessions in a few minutes. His Worship Mayor Bernard is considering what action he can take to relieve those who have suffered most severely, and an announcement of the city’s intentions in this respect may be expected today. The fire had burned itself out by 7:30 in the evening, but was smouldering all night, necessitating a careful watch by the firemen. The general opinion is that, considering the high wind prevailing and the inadequate supply of water, the city had a fortunate escape from a very much heavier loss. LOSS AT ALBION. Interviewed last evening Mister W. F. Bullen, of Bullen Brothers, who have leased the Albion Iron Works, said the loss at the latter institution was a very serious one, as his firm would be seriously impaired in the execution of several important contracts which they have in hand he had not yet had time to compute the actual property loss by the fire. All the building’s east of the foundry were destroyed with the exception of the storehouse. New plant and machinery had lately been installed in certain of the works, and this was destroyed. Mister Bullen was not in a position to speak of the amount of insurance, but from other inquiries made it was ascertained that the Albion Iron Works Company carried insurance to the amount of $75,000. Night and day shifts were being employed at the Albion and Mister Bullen stated last evening that as many men as possible would be transferred to the works at Esquimalt and continued on the jobs in hand. Mister Bullen was loud in praise of the action of the sailors and soldiers in coming so promptly to the assistance of the firemen and rendering such a valuable services. He says Victoria is fortunate indeed and having such a brave and willing body of men at hand ready to help in such emergencies. THE WATER SUPPLY. There were numerous criticisms directed against the supply of water, the general impression being that it was woefully inadequate, and that the Colonist yesterday evening asked Water Commissioner Raymur for a statement regarding the condition of the service during the progress of the fire. Mister Raymer said that his soon as the serious nature of the outbreak was reaped ported everything was opened wide At Elk Lake, the main pumping plant pushed to its limit, the Yates Street pump, which supplies the higher levels, shutdown, and all the valves opened so that the supply would run from the higher levels. This had the effect of giving a great pressure at the burning district, and that water was not available at Upper Princess Avenue was due to the fact that 12 streams were running in all the engines pumping at the Albion Iron Works. Naturally, said Mister Raymer, all the water was sucked to 1 point, namely the Albion Iron Works, and as soon as the engines ceased working at that point water was in abundance higher up the street. It must be remembered also, that every private hose in the district was also in use, and that the fire occurred at a time when lawn sprinkling was going on all over the city. In the opinion of many, however, the fire demonstrates the urgent need of a new main. MAYOR BERNARD ACTIVE. His Worship Mayor Bernard and Alderman Oddy visited the scene of the fire last evening and made inquiries respecting the necessity of the aid being rendered by the city to provide shelter and other assistance for the unfortunates who lost their homes. He found that most of those who had been burned out had, with the assistance of friends, made arrangements for the night, and were busily removing their goods and chattels to temporary quarters. The Mayor was desirous of doing everything possible to relieve pressing distress, but from personal investigation did not think the situation warranted any immediate elaborate program of succor. He will, however, this morning make the fullest inquiries and be prepared to deal promptly with cases which require relief. THE SAILORS AND SOLDIERS. Very shortly after the spread of the fire to the residences above Douglas Street, a company of Marines and blue jackets, under Left Tenant Mares, arrived on the scene. Captain Parry, R. N., Also was there. The “handy men” went right to the root of the trouble immediately on their arrival, and did some good work in extinguishing the fire’s which had started in the grass of Finlayson’s field adjoining Queens Avenue, where a lot of furniture was piled. Later the party went into the thick of the fire in Princess Avenue, and by laying low one of the houses there stayed the spread of the flames which otherwise would have spread to the houses fronting on Pembroke Street. Their work was very much appreciated, and when they left the crowd gave them a great send-off. The men, it may be mentioned, did most of the distance at the “double” and covered the ground in remarkably short time. The soldiers also did very fine work in saving furniture and in other ways. The men came from Beacon Hill and Work Point varix and arrived on the scene in incredibly short time, running most of the way. Those from Beacon Hill were under the command of Major Bland. When the fire was at its worst in Princess Avenue, the “Tommies” rushed into the heat and smoke and rescued the furniture and belongings of the unlucky residents whose houses were aflame on both sides of the narrow street. The men’s uniforms suffered considerably in this work, but they will not be allowed to suffer any loss and thereby, judging from the remark of Mayor Bernard when the matter was mentioned to him by the Colonist last night. FIREMEN INJURED. A serious accident occurred on Pembroke Street while the fire of the Work estate was at its height. The team attached to the Victoria West fire Department wagon driven by Joe Wachter, became unmanageable and bolted. The horses careered along the street and knocked over several of the crowd who were unable to get out of the way in time. None of these were much hurt, so far as could be learned, but the driver was less fortunate. He was hurled from his seat with considerable violence and dragged along the ground. He was taken to ex-Alderman Baker’s house and attended to by Doctor Herman Robertson. The patrol wagon took him home shortly afterwards. Wachter as both legs broken and is very badly bruised and cut. Thomas W. Clayton, of No. 2 Fire Hall, was also injured by falling from the roof of Mister McCandless’ house. He had his knee cap put out of joint and some severe cuts. A HEAVY LOSER. Probably the largest individual suffer from the fire is Alderman John Kinsman, who lost a number of residences, totaling in value $9000, and none of them were insured. They were situated in the block bounded by Douglas, Pembroke, Blanchard Street and Queens Avenue. Richard Hall, M.P.P., Mister Kinsman’s son-in-law, is of the opinion that the loss in the area east of Government Street was about $60,000, partially covered by insurance. In the block bounded by Douglas, Pembroke, Blanchard and Queens Avenue there were probably 22 buildings. Mister Hall figures that about 35 buildings all told were destroyed, not figuring in the losses south of Government Street. WIND  AIDED FLAMES A strong breeze blowing from the west, which afterwards changed to the southwest, had the effect of almost immediately placing the fire beyond the control of the Department which at 1st centred all efforts to save the Albion Iron Works. It leapt at once to the property of the Shawnigan Lake Lumber Company, and almost simultaneously it was discovered that the late A.R. Milne’s residence on Queens Avenue, a couple of blocks away, was on fire. Embers were then cast in all directions, and soon the area bounded by Douglas, Queens Avenue, Blanchard and Princess Avenue was a mass of flames. The wind shifted a couple of times and spectators thought that the residences south of the burning district were doomed, but this concern soon gave away to the conviction that Blanchard Street would save the situation, and it did. The wind-driven flames found no further mood in their path at this point, and the efforts of the workers were then confined to the task of preventing the spread of the fire southerly. DRAY MEN WERE BUSY. The dray men and express men were the busiest people at the fire. It was fortunate that the fire started at a time when the horses were hitched up otherwise a great delay would have resulted in getting to the scene. As it was the 1st alarm brought every available wagon to the work of removing furniture and household goods, and the scene was one of great excitement and activity. There was no lack of willing hands to assist the frantic dwellers in the ill-fated district and hundreds of leading citizens could be seen with their coats off dragging out goods and loading them into wagons, which immediately dashed off either uptown or to the Blanchard Street and Finlayson Fields. Thousands of dollars of household goods were soon piled up at these points and the duties of the police were added to give the property adequate protection. Few thefts were reported, the thieves, if there were any so victimized, being this part of their prey owing to the prevalence of daylight and the watchful crowds. WILLING ASSISTANTS. When it was seen that the houses on Pembroke Street were likely to be utterly destroyed, a rush was made to this district and willing helpers assisted the residents to remove their property into the road, where it was temporarily deposited. The scene was a curious one. A row of houses fiercely blazing roofs, people hurrying in and rushing out loaded down with furniture of all descriptions, chairs, carpets, crockery, stores, anything and everything was seized and hurriedly placed by the sidewalks. Then, when the other 2 streets began to blaze, there was another rush in the same scene was and acted over again, with additions. The gallant blue jackets and Tommies arrived and did magnificent work. A great deal of furniture was saved which otherwise would have been a total loss, as the united services worked in their well-known vigorous style and with perfect discipline. THE SUFFERERS. Princess Avenue. On the northeast corner of Princess Avenue and Douglas Street there stood a good sized house with large barn in rear and good out offices. The buildings were tenanted by Mrs. Louise Sheppard and William Hutchinson. They were about the 1st premises to be attacked by the sparks carried from the burning blocks opposite the spice mill on Pembroke Street. A desperate attempt was made to save the house, but without effect. The buildings were valued at $2000, and all that remains of them is the fence which runs on Douglas Street. Round the corner, on Princess Avenue (No. 38), was a one story cottage occupied by John Bennett, which, with the large barns in the rear, soon disappeared in flames. The premises were valued at $1400 and burned up so quickly that it was with difficulty that anything was saved. There was great commotion in the chicken coop there, many birds emerging from the yards in flames. The next 2 houses shared a like fate. They were old buildings and were soon swallowed up. Loss about $500. But there burning carried the blaze along to No. 48, in which Charles Tite, a painter, lived. It was a large, one story cottage and uninsured. Andrew Patterson lived in the next cottage, which went up simultaneously. It was a building valued at a few hundred dollars. John Campbell’s cottage came next, and went like the others in the row, in which George Hams and a widow named Bennett. Richard Cole occupied No. 60 in the role, and had a very narrow call as the fire was now eating up all in its way ravenously. He managed to save some of his household effects.  No. 62 was a two-story house in which lived William Scott. The premises were, as far as can be learned uninsured, and a great deal of their contents were destroyed in the hurried removal. The house was valued at $2000 No. 68 was a frame cottage, the home of Thomas Cashmore, and it did not last many minutes. Nos. 70-72 was a double, two-story house owned by Mister John Kinsman and occupied by Alan S. Ashwell. It was insured for $1500. In the other lived John G. Kinsman, and it was not insured. At this stage the Royal Engineers and Navy were working in this immediate district, but despite their heroic efforts all was lost but that part of the furniture which there was time to remove. The heat was intense and a strong wind blowing, there was no hope for the few houses which still stood. About $3000 would be the value of the buildings. Nos 74-76, two-story semidetached houses, valued at $3000 were burned to the ground in short order. They were occupied by Robert A. Dewar and George W Fuggle, and belong to Mister John Kinsman, who was also the owner of No. 78, a one story cottage that quickly disappeared. A couple of vacant lots intervene, and then came a wooden barn, in which was stored a quantity of hay and straw. The grass fire which had started in the vacant space was eating its way to this old building when a lot of the Royal Engineers proceeded to pull it down and succeeded in doing so before the flames reached it. However, the fire had now gone the full length of the avenue and could spread no further, as there is a big vacant space known as Finlayson’s field. The ground was strewn with the most miscellaneous collection of household effects that one could conceive  from a kitchen stove to an oil painting. There was the constant. Of the grass and bush taking fire and carrying destruction with it, but a score or 2 of volunteers kept the fire under as soon as it made an appearance on the ground. Then wagons were summoned and, as fast as possible, the goods and chattels were removed to places of safety. On the southeast corner of Douglas Street stood a brick building, semi-detached with shingle roof. It belongs to the Finlayson estate and was occupied by William Hutchinson it is one of the few buildings that escaped destruction. Perhaps a couple of hundred dollars will repair the damage, which was confined to the roof. James R Frazer lived in the house adjoining (No.39), and it went up in flames and no insurance to cover the loss. Part of the furniture was saved. The house was valued for about $400. George Hampden occupied No 41, a one story cottage, which was a total loss; value, about $500. From No. 43 to No. 55 was a row of cottages, valued at about $500 each, and occupied by Miss Lena Swanson, Edward Coleman, Mrs. Burton, WC Wilson and Stanley Baker. They were all consumed. They ran up almost to Mister John Kinsman’s house, which was saved only by reason of the fact that a couple of buildings intervening had been pulled down. This checked the progress of the fire. The firemen had been working for an hour or so under great disadvantage, the water pressure being almost nil, but nevertheless their exertions were not without good effect. QUEENS AVENUE. Queens Avenue was attacked from the rear of Princess Avenue, about the 1st house to take the flames being that of ex-Mayor McCandless, No. 9. Once the flames touched the roof it was evident that the house was doomed, as the wind was blowing hard and carrying showers of burning embers. No time was lost in getting out as much of the furniture as possible. The house, valued at $5000, is a total loss. There was no attempt made to bring any water to bear on the building  in fact there was no water available. The next house was occupied by Mister George McCandless. It was a two-story building, valued at $2500, and was quickly burned up, the greater portion of the furniture being removed. There was some insurance No. 11 was occupied by Thomas L Toy, a butcher employed at Porter and Sons. The fire made small work of the house but most of the furniture was saved. The house was valued at $2000 and carried some insurance. No. 18 was occupied by the widow of the late A.R. Milne. It was a two-story building, valued at $4000 or $4500, and was a total loss, except the furniture. Curiously enough, Mrs. Milne was about to move out yesterday. Some insurance is carried. No. 21 was occupied by Jason O Turnbull, and was a two-story house and somewhat isolated, be in 60 feet from the Milne residence. It was a $3000 building and some small insurance was carried. No 23 was tenanted by Captain George Caven, and did not stand many minutes after the roof began to blaze. Some of the household effects were saved. Not less than $1800 went up in smoke in this instance. There are a couple of vacant lots here but even this did not have the effect of checking the progress of the flames. The fiery tongue was soon lapping up the home of Alexander Anderson, No. 37, and made short work of it. By the time the fire got there most of the household effects had been removed. The next attacked was that a large old residence of Mister W.H. Finlayson. There is a fine hydrant in front of this building, which stood 100 feet from the roadway, but the hydrant might as well have been 5 miles away for all the good it was in this emergency. The house was valued at $2500 and was insured for a small sum. While the flames were threatening or raging in the vicinity, the unhappy dwellers busied themselves in removing furniture, and in this good work there was willing to help rendered by hundreds of spectators. At the start the furniture was deposited at the south side of the fence facing the avenue  enclosing several acres of pasture. Soon, however, the sparks began to set the grass ablaze, and for a time all that had been removed for safety, and with much difficulty, was again in imminent danger. At this stage a lot of the Royal Engineers and blue jackets appeared on the scene and did good service and checking the grass fires and re-saving the household effects. Seeing that there was still danger, every available express and wagon was called into requisition and a lot of valuables removed. DOUGLAS STREET. 5 one story cottages on Douglas Street, between Princess Avenue and Pembroke Street, fell in succession before the flames, but curiously enough the fire ceased its ravages here. The only buildings left standing in the block bounded by Douglas and Blanchard, Princess and Queens Avenues, are the Leyland House and that of Bird, shoemaker. PEMBROKE STREET. On Pembroke Street, opposite the spice mill, 4 houses went up in flames. They belong to the late Captain Clare, by whom they were deeded to the Sisters of Charity. They were not insured. For cabins in the rear were also burned down. INSURANCE. There was but little insurance on any of the buildings destroyed except, indeed, the Albion capped iron Works, which carried $75,000. The loss to the Shawnigan Lake Lumbar Company will not exceed $700. There were small amounts carried on a few of the private residences, and in some instances the furniture was insured. Losses are about $100,000, and these fall heavily on the poor families who were burned out. Mister John Kinsman loses heavily, having 5 houses destroyed, and not one of which there was a policy. The Milne property was insured for $6000. SCENE OF DESOLATION. The fire wasn’t the one topic of conversation last evening, and Douglas Street was thronged with pedestrians on their way to view the ruins. Pembroke, Princess and Queens Avenue, 3 streets which had a number of fine residences, as well as a great many small cottages, where the victims. The damage on Pembroke Street was not so great is on the other 2. The blocks from Douglas to Blanchard streets, on both Princess and Queens Avenues, were practically swept clean. The streets last night were packed with curious sightseers, who picked their way over the burned woodwork which lined the road. The fire was smouldering and the light from it, together with the slowly ascending smoke, made a weird illumination. The principal thing that struck the I was the number of chimneys on either side of Princess and Pembroke Avenues for nearly a block, nearly all the houses were completely destroyed and the only things remaining which showed that residences had been there where the chimneys, which lined the sides of the road and furnished a guide to the burned district. WATCHING THE FIRE. A dozen firemen remained at the burned-out district all last night 3 streams of hose. The district was thoroughly watched, and every precaution taken to prevent the fire starting up again. The firemen had a very hard day yesterday, and the citizens owe them a debt of gratitude for the gallant manner which they fought one of the most dangerous conflagrations which has ever attacked Victoria. GOOD POLICE SERVICE. When the police fire alarm was rung in yesterday afternoon, a squad left for the Albion capped iron Works in the patrol wagon. As soon as the fire became serious, Acting Chief Hawton had 14 special police sworn in with instructions to assist in every possible way. Every man on the force turned out and the district was well guarded. The police had no trouble, for as Acting Sergeant Carson put it, “there were plenty of willing helpers,” and those who did not feel inclined to help, kindly kept out of the way. A SPECTATORS VIEWS. (By an Outsider). Did I see the fire? I should say I did. I was not among the 1st to reach the scene of what was probably one of the most serious conflagrations Victoria has experienced, but was in time to see the tallest of the Albion Iron Works’ buildings blazing fiercely, and the lumberyard and Works of the Shawnigan Lake Lumbar Company apparently doomed. But my attention was quickly attracted by burning houses 2 or 3 blocks away, so I hastened to see if I could join a volunteer salvage corps and help to save some of the household belongings of the people whose homes I at once saw could not be saved, since there was no water available to prevent the fire from spreading. It was pitiable to see house after house catching fire, but since there was no means of preventing this, all 50 or more willing helpers could do was to try to save the contents of the houses. As I hurried up the street I saw a sick woman being carried out of one of the threatened houses and placed in a buggy for removal to a place of safety. Later I heard that she had only that morning been confined  if so, hers must have indeed been a trying experience. Of course, the customary excited fool was at work  and more than one of his kind  among the many who were bundling household furniture and goods into the streets. One near me seized some curtains and pulled hard  they were torn into tatters, yet he had the satisfaction of having saved them from being burned. Others dumped pictures, and glass and china ornaments, hurriedly down upon the roadway, heedless of the wreck they made of them, and rushing off to “save” or things; but in the main men worked sensibly and effectively. For a time they succeeded in keeping separated what had been removed from the respective homes, but when it became evident that everything would most likely take fire if left in the street opposite the houses from which the furniture, etc., had been taken, there was nothing for it but to carry all to an open field, 150 to 200 yards away. Then came trouble, for those household belongings were badly mixed. 3 hours later I revisited the scene of my late afternoon labours, and by this time nearly everything had been taken away. We meant well, good people, and it was our misfortune rather than our fault that we gave you so much trouble to sort up your several belongings afterwards. After all, it was better so then that they should have been left where they were and be destroyed by the fire that burned until everything within reach had been consumed. There were exciting scenes when the “regulars” arrived to render such assistance as was in their power. 1st came the Royal Garrison Artillery men from Work Point; next came the Royal Engineers, and after them the naval men also from Esquimalt. Chief Watson directed them to make a gap in the track of the fire that was steadily working its way up Princess Avenue, and they worked with a will. Assisted by many civilians, 2 or 3 houses were razed to the grounds, removing immediate danger. By this time the brigade was on the spot with water to extinguish the fire burning the house on the lower side of the gap. Then there was little left to do but for the firemen to keep the water playing on the burning debris of nearly a score of buildings that had been destroyed by the fire. There were so many willing helpers that it would not be practical to mention them all, even where their names known, but there were several well-dressed young men whose good hearts prompted them to think most of the people in trouble and least of the risk they ran of spoiling the good summer clothes they wore. Then there were 2 Parsons, if they will forgive the use of the word. One was Reverend J.P. Hicks, who was among the busiest in removing goods from one or more of the cottages destroyed; and another was stated to be a Church of England clergyman, whose name did not transpire. There were some pathetic scenes among the people rendered homeless so suddenly. One good woman confided to me that she could have saved all her knickknacks, but her girls said no, sure that the fire would not reach them, and then the roof of their home burst into flames and everything was confusion. Near her stood her husband, rather stupefied by the shock. Presently both tenderly embraced and kissed a girl of 8 or 9 years of age, whose cheeks were still wet with tears and see who seemed half reluctant to accompany a good friend who had offered to take the child to her home for the night. Old folks and young folks were both to be seen gathering together what they could of their belongings and piling them on express wagons, to be taken to some place of safety for the night, or until new homes could be found. Said one woman, her eyes brimming with tears; “And only this morning we were also happy in our home, and now it is gone.” Yes, there were many sad hearts among the homeless ones. Yet it is pleasing to reflect that all were provided for and that there was, nor will be, no suffering, such as all too often follows fires in big cities and severe climates. Looking at the wreck of the Albion Iron Works and the nearby lumberyard, the latter so little damaged in comparison to what might have been expected with such a fierce blaze and high wind, one cannot refrain from paying the firemen a tribute of praise for keeping the destruction within the much narrower limits than seemed possible shortly after a fire broke out. They were powerless to prevent the burning of the many houses that were in the track of the stream of burning cinders carried by the wind for several hundreds of yards, and dropped on one highly inflammable shingle roof after another. The surprise is, not that a score or more of houses were burned, but that a very much more serious conflagration was averted. SOME NOTES. The run of the gallant blue jackets from Esquimalt to the scene of the fire, a distance of 5 miles, encumbered as they were with axis, choppers and the grappling apparatus, was the best feet of endurance of the day. How many of Victoria’s young men, who pride themselves on their athletic abilities could duplicate this feat. Mister Alan S Ashwell of 70 Princess Avenue, who was burned out yesterday, wishes to heartily thank the soldiers and sailors and the friends who assisted him in fighting the flames and enabled him to save his furniture. Two chinamen were arrested and taken to the police station for acting in a suspicious manner at the scene of the fire. They were suspected of stealing property and hiding, but as there is no evidence against them they will probably be discharged. The police have a pocketbook, which was found on Douglas Street last night, containing 2 steamboat tickets. The own
1904-08-14Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, August 14, 1904. THE CPR HOTEL FOUNDATION WORK. Plans and Specifications Have Arrived And Tenders Are Invited. Everything To Be Ready for the Builders By the First Day of November. Plans and specifications for the foundations of the new CPR hotel facing the James Bay Causeway have arrived and are on inspection and Captain Troup’s office. Tenders will be invited for the work at once, and there will doubtless become lively competition is already several contractors figuring on the job. An immense amount of work has to be done, and all by 1 November next. About 22,000 yd.³ of dirt has to be excavated and when it is stated piling in the foundation calls for 2855 x 50’ long, and in the cofferdam 500 x 20’, some idea may be had of the amount of piling to be done. The plank in the cofferdam calls 40,500 B.M., the timber 20,000 and iron 4000 lbs. The concrete flooring will total 2520 yd.³ and in the pier and walls 6508. The drawings accompanying the specifications show the general plan of foundation and typical cross-section of piers and walls. They are intended to embrace the entire foundation work up to the lower side of the basement floor. The full size of the building to be excavated and 25 feet outside from the centre of outside walls to a depth of about 11 feet, being 3 feet below high tide level, elevation 100 feet above city datum. From the ground plan no correct idea can be formed of the layout of the building, but it clearly shows that solidity is the object aimed at and everything is provided to secure this end. What the building will look like when completed readers of the Colonist already know, as a sketch of the hotel has appeared. Until the plans for the rest of the structure arrive further details are withheld. As stated in yesterday’s Colonist the pile driver is practically ready for work and as soon as the contract is awarded no time will be lost in starting active operations. Specifications call for cedar and Douglas fir piles, and for all material used to be of the best quality. Mayor Bernard telegraphed to Mister Marpole at Vancouver yesterday suggesting at the time be extended from Monday to Thursday so as to give Victoria contractors a chance. The following reply was received: “Tenders are for item work and not for above contract. Therefore, should be no cause for delay. Tenders will be received from Victoria contractors till 2 o’clock Monday at Victoria.”
1904-08-20Colonistcauseway gorgeDaily Colonist, August 20, 1904. Gorge Launch  The tourist launch Shamrock will leave the Public Landing, James Bay Causeway, for the Gorge Saturday, August 20, 2 PM and every hour following until 9 PM. Fare one way ten cents.
1904-08-30Colonistempress causewayDaily Colonist, August 30, 1904. The Hotel Plans.  FM Rattenbury, architect for the CPR hotel, is now busy on the plans for that structure, and tenders for the main building will be called for when the plans have been completed. All the details have already been agreed upon, and it is understood that Mister Rattenbury’s instructions are to ask for bids and contractors at the earliest possible date.
1904-09-27Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, September 27, 1904. THE PUBLIC SHOULD KEEP OFF THE FLATS. It Is Very Dangerous to Get Near Dredging Work  Cause of Quicksands. People who are interested in the work in progress at the site of the new CPR hotel would do wisely to stay on the sidewalk along the Causeway and not approach the machinery. The contractors have taken the precaution of putting up notices warning the public and have secured the services of a member of the local police force to aid in keeping people off flats, but still there are a few adventurous ones will not be deterred from risking life and limb. The fact of the matter is that while the big dredge is at work in the neighbourhood of the whole it is digging is anything but a sure foothold. Secretary Viunedge, of the BC Construction Company, points out that the ground in the vicinity is libel to slip and give way at any moment  and once in the whole a man’s chances of ever getting out alive are exceedingly slim The mud over the flats by the dredger King Edward is very much of the nature of the so-called quicksands met with in certain parts of Ireland and England and a man would sink as quickly as in the water  with no chance of rescue.
1904-10-18ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalBritish Colonist – Oct 18, 1904, Page 7  Notice to Contractors.  Tenders are invited by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company for the erection of offices adjoining the new wharf in the city of Victoria. Plans and specifications may be seen at the office of Mr. F.M. Rattenbury, Architect, Victoria, B.C., and at the office of the Division Engineer of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company, Vancouver. The company reserves the right to reject any or all tenders, which are to be addressed to Mr. Geo. H. Webster, Division Engineer, Vancouver, BC, On or before noon on Tuesday, the 25th day of October  R. Marpole, General Superintendent October 12, 1904, Vancouver, BC
1904-10-27ColonistCPR Empress CausewayDaily Colonist, October 27, 1904.  Hotel Foundations  the BC General Contract Company, which has the contract for putting in the CPR hotel foundations, has sub- let a portion of the work to Anton Henderson, of the Victoria Transfer Company. Mr. Henderson’s job consists of the excavation of a certain area at so much per cubic yard. Big scoops are being used, the motive power being supplied by a donkey engine. Mr. Henderson at first tried horses on the work, but it was found that the ground was too soft for the horses to work to advantage, and they were, therefore, abandoned. Good progress is being made on the general job, a fine weather contributing accessible operations. Some piling is already in position, ready for the concrete.
1904-11-02ColonistEmpress hotelTender call for a seven story hotel on James Bay
1904-12-30Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, December 30, 1904. Branch Line  A branch line from the BC Electric Railway is the input into position on the James Bay Causeway. A line will run over the foundations of the new CPR hotel and gravel filling will be carried to use in the foundations.
1904-12-30ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalBritish Colonist, December 30, 1904  – page 8  To Use New Dock.  C.P.R. Streamers Will Commence Landing at New Wharf Sunday.  On Sunday afternoon, with the arrival of the steamer Princess Beatrice, from Seattle, the C.P.R. steamers will commence using the new wharves which the company has built on James Bay, with outlet on Belleville street. The steamer Princess Beatrice will arrive and depart from that wharf commencing Sunday, and on the same date, the steamer Princess Victoria will commence to use the same dock. She will sail from there for the first time on Sunday night. The Northern steamers and the West Coast steamer will also use the new wharves, and the otter will make use of the old Enterprise wharf, where the Sound steamer of the Alaska S.S. Company is now landing. With the change and the abandonment of Turner-Beeton’s wharf by the C.P.R. steamers, the Alaskan S.S. Company will take over that wharf and the  steamer Whatcom will in the near future come and go from that wharf at the foot of Yates street.
1905-01-02Colonistcauseway CPR wharfDaily Colonist, January 2, 1905.  CPR STEAMERS USING NEW DOCKS.  Princess Liners Now Operated from New Wharves in James Bay.  The CPR steamers began to come and go from the new wharves in James Bay yesterday. The offices, here to fore on the wharves on the inner Harbour approached from Wharf Street, have been removed to the new premises, and as soon as the building now being constructed on Belleville Street is complete, the company’s offices will be removed there. The steamer Princess Beatrice, on her arrival from Seattle yesterday afternoon, docked at the new wharf, and she will come and go from there hereafter. Likewise, the steamer Princess Victoria. The three-funnelled liner arrived there from Vancouver at 6:30 PM yesterday, and the hack men and hotel buses at a run over the Causeway instead of going to Wharf Street as usual. The new wharf is splendidly fitted for the requirements of the company’s business. The steamer Amur, which arrived from Skagway on Saturday, is moored at the new wharf, and will be operated from there. The steamers Tees and Queen City will continue to use the wharves approached from Wharf Street, leaving from the Enterprise wharf, which is being vacated by the steamers of the Alaska SS Co., which are to be moved to Turner-Beeton’s wharf.
1905-01-21ColonistTourism tourist VictoriaLong article on how well Victoria was promoted to the tourists in 1904
1905-02-25ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalVictoria Daily  Colonist – February 25, 1905, page 5  Into New Offices  – On March 1 the offices of the C.P.R. coast steamship service will occupy the new offices which have been built on Belleville street at the new wharf. Furnishings and impedimenta of the old offices on Wharf street are being moved tot the Belleville building. The new offices are excellently arranged. On the floor facing the causeway there are two waiting rooms, one for ladies,, the other for gentlemen. Between the two is the ticket office, with wickets opening into either room. The freight office is located in the western section of this floor. A broad stairway from the main entrance on Belleville street leads to the second floor on which Capt. Troup’s office, F.W. Vincent’s quarters, and those of other officers are located.
1905-02-26Colonistempress causewayDaily Colonist, February 26, 1905.  A Record of Accomplishment   – The modern completeness of the machinery and equipment utilized by the contractors on the foundation work of the new CPR hotel is a never-failing cause for wonder and appreciation on the part of those who pause on the Bay Causeway to watch the progress of the extensive works. The great cement mixers in layers, the powerful-jawed rock crusher’s, and all the other massive impedimenta are a never tiresome theme of conversation. Nor are the contractors and the workmen less proud of their plant than are the public amazed thereat. It is doing wonderful work. Occasionally even if is to be credited with record of accomplishments, as yesterday 153 cubic yards of concrete were well and truly laid with the two machines devoted to this particular operation, each with a capacity of seventy-five cubic yards per diem. Three cubic yards in a day above the capacity of the machines is certainly an accomplishment that borders very close upon the marvelous.
1905-03-08ColonistCare of the agedBEING SHIPPED BACK. Mrs. Margaret Norrington, the unfortunate woman who arrived from San Francisco by the steamer Senator, and was refused landing by Dr. Milne, Dominion Immigration officer, is to be returned to Victoria by the San Francisco immigration officials, despite the fact that she hailed from there. The unfortunate woman, who came here seeking a cousin, now no longer a resident of Victoria, is destitute. She is 75 years of age, and would become a public charge. For this reason the immigration officer ordered her return when she was landed from the steamer Senator, and she went back to San Francisco by that steamer. The San Francisco Examiner of Sunday says: “Mrs. Margaret Norrington, the aged woman who arrived on the steamer Senator last Thursday from Victoria, will be obliged to return to that port on the same vessel when its sails tomorrow. At a final meeting of the board of inquiry of the immigration bureau held yesterday morning to deliberate on the case it was decided that Mrs. Norrington would undoubtedly become a burden on the community were she allowed to remain.  “Mrs. Norrington is 75 years of age and a native of England. She is feebleminded and tells several different stories of her past life. At the close of the investigation the officials made up their minds that the Victoria authorities had sent the woman to the United States in order to rid themselves of her charge. As they had no right to deport one of their own country, Mrs. Norrington will be returned to them.”
1905-03-12ColonistMrs NorringtonDaily Colonist, March 12, 1905.  Mrs. Norrington Ordered Deported.  Aged Pauper Refused Landing Here and ‘Frisco to be sent to Australia.  US Government Orders Her Deportation  Will She Be Landed?  Mrs. Margaret Norrington will commence her sea travel again in a few days, for the United States government has ordered that she be deported to Australia. The immigration officials at San Francisco have been ordered to deport her to the Antipodes at the expense of the United States government. The question now arises whether she will be permitted to land by the immigration officials of Australia. According to advices from Washington, the British ambassador has decided that Mrs. Norrington is not entitled to land in British possessions it is claimed that she landed at San Francisco in a row boat without authority, and went thence to Victoria on the steamer Senator. She landed here on a Sunday evening, and was found wandering the streets by the police, whom she told she had a daughter married to a carpenter named Barnes, living in this city but they had moved. She was taken to the police station and the next day ordered back to San Francisco. The steamer Senator took her south again. The US immigration officials at San Francisco Centre to Victoria again on the steamer City of Puebla, but she was denied a landing by Dr. Milne, and was returned. The San Francisco officials sent her back again and she was again denied a landing at San Francisco on her return, some benevolent ladies took charge of her while the steamship company began suit against the immigration officials seeking to have her granted permission to land. Then the matter was referred to Washington with the result that she has been ordered deported to Australia, whence she says she came. It is stated that she had long been a resident in California and Oregon, and did not come from Australia. Mrs. Norrington is an old lady of 75 years of age, without funds some years ago she was robbed of considerable money in the back room of a Seattle saloon.
1905-03-24ColonistMrs NorringtonDaily Colonist, March 24, 1905.  Woman Not Allowed to Land Here Is Also Refused at the Golden Gate.  The unfortunate Mrs. Margaret Norrington, an indigent woman, 75 years of age, refusing landing here twice by Dr. G. L. Milne, immigration official, has been refused a landing at San Francisco on arrival by the steamer City of Puebla. The unfortunate woman threatens to become a perennial passenger on the San Francisco liner  she is not permitted to land here, nor at San Francisco, being sent from one port to the other twice already. A San Francisco dispatch says: “On steamer City of Puebla, which arrived yesterday, is Mrs. Margaret Norrington, 75 years old, a woman without a country Mrs. Norrington arrived here the first time last February to join her sister in Oakland. She learned that her sister had gone to Victoria. Then she went to Victoria, and was informed that her sister had gone to the Klondike. Being without money, the Victoria authorities gave Mrs. Norrington lodgings in the city jail and deported her to this city the next day. As she is penniless and has no relatives here, she was refused a landing and was deported again to Victoria. The British authorities centre back and she has again been denied a landing.”
1905-03-29ColonistMrs NorringtonDaily Colonist, March 29, 1905.  Mrs. Norrington  Sisters of Benevolent Society Take Charge of Old Lady.  Steamer City of Puebla arrived from San Francisco last night. She did not bring north the unfortunate old lady, Mrs. Margaret Norrington, for just prior to the sailing of the steamer she was allowed to land at the Golden Gate.  Some sisters of a benevolent institution came forward and arranged to take charge of the old lady. Mrs. Norrington or Lady Norrington, as she was known when in Seattle some years ago, made several trips on the San Francisco liners, being refused landing at Victoria twice and at San Francisco once. At San Francisco it was learned that the old lady had been formerly in California, and had lived in some of the mining camps. It was thought that she had not come from Australia, as she had stated. The unfortunate old lady is 75 years of age, and quite feeble. Her statements regarding her antecedents are very contradictory. In connection with the case of the unfortunate woman a subscription had been opened by the printers of the Colonist for her.
1905-04-04Colonistcauseway empress Daily Colonist April 4, 1905.  CPR Urges Expedition in Filling in Ground on Big Hotel Site.  R Marpole, of the CPR wrote as follows:  Gentlemen  The Canadian Pacific Railway Company has made arrangements for their portion of the dry filling around the hotel foundations by contract with the Haggerty Company, Limited, at the rate of sixty cents per cubic yard, including the spreading on-site. We are anxious that no delay should occur to the contractors for the erection of the building, and particularly desire to have the south and west fronts filled in as soon as possible. I therefore suggest that it would be to the mutual advantage of the city of Victoria and this company to allow the same contractor to proceed with the city’s portion of the dry filling, the quantity of which was previously agreed to and which is, approximately, 13,000 yd.³. If this is agreeable to the city, the Railway Company will be willing to do it at cost, that is, sixty cents per cubic yard, making no charge for the use of the dump cars supplied to the contractors, or for the trestles that have been erected on the site. We believe that this price of sixty cents per yard is the cheapest that can be done at the present time, and this arrangement would enable the city’s portion to be carried on without waiting for completion of the company’s portion, and thus avoid serious delay.  R Marpole. General Superintendent.  Referred to the Streets Committee.  A.T. Goward, Local Manager of the BC Electric Railway Company, respecting the contract given Mister Haggerty, asked that the usual thirty days’ notice be waived in order that the tracks may be extended to the gravel pits.  Alderman Fullerton said that Mister Haggerty had acquired a piece of land on North Chatham Street. Mister Haggerty should be asked to replace the sidewalk and the tramway company asked to remove its old tracks.  Alderman Hannah said it was decidedly unwise to lower the grade at the head of Caledonia Avenue. The cut should be via Vining Street. A motion was passed refusing permission to cut down Caledonia Avenue, but waving the usual thirty days’ notice to the tramway company.
1905-04-12ColonistSplash causewayDaily Colonist, April 12, 1905.  AT WORK FOR BIG CELEBRATION.  Parade Committee Hold a Successful Meeting and Arrange prize list.  Energetic work looking to the success of the forthcoming Victoria Day celebration is being done by the various committees having in and the task of arranging a program of attractive events; and given an adequate amount of support by the merchants and businessmen, it seems a certain that the affair will prove the great success it ought to be.  A very good meeting of the Parade committee, of which Doctor Carter is chairman, was held yesterday evening at the City Hall and details discussed of the proposed horse and automobile Parade. A prize list of sixteen classes was drawn up. This includes single and double carriages, single and double roadsters, saddle and jumping classes, single and double draft horses, Calithumpians, floats, hotel buses and decorated wagons. The prizes will aggregate in value for this event about $400. All the leading streets of the city will be traversed by the Parade, and as it is intended to get every possible turnout in line, the spectacle should prove a very imposing one.  A meeting of the General committee will be held tomorrow evening at which the report of the Parade committee will be presented, and on Friday evening a citizens’ meeting will be held in the Council chamber at the City Hall for the purpose of a general discussion and for the consideration of any new suggestions which may be forthcoming.  It is hoped to be able to arrange that the water Carnival shall be one of the most attractive events on the program. It is planned to have the Arion Club gave a concert during the evening from a barge moored on James Bay opposite the Parliament buildings, which of course will be brilliantly illuminated, and the Fifth Regiment Band will be stationed on the landing stage on the Causeway. Rows of  electric lights and Chinese lanterns will be strung in profusion all along the Causeway, the CPR wharves and the shoreline and buildings on the northern shore of the bay and with the display of fireworks and the gaily decorated boats moving about the spectacle is expected to prove one of entrancing beauty.  The canvassing committee has not yet commenced soliciting subscriptions, but will do so in a day or two, when it is hoped the response will be prompt and generous.
1905-04-15ColonistCanadian Pacific TerminalBritish Colonist, April 15, 1905, page 3  New C.P.R. Wharf  Tenders Invited for Construction of Additional Dockage in James Bay  Tenders are being invited for the construction of the new wharf fronting the property recently acquired by the Canadian Pacific Railway on Belleville street – a block 600 feet long. C.E. Cartwright, division engineer of the C.P. R., with headquarters in Vancouver, advertises that “Sealed proposals will be received at the division engineers office, Vancouver, until noon Monday, April 24, by the Canadian Pacific Railway Company for the construction of a wharf at Victoria, BC according to plans and specifications to be seen at above mentioned superintendent’s office of B.C. Coast Steamship Lines, Victoria, B.C. Envelopes containing proposals should be marked “Proposals for Wharf, Victoria.”
1905-04-20ColonistMrs NorringtonDaily Colonist, April 20, 1905.  AMERICAN JOURNALISM.  How the Mrs. Norrington Incident Was Garnished for Eastern Readers.  The manner in which American journalism is carried on be shown by the false stories which are printed and many prominent newspapers of the country. An instance of this common misrepresentation is given in the false story built by a Bellingham fakir on the incident of Mrs. Margaret Norrington, the old woman, who was refused a landing here on arrival from San Francisco, and her trips between this port and San Francisco before she was finally permitted to land at San Francisco. The news fakir of Bellingham builds his tail to the prejudice of this city and infers that the woman lost her money here, whereas she reported having lost what she had at San Francisco. She was, too, known to have been for years a resident of California. As the tale is told by the Bellingham correspondent of the New York World in the issue of that paper on April 9 it is as follows:  “Because of rigid enforcement of the immigration laws, Margaret Warrington, age 65 years, widow of a British Army officer, poor and friendless, is being carried back and forth on the steamship city of Pueblo, which plies between San Francisco and Victoria.  “One month ago she boarded the ship at Victoria, but on arriving at San Francisco she was not allowed to land because she was a pauper. The captain of the vessel carried her back to Victoria, and the British authorities at that port would not allow her to disembark when they learned that she was afflicted with a tumor. In his dilemma the captain again took her to San Francisco, but the officers again refused to allow her to get off in that city.  “Under the late laws passed by Congress old woman must now remain in the custody of the captain of the vessel until a decision is rendered either by the United States government as to her right to land in this country or the British officers do likewise. Meantime the owners of the vessel must take care of her at their own expense on board of the steamer.  “While the steamer was in port the woman asked the captain if her case had been settled, and being answered in the negative said: “Well, captain, I will settle this case myself; I’ll jump overboard and drown myself. I can land in the water surely. There is no use for a person like me to live, anyway.”  “The captain dissuaded her from carrying her threat into execution, but her mind is in such condition that he fears she will jump overboard unless strict watch is kept over her. “She came originally from New Zealand and is supposed to have had $700 with her on reaching Victoria, but the money has disappeared in an unaccountable manner.”
1905-04-20ColonistEmpress Hotel haddington andesite British Colonist, April 20, 1905, page 1  CHANGES IN THE C.P.R.. HOTEL  Substitution of Pressed Brick for Rough Ashlar – Considerable Dressed Stone  Although an alteration was made in the plans for the new C.P.R. hotel whereby pressed brick is to be substituted for much of the rough ashlar courses of Haddington island stone, it does not follow that brick will predominate in the building as many thought when the change was bruited about. The columns., window dressings, jambs, lintels, etc., as well as the big cornices running across the face of he building will be of dressed stone, and from the plans as altered by Mr. F.M. Rattenbury, architect, it is seen that there will be far more cut stone in the building than pressed brick.  Mr. Barrett, the contractor for the building, who will have from May 1 to February, 1907, to complete the structure, has sub-let a contract for the supply of granite for the fourteen feet at the basement, and for entrances, steps, balustrading, etc., for which works granite is to be used instead of Haddington island sandstone. Workmen will be dispatched to the Haddington island quarries without delay to arrange for quarrying the stone and shipment to Victoria by scow. Many stonecutters have already arrived in Victoria in readiness for the commencement of the work of stonecutting.   The difference resulting from the change in the plans insofar as the expenditure on the structure is concerned, will mean about $10,000. The substitution of the brick, which will be of a light salmon pink shade, will save that amount, small in comparison with the cost of the big structure.. The steel for the superstructure has been ordered in Pittsburg and will shortly be on the way to Victoria.  It may not be generally known, moreover, that the C.P.R. hotel will be the only fireproof building of its kind north of San Francisco, where the new St. Francis hotel is a fireproof structure.
1905-05-20 Mrs NorringtonDawson Daily News, May 20, 1905. WOMAN OF NORTH.  CUSTOMS PEOPLE REFUSE HER ADMITTANCE.  ROBBED OF MONEY.  Seattle, May 1.  The Times says: Margaret Norrington who gained considerable notoriety in local police circles seven years ago as the victim of a diamond robbery, is not wanted as a citizen by any country on earth. She is an unwilling border on the steamer City of Puebla, now in San Francisco. The woman would like to leave the vessel and the officers of the steamship would be delighted to have her do so, but no port which the steamer can reach will allow the woman to land. Neither the United States nor Canada wishes to have a pauper admitted to its shores, and it seems as if she would be compelled to spend the rest of her life on the steamer. Lady Norrington, as she was best known in Seattle, was robbed seven years ago in the New Diamond Saloon, on the corner of First Avenue South and Washington Street. At that time she had considerable money in her possession and lost $375 of it and a large number of diamonds in a box in the rear of the saloon. Billy Newman, who owned the saloon, and Pat Burns and Maj. Burke were arrested for the robbery. Burke and Burns were both convicted and received sentences of five years each in Walla Walla. Both were paroled and afterward given pardons. Newman was acquitted of the charge. Both Burke and Burns have died since their release from the penitentiary. Stayed around Seattle. After the robbery the woman stayed around Seattle for a long time, making daily trips to the courthouse to see Judge Jacobs, the judge before whom the men who robbed her were convicted. Whenever possible she engaged the judge in long, incoherent conversations about the loss of her money. Finally a deputy sheriff was detailed to keep the woman out of the courthouse. If you dues after she was refused admittance to the building she left Seattle and did not return for two years. Upon the woman’s return she had considerable money, which she declared had been left her by her husband, a British Army officer, who had died in Australia. She begged the police to aid her in discovering the whereabouts of her daughter, who, she declared had disappeared mysteriously. She thought the girl had gone to Alaska. She became very much confused when asked for any particulars as to the details of the daughter’s disappearance. The police believe that she was insane. She was finally persuaded to leave the city. Since her departure nothing was heard of her until the news came that she had become a citizen of the world at large. Went Aboard Steamer. Some weeks ago the woman boarded the steamer City of Puebla as a steerage passenger to be carried to Victoria. When the boat arrived there she was refused admittance on the ground that she was indigent and would become a public charge. The steamship company carried her to San Francisco and there she was refused admittance by the United States custom authorities for the same reason. At present Mrs. Norrington’s wandering, a sea prisoner, from bow to stern of the City of Puebla, alongside Broadway wharf. She is very indignant, also indigent. She demands of the custom officer of the gangplank that he let her go ashore. He shakes his head and then she retreats, muttering her displeasure, into the steerage. Not that the Pacific Steamship Company desires a presence of Mrs. Norrington. Far from it. But the federal authorities for the second time within the month have denied her permission to land.  The aged woman is not decrepit, but her wits, like her feet, are prone to wander. Having no means, she would become a charge on the community allowing her to land. And in the meantime she is housed and fed at the expense of the Pacific Coast Steamship Company. Had Plenty of Money. When in Seattle seven years ago the woman had plenty of money. What has become of this money the woman fails to say. Her past life appears to be a blank. She still clings to the story that she told in Seattle years ago that she is a member of the English nobility. Whatever becomes of the woman, the customs authorities are determined that she shall not land in San Francisco. The steamship company is as anxious to have her land as Lady Norrington is to do so. When examined by the Board of inquiry she declared that she had come to the United States some years ago on the steamer Alameda. She could not give the year of her arrival. The records of the steamship company for the time the Alameda was on the Australian run, from 1896 to 1900, were examined but failed to show the name Norrington on the passenger lists. In conversation with the newspaper men Mrs. Norrington denied that she had ever been in Australia. The special Board of inquiry held another session in San Francisco on Friday, and again refused the woman permission to land. The steamship company was ordered to take her back to Victoria. Another trip to Victoria with the past year would be useless, as the Canadian authorities will not let her land there. The steamship Company believes that if both governments refuse to have a pauper as resident, that it should not be compelled to board and support her the rest of her life. The officials of the company do not believe that their boat should be turned into an alms house for the decrepit septuagenarian, but it can’t land her, nor can they throw her overboard. The law forbids her transference to another boat. In a last desperate attempt to free themselves from the woman without a country the steamship company has appealed to the Department of commerce and labour. For some reason, either intentional or because of failing memory, the woman has failed to mention her Seattle experience. She cannot give even a reasonable story of how she came to be in San Francisco prior to becoming a passenger on the Puebla. She claims to of arrived in San Francisco from Australia on the sailing ship May Queen. From this boat, she asserts, she was taken to a wharf on a small boat. Maritime records show that no such boat is entered the port for years. The Puebla officers think that the joke has been carried far enough. The company’s superintendent, Capt. Thomas Wallace, said that when the steamer docked the legal action would be brought against the federal authorities. “The authorities must show cause why the woman should not be landed,” said Capt. Wallace. “There is no way of collaborating what Mrs. Norrington says concerning herself. She claims to have arrived in San Francisco from Australia on the sailing ship May Queen from which she was taken to the wharf in a small boat and left there. The record shows that no such vessel has been in the harbour for years. “ I remember seeing the woman some 10 years ago, when she was travelling up and down the coast in steamers. She attracted attention because she was eccentric and carried quantities of greenbacks in her hosiery. She denies having been here, but I’m not mistaken. Her mind is evidently wrong, though she seems shrewd enough and some things.” Capt. Jensen of the Puebla knows nothing of his erratic passenger.
1905-05-26Colonistcauseway splashDaily Colonist, May 26, 1905.  THE WATER CARNIVAL.  Event Not the Success It Might Have Been Made.  What ought to have been one of the most attractive features of the whole celebration and one of the most inexpensive to arrange  the Venetian water Carnival  prove disappointingly meagre in dimensions, though what there was of it was satisfactory. That it was not the success it ought to have been must be set down to the unaccountable apathy of the citizens generally and particularly those owning boats. Had a systematic effort be made to get the hundreds of owners of small boats to turn out and decorate, even in a small way, the event would have supplied the spectacular feature necessary to turn what was admittedly a failure into a great success.  Thousands of people assembled during the evening on the shores of James Bay, the southern side of which was splendidly illuminated through the thoughtfulness of the CPR Company, all the lights been in operation on the wharves and the fleet of steamers alongside. Strings of Chinese lanterns outlined in the James Bay boathouse and the Causeway, and with the barge and boat illuminations on the water, seen withal was a very pretty one. Much adverse comment was heard, however, at the fact that the magnificent Parliament buildings were not lighted up. That it was a most unfortunate oversight not to have had this arranged for was admitted on all sides, especially in view of the fact that hundreds of visitors were present who would have appreciated the illumination immensely.  The numerical display of decorated boats was woefully lacking, although the James Bay Athletic Association, the Native Sons and the crew of the Shearwater exhibited craft which did much to save the event from a dismal failure.  In the former boat the J.B.A.A. boys, assisted by acquire of forty voices, sang many pretty songs during the evening, while the Native Sons had onboard their craft Signor Claudio’s Orchestra, as splendid selections contributed materially to the enjoyment of the evening. The boys from the Shearwater made a most credible display, the craft in which they appeared being got up to resemble an old time pirates sloop.
1905-06-17Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist June 17, 1905.’  Building Sheds  the first of the shed buildings to accommodate the big gang of workmen who will be employed on the CPR hotel is now being erected, and the scene at the site is commencing to be a very animated one. Ponderous drays, drawn by huge draught horses, are conveying the big blocks of Nelson Island granite to the site, bricks are being delivered, the first of the structural steel pillars and girders are on the ground, and altogether much activity is in evidence. The progress of the preliminary work is watched daily by an interested crowd of spectators, who line up along the stone wall of the Causeway.
1905-06-21ColonistCanadian pacific TerminalBritish Colonist- June 21, 1905   page 8  Commence Today.  Contractors Will Begin work This Morning on New C.P.R. Wharf.  Arrangements have been made for the commencement of work today by the Vancouver Construction Company on the new Wharf for the C.P.R. on Belleville street. The Wharf will be 600 feet long and 30 feet in width. A shed will be built later similar to that on the wharf now in use. Broken rock is to be brought from Caledonia park and dumped in along the shore front to make a sea wall. After this wall is completed, and the piling in position, the harbor space fronting the wharf will be dredged to a depth of twenty feet, the material taken from the harbor bottom being placed behind the sea wall.
1905-08-01ColonistConcrete Blocks – HistoryDaily Colonist, August 1, 1905. An Improved Mould A. N.. Sandell, a British Columbia inventor has received a Canadian patent on an improved mould performing the cement building blocks, the use of which is now becoming very general. The appliance consists in providing a knock-down mould, the walls of which are pin-connected to a base plate, and are reversible and interchangeable. By this manner of construction the weight of the mould for purposes of handling and transportation is considerably lessened. The cost is very much reduced, and the moulding of the cement blocks is simplified and cheapened.
1905-09-02Colonistlime kilns saanichThe Daily British Colonist, Sept. 2, 1905, page 1  Big Lime Kilns On Saanich Arm Another Important Industry to Be Established at an Early Date.  Californian Syndicate Plans Putting Up Biggest Plant on the Coast  NEGOTIATIONS which have been in progress for some time past looking to the establishment at a point adjacent to Victoria of the largest lime kilns on the Pacific Coast have resulted successfully; and the Colonist is enabled this morning to announce that all the initial details for the speedy inauguration of the huge industry have been completed.   At the head of the venture is a group of Californians, with headquarters at San Francisco. Prominent amongst them are officials of the Giant Powder Company, and their representative in this city, and the gentleman to whom must be given credit for the initiation of the scheme, is L.A. Rostein.  To a Colonist reporter who interviewed him on the matter yesterday Mr Rostein confirmed the news that the enterprise would be immediately undertaken. The great kilns, probably ten in number, of a capacity of  1,000 barrels per months, will be located at a point on Tod Creek,. Saanich Arm, just opposite the cement works. Here there are deposits of lime in inexhaustible quantity and of the highest grade, going 98 per cent pure.  An expert representing the California people will be on the ground in ten days for the purpose of locating the site, and shortly afterwards work on the kilns is to be commenced.  Demand Exceeds Supply  Mr. Rostein explains that a big market exists for the product all along the Pacific Coast, showing in evidence of this a letter from a gentleman in San Francisco, written the other day, in which the statement is made that at that time there was not a barrel of Roche Harbor lime to be obtained in the Bay City, this notwithstanding the fact that the monthly output of the Roche Harbor kilns is no less than 67,000 barrels per month.  In this connection, as indicating the capacity of the proposed works at Saanich Arm, Mr. Rostein says that his company will ultimately produce a greater monthly output.  Shipments will be made direct from the site of the kilns, this necessitating the erection of large docks.  Employment will be given to a large number of men, and the trade of Victoria will be very materially benefitted.
1906-01-23ColonistHaddington andesite EmpressBritish Colonist, January 23, 1906, page 5  Progress on the New C.P.R. Hotel  Some Figures Showing Cost and Dimensions of Palatial Structure  Large Amount of Money Disbursed in Wages Here Each Week  Rapid progress in being made in the erection of Victoria’s palatial tourist hotel “The Empress.” To date a little more than twenty-five per cent. of the construction is completed and over seventy-five per cent of the iron work is already in place. It is the hope of the contractors, Gribble & Skene Co., that notwithstanding the numerous delays experienced shortly after the signing of the contract, that the work will be finally completed within a very brief period of time called for in the contract, viz., February, 1907.  The bricklayers and stonemasons have commenced working upward from the third story and progress will from now on be much faster.  “We have suffered from a lack of sandstone cutters,” said J. Lee Skene, of the contracting firm. “At present we are only working 30 men and would like to ger more. Altogether the works here employ on an average of 75 skilled mechanics and laborers. Our weekly disbursements in wages runs from $1,500 to $2,000. This is exclusive of the men we have at the stone quarry, where in a short time we shall be employing 30 men getting out material.”  An Imposing Structure  The big pile of brick and granite going up on the James Bay embankment will, when finally completed, represent the most beautifully artistic and modern hotel building on the Pacific Coast north of San Francisco. The architectural design is known as Tudor-Gothic and the structure will consist of eight stories including attic and basement of an absolutely fireproof building.  Outside of the Hotel Portland there is nothing in the Pacific northwest to compare with the Canadian Pacific’s new hotel in size and cost. In comparison, for instance, with the Alaska building in Seattle, which represents the best there is to be found in modern office buildings north of ‘Frisco, that building, though towering several feet higher than, to 14 stories, only covers an area of 108-120 feet, while “The Empress” covers in its main dimensions 114×194 feet, exclusive of the kitchen annex of 110×50 feet. The Alaska building did not cost but a little more than $400,000. The new hotel will entail an investment of fully $500,000 for the superstructure alone to which must be added $125,000 for gravel filling, piling and concrete foundation work.  A Few Bills of Quantities  To give some adequate idea of the materials, natural to Vancouver Island, which will be utilized in its construction, it might be said that with the exception of the structural iron and face pressed brick every other article that is necessary for the building is procured within a very short radius of Victoria. The sandstone is secured from quarries on Haddington island, and is the same material used in the parliament buildings. These quarries are under operation and lease to the contractors. The granite comes from Nelson island and is regarded by experts as the best obtainable in the province. The common brick, of which there are several thousand to be put in place are from nearby yards. What little lumber is needed for finishing will be obtained hers. The B.C. Pottery Co., is manufacturing the hollow tile fire proofing for interior partitions and all the flue linings for the chimneys. The cement comes from the Vancouver-Portland Cement mills at Tods (sic Todd) Inlet, and the plumbing, heating and roofing contract amounts to over $90,000, has been let to R.J. Knott. Altogether Mr. Skene estimates that $100,000 in round figures, will be disbursed locally for necessary building materials and fixtures.  The Contacting Firm  It will be remembered that when the contract was originally let, it was secured by the firm of Gribble, Skene & Barrett Co., of Seattle. A few weeks since the firm of Gribble & Skene Co., purchased Mr. Barrett’s interest in the partnership and are now carrying on the work themselves. This firm has to its credit the building of many fine structures in the Puget Sound country. In Seattle they have to their credit the erection of the seven-story office fire-proof building of the Mutual Life Insurance Co., on the corner of Yesler and First Avenue and several other business blocks. They have just completed an seven-story fire-proof brewery at Olympia and also built two big warehouses for the Standard Oil Co. Though only five years in existence Gribble & Skene Co., have already many handsome monuments in the building line erected under their supervision.
1906-06-17Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist June 17, 1906. Building Sheds   – The first of the shed buildings to accommodate the big gang of workmen who will be employed on the CPR hotel is now being erected, and the scene at the site is commencing to be a very animated one. Ponderous drays, drawn by huge draught horses, are conveying the big blocks of Nelson Island granite to the site, bricks are being delivered, the first of the structural steel pillars and girders are on the ground, and altogether much activity is in evidence. The progress of the preliminary work is watched daily by an interested crowd of spectators, who line up along the stone wall of the Causeway.
1906-07-17ColonistempressDaily Colonist, July 17, 1906.  NEW TOURIST HOTEL IS HALF FINISHED.  Rapid Progress Being Made on the Structural and Interior Work.  A Large Sum for Furnishings.  Decorative Scheme Will Be along the Lines of Old Country Homes.  Excellent progress is being made these days on the CPR million-dollar tourist hotel “The Empress” and within a month the contracting firm of Gribble and Skene Co., expect to have all the stonework finished. The brickwork is practically all completed and the carved panelled balustrades to the balconies and big veranda fronting the James Bay Causeway are ready to be set in place. Within a little over a year since work first started the firm are in a position of reporting that fully 50% of the construction work is accomplished, and unhesitatingly state that in less the unforeseen happens, the handsome pile will be ready for the company within the time specified by the contract.  Before the close of the present week it is expected that work will be underway on the roofing. The cement flooring of the basement and five upper stories is finished and only a small portion remains on the sixth floor. RJ Nott who secured the subcontract for heating and plumbing has also made rapid progress in the installation of the plumbing known as the Durham system, and the rubbing for the stacks and branches for the bathrooms and lavatories on the several floors is well in hand.  It was learned yesterday that the company’s engineers are now considering plans for the remodelling and enlargement of the old paint works on Humboldt Street. This building is to be arranged to provide for a model steam laundry, for the housing of the help, for sample rooms and the power plant. It will be finished in keeping with the big hotel. The filling in of the grounds around the hotel is also receiving consideration and just so soon as the Government dredge “The King Edward” completes the work it is doing up the Fraser River it will be sent to Victoria for this purpose.  Interior Decorations  When recently in Banff a member of the staff of the colonist called on Stewart Gordon, manager of the CPR hotel in the National Park, who has been appointed to the management of the “Empress Hotel,” and was given outline of the proposed decorative features that are contemplated here. The general scheme, Mister Gordon said, was to make the hotel typical of English home life genuinely comfortable throughout. The 170 bedrooms will be luxuriously finished and the draperies coverings and curtains done in pretty chintzes. The grill room in the basement is to be unique in its decorative scheme, resembling as nearly as possible the interior of the ship with curved oak beams, portholes, etc. Designs for the furniture, which will all be manufactured in Canada have been selected, and it is a matter of satisfaction to learn that in this respect Canada can produce anything in the furnishing line equal to the best firms in the world such as Sherrington, Adams and Heppelwhite in England. Some of the patterns of these well-known houses will be utilized. For the silverware sketches of special designs have been submitted to headquarters by Mappin and Webb and Elkington of England andBirks & Co., of Montréal. All the linen will probably be designed and woven in Scotland and the China specially manufactured in England. Altogether the expenditure and furnishings for the Empress Hotel is roughly estimated at a figure in the neighbourhood of $125,000.  The decoration of the hotel is to be left entirely in the hands of Mrs. Hayter Reed wife of the manager and chief of the CPR hotels, who shortly expected to arrive in Victoria to make preliminary arrangements. Mrs. Reed has to her credit the decorative features of the palatial Hotel Frontenac at Québec and the hotel Place Viger at Montréal and has just finished the work on the Royal Alexandria hotel at Winnipeg. She will be accompanied to Victoria by Mrs. Stewart Gordon, wife of the manager of the CPR Banff Springs Hotel, who will assist her.
1906-08-03ColonistSt Michael’s University SchoolUniversity School — Rev. W.W. Bolton, M.A., and J.C. Barnacle, the former of Cambridge university and the latter of London university, will from September next jointly have charge of the university school. There will be two houses, as there is already sufficient support to warrant such a step. Mr. Bolton will retain his residence on Belcher Avenue, where he ahs held school for the last eight years, and will continue to take in hand the tuition of the junior forms. Mr. Barnacle will reside in another commodious house, with field attached on Oak Bay avenue, within a stone’s throw of Mr. Bolton’s and will take in charge the tuition of the upper forms, which will no longer be limited to age. After school hours the boys will unite and paly together, and besides two playgrounds there will be used two large recreational grounds of the city. Boarders of tender years will sleep at Mr. Bolton’s house, where they will be under the direct care of Mrs. Bolton. The older boys will be attached to Mr. Barnacle’s house where a matron will reside.
1906-08-11ColonistHaddington andesite EmpressBritish Colonist, August 11, 1906, page 3  Progress of Work On Empress Hotel  Great Structure is Rapidly Approaching Completion – Some Building Details  As the C.P.R. Empress Hotel is fast approaching completion, interest in that enterprise increases. The building consists of eight floors, including the basement. It will be fitted with the most modern compressed air apparatus for cleaning and dusting purposes. Two million and a half of bricks and two thousand tons of stone, approximately, enter into its composition. It is not a steel frame structure, but a large quantity of steel is employed, though the weight is supported by the walls themselves. The materials used for the walls are the Haddington Island sandstone and pressed brick and some granite. The cement is that known as Vancouver Portland. The foundations which bear the enormous weight above, which one would thick was sufficiently great for the shoulders of Atlas, were put in by the B.C. Contract Co., the name under which the Puget Sound Bridge and Dredging Co does business in the country. There is a special heating system throughout the building, that known as the Warren, Webster & Co hot air system – one of the vacuum schemes.  A point of interest is the fact theat the roof, the timbers of which are now being put on, is of a new style, so arranged, for artistic purposes, that no two sides will present the same angle to the rays of the sun or the shafts of the rain.  As yet what kind of fire escape shall be attached has not been decided on. A good many other points as regards the latest improvements are still a matter of deliberation. Meantime the work advance without a hitch, and Messrs. Gribble and Skene Co hope, in spite of changes and alterations from the first agreement, to get the work completed within their contract time, which expires at the end of February, 1907.  Some Construction Details  The fireproofing of the structure is already completed, all the floors having been reinforced with concrete, and all the columns and beams also concreted. The tile partitions, which are an additional protection against the spread fo fire, are also up. Plastering operations will soon commence. Hard wall plaster will be the kind used. The slating and other work on the roof will be finished before the wet season gets a chance of showing malice towards human constructive efforts. It is worthy to note that the hard wood finishings will be supplied by Weiler Bros., and the soft wood trimmings by the Lemon Gonnason Co., both of Victoria. It has been the policy of Messrs. Gribble &Skene Co., for which they, as American contractors, cannot be to highly commended, to get everything done locally as far as possible. Some materials, of course, have not been obtainable here in Victoria, but that has been their plan nevertheless. This same contracting company is at present is also executing a large contract for a well-known Vancouver house, Mr. William Farrell’s firm. The building there is to consist a series of flats. They are also doing a considerable amount of work in Seattle and Tacoma. Mr. G.L. Skene, vice-president of the company, is at present residing here, and devotes all his time and attention to the work which is in progress both here and in Vancouver. The labor account which he has to settle for work done on the C.P.R. hotel alone amounts approximately to $2,000 per week.  It will be possible to begin furnishing the hotel next winter, in order to have everything ready for its doors to opened to the public in June next year. The furnishing will not be carried out by the contractors who have erected the structure, but by others.  It is bracing to hear, as one crosses the Causeway, the sound of hammer and chisel busily at work on the refractory stone, which is not so refractory but that man can fashion it to what shape he please, making ornamental or merely useful at his own sweet will. Pleasing too, symbolic of the iron will of man and invincible supremacy, is the sight of the huge crane and derrick set up high upon the roof, which in obedience to and electric motor, lifts and moves about blocks of stone and masses of brick just as a child may hold and move a nail with a pair of pincers.
1906-08-12Colonistterra cotta clay products VictoriaBritish Colonist, August 12, 1906, page 5  British Columbia Pottery Co.  One of the thriving industries of Victoria is the British Columbia Pottery Company, employing forty men and paying about $25,00 a year in wages. It is a great advantage to have at one’s door the raw material to produce all the requisites in connection with the drainage of a city, as well as the thousand and one article of potteryware which enter into the building and decorating of a city. Their enterprise fulfills all of these requirements and has contributed not a little to the sanitary and hygienic excellence of Victoria. The range of manufacture covers salt glazed vitrified sewer pipe (from 3 to 24 inch) branches, bends, yard and gully traps, and all kinds of sanitary fittings, agricultural drain tile, flower pots, terra cotta chimney pipe and flue lining, chimney tops, fire brick, stove and grate backs, fireproof tile and furnace linings, and all kinds of fine clay goods, paving brick for sidewalks, roof crestings and finials, cement, ground fire clay, all kinds of ornamental plaster work, ceilings, brackets, cornices, and centres. The office of the company is on Pandora street, near the City hall, and the works in Victoria West.
1906-08-19ColonistHaddington Atkins Saturna sandstoneExploit Island Resources  The formation of an exceptionally strong syndicate was completed yesterday morning. It will have for its purpose the exploitation of the resources of Vancouver and adjacent islands in marble, sandstone and other building materials. The directorate consisting of the following: Jas. Mitchell, head of the Northern Elevator company, who is president; Andrew Wright, the wealthy Manitoba capitalist now resident in Victoria,; Wm. Fernie, of the Crows Nest Coal Company, S.G. Marling, a retired lumberman of Vancouver; J.C. Armstrong, New Westminster’s most wealthy citizen; G.H. Webster, president of the B.C. General Contracting company, and James Wilson, superintendent of C.P.R. telegraphs. R.W. Clarke, of this city, is secretary temporarily. The properties at present controlled by the syndicate comprise the newly discovered deposits of marble on Nootka sound; the big quarries on Saturna Island, and the Atkins lime plant and valuable clay deposits at Esquimalt. An option has also been obtained on the Haddington Island quarries, which will probably be taken up before expiration.
1906-08-29ColonistUniversity SchoolUniversity School  Upper School: Oak Bay Avenue Lower School: Belcher Avenue Christmas term begins Tuesday, Sept. 4 Rev. W.W. Bolton J./C. Barnacle             Principals Phone 824
1906-08-30ColonistHaddington andesite EmpressFrom The North  The steamer Capilano arrived yesterday from the north with 100 tons of sandstone from Haddington Island quarries for this city, and 5,000 cases of salmon from northern canneries.  KJ  notes – probably for the Empress which was under construction at this time.
1906-10-31Colonistempress causewayDaily Colonist, October 31, 1906.  The material referred to as “placed by the Mud Lark in James Bay” has been lying in the harbour near the Causeway for some time. City Engineer Topp estimates that there is suitably over 40,000 yd.³ ready to be transferred to the flats as soon as the dredge arrives. That is approximately the amount required. He believes that once the work is started it will not take much longer than three weeks to complete the whole undertaking. It was, he said, in the city’s interests that a start should be made at the earliest possible moment because, although it was doubtful whether the CPR could do anything to hold it to the promise made at the outset, it would not be good policy to interfere with the CPR’s plans in respect to the new hostelry. Mayor Morley is confident that something will be done towards bringing the King Edward here in the near future. Once its services are procured he states that everything the city can do to expedite matters, as suggested by the Minister, will receive careful attention.  Meanwhile the construction of the hotel proper continues at a rapid rate. Some stonework for the side entrance, the drainage system and the slating of the roof are practically all in connection with the main structure that are not well underway. The interior woodwork, the contract for which is in the hands of Messieurs Lemmon and Gunnason, will be ready for installation with a month. As far as the first four floors are concerned the plastering has been completed. In the upper stories a number of immense iron beams are being put in place with the object of allowing the elevation to reach a higher level than was originally intended and also to permit a suitable foundation for the water tanks that will be provided for additional fire protection. Silvea & Brynjolfsen have been awarded the contract for the drainage and sewer system and in ten commencing their work immediately.  Taking everything into consideration there is no doubt, that the hotel will be finished within the time limit set by RM Marpole, Superintendent of the Western division the CPR, 1 June. And providing the flats are filled inside the next few months the beautiful gardens, which it is intended shall adorn the area adjoining the buildings, should be in full bloom.
1906-11-01ColonistSilica lime brick atkins roadPLAN  TO DEVELOP ISLAND’S RESOURCES  Ample Capital Available to Work Brick Clay and Marble Deposits  Forty thousand dollars will be spent by the Silica Brick & Lime company for the purchase of a plant to be installed on a property about nine miles from Victoria and in close proximity to the E. & N. railway. It is expected  the entire amount will be available within a month. So confident of are the directors that a member of company has left for the East with a commission to open negotiations with some of the large machine manufacturing establishments for the purpose of ascertaining from which concern the best terms can be procured. They believe that their factory will be ready for operation before the end of the year.  Of the amount above mentioned, no less than $30,000 will be expended upon the brick plant. It will be thoroughly modern in all respects and capable of turning out approximately 20,000 bricks per day. The remainder, $10,000, is the outlay necessary for machinery for the refinement of the raw lime. Its daily capacity will each a total of 200 barrels. It is intended to operate the factory to its limit from the start, the directors claiming that there is a market for all the material that can be produced. In this regard the principal supporters of the venture affirm that the extensive building at all points on the North Pacific for the past few months is, in itself, an assurance that all the bricks and lime that can be turned out and sold so cheaply must find a ready demand.  With the Silica Brick & Lime company is associated another organization which promises to prove of no less importance to Vancouver Island from an industrial standpoint. It is the Nootka Marble Quarries, Ltd., and, like the former, has its headquarters in Victoria. This project has not reached the same maturity as the other and it is probable that two or three months will elapse before the first shipments of Island marble leave Nootka Sound. Considerable development work is first necessary, and a channeling plant will have to be installed. It is staled on good authority that the marble deposits are of as fine quality as can be obtained anywhere in the world. At the present time marble is shipped from certain parts of the Southern States, from Italy, and other remote points. When this is considered in conjunction with the statements made regarding the cheap handling of the local stone, and the market there is for it . here, it is felt that the venture will prove the success prophesied.  Both the projects outlined are being conducted under the supervision of the Vancouver Island Building Resource company.  The latter embraces the two subsidiary branches, having been incorporated for the purpose of simplifying matters. Besides, the former have other ventures In view, all connected with the development of the natural, resources of the Island. Many Victorians are interesting  themselves,  financially and otherwise, in the enterprise, and marked progress is predicted during the ensuing year.
1906-11-13Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, November 13, 1906  DREDGE IS TO ARRIVE IN ABOUT TEN DAYS.  Announcement Is Made That Work of Filling in Hotel Area Will Commence.  The dredge King Edward is expected to arrive in Victoria in about ten days’ time, and an immediate start will be made towards filling in the area surrounding CPR hotel. The city is under contract to have this work done before the hotel is complete: and as it is necessarily will take many weeks before the mud will settle, it is absolutely necessary that a start be made at once.  The welcome news that the dredge would come to the city was received by Mayor Morley several days ago, but it was only yesterday that he was able to make it public. There is considerable filling in to be done  an average of 7 feet over the entire space  and consequently it is expected that it will take several weeks to complete the work. It will very likely be several days after the arrival of the dredge before work will be commenced. The pipe through which the mud will pass under the Causeway will have to be repaired as a result of damage done while laying the water main.  With the completion of the city’s share of the contract, the company will lose no time in having the necessary black earth filling all to the grounds, in order that an early start may be made in beautifying the grounds.
1906-12-14Colonistsilica lime brick atkinsBritish Daily Colonist, December 14, 1906, page 8  ISLAND INDUSTRIES IN OPERATION SOON  Silica Brick and Lime Co., and  Nootka Marble Quarries, Ltd., Ready for Business  S. G. Marling is now in the East, purchasing machinery for the Silica Brick & Lime Co. Ltd., a Victoria Corporation, of which H. P. Thomson, manager of Turner, Beeton & Co, is president. By February next this new industry will be in full swing on what is known as the Atkins property at Esquimalt.  The capacity of the machinery now being purchased will be  20,000 bricks every ten hours, or 40,000 per day, working double shifts.  This is one of the subsidiary companies floated by the Victoria syndicate formed in August last, among the prominent members of which are James A. Mitchell, of the Northern Elevator company; Andrew Wright, formerly of Winnipeg, and Wm. Fernie, all of this city, and other capitalists of equal prominence in other parts of the province. The capitalization of the Silica Brick & Lime Co. is $150,000 , and already $50,000 worth of shares have been disposed of at the par value,  $10. In addition to the manufacture of the famous German silica brick, the company is installing a plant for producing hydrated lime, with a capacity of 200 barrels per day This is the only one of its kind in Western Canada.  Silica brick, which will stand a crushing strain five times as great as those made from clay, have many advantages over those ordinarily in use. They can be produced in twelve hours from the commencement of operations, while clay bricks require from three to four weeks. Instead of deteriorating with age, they improve and grow harder and better from exposure. They stand frost, fire and water better than the best pressed brick, and a wall made from the silica product becomes, as soon as the mortar sets, to all intents purposes, solid stone. But one of great advantages secured by this process is architectural uniformity or contrast . Coloring is not limited to few shades produced by the old clay burning method; any color required can be produced at will. This advantage will be easily recognized by anyone conversant with building construction . The company already has assurances of a ready market for its output, one of its shareholders, for instance, being G. H. Webster, president of the B. C. General Contracting company. James K . Rebbeck, the consulting engineer, estimates the sale value of the property at $5,260,762; (???) so it will be seen there is an immense margin for profit over the modest capitalization .  Another company formed under the same auspices, the Nootka Marble Quarries, Ltd., of which E. E. Welch, manager of the B. C. Meat Market, is provisional president, is meeting with a similar measure of success. The capitalization is also $150,000 and about the same amount of stock has been sold as the silica brick corporation.  As previously mentioned, this company owns the enormous deposits of marble on Nootka Sound that were described by Provincial Analyst Carmichael as flawless and “bigger than the parliament buildings.” These deposits will be operated at the earliest possible moment. A contingent contract has been entered into with the firm constructing the new Canadian Bank of Commerce building in Vancouver, for 5000 feet of marble wainscoting.  The specimens of marble exhibited in the Terminal City aroused great interest among contractors and other large orders are looked for in the near future. As was predicted at the time the parent syndicate was being formed , Vancouver Island stone and marble will be used in rebuilding San Francisco. The Nootka Quarries were yesterday asked to  supply, for one firm alone, 2200 tons of marble and stone as soon as possible. It is the intention of the company to at once commence active operations. An idea of the quality of the marble deposits can be gathered from the following remarks of Mr. Carmichael:  “With reference to the marble deposits at Nootka Sound, which I have just inspected, seems to bo of an exceptionally good quality and particularly free from detectable flaws.  “I feel safe in saying that blocks of marble can be taken from these deposits at least 10 feet square.  ” In regard to quantity; I may say that on the west side of Deserted creek the visible marble extends about one-half to three-quarters of a mile, on the east side at least one and one quarter miles.  “The colors range from pure white to iron grey and in many places are beautifully  mottled, and the colors of blue and white delicately grained or draped. This is the only marble that I know of in British Columbia, which could be quarried successfully for building purposes.  S. McClay, of Vancouver, the largest marble dealer in the province, has written the company that he is prepared to take a large portion of the output at $7 per cubic foot.   A private meeting of the parent syndicate, the B.C. Building Resources company, was held at the offices of the secretary, R.W. Clark, last night but no particulars are at present available for publication.
1906-12-29ColonistCity employees union street cleanersBritish Colonist     December 29, 1906 Page 3  State’s Case for the Labouring Man.  Secretary of Protective Association Says Higher Wages Are Absolute Necessity.  The members of the Victoria Labourers Protective Association are determined to push their claim for an increase in the wages of those in the employ of the city, and intend making the question one of the issues of the coming civic elections.  The men claim that they are asking for what is but fair and just, and that the members of the association will vote for those candidates who pledged themselves to support their claims.  “That the corporation should go on paying the wages at the present rate to its employees, is ridiculous” said William McKay, the secretary of the association in conversation yesterday.  ” The scale was fixed some eight or ten years ago when the cost of living was far less than it is now.  Everything has gone up in price within the last few years.  I have no figures on the question, but I have lived in this city for a good many years now, and I know quite well that the cost of keeping myself and my family is a lot more now than it used to be.  When the present scale of wages was fixed the pay was only just about enough to keep a man alive, and now, what with the increased price of living, it’s almost impossible for a man to support himself, much less a family on his wages as a day labourer in the employ of the city.  Married Man’s Plight.  “Many of the men are married and have small families” continued Mr McKay, “and with these it certainly is a hard pull.  Take the sewer men, the best paid of the city’s day employees.  They get $2.25 a day.  Well, there is never a month in which the weather permits the men to work every day.  Most months they lose several days, and for every day that they are laid off they lose their wages.  Say that a man is laid off two days.  At the end of the month he gets, say $50.  Out of that he has to pay all his expenses.  The rent comes to say $12, — and you can’t get much of a house at that.  For fuel he pays perhaps, $5, certainly not less, with wood and coal as high as it now is.  Light will come to about $2.50 — all these estimates are at the very lowest possible, mind you.  A single man may be able to keep himself at that, but take the case where the man has a wife and say three children, and there are lots of such.  It’s pretty hard then for a man to clothe his wife and children, feed them, and buy schoolbooks for his children.  By dint of economy he may do it, but he certainly won’t be able to put by anything against a rainy day.  No savings bank account or life insurance for him.  It’s all that he can do to make both ends meet.”  The Street Sweepers.  As regards the lowest paid of all the city’s employees, the street sweepers who get $1.50 a day, Mr McKay stated that as things are at present, this job is more of a charity on the part of the city than anything else, being given to old men who would otherwise go to the Home for the Aged and Infirm.  “The association would like to see this altered,” added Mr McKay.  “We don’t think it right that these old men should be employed because they are willing to work for less than an able bodied man.  If they are too old to do a good day’s work, why, send them to the home.  In other cities street cleaners are the highest-paid of the day labourers, and there is no reason why they shouldn’t be the same here.”  All of One Mind.  Various members of the Labourers Protective Association, both employees of the city, and others, when consulted, all supported the statements of Mr McKay.  “A man can’t live and keep himself decent upon the wages given by the city” was the answer of one labourer, when questioned by the Colonist.  “The labourers can perhaps get enough to keep a roof above their heads, and to pay clothes, but as for any comforts well, of course we’re labouring men and not supposed to think about those.  Lot of good it would do us any way if we did.  Two dollars a day buys mighty little in the way of comfort with prices what they are now.’Bout all the enjoyment a man can get out of life is found in the saloons, and when we look for it there the people who have the money and the pleasures, preach to us. Pshaw!  We don’t want sermons, what we want is higher wages.  Then we’ll live decently.”
1907-01-20ColonistempressDaily Colonist, January 20, 1907.  RAPID PROGRESS ON THE EMPRESS HOTEL.  Structure Closed in and Temporary Heating Plant Installed  Stone for Vancouver.  After being shut down by inclement weather for about two weeks, local contractors have resumed building operations. The Gribble and Skene company, a couple of days ago, recommenced work on the Empress Hotel and the six-story block they are constructing for Pither and Leiser.  The immense hostelry pacing James Bay Causeway is now closed in, the roof and practically all the windows being in place. To secure as rapid drying is possible for the plaster and concrete inside a temporary heating plant was installed yesterday. This will be operated day and night until a building is completed. No damage was suffered by any part of the structure through the cold weather and work will now be rushed to the fullest extent.  Above the ground floor the plastering is about completed, the only delay be in a location by the slight rearrangement of the floor mentioned that was decided sometime ago. It is expected that the plans for this work will be to hand in a few days when the plasterers will at once commence on the last partitions. The would work on three floors has been completed, with lumber supplied by Lemon, Gonason & Co., of this city, and presents an appearance consonant with the big structure.  Remove Pendray Building.  It has been decided to tear down the big brick block formerly occupied by WJ Pendray and to erect upon the site a power plant and laundry building with quarters for employees of the hotel. Plans are being prepared of a uniform design with the main structure and the pipe tunnel, already partially excavated will be taken in hand at once.  A contract has just been let to the Canada Foundry Company, of Toronto, for the supply of three sets of ornamental iron staircases to run from the first floor to the top of the building. These will be cast to special designs and be of a very elaborate character. The treads will be of slate. A final decision has not yet been reached as to the material from which the main staircases, from the basement to the first floor, will be constructed. The choice lies between ornamental iron and marble and quartersawn white oak. As soon as the matter is decided upon a contract will be let.  Electric wiring all over the building has been completed but the installation of fixtures is, of course, delayed until a large part of the interior decoration has been finished. In common with all other ornamental construction in the hotel these will be of special designs, it being the idea of the architect and Mrs. Hayter Reed, who is to supervise the furnishing to secure artistic uniformity in all the interior treatment.  Pither and Leiser Building.  Another heavy contract the same company is carrying out in Victoria is a construction of the Pither and Leiser building at the corner of Fort and Wharf streets. The foundations have been laid and the walls built well above the street lines, the woodwork being in place as high as the second floor. It is intended to commence masonry work tomorrow and complete the building before the contract time limit expires on May 1.  Is not generally known that Vancouver Island quarries are supplying large quantities of stone for the erection of buildings in the Terminal city. The Gribble and Skene company is constructing a large apartment house adjoining the hotel Vancouver and for this work alone is used about 3000 feet of stone from Gabriola Island quarries. This gives a lot of additional work for local Masons. The stone is brought down from the quarries to Victoria in Mill blocks, and cut here before being shipped to Vancouver. The only loss suffered by the Company mentioned during the recent cold weather was of stone, worth about $1000, that became penetrated by the frost which rendered it unsuitable for working.
1907-01-25Colonistsilica brick lime atkins roadThe British Daily Colonist, January 25, 1907, page 5  SILICA BRICK AND LIME CO .   Local Company Representatives Visit Seattle in Interests of Business  Messrs. Bond and Findlay, of Victoria, BC, are in Seattle in the interest of the Silica Brick and Lime Co, of that city, says  the Pacific Builder and  Engineer (Seattle) in its issue of January 18th. This company owns valuable properties on Vancouver Island, where it intends soon to .manufacture hydrated lime and silica or sand lime brick.  In order to produce a hydrated lime suitable for all purposes and especially for mixing with cement it is necessary to bo almost entirely free from magnesia and other detrimental ingredients and the lime produced by this company shows an assay of 99 1-3 per cent pure, which is much higher than is necessary for first class pressed  brick. Following are some of the tests of the brick made by this company:  Crushing test, sand-lime brick. per sq. in., 2,100 to 7,000 lbs.; Indiana sandstone, per sq. in., 4,152 lbs;  clay brick (salmon), per sq. in., 300 to 2,800 lbs:  clay brick (hard burned), per sq. in., 1,800 to 4,300 lbs,; clay brick (repressed ), per sq. in., 6,300 lbs.  Crushing test after freezing – Sand lime brick, 5 to 20 per cent higher than above tests; Indiana sandstone,  6,651 lbs.; clay brick (salmon), 6 per cent lower; clay brick (hard burned ) 6 per cent higher; clay brick (repressed ),  6 per cent higher.  Absorption test Sand-lime brick, 3 to 16 per cent; Indiana sandstone, 5.65 per cent; clay brick (salmon) 7 to 30 percent; clay brick (hard burned )  9 to 20 per cent; clay brick (repressed),. 10 to 15 per cent.  Another enterprise of equal importance  being developed by the same stockholders is called the Nootka Marble Quarries, which contains enormous deposits of marble of a great variety of color and size of blocks, which can be obtained within 30 fathoms of tide-water in a sheltered harbor on the same island. Each company is capitalized for $160,000.  Since offering this stock in Seattle Messrs. Bond & Findlay have received applications to the extent of some $24,000 for the Silica Brick & Lime Co’s stock and negotiations have been opened with Seattle capital to take the remaining unsold stock of the Nootka Marble Quarries, amounting to $120,000.
1907-02-05Colonistsilica lime brick atkins roadThe Daily British Colonist, February 5, 1907, page 7.  SILICA BRICK CO .  Officers Appointed at Meeting Held Yesterday-Good Outlook  “The lime and silica sand deposits at Esquimalt are among the best in the world,”said Gordon Bradbury, managing director of the Manitoba Pressed Brick company, which conducts an extensive sand lime brick manufacture in the town of Benusejour. Mr. Bradbury, who has purchased a large block of stock In the Silica Brick & Lime Co. Ltd., of this city, was yesterday afternoon appointed general manager of that company at a meeting of the board of directors.  Better prices will be commanded for the product of the new company than for any pressed brick manufactured on the Pacific coast,” continued the new general manager, and we already have offerings for large quantities at good figures. There are deposits of both sand and lime on the property that appear almost inexhaustible and, as silica brick is immune from climate and suffers no ill effects from water, frost or acids, we expect to market our product without any difficulty.  “For a start a plant will be installed with a capacity of from 15,000 to 20,000 brick per day of 10 hours, but it will be easy to enlarge as soon as conditions warrant it. Three kinds will be made at first, the natural color, almost resembling native sandstone, a red somewhat similar to the usual clay pressed brick in color, and a light buff. Of course, these bricks can be moulded to any shape desired, and are capable of meeting the most arbitrary requirements of architects.  “Some of the finest buildings in Winnipeg have been constructed from silica brick that has withstood successfully the many climatic changes to which Manitoba is subjected. The company will commence operations in April, and I believe it will be most successful.”
1907-03-02ColonistEmpress causewayDaily Colonist, March 2, 1907.  CITY IMPROVEMENTS AROUND CPR HOTEL.  Flats May Be Converted into Park  Streets Will Be Attended to.  Extensive improvements will be undertaken by the city in the neighbourhood of James Bay, as soon as the work of filling in the gardens of the Empress Hotel has been completed. The Causeway will be block paved, Douglas Street will be extended across the flats and other undertakings carried out that will do much to improve the appearance of that portion of the city. They had of what was formally James Bay, but which is now filled in with rubbish, belongs to the city, only that portion below Douglas Street having been given over to the CPR as a site for the hotel. The disposal of this piece of land, which since the hotel has been built is of considerable value, has not yet been fully determined, but it seems probable that it will be turned into a small park or recreation ground.  “It has been proposed that we make a park of that piece of land,” said Alderman Virender, the Chairman of the parks and boulevards committee, “and personally I should very much like to see a disposed of in that way. It must be remembered however, that the land is now of considerable value. There can be no doubt that Douglas Street is destined to become one of the principal thoroughfares of the city, and the property which will have a frontage on it when it has been extended across the flats will then command a high price. What decision the Council may arrive at in the matter, it is at present impossible to say.”  Alderman Virender stated that the manner of the improvement of the extension of Douglas Street would depend entirely on the disposal of the end of the James Bay flats by the city. Should it be decided to turn the head of the flats into a park, the Street will be Boulevard and treated as a residential thoroughfare. If on the other hand the land is sold the Street will be provided with cement sidewalks on both sides and made into a regular business artery. Once Douglas Street has been extended across the flats, the highway will be complete right from the Saanich road to the ocean, out past Beacon Hill Park.  Belleville and Humboldt Street to, will be regraded and macadamized, and made first-rate thoroughfares, although the city will undertake no permanent improvements on either of those streets until the work is finished on the grounds of the hotel. Otherwise the heavy teaming incidental to the completion of the gardens would undo the work as soon as it is a done.  The Causeway will come in for a good deal of attention in the near future, and it is possible that in this undertaking the city may not wait for the completion of the hotel. At present a number of men are employed macadamizing in the road in accordance with an order passed by the Council some weeks ago. This, however, is merely a temporary undertaking, and it has been determined to continue the block paving of Government Street across the Bay just as soon as circumstances will allow. At present City Engineer Topp will not sanction the carrying out of the work, as he states that owing to the filling in of the flats, there is libel to be a change of level on the Causeway. Such change of level while harmless as far as a macadam surface is concerned would be disastrous to a block paved street.  The completion of work on the hotel and the incidental improvement of that part of the city by the Council, may come about sooner than has been expected. It was the original intention of the CPR to have the hostelry open in time for the summer tourist traffic. The alterations in the plans, however necessitated a delay, and hope was abandoned of having the hotel ready for occupation before the fall. Now, however, it appears that matters have gone ahead more speedily than was expected, and the hotel me even yet be open in time for use this summer. Go to sleep
1907-03-05ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, March 5, 1907.  CAUSEWAY IN BETTER SHAPE.  One Side Rendered Fit For Traffic in Wet Weather  The work of macamadamizing one side of the James Bay Causeway has been completed and from a sea of mud, the thoroughfare has been converted into a smooth, clean roadway. The undertaking has met with the keenest approval of all those having occasion to use the Causeway, the condition of that piece of road, during and for days after a spell of rainy weather, been nothing short of fearsome. The steamroller is now at work putting the finishing touches on the job, but the work is virtually completed.  City engineer Topp states that the other side of the Causeway, that nearest the CPR hotel, will not be macadamised, but will only receive temporary repairs in some of the worst patches. He states that it is the intention of the city, ultimately, to block paved the Causeway, and that consequently it is bad policy to spend more money than is absolutely necessary on what can only be temporary improvements. It is impossible to undertake the block paving of the Causeway for some weeks yet, owing to the fact that the enormous weight of the mud deposited on the grounds of the hotel by the dredge may have some effect in altering the level of the roadway.  It is expected that the surveyors will be at work next week on Fort Street and Oak Bay Avenue, where it is proposed to widen the roadway. It is not thought that it will take them long to get through, and a joint report from the engineer and assessor, join the probable cost of the undertaking and the proportion of that cost to be borne by each of the property owners interested will then be submitted to Council.
1907-04-20ColonistNootka Sound MarbleWILL SHIP IN MARBLE FROM NOOTKA SOUND  Product OF New Quarry Will Be Placed on the Market at Once  The first shipment of marble from the Nootka quarries will in all probability arrive in the city in the course of the next two weeks.  Mr Bond, of the firm of Bond and Clarke, promoters of the company owning the marble locations, recently arrived in the city from Nootka sound, where he had been to superintend the taking out of the first consignment of marble and he reports that work is progressing most satisfactorily.  The first shipment, says Mr Bond, will consist of 100 tons.  It will be brought directly to this city, and from Victoria as a distributing point quantities will be sent to Vancouver and Seattle.  The shipment will comprise samples of all the different varieties found at the quarries and by placing those on the market as widely as possible, it is hoped to give the public some idea of the possibilities of the quarries.  Just when the marble will arrive in the city, Mr Bond does not know.  You state that the steamer Otter will leave shortly for Nootka sound, taking supplies and powder, and it may be found possible to send back a large shipment of aboard her.  If this can be done the first shipment will probably arrive in Victoria the week after next.  Mr Bond states that the property extends on both sides of the Nootka sound and comprises 260 acres, 180 acres being on one side and 80 on the other side of the inlet.  Mr Bond states that while at the sound he made several discoveries of large new beds, the existence of which had hitherto been unsuspected.  “While the men were at work,” said he, “the foreman and I went back inland a few hundred yards, and there I discovered several new beds of marble and finer quality than any that we have hitherto found.  It is in the form of tilted strata, lying between layers of syenite, a formation producing the very best marble.  The strata are six or seven feet wide each, and extend far back into the mountain — much further than we shall in all probability that any necessity to go for years.”  At the present time there nine men at work on the quarries. Wharves sheds and bunkhouses are being built, and the company is making all preparations were getting down to the work of quarrying in earnest.  The first shipment is merely a trial one, and once it has been disposed of the company will turn its attention to the filling of its contracts, of which it has several large one.  The company recently acquired a large lathe for the turning of marble columns and a polishing machine.  These have been set up in this city and, immediately upon the arrival of the first shipment, will be put to work.  The marble is at present being taken out in blocks weighing three tons each.  This size is chosen only because it is the most convenient handling on the boats at the disposal of the company.  The marble is remarkably free from flaws or cleavage, and were it necessary, could be taken out in blocks of 10 tons each instead of three.  The first shipment of the three ton blocks will be used washstand tops and such other articles of which the small blocks admirably adapted.  The marble varies from pure white to grey, some of it being beautifully streaked and veined.  On Texada Island the same company has a deposit of 155 acres of beautiful red stone, which will be working in conjunction with that at Nootka.
1907-04-20Colonistsilica lime brick atkinsThe Daily British Colonist, April 20, 1907, page 11  BRICK MACHINERY IS EXPECTED TODAY  Expensive Plant Will Immediately be Erected on Esquimalt Harbor  The machinery for the brick making plant which it is proposed by the Silica Brick & Lime company of this city to erect on Esquimau harbor, is expected to arrive today. All preparations have been completed by  the local officials of the company for its installation, and once it is in their hands work will be rushed ahead. It is expected that if all goes well the plant will be In operation by May 15.  The machinery is being supplied from Toronto, and was expected to have been on hand long before the present time. It was ordered some months ago, but delivery has been retarded by the rush of work which the eastern machine shops in common with those in the west now have on their hands.  The apparatus, the manufacture of which is covered by stringent patents, both in this country and on the other side of the line is costing the company $42,000. Despite its high price it is not unduly complicated, the process being a comparatively simple one, depending for the most part on natural chemical action. Consequently the installation of the plant is not expected to be accompanied by any particular difficulty. The machinery will be put in place by Mr. G.H. Bradbury, who has been engaged to act as manager of the plant when it is In running order. Mr. Bradbury Is from Winnipeg and is one of the largest shareholders in the (?????????? faulty typesetting for one or two lines) miles out of that city.  He understands thoroughly the working of the  apparatus.  The making of bricks by the new process is totally different from their manufacture according to the old system. There is no baking and yet despite this, the bricks are far better than any treated with fire. Clay such as is used in the ordinary bricks does not figure in the new kind. They are composed of a mixture of lime and fine siliceous sand.  They are, while damp, pressed into shape in a mould, and then are placed in steel cylinders in which they are subjected to enormous heat, steam at a temperature many’ times of that of boiling water being turned on them. The extreme heat has the effect of causing a chemical combination to take  place between the lime and the silica in the sand, the result being that carbonation of silica, a substance of extreme hardness, is formed.  This carbonate of silica is quite, insoluble, and is impervious to the action of the fire or of weather. Bricks manufactured by the new systems are much more dense and heavy than the ordinary clay bricks, and are also far superior in their qualities of durability being, in fact, practically indestructible.
1907-04-30ColonistSilica brick and lime atkinsTWO LARGE PROJECTS IN BRICK MAKING  Humber & Sons and Silica Co. to Operate on a Large Scale Soon  Victoria promises to develop into a brickmaking centre a large importance.  In the course of a few weeks, a month at the old side, there will be established a large planet by recently organised company known as the Silica Brick and Lime Co.  Its plant will be located in the vicinity of Parson’s Bridge, some eight or nine miles from the city.  So rapidly as the market for the output of such industries increased that Russ Humber has decided to augment his facilities for brickmaking.  With that object in view a short time ago he purchased some forty acres of property at Sydney having a frontage on the water.  He intends moving to that site in the near future.  The advantages of such a situation, as he points out, are obvious.  At present he experiences considerable difficulty and not a little expense in making shipments.  At the place where he contemplates locating all that will be overcome.  He will be able to place his brick on the scows and forward them to any place on the coast, quickly and economically.  As the heaviest demand is met with in Vancouver and other mainland points he feels ensured that the arrangement contemplated will enable him to conduct his business with better advantage to himself and to his patrons.  Gets Modern Plant  In addition to having a new and more advantageously located site Mr Humber proposed installing a more modern plant than that at present in operation.  He has ordered the machinery and it should arrive from the factory in time to allow it to be put in operation at the time of his removal from Douglas Street.  This will enable him to materially increase his output, a move which he says is warranted by the rapidly advancing demand all along the Pacific coast.  So marked is a growth of the market that Mr Humber asserts that he does not feel all perturbed over the competition which may be offered by the Silica Brick and Lime Co.  Heat takes the stand that the keener the competition the better the business and wishes the new institution success.  The Silica Brick and Lime Co, as stated, is in a position to commence work in the course of a few days in the establishment of their headquarters.  A number of buildings have to be erected before of the machinery constituting the plant can be installed.  This work should be completed as it is intended to rush it to completion just as rapidly as possible, in a short time.  The plant proper arrived a few days ago from the Toronto factory.  Its size may be gauged when it is stated that four CPR cars were required for its transportation.  It includes the machinery necessary in the making both bricks and lime and is calculated to have a capacity of 20,000 of the former and 200 barrels of the latter a day.  Providing the anticipations of members of the company realised the plant should be ready for operation in one month.  Ready Market Waiting.  As soon as it is in shape the manufacture of bricks and lime will commence.  There will be no unnecessary delay.  It is estimated that some thirty-five men will be employed constantly.  As there is a ready market for the articles mentioned, their headquarters should be a hive of activity from the start and it is confidently predicted that the industry will realise a handsome profit from the outset.  G. H. Bradbury, of Beausejour, Man., who has been appointed manager of the new concern, is in the city.  He will supervise and the installation of the plant.  It is understood that he has inspected the raw material will which will be used and asserts that nothing better could be desired, thus ensuring the unqualified success of the project.  It has been decided by the management to construct a boarding house at the site of the plant for the use of the men employed.  This will be provided with all necessary conveniences and will undoubtedly be appreciated as would be impossible for it the employees to travel to and from the city, a distance of up words of nine miles, at the opening and close of each day.
1907-05-05ColonistHarbeck FilmDaily Colonist, May 5, 1907.  Views of Victoria in Realistic Form  Many Pictures of City and Surroundings Taken by Cinematograph Expert.  The beauties of Victoria, just as they really are, will in future be shown for the benefit of state-at-homes in half a hundred places throughout the civilized world. By means of a life like cinematograph pictures they will represent will be shown over the whole of the States, as well as the principal cities of the old country and of Europe, and the work of the Tourist Association in drawing the attention of the world to the capital of the West will be supplemented by views showing the city and its surroundings realistically.  All day yesterday there toured around the city a man on a streetcar specially loaned for the purpose by the British Columbia Electric Railway company he traveled through the streets, and on a launch he journeyed up the Arm and along the waterfront, and all the while he devoted himself to a queer box-like piece of apparatus, turning a crank and adjusting it so that the powerful lenses situated at the front could command the best views that were to be had.  The man was W. H. Harbeck, traveling for the Hales Tourist Association of Portland, and the apparatus was a camera for the taking of films for use in cinematographs. When the sun set and it was impossible to take any further pictures, Mr. Harbeck had exhausted some 600 feet of film and had transferred to the long ribbon some of the most beautiful scenes around Victoria. On his streetcar tour, Mr. Harbeck started out from Douglas Street. He caught a picture of the City Hall, and then traveling along Yates Street he went down to Government, whence he journeyed, taking pictures all the way to the post office. At this point Mr. Harbeck was so struck with the view that he stopped the car, and starting at the Empress hotel, swung his camera so as to take one huge panoramic picture, including the government buildings, James Bay and the harbor. Thence he went on past the government buildings and there terminated his streetcar ride.  In the afternoon Herbert Cuthbert, Sec. of the Tourist Association, took possession of Mr. Harbeck and his machine, and carried them out to the Point Ellice bridge. There Mr. Harbeck took a picture of the harbor and the sealing fleet, and then J Hinton opportunely appeared on the scene. Mr. Hinton was immediately much interested in the proceedings and offered to take camera and operator for a ride up the Arm in his fine electric launch. The offer was gladly accepted and up the beautiful stretch of water went the moving picture man and the machine.  Mr. Harbeck was delighted at the beautiful vista which opened up as a launch carried him up the Arm, and had it not been for the fact that it was too busy “sawing wood” the very machine would probably have been to speak. As it was it occupied itself transferring to the film the splendid scenery.  On arrival at the Gorge Bridge, it was found that the tide was running out and that would be impossible to go any higher. Mr. Harbeck, however, was delighted. The reversible waterfalls was something that he had never previously struck in his travels, and he had to have a picture of it. Accordingly the little launch was pushed in among the whirling waters, and while the vessel racked and pitched, Mr. Harbeck steadily turned the handle, and obtained a truly unique picture of the fall and the turbulent current that sweeps under the bridge.  On his way back Mr. Harbeck took pictures on the east side of the Arm Including the Isle of the Dead and the sawmills, which were obligingly in full operation. Altogether he was immensely pleased at the results of his trip.  Today he is going along the line of the E. & N. to Nanaimo. Starting from the depot on Store Street, he will get pictures of all the beautiful scenes along the railway on the way to Nanaimo. Arrangements have been made to the train to stop for a few minutes at Shawnigan Lake, and there a picture will be obtained of the glittering sheet of water, and the pretty little hotel. In particular Mr. Harbeck promises himself some interesting pictures of the scores of fishermen who will leave the city this morning for the lake.  From Nanaimo he will go on to Vancouver, where he will take some 400 feet of pictures, and thence he will travel up the C.P.R. until he has exhausted about 1000 feet of film. He expects to get splendid views of the Fraser Canyon, and the glorious scenery between Yale and Lytton.  On his travels on railways, Mr. Harbeck places his machine in the last carriage, and by turning the crank backwards, obtains just such a picture as unrolls itself before a traveler on the cars. “The only trouble,” said he, in describing his method to a Colonist reporter, “is that if you happen to pass a man on the tracks he appears to be walking backwards. Otherwise the illusion is perfect.”  Mr. Harbeck is kept continuously traveling, getting views for exhibition all over the world. Of the pictures of Victoria alone, some hundred different ribbons will be made, and these will be shown in all the four corners of the earth. Mr. Harbeck has recently returned from a trip to Mexico, where he had some hair raising experiences in taking pictures from railway trains hanging over cliffs 3000 feet in height. He is now planning a trip across Canada on the CPR, and next month expects to be going to Europe, where he will obtain pictures of the cities and sites of the old country and the continent.  The pictures which are thus obtained are exhibited in such a way as to give the illusion of a railway journey. The room in which the cinematograph works is that it up like a railway car, noise, rocking and all, and as the panorama is unfolded the passing scenes are explained to the audience. Mr. Harbeck states that this form of amusement has become very popular both in America and Europe, and that it exhibitions are running in all the chief cities of the States and in the capitals and large towns of Europe. It is anticipated that the exhibition of the films of Victoria will prove a splendid advertisement for the city.
1907-05-05ColonistHarbeckDaily Colonist, May 5, 1907.  Views of Victoria in Realistic Form  Many Pictures of City and Surroundings Taken by Cinematograph Expert.  The beauties of Victoria, just as they really are, will in future be shown for the benefit of state-at-homes in half a hundred places throughout the civilized world. By means of a life like cinematograph pictures they will represent will be shown over the whole of the States, as well as the principal cities of the old country and of Europe, and the work of the Tourist Association in drawing the attention of the world to the capital of the West will be supplemented by views showing the city and its surroundings realistically.  All day yesterday there toured around the city a man on a streetcar specially loaned for the purpose by the British Columbia Electric Railway company he traveled through the streets, and on a launch he journeyed up the Arm and along the waterfront, and all the while he devoted himself to a queer box-like piece of apparatus, turning a crank and adjusting it so that the powerful lenses situated at the front could command the best views that were to be had.  The man was W. H. Harbeck, traveling for the Hales Tourist Association of Portland, and the apparatus was a camera for the taking of films for use in cinematographs. When the sun set and it was impossible to take any further pictures, Mr. Harbeck had exhausted some 600 feet of film and had transferred to the long ribbon some of the most beautiful scenes around Victoria. On his streetcar tour, Mr. Harbeck started out from Douglas Street. He caught a picture of the City Hall, and then traveling along Yates Street he went down to Government, whence he journeyed, taking pictures all the way to the post office. At this point Mr. Harbeck was so struck with the view that he stopped the car, and starting at the Empress hotel, swung his camera so as to take one huge panoramic picture, including the government buildings, James Bay and the harbor. Thence he went on past the government buildings and there terminated his streetcar ride.  In the afternoon Herbert Cuthbert, Sec. of the Tourist Association, took possession of Mr. Harbeck and his machine, and carried them out to the Point Ellice bridge. There Mr. Harbeck took a picture of the harbor and the sealing fleet, and then J Hinton opportunely appeared on the scene. Mr. Hinton was immediately much interested in the proceedings and offered to take camera and operator for a ride up the Arm in his fine electric launch. The offer was gladly accepted and up the beautiful stretch of water went the moving picture man and the machine.  Mr. Harbeck was delighted at the beautiful vista which opened up as a launch carried him up the Arm, and had it not been for the fact that it was too busy “sawing wood” the very machine would probably have been to speak. As it was it occupied itself transferring to the film the splendid scenery.  On arrival at the Gorge Bridge, it was found that the tide was running out and that would be impossible to go any higher. Mr. Harbeck, however, was delighted. The reversible waterfalls was something that he had never previously struck in his travels, and he had to have a picture of it. Accordingly the little launch was pushed in among the whirling waters, and while the vessel racked and pitched, Mr. Harbeck steadily turned the handle, and obtained a truly unique picture of the fall and the turbulent current that sweeps under the bridge.  On his way back Mr. Harbeck took pictures on the east side of the Arm Including the Isle of the Dead and the sawmills, which were obligingly in full operation. Altogether he was immensely pleased at the results of his trip.  Today he is going along the line of the E. & N. to Nanaimo. Starting from the depot on Store Street, he will get pictures of all the beautiful scenes along the railway on the way to Nanaimo. Arrangements have been made to the train to stop for a few minutes at Shawnigan Lake, and there a picture will be obtained of the glittering sheet of water, and the pretty little hotel. In particular Mr. Harbeck promises himself some interesting pictures of the scores of fishermen who will leave the city this morning for the lake.  From Nanaimo he will go on to Vancouver, where he will take some 400 feet of pictures, and thence he will travel up the C.P.R. until he has exhausted about 1000 feet of film. He expects to get splendid views of the Fraser Canyon, and the glorious scenery between Yale and Lytton.  On his travels on railways, Mr. Harbeck places his machine in the last carriage, and by turning the crank backwards, obtains just such a picture as unrolls itself before a traveler on the cars. “The only trouble,” said he, in describing his method to a Colonist reporter, “is that if you happen to pass a man on the tracks he appears to be walking backwards. Otherwise the illusion is perfect.”  Mr. Harbeck is kept continuously traveling, getting views for exhibition all over the world. Of the pictures of Victoria alone, some hundred different ribbons will be made, and these will be shown in all the four corners of the earth. Mr. Harbeck has recently returned from a trip to Mexico, where he had some hair raising experiences in taking pictures from railway trains hanging over cliffs 3000 feet in height. He is now planning a trip across Canada on the CPR, and next month expects to be going to Europe, where he will obtain pictures of the cities and sites of the old country and the continent.  The pictures which are thus obtained are exhibited in such a way as to give the illusion of a railway journey. The room in which the cinematograph works is that it up like a railway car, noise, rocking and all, and as the panorama is unfolded the passing scenes are explained to the audience. Mr. Harbeck states that this form of amusement has become very popular both in America and Europe, and that it exhibitions are running in all the chief cities of the States and in the capitals and large towns of Europe. It is anticipated that the exhibition of the films of Victoria will prove a splendid advertisement for the city.    Fonds/collection: AUSTRALIA. NATIONAL FILM & SOUND ARCHIVE Item number (ISN):230348 Title:[Vancouver and Victoria Street and Harbour Scenes 1907] Accession number: 1994-0215 Description: A Panorama or Panoramic rather than a documentary, a very popular attraction in Nickelodeons in the early days of film exhibition, in which scenes were filmed from the front of a moving vehicle, often a railway train. The film comprises street scenes filmed from the front of moving street cars and harbour scenes filmed from moving water craft. It is in three distinct parts: the streets of Victoria, Victoria Harbour, and the streets of Vancouver. Streets travelled in Victoria include Douglas Street, Yates Street, and Government Street. Seen are the Empress Hotel, where construction is nearing completion, the Parliament Buildings, the CPR piers and sheds, and Laurel Point. A few automobiles, numerous bicycles, horse-drawn vehicles, and other streetcars are in evidence. Seen from the water are Victoria’s inner harbour with the ships of the sealing fleet tied side by side, the Point Ellice Bridge, The Gorge, and the Tillicum Bridge over the “Reversing Falls” with a prominent view of a rock which has since been blasted away, Selkirk Water and Halkett Island (also known as Island of the Dead), the Johnson Street Bridge with a steam hauled passenger train of the Esquimalt and Nanaimo Railway crossing it, the factories of the British America Paint Company and the B.C. Soap Works at Laurel Point, the Pendray House, CPR ferries, and more views of the Parliament Buildings, the Empress Hotel, and the Customs House. Among the streets travelled in Vancouver are Granville Street, with a glimpse of the old CPR station, West Hastings Street, Carrall Street, West Cordova Street, Canbie Street, Robson Street, and Davie Street. <12mn> Part: 1 of 1 DOCUMENTARY Silent without intertitles Film Country of production: cn Creator: Production company: Selig Polyscope Company ? Production credit: director/photography, William H. Harbeck ? Distribution: Name of distributor: Hale’s Tours and Scenes of the World Print Source 1 Original number: MCK 0862 OBW000561 OBX000871 Consultation: open Reproduction: with written permission of copyright owner : no donor restrictions Notes: 1. The running time is based on the measured length of the archives’ master print calculated at 16 fps. 2. The Selig Polyscope Company had a separate section in its catalogue where it listed films made expressly for presentation by Hale’s Tours and Scenes of the World franchise holders. The catalogue referred to them as Hales’ Tours Cars of the World. 3. William H. Harbeck was born in September 1863 in Toledo, Ohio and died with the loss of the Titanic, April 15, 1912. Further information on Harbeck is available in the Collection File. 4. Harbeck is here named as the possible photographer because the Victoria Daily Colonist of May 5, 1907 stated that he was in Victoria representing the “Hale’s Tourist Association of Portland, Oregon” and he is known to have been in the employ of the Selig Polyscope Company at that time. 5. Copyright expired. Consultation copy: V1 9512-0005   1 x 1/2 IN VHS (90:00) Location number: V1 9512-0005 Duration: (90:00) Status: REF Format: videotape Vault code: VIDREF
1907-05-23ColonistNewcastle sandstone RattenburyMay 23, 1907. Colonist  HANDSOME BUILDING FOR MERCHANT’S BANK  Structure at Corner of Yates and Douglas Will Ornament City.  The contract for what will be the most expensive building in proportion for its size, the new Merchants Bank building to be erected at eh corner of Yates and Douglas streets, was awarded to Wood and McVicars, the contractors of this city, yesterday. The contract price for the structure which will cover a space of fifty feet and will be built of sandstone is $40,000 exclusive of fittings. This means a cost of 32 cents for every cubic foot of space. As a comparison, it may be stated that the provincial parliament buildings cost but 22 cents per cubic foot of space.  According to the terms of the contract, the new building must be completed by the end of the year. Occupying on of the most important corners in the city, the new building is designed in order. The architect is F.M. Rattenbury. The walls of the edifice will be extremely massive in structure, being five feet in thickness and the idea of the massiveness is borne out throughout. Circular Ionic columns detached from the wall behind, flanked with solid buttresses, richly carved, will characterize it. The style is a pure Renaissance.  The material for the building will be a light colored limestone (sic sandstone) from Newcastle Island. Particular care has been taken to make it fireproof throughout. No wood work enters into its construction anywhere. Concrete floors and concrete roof will characterize it.  The accommodation is as follows:  A small basement merely for the heating plant lies below the ground floor. The latter is devoted to the banking room. This will be a handsome room with walls 17 feet high; the floors and walls are finished entirely in marble. The ceiling will be richly paneled and decorated. In harmony with the rest of the work, the counters will be of marble with bronze grill work.  The first floor will consist of six well lighted fireproof offices provided with vaults. It will be approached by a separate iron and marble staircase.  As an index of he bank’s confidence in the future of Victoria and its development, the elaborate nature of eh structure is significant.
1907-06-18Colonistcauseway empressDaily Colonist, June 18, 1907.  HOTEL WILL OPEN IN TWO MONTHS.  That Is the Dates Now Set for Completion of the Empress.  FILLING IN JAMES BAY FLATS . Railway Officials Last Night Asked Council to Expedite Work and Got Favourable Reply.  “The CPR expect to have the new Empress Hotel open and in operation within two months.”  Such was the announcement of R Marpole, the general executive agent of the CPR in British Columbia, at the meeting of the city Council last evening.  Mister Marpole has asked for permission to meet the Council and to place the railway’s view of the agreement regarding the dry filling for the James Bay flats before them. He was accompanied by Mister Cambie, the CPR engineer from Vancouver and G Wilson, the Inspector of the building operations in connection with the new structure here. The Council promised Mister Marpole to do all possible to expedite matters. Mister Marpole was the first speaker.  The railway was not looking for a site for a hotel when approached by a committee from Victoria compose of the President of the Board of trade and the then Mayor Mister Bernard and others. They had not even decided upon its construction. They had however, been influenced to proceed with it immediately and to place it upon the James Bay flats. Even then it had not been decided to place it exactly fronting the middle of the present Causeway. It was to be placed to the left and nearer Douglas Street. Influenced by Mayor Bernard they had change the position. At that time, he the speaker, had been asked to furnish estimates as to the additional cost of this and he had done so. It’d added $100,000 to the cost of the hotel to place it in the present position. This was largely in acquiring land from Mister Pendray and others. Had the CPR abided by their former plan it would have cost the city a considerable amount to run a street through from Government to Douglas to build concrete sidewalks and to grade and macadamize it. It would’ve entailed an additional expense to have cleared away the tumbledown shacks and other buildings along the flats and to make the necessary improvements.  In view of this, he was surprised when he learned to Mister Cambie that the Mayor or some member of the Council at stated that he could not see that the city was under any moral obligation to do the entire amount of filling. It was true that the amount which the railway required over and above that place by the city has bound itself to incur was but 8000 or 10,000 yards, but each   was a matter of principle. He thought that the city was bound to supply it.  The railway had suffered through the fact that they were delayed in their operations through the nonarrival of the dredge. They had assisted the city and influence the government and bring it here though they were not under obligation to do so. As a result of the delay, however, the cost of labour and their share of the filling had advanced fully 40%.  As a question of fair play the city was bound to furnish the additional filling. The railway was behind time now with the opening of the hotel though they hoped to open within two months. Mister Cambie was the second speaker. Apart from the city’s moral obligation, there was 5000 yd.³ of filling over and above the quantity which the city expected to furnish, that the old the company. The city had agreed to furnish 13,000 yd.³ of filling for inside and outside the foundations to strengthen them from the inroads of the water in pumping. They’d only supplied a little over 8000 and the railway to save delay and agreed to furnish the extra part themselves stipulating, however, that the city should make the filling good to them later on.  CH Topp, city engineer in reply to a question placed to him by Mister Cambie stated that he was not estimating this 5000 yards in the 23,000 which the city was bound to supply the company. The city had supplied 8000 feet originally and only that much because that seemed enough.  The Mayor pointed out in answer to Mister Marpole that the city had only a limited fund at its disposal and that the aldermen were obliged to figure pretty closely. While they would be glad to be generous to the company they work compelled injustice to to themselves to abide pretty closely by the terms of the contract. They were at as great a loss as a CPR through the increased cost of labour and in addition to that there was a great scarcity of filling. They were obliged to buy filling, and the increased cost was from $15,000-$20,000 more than they had estimated. So great was it that they had to think of selling valuable property to provide the amount required.  Mister Cambie here asked if the city would be prepared to furnish filling in the future as it became available. The Mayor said they would be glad to do what they could in the future. Under ordinary conditions there was no trouble in obtaining the filling. People were glad to find a dumping ground. The dredge had gone away, leaving a considerable amount of filling in the harbour which would have been available. He could not promise of the city could give them the magisterial from cellars, etc., over and above the 23,000 yd.³.  Mister Wilson, the building inspector followed with a succinct explanation regarding the additional 5000 yards of filling out the company by the city to which Mister Cambie had previously referred.  Mayor Morley thereupon informed Mister Marpole that the Council would do all they could to expedite matters. It was necessary for them to look to their expenditure and for that reason the company must not look to hardly upon them if they did nothing more than they were obliged to.  The delegation rose to the part and then Alderman Hall rising, raised a restraining hand;  “Gentlemen there has been something said here tonight which I believe reflects upon the Government dredge, and therefore upon the Dominion government. That dredge save the city some $65,000-$75,000 when it came here and filled in those flats. I don’t think any onus attaches to it and threw it to the government”  someone suggested that the dredge had done much needed work in the harbour and that Alderman Hall commenced again in the Mayor and Mister Marpole with one accord, explaining no reflection was attended upon the Dominion government or any other government. The defender of the Ottawa administration was appeased and resumed his seat. Therefore the delegation withdrew. The matter was not further considered at last night’s session of the Council.
1907-06-28ColonistSilica lime brick Atkins roadFrom the Daily British Colonist of June 28, 1907, page 6.  SILICA BRICK LIME PLANT READY  Officers Inspected Works Yesterday and Saw Them In Successful Operation  The plant of the Silica Brick & Lime company at Atkins Siding has been completed and for the last three days has been turning out finished brick. It will be taken over by the company from the contractor within the next few days. Yesterday the directors of the company, H. B. Thomson, M. P.P., president, J. Kingham , treasurer, and R.W. Clark, secretary, and Messrs. Hinton and John, of the board, together with T.R. Whitely, manager of the Royal bank and representatives of the press, visited the works, where the operations under way were explained by George H. Bradbury, who installed the plant, and who is an expert in the manufacture of sand lime brick.  Nestling against a hill of sand, in the middle of a large and extensive bed of limestone, the plant has its raw material right at its door, enough to last for hundred of years, according to Mr. Bradbury. The E. & N. railway runs within twenty yards of it and a spur when cars may be loaded runs under the hillsides along a platform where bricks are conveyed on small cars from the retorts where they have been drying. The main building is of three storys, the basement, where the sand and lime in a dry condition are mixed, the upper story where the mixture is kneaded with water and finally the ground floor, where the product from the other two processes is poured into the brick press and comes out In its final shape and is then retorted.  The process in detail is as follows: The sand is wheeled from the sand bed to a shaft leading to the basement, where a current of hot air is turned upon it until it is thoroughly dry. Thence it goes to an elevator and over a screen, where all particles of gravel are separated from it. It is then conveyed to a storage bin. In the meanwhile a somewhat similar process is going on with the lime. The limestone is carried from the quarries upon the company’s ground to kilns, where it is burned. It is then hydrated or slaked and conveyed into an immense retort, where in separate tins capable of holding about 50 pounds each, it is dried. Thence it is conveyed to a storage bin on the same level with the storage bin for sand.  The sand and lime from the storage bins is automatically dropped into a dry mixing machine — a covered trough in which a shaft furnished with many arms revolve – in the proportion of about 6 per cent lime to 94 per cent sand, After being thoroughly shaken together the mixture is conveyed to the upper story, where the wet mixing machine is located. It is similar to the dry mixer save that as the shaft with the arms attach revolve through the mixture water is dripped upon it from taps above. When it reaches the proper consistency, which is determined by the foreman in charge of the work, it is ready for forming.  Down a shaft it is shovelled into the press . This is a huge iron apparatus furnished with a number of moulds into which the mixture of lime sand and water is automatically kneaded. The mixture  which to the eye appears to be but a mass of sand, goes into one end of the machine and comes out of the other, with the shape and appearance of a dark grey brick. The bricks as they are turned out by the machine at the rate of about 2500 per hour are placed by hand on iron cars. The latter are pushed by hand along a track to the retorts, huge cylinders of steel, capable of holding twenty cars bearing 20,000 brick. The retorts are then closed and 125 pounds pressure of steam is turned into them from valves in the roof. The bricks are left under this pressure for from eight to ten hours. They are then ready for use and are conveyed to the platform with the consistency of the ordinary clay brick after burning. With each additional day they harden until they ring like flint when struck together.  Upon the platform ready for shipping are some sixteen thousand of the finished product. Taking one of these Mr. Bradbury heated one end in a small forge until it was red hot.  The other end of it was stone cold and by it the brick could be picked up and passed from hand to hand without the slightest inconvenience justifying the company’s claim that it is a more thorough non-conductor than any other brick or stone on the market. In appearance it presents a cleaner edge than the ordinary clay brick. It may be colored red, buff or black.  The cost of the plant and machinery was $50,000. It Is proposed to establish a separate hydrating plant for the preparation of slaked lime for shipment, which will cost in the neighborhood of $8000. Overhead carriers will also be erected, to carry the limestone from the points where it is quarried to the kilns.  Within a week the plant will be operating to its capacity and shipping. The company, which was promoted by  Bond & Clark, expects to find a splendid market for their product throughout the province.
1907-09-12ColonistOpposite the Janion Hotel – VictoriaTHE JAPANESE GENERAL CONTRACT Co., Ltd. 29 Store street. Telephone, No, 1566. Laborers supplied of any number or description on short  notice.
1908-01-02ColonistEmpress causewayDaily Colonist, January 2, 1908. EMPRESS HOTEL ALMOST READY CPR’s Magnificent New Hostelry Will Open in the near Future. BUILDING IS MAGNIFICENT. No Pains Spared an Effort to Provide for the Comfort of Guests. While not begun, nor, so far as the finishing touches of the furnishings are concerned, completed during the year 1907, yet, in view of its limitless importance to Victoria, and of the fact that it is so nearly finished at the formal opening cannot now be delayed more than a few weeks, the Empress Hotel, a tremendous Western the monument to the enterprise of the Canadian Pacific Railway, may well be considered one of Victoria’s most significant facts of the past twelve months. That great transportation system, the main artery of Canada’s well-being, which is the only one on the continent of North America to link the Atlantic and the Pacific, as now at either Gateway a fitting emblem of the hospitality and wealth of this land of promise, and the new Empress is not an unworthy companion to her historic sister, the Château Frontenac, On the Heights of Abraham. The construction of this great structure, now complete at a cost of about $750,000, has been watched with intense interest from the day when, the Causeway having been completed, the CPR contractors began to sink clusters of piles 25 feet length to bedrock to make sure the foundation upon which the great building was to rest. A recent visit to the sub- basement of the hotel gave an idea of the tremendous strength required of the foundation, which consists of a series of great triangular masses of concrete over 20 feet  square at the base foundation alone cost $100,000, for the CPR builds for all time, and newly made ground entails careful and costly work. A great modern hotel is a complex and wonderful thing, and sometimes very beautiful. In the case of the Empress one hardly knows which is most worriedly of admiration. It’s beautiful site commanding our lovely harbour, the architectural beauty of the external design, the culture and artistry of the spacious halls, the extraordinary ingenuity of the innumerable labour saving devices and contrivances for the furtherance of the comfort of the guests, all in turn make exhaustive demands on one’s applause and appreciation. Ground Floor Is Striking. Perhaps the most striking feature of the hotel from a spectator’s standpoint is the ground floor, on which the office, lounging room, palm room and dining room are found, with the immense kitchen out of sight at the back of the building. Entering by the porte cochere at the south end of the building, the visitor finds himself in a magnificent oak panelled hall, designedly patterned after the ancient baronial halls of the great mansions of England. Carved oak panelling extends up the walls to a height of about 10 feet, the ceiling, done in yellow, is very heavily beamed with oak timbers terminated at either end by small carved medallions representing the beaver, the lion, the crown or the thistle. Great pillars sheathed in oak and with massive, carved oak and capitals support the ceilings, the whole effect being one of artistic strength, coupled with solid wealth. A great screen of carved oak divides the office from the palm room, but terminates in time to leave and un-interrupted coup d’oell through the spacious hall beyond. The fixtures in the office are all of the same weathered oak, as are the panelling and fittings of the cozy manager’s room just off the office. But in the midst of this reproduction of old world splendor, the twentieth century emphatically asserts itself. In the office is an elaborate private telephone exchange communicating with all the rooms of the building, while these two recesses with the heavy oak doors are in reality public telephone booths. Conspicuous, too, is a massive safe especially made for the hotel by J and J Taylor, containing numerous small safe-deposit boxes, which will be rented to guests, thus relieving the management of the care of the valuables of visitors. Before going on to the rotunda, or lounging room, as a management prefers to style it, a visit to the ladies as sitting room will repay the trouble. Leading from the office, with the entrance close to one of the two massive oak staircases, is a most and chanting room. The walls are panelled high with oak, and there is a superb, heavily carved oak mantle, with the ceiling in elaborately moulded relief. The colour scheme is artistic and restful, grey and pink being the prevailing hues. Round the walls runs a broad frieze of chubby cupids, and on the floor lies a beautiful grey carpet, hand tufted with a pattern of pink roses. The curtains are pink and the furniture grey, with Rose du Barry seats, which, like all the furniture in the hotel, was made to order for the enterprise. The windows look out over the harbour, and a more delightful retreat would be hard to find in any public building. Rotunda and Dining Room. The rotunda, or lounging room, is an immense area, extending fully half the entire length of the hotel. It is light and cheery, with its numerous windows overlooking the harbour, and on winter evenings the two great fireplaces should render it equally homelike. The striking features of this immense hall are the pillars, done in white, which run through the place in stately rows. Each pillar boasts a double band a beaten brass, from which depend for electric light fixtures. These were specially designed by the Montréal architect of the company and depict each a rocky mountain sheep’s head with a light in a round ground last bowl upon each head and another in a pair -shaped class hanging from the mouth. Between the rows of pillars are other brass chandeliers in which the sheep’s head again figures. They are both quaint and artistic and when lit up the hall makes a brilliant scene. Back of the rotunda is the palm room, a large apartment done in green with a circular dome of Oriental glass surmounting it. The pillars here are twined around with vines, and with the handsome furniture has a luxurious, exotic air. The dining room is perhaps the most gorgeous of the different rooms. It lies along the North end of the hotel, and the prevailing colour is that rich red which goes so well with cut glass, silver and spotless napery. The wood used is all imported, the ceiling with its heavy beams and the massive pillars being all of Australian Rosewood. This to the uninitiated looks not unlike mahogany, though the grain is different and lends itself equally well to decorative work as this room can testify. The great beams which cross the ceiling at close intervals are all most richly carved. The pillars are plain but on the ceiling there are scrolls, arabesques, and fancy figures covering the entire surface of the beams. This treatment contrasts with the reliance on line and absence of florid work which characterizes the rest of the building, and is both rich and beautiful. The floor is of Australian red bean, a wood whose heart this makes our hardwoods seem soft and roomed many a plane before it was properly laid. Basement Is Fitted up. Outside the dining room door is another massive carved oak staircase, but before ascending, the basement will repay a visit. From the north, the visitor first enters the grill room, a large, handsome apartment with rows of pillars through it. This room is not yet finished, but will be completed at leisure when the rest of the hotel is open. The management promises to have the finest grill on the coast, and so far as appearances go they will have no difficulty in making good their boast. Passing through the oak screen at the end of the grill room a magnificent barroom is seen. The bar and fittings are of oak stained dark is a greenish tinge, made from sketches supplied by Stewart Gordon, the manager. The place is thoroughly up-to-date with an asbestos cement floor quite impervious to moisture. On the walls is a French paper with grapes and leaves thereon. The bar itself is provided with a mechanical refrigerator, taps in innumerable and all imaginable appliances. Going down the passageway from the bar the billiard room is reached. The room is divided by a double row of pillars with two of Rattenbury’s finest carved metal pieces, one at either end, made of carved oak and Roman brick. There will be three English billiard tables and to American, which will be lighted by massive oak and chandeliers carved in early English style and suspended from the ceiling by chains. Bedrooms in Mahogany. The bedrooms are all furnished in Mahogany of a special design, save the bedsteads, which are beautiful satin finish brass. Everything has been specially made to order even to the bed ticking, which has a CPR design work into it. The carpets are all green Kidderminster, a crown being the salient feature of the pattern. The “Empress” idea is thoroughly carried out throughout and the emblem of the Crown is constantly to be seen. Every door is of Australian Rosewood and outside each door is a specially designed mat, there are double doors between all communicating rooms and a reading lamp at every bed. In fact nothing has been forgotten in the thousand and one little devices which go to make up the luxurious life of an up-to-date hotel. The furniture was all supplied by the Canada Furniture Company, of Berlin Ontario, and the copper curbs in the bedroom fireplaces, of which there are many, come from Birmingham. There are three steel and stone staircases and four fire escapes from each floor, so, when the magnificent fire protection services taken into consideration danger from fire is completely eliminated. One of the many thoughtful arrangements is a fitting up at the ends of the large halls on the bedroom floors as sitting rooms. They have plenty of light and will undoubtedly be greatly appreciated. There are five of them and each one is fitted with a public telephone. On the sixth floor are the rooms of the help which include a pleasant recreation room. It is possible some of these rooms may be used as guest chambers, for which they are well fitted. There are in all 160 guest chambers. There are for electric Otis elevators of the latest type in the building, so a story or two more or less will make no difference to the visitors. Ingenuity in the Kitchen. The kitchen is a great examplar of the ingenuity requisite for the proper filling of the inner man at short notice and in large quantities, and also of the supreme necessity of absolute cleanliness in the modern practice of the culinary art. The Empress’ kitchen is 88 feet long by some 49 feet wide, and is floored with cement slightly graded towards the centre where there is a gutter and rain. All the kitchen furniture is elevated on metal feet 8 inches high so the place can be hosed out every night without disturbing the fixtures. Save the drain, there is no resting place for the cockroach. All the kitchen furniture was supplied by the French New York House of Deparquet, Huot & Maneuse company. There is a huge range 27 feet long, as well as to charcoal broilers and a gas broiler the whole covered with a metal hood made locally, in which electric lights are set at short intervals throwing the best possible light on the cooking. There are also 2 50-gallon soup kettles lined with tin, applied by a patent hand process, three vegetable steamers and one Manhattan steamer. All of these utensils are carefully ventilated with pipes which carry off all the fumes which might taint the more dainty comestibles being prepared nearby. There is, too, a large vegetable sink and a pot washing sink. The dishes, as will shortly be seen, wash themselves. An important section of this department is the service pantry. It has a table in the centre of which hot water always stands ready, and among other appliances are the toaster, waffler, griddle maker and the inevitable refrigerator. The most interesting of all is the automatic egg boiler. This has a clock attachment. You set the clock and place the egg in a tiny basket hung on the end of a miniature crane. At the time appointed, whether you are there or not, the arm comes up and the egg way suspended in the air till the attendant is ready to remove it. The patent dishwasher is another contrivance which should not be forgotten. It is simple, and is commended to the attention of the over-driven housewife who defined Heaven as a place where dishes washed themselves. They do so at the Empress. After being scraped, the dishes are placed in a large metal basket which is carried by a little crane and lowered into a compartment full of hot water thoroughly impregnated with soap and soda kept in motion by a revolving fan. After a few seconds crane lifts the basket out and dipped it again into an adjoining compartment full of clean and furiously boiling water. In a very short time the basket emerges again with clean dishes, and so hot that they dry themselves in a few seconds. This machine has a capacity of 6000 dishes an hour. Another section of the kitchen is occupied by the “garde manager” with its capacious refrigerator where salads, cold meats and such things are kept. Next comes the bakeshop in a room off the kitchen with an enormous oven and two sinks of its own. Here is the pastry cook’s private refrigerator and ice cream freezers and storage places. Kitchen Basement. From the kitchen one descends by a lead filled steel stairway, on which the foot can hardly slip, to the basement. Here by the door is a steward’s receiving room, and then comes one room after another field with the large refrigerators, all supplied by the Eureka Refrigerating company, of Toronto. The butcher shop has its own refrigerators for meat, chicken and fish, the steward has others for cream, fruit, etc., with the vegetable refrigerator close by. On this floor also are the waiter’s locker room, bathroom and lavatory, three large dining rooms for the help, baggage rooms, lavatory, sample rooms and so forth. Below this again the Explorer reaches the sub- basement, where the stranger is in danger of being lost. It stretches seemingly into great distances, and as a matter of fact extends under the whole building. Here hidden away in convenient places beside some of the monstrous concrete masses which come peering up from the foundations, are the cellars and storerooms. The steward’s storeroom, the China room, the glass room, the barkeeper’s storeroom with a trapdoor going up to the bar, the potato cellar and the coal cellar are all to be found here. Here, too, are the service elevators and the great coils of the brine pipes of the ice plant. For the big hotel makes its own ice as well as its own water, the latter being all condensed from steam from the boiler plant, a process which is to rigourous for the most persistent and hearty of microbes. Through the Tunnel. This completes the hotel proper, though there is still more to be seen. A dark underground passageway is discovered which seems very much in place under the baronial hall described above. However, there is nothing sinister about it, and nothing more dangerous than dirty clothes are carried through it. The passage is the big cement tunnel joining the hotel with the laundry and powerhouse about 150 feet away. The laundry is well worth a visit. Here a white shirt can be washed, dried, starched and ironed ready to be put on in fifteen minutes. Everything in it is driven by electricity, with a separate motor to every machine. There is first the washer, then the shaker, next a shaking table, next a huge mangle such as is used in all the big New York hotels, and next the dry room, the clothes, it must be understood, being conveyed automatically from one machine to another. But the ironing, or rather shirt pressing machine is the most interesting of all. The shirt is placed on a pad a lever is pressed and immediately a great flatiron the size and shape of the bosom of the shirt descends and with one mighty squeeze irons the shirt front next to it are similar machines of different shapes, which with one squeeze each irons the yokes, collar and cuffs. The irons are heated by electricity and all the machinery supplied by the Watkins Laundry Machinery Co. of Cincinnati. There are also numerous ironing tables, each with its electric iron in a neat bracket on the wall. Before its acquisition by the CPR this building belong to the British American Paint Works, but it has been repainted and remodelled out of all recognition and a huge smokestack added to carry off the smoke from the powerhouse engines. The laundry is on part of the ground floor, but upstairs part of the building has been set aside for the help, which will number about 140, and is divided off into large, clean air he bedrooms, two rooms being reserved for the chef. One wing is still unappropriated, and there are also a number of sample rooms with private telephones in addition to those provided in the main building. Big Powerhouse. The powerhouse is a complicated establishment, but admirably calculated for the varied work it has to do. There are 3 75-kilowatt generators, supplied by Allis-Chambers of Milwaukee, a marble switchboard from the same firm and one of Hall’s high-speed automatic engines for light and power. For the ice making plant there are 2 39 hp ammonia compressors from the Lindberg Refrigerating company, and three 105 hp boilers from the Victoria Iron Works to supply the immense amount of steam required for the various engines and the heating plant. The Dean Pump Works have supplied a special fire pump. This pump is connected with the city mains and can throw three big streams over the top of the huge building. It is also connected with every floor of the hotel, where firefighting apparatus is liberally provided. There is a Webster heater and a Webster vacuum pump from Dowling Brothers of Montréal. This pump takes a return water from the radiators, heats it with steam and send it back to work again in the boilers. Thus the big hotel generates its own electricity both for lighting purposes and for elevator power, provides its own protection, aches its own ice and condenses the surplus steam, thus securing a plentiful supply of the purest water for drinking and cooking purposes. Space is also reserved in the powerhouse for the installation of a dustless air cleaning machine. This will be connected with every room in the hotel. All that will be necessary will be to remove the plug in the room, and clean the carpet with the compressed air, the dust being sucked back into the powerhouse word goes to help out the fuel in the fire boxes. All the pipes and wires go through the tunnel to the hotel. The tunnel is 10 x 12’ and carries besides pipes no less than sixteen power and light cables. Complexity and Beauty. This may give some idea of the complexity as well as the beauty of the great hotel. Designed by FM Rattenbury, and constructed by the CPR at a cost of three quarters of 1 million, the finishing touches and the Interior arrangements are being completed under the superintendence of Stewart Gordon who will manage the huge establishment. Besides being a practical up-to-date hotel man, Mister Gordon has no mean artistic capabilities. His sketches formed the originals of a good deal of the decorative work, and his skill as a draftsman and designer is further shown by the clever cover drawing he has provided for a publication now being got an out for the hotel. The great hostelry will be opened to the public this month, when Victorians will have a chance to see for themselves what taste and wealth combined have succeeded in accomplishing for the most attractive hotel on the Pacific Coast between Alaska and Peru.
1908-01-03ColonistHaddington, sandstone Newcastle, Saturna, GabriolaBritish Colonist, January 3, 1908, page 10  HALDIS WILL CARRY A CARGO OF STONE  First Steamer Load of Building Material From Newcastle for San Francisco  The Norwegian steamer Haldis has been chartered to load building stone from the Newcastle quarries for San Francisco, this being the first cargo ever sent, although numerous smaller shipment have been made. The Haldis, which is now on the sound, where a suit had been brought against eh owners for non-fulfillment of a charter to Arthur Gamwell to carry lumber to Panama, will probably reach Nanaimo today to begin taking on her cargo of sandstone. After discharging she will return to load bunker coal for a voyage from Portland to Panama with lumber on account of the United states government.  The stone from the Newcastle quarries has been found to compete with the best building stones procurable on the Pacific coast and several other quarries vie with those at Newcastle. Haddington island, near the northeast of Vancouver island, has fine sandstone quarries from which the stone for the parliament buildings and Carnegie library (Carnegie was from Saturna) was taken. Saturna and Gabriola islands also boast fine sandstone quarries, the material for the post office in Victoria being brought from the former island (???). There are also several fine granite and marble quarries now in process of development on Vancouver island which will soon be able to supply the needs of builders of the coast cities.
1908-01-21ColonistEmpress ope3ned january 20, 1908.Daily Colonist, January 21, 1908.  EMPRESS HOTEL OPEN TO PUBLIC.  Over Fifty Newspaper Men Are the Guests of the Big Hostelry.  GREAT ENTERPRISE LAUDED.  Orators Tell of What CPR Has Done And Victoria’s Future.  The opening of the Empress Hotel yesterday constitutes a distinct and important landmark in Victoria’s onward progress to her rightful position as the queen of the Pacific. It is nearly 5 years ago since Sir Thomas Shaughnessy was first approached with the idea of inducing him to build one of the famous CPR hotels in this city. It was not long before he realized that the ideal site suggested, our beautiful climate and surroundings only required a fifteen structure to make the Western Gateway of the great transcontinental system a fitting companion to the historic pile on the heights of Québec.  The negotiations completed, it was not long before the gigantic task of laying the immense foundations was started, a task rendered all the more formidable because the edifice is reared on land but recently reclaimed from the sea by the building of the Causeway. Little by little the work was done, and then day by day the great building rose gradually in increasing splendor until today in stately magnificence it commands the waters of the beautiful harbour, the most prominent feature of the panorama.  A detailed account of the interior of the hotel and its multifarious arrangement for the comfort and convenience of its guests appeared recently in these columns and need not be recapitulated, but now that the furnishings are complete a glance at the sumptuous interior is worthwhile. No longer a great empty hall beautiful in its magnificent stateliness but bare and untenanted,, yesterday the magnificent hardwood floor of the rotunda was covered with sumptuous rugs of special pattern designed for the hotel. Of deep yellow hue, almost orange, with a green design they matched the luxurious chairs and lounges of the same restful shade as well as the tinted ceiling. The office in its sober, handsome dress of weathered oak needed no ornamentation, though it is well set off with some handsome heads of elk, caribou and musk ox.  The dining room with its carved beams of Australia rose Wood, and richly chiseled archways, the dainty tables covered with delicate napery, flowers, silver and cut glass was a scene of luxurious beauty. It is no exaggeration to say that there is no finer dining room in Canada, and yesterday it saw the first of the many festive gatherings that will enjoy his hospitality. CPR’s Hospitality.  The CPR with that wholehearted thoroughness characteristic of the big corporation on such occasions, had invited as its guests a number of represented newspaper men from all the principal papers of British Columbia, Washington and Oregon, and showed them yesterday what Canadian hospitality can do at its best. An active far sighted thoroughness, yesterday’s gathering will bear fruit increasingly throughout the future. Today thousands of readers in all parts of the great Northwest will be told of the beauties of Victoria and how she is prepared to care for the stranger that may come within her gates. For the Empress Hotel means much to this city. It is more than the finishing link of the chain of hotels with which the greatest railroad system in the world has girdled the continent. It is more than an example or of what wealth and taste in twentieth century ingenuity can do to make the path of the wayfarer pleasant and attractive. It is a permanent token to the wealthy travelling public that Victoria can offer them entertainment that is not to be surpassed in any city on the continent. Here every kind of outdoor amusement can be freely enjoyed at a minimum of expense in the balm used climate on the continent of North America, and from now on whether the visitor, for a day or a month or a year he can be assured of every comfort that money can purchase or experienced skill devise, surrounded the while with every accompaniment of artistic taste and luxurious setting. The great hotel will bring the people here, and Victoria will do the rest, while those that cannot stay cannot fail on their return to be missionaries shelving the praises of the manifold beauties both of heart and nature which were lavished upon them during their sojourn at the Queen city of the Pacific.  Visitors Loud in Praise.  The visitors from the states were loud in their praise yesterday, and were un-grudging in their appreciation of the great achievement whose consummation they had been invited to witness. In turn as they spoke they bore testimony to the great railroad of which, with all its faults, every Canadian is proud, a railroad which, as George hams said, carries its passengers on its own lines and steamers, and houses them in its own hotels, all the way from Liverpool to Hong Kong, more than halfway around the world, along the route of the most varied interest and matchless beauty. It is a great national achievement, and the Empress Hotel, with its massive proportions, beauty of line and elegance of decoration and furnishing, is a fitting crown of a great purpose adequately fulfilled.  Shortly after one of the guests to the number of over fifty were ushered into the beautiful banqueting hall where the dainty tables were becomingly set for the feast with a wealth of flowers. The fair was worthy of its setting as the menu will show and no higher praise can be given. The wind was excellent, the attendance perfect and no detail was left unattended to when the guests of Hayter Reed and George Ham sat down.
1908-04-02ColonistConstruction in VictoriaContract Awarded ‘ The contract for the new stables of the Victoria Truck & Dray Company , to be erected on Kane street , with an accommodation for ninety horses, together with the necessary vehicles , fodder , etc has been let to Dinsdale & Malcolm , and work on the buildings has already  been commenced . The stables will be two stories high , the lower being used for vehicles and the upper as a stable,. The work will be completed( by the end of June .
1908-05-31ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, May 31, 1908.   MOTORISTS ARE fined IN THE POLICE COURT.  Ten Dollars Penalty Imposed, but in Future Will Be Twenty-Five.  Two motorists were summoned in the police court yesterday for driving an automobile faster than the law allows. The first man was Charles I McFadden, a chauffeur, who traversed the Causeway in thirty seconds, according to the stopwatches of two patrolmen who had been placed there to time the motors as they went by. The distance across the causeway, according to the official measurements on file in the city engineer’s office is 246 yards, and a simple sum of arithmetic shows that to traverse this distance in thirty seconds is to travel at a rate of approximately 17 miles an hour. Under the provincial statute governing the speed and conduct of automobiles, 10 miles an hour is the utmost limit of speed permitted within a city, and 15 miles in the country. Thus to travel across the causeway in the legal speed would be to traverse it in about fifty-two seconds.  McFadden pleaded guilty and was fined twenty-five dollars. He then wanted to withdraw his plea as he said he thought that it being a first offense the fine would have been less. The magistrate then called for the statute and finding that the maximum fine for the first offense was twenty-five dollars, instead of the minimum fine being that amount, as had been his impression, reduce to find a ten dollars which was paid.  JA Sayward was then charged with the same offense. He remarked that on account of the roughness of the road at that particular point it was impossible to go fast. Mister Sayward asked how fast he was supposed to have gone, and on being told that according to the stopwatches of the police he also had crossed the Causeway in thirty seconds, which in mean a speed of about 17 miles an hour, remarked that such a statement was nonsense. As, however, he had no evidence with which to rebut the police testimony, he would prefer to pay the fine rather than fight the case. He also contributed ten dollars to the city exchequer.  There are a number of other motorists who have been summoned, and who are expected to appear in court on Monday. Those found guilty of exceeding the speed limit will be fined ten dollars apiece like those fined yesterday. But the magistrate has announced that the next batch of offenders will be fined the limit of twenty-five dollars even if it be a first offense.
1908-06-04Colonistsilica lime brick atkinsThe Daily British Colonist, June 4, 1908, page 15.  Extracted from the article “ Mining Industry on Vancouver Island,” “ Reports of the Officials of the Department Contained in Annual Bulletin  Miscellaneous  An Industry new to the Province, viz: the manufacture of so-called Silica brick, has been started at Parsons Bridge, about six miles from Victoria, on the line of the E. & N railway, by the Silica Brick & Lime Company Limited, a company composed of Victoria business men. As a new plant it would be deserving of mention, but as a new industry, which has a wide application and might well be established at other parts of the Province, a more extended notice of the process seems desirable.  Silica brick, so-called, are made from sand and lime, and the product is a brick of absolutely standard dimensions with sharp angles and corners and plane surfaces, filling the requirements of what is known in the east as a “pressed face brick,” serving for the construction of ornamental fronts or faces of buildings, the uniform size and shape of the brick permitting of their being laid with almost imperceptible joints, and giving a smooth and uniform colored front or face. The color of the brick can be varied somewhat by the color of the sand used in its manufacture, but those so far produced in Victoria are of a light grey color. The brick, therefore, finds a market as a “face brick” competing successfully with imported brick of this class, and is, in British Columbia, sold at a much lower price, as the freight rate on imported brick is almost prohibitive.  For all work where appearance is a factor in deciding the brick to be used, silica brick competes  successfully with repressed clay brick but for rough walls, where ordinary clay brick serves the purpose, it is not expected that, in the matter of cost per thousand, silica brick will compete with the common clay red brick, although it is claimed that the silica brick, being more regularly shaped, can be laid more quickly and cheaply than the irregular shaped red brick  Whether all silica brick will become a substitute for red brick is a question of cost rather than of quality, or durability, of the finished work.  The manufacture of silica lime brick, while new in British Columbia, has been carried on extensively in Germany, the United States and Eastern Canada for 20 years, and the experience there obtained is that properly made silica-lime brick is quite as lasting as well burned clay bricks with which we are familiar.  The Silica Brick & Lime company’s plant, near Victoria, consists of: One Berg patent brick press, pressure, 1,700 tons; capacity, 18,000 to 20000 bricks a day; 1 rotary sand dryer, 1  75-H.P . engine, 1 150-HP boiler,  2 60-ft. cylindrical retorts, 2 14-ft . mixers, 3 belt elevators, 1 pulveriser, 2 worm conveyors, 40 flat cars, 12 hydrating cars, 200 lime boxes, with necessary tram cars, turntables, etc. This plant is housed in suitable buildings, between which and the spur from the E. & N. Railway is a large dock or platform for the storage of brick awaiting shipment .  The size of the manufactured brick is 8 1-4 by 4 by 2 3-8 inches thick. The raw materials for the brick-making are found immediately adjoining the plant and can be obtained at a minimum expense . The output of the plant up to December 31, 1907, was about 1,100,000 brick  The following are among the important structures already built with silica brick: Victoria Transfer Co, Victoria, 3 stories; St Joseph Hospital, new extension. 5 stories; Brackman & Ker’s warehouse, Victoria:  Bakeries, Limited, Victoria West; David Spencer’s new building, Vancouver, 8 stories.  Cement  The Vancouver Portland Cement Co’s plant at Ted Inlet has been in active operation all the year  and has made and sold nearly 150,000 barrels of Portland cement ((350 lbs. to the barrel), of a total value of nearly $225,000; of this quantity, 126,000 barrels were used in the province. A description of the plant at it then existed was given in the report for 1904, since when the plant has been very much enlarged and improved, until now it has a capacity of 300,000 barrels a year .  Lime  On Esquimalt harbor Raymond & Sons are operating two large and improved lime kilns, producing a lime of exceedingly good quality, which finds ready sale in Victoria and Vancouver. Messrs. Elford & Co., also are operating a lime-kiln on the west side of Saanich arm, and are shipping lime in barrels.
1908-06-13ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, June 13, 1908.  TwO BAND CONCERTS SUNDAY AFTERNOON.  Fifth Regiment Organization to Play at the Causeway This Evening.  Victorians will reap their fill of good music during the present summer season for in addition to the series of concerts by the Fifth Regiment band, which begins tonight, the City band has been engaged to play at the Gorge Park, according to the announcement of Mister Denham, who is a managing the popular amusement place upon the Arm. There is considerable rivalry between the two organizations which will tend to keep up the interest. The City band will be assisted by Mister Thomas Price, as vocalist, and a good program will be rendered.  The first of the series of concerts given under the auspices of the Parks Board will take place this evening. The Fifth Regiment band will be stationed upon the landing stage at the CPR wharf so that the crowds may parade the James Bay embankment and Causeway. Tomorrow afternoon the same band will play at Beacon Hill.
1908-12-24ColonistCrime – Provincial policeDaily Colonist, December 24, 1908.  New Police District in Boundary Country.  Increase in Population Necessitates Redistribution for Provincial Police.  Owing to the increase in the police work and the growth in that section of the province adjoining the International boundary line a new provincial police district has been formed to be known as the Boundary district. The new district will comprise the electoral riding of Grand Force, Greenwood and Similkameen, and will be formed from portions of the present provincial police districts of Vernon, Kamloops and Nelson. The new district, which has heretofore been under the supervision of Chief Provincial Constable W.J. Devitt of Nelson, will be in charge of Chief Constable Charles J Bunbury, of Kamloops, who will be transferred to Greenwood, where he will make his headquarters. Under him will be about twelve provincial constables stationed at the various centres of population. With the increase in population and the close proximity of the boundary across which, of late, criminals have entered the province, plied their trade and disappeared, it has been found necessary to concentrate the police work as the great extent of territory which Chief Constable Devitt has been forced to supervise, has proved too unwieldy. The new district will make the twelfth into which the province has been divided.
1908-12-29ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, December 29, 1908.  CAUSEWAY QUAGMIRE.  Additional Drainage Facilities Must Be Installed to Carry off the Water.  The condition of the Causeway roadway during the heavy rains of the past few days has directed the attention of the civic authorities to the necessity of supplementing the system of drainage there in order that the pools of water, ankle-deep, maybe removed and future means of drainage supplied. The condition of the roadway has been worse than ever before, the heavy traffic cutting up the macadam pavement and turning the surface of the street into a veritable quagmire. There is a drain along the west side of the roadway but it apparently is useless to carry off the water on the Empress Hotel side. Three catch basins will be put in near the middle of the Causeway so that the water running down the inclined road at either end of the Causeway and collecting in the centre will be carried off. A 12 inch main will be run across the road and through the stone wall to drain the water into the harbour. The condition of the roadway indicates the necessity of some better paving. It is the intention of the city to lay a block pavement across the Causeway, but this work was deferred until the ground settled. This process of settling is still going on, the city engineer states and will likely continue for some time, as long as the water drains down through the earth. It is believed that with a concrete foundation laid for the block paving the water would be kept from sinking into the earth and would thus put a stop to the sinking process. In the meantime, however, the city will content itself with improving the drainage facilities at that point of Government Street.
1909-02-03ColonistCrime provincial policeDaily Colonist, February 3, 1909.  Boundary Bandits Landed by Police.  Capture of Men Who Committed Crimes at Bridesville and Elsewhere.  Phoenix BC, February 2  The sensational capture of the Bridesville bandits was made, when Bill and Cleve Newman and Ben Hart were landed behind bars. They were arrested by Chief Constable Bunbury and Constable Docksteader of Phoenix, assisted by a deputy sheriff of Okanogan County, Washington, at Oroville, Washington, a town close to the boundary line some 70 miles west of here. The trio are all characters of bad record and in their arrest the police believe they not only have the Bridesville bandits landed but the desperado who held up Charlie Thomet’s hotel bar, Midway, and murdered the proprietor some months ago, and the perpetrators of a series of holdups along the boundary line west of here during the past year. The Canadian police rounded the bandits up at Oroville, but on account of being in American territory, they were unable to make an arrest. By a clever ruse, however, the constables got Hart in the direction of the Canadian boundary, and once across the line they quickly made his capture, though not without a passage of guns, Hart being armed with an automatic Colt revolver and defining capture. Newman brothers were taken at Oroville by an Okanogan County Deputy Sheriff, one having a 45 Cold double-action gun and the other a 38 Smith and Wesson. Hart was brought to Greenwood goal, and has since turned King’s evidence, confessing to Constables Bunbury and Docksteader that he took part in the Bridesville hold up, and implicating the two Newmans. The trio answer to the description of the Midway bandits. Constable Docksteader left to arrange for the extradition of the Newmans. On January 2, Bridesville, a hamlet on the boundary line, was visited by highwaymen, and the G.N.R agent and storekeeper were held up there. The Great Northern Co. offered a big reward for the capture of the holdup men. On the night of August 25 last Thomet’s hotel at Midway was held up, the proprietor being fatally wounded, and shortly before the Anaconda hotel was held up. The police believe they have the desperate trio.
1909-03-16ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, March 16, 1909.  Street Committee Report.  Now It’s Brick for Causeway Pavement.  Item 2. Recommended that the causeway and the portions of Humboldt and Belleville street, adjacent to the empress hotel be paved as determined as a work of local improvement, with wooden blocks treated with creosote and brick on the causeway, and placed on a concrete foundation. That the City Solicitor be instructed to prepare the necessary bylaw.
1909-04-02ColonistMasonic Temple Fisgard StreetTo Remodel Temple The Masonic headquarters at the corner of Douglas and Fisguard streets will be enlarged and remodelled at once. The additions and changes will cost in the neighborhood of  $16000. At a meeting of Vancouver-Quadra Lodge . the plans were discussed ,and the members voted in favor of the proposed changes. A meeting of No. 1 Lodge will be held tonight when it will decide, whether It will favor the project.
1909-04-14Colonistlime kiln atkins colwoodBritish Colonist, April 14, 1909, page 6  New Lime Kiln  It is expected that the large new lime kiln that has been under construction near the Silica Brick Works for some months will be ready for operation in the course of a few weeks
1909-04-16ColonistBricks Victoria Sidney IslandThe British Daily Colonist, April 16, 1909, page 7  BRICK, AND TILE CO. OPENED YESTERDAY  New Industry Started by Victorians at Sidney Island – Modern Plant  The Sidney Island Brick and Tile Company, promoted by J.L. Skene and George Courtenay started operations yesterday. Large and conveniently designed buildings and a modern plant , it is estimated, make it possible to turn out 40,000 common brick a day. Shipments will be made Immediately and the proprietors affirm that there is every prospect of their  finding a ready market for their product on the Island, but more particularly, at Vancouver and other mainland points.  It is the intention, also, Mr. Skene says, to make a speciality of the tile business, in which he believes there is an admirable opening in the Northwest.  The new plant cost approximately $30,000. At present there are thirty men employed, but it is thought that the business will necessitate an increase at an early date.
1909-06-01ColonistMasonic Temple FisgardThe Masonic Building . Work on the addition to and alteration of the Masonic Hall, corner of Fisguard street and Douglas street, will soon commence, the; permit for the work having also been issued yesterday. Besides extending the block westwards on Fisguard street a distance of fifty-three feet, the present building will be completely remodeled, allowing for larger quarters for the masonic order. The cost of the addition and alterations is estimated to be $15,000. Dlnsdale and Malcolm have secured the contract.
1909-12-15ColonistMasonic Lodge Fisgard StreetColonist December 15, 1909 The New Temple The new Masonic Temple, which was dedicated yesterday, will give the local members of the craft one of the finest headquarters on the coast. The old building, altered and added to, now forms a handsome structure with every convenience. At an expenditure of about $17,000 of former quarters have been more than doubled. The new portion has a frontage of 53 feet on Fisk Art Street and a depth of 50 feet, and is 3 storeys in height. The construction work was done under the charge of Messrs. Dinsdale and Malcolm, who started work in July last. In addition to the new wing, the old building was thoroughly remodelled and a complete heating plant installed. As a result the accommodation in the matter of large rooms has been greatly increased. The main entrance to the building is now in the new wing and opens up on Fisk Art Street, the old entrance at the corner being done away with. Flanked by 2 large Corinthian columns of granite surmounted with capitals of handsome design and beautifully carved in emblematic designs the entrance gives access to a hallway off which the secretary’s office will be situated. The ground floor of the old building will be utilized for 2 stories. A spacious stairway leads to the 2nd floor of the new wing on which are located Lodge rooms, chapter room, ante rooms, etc., the interior design and fittings of which are the best. The 3rd floor contains the main Lodge room, banqueting room, kitchen and necessary accommodation for banquets, etc. Messrs. Weller Brothers had the contract for the supply of the carpets and upholstery and the furnishings of the main Lodge room presents a striking and rich appearance. In the gallery at the rear of the large room is placed a fine pipe organ of Estey manufacture. The lighting arrangements are perfect, the fixtures and general design being extremely artistic.
1910-02-11ColonistConcrete blocks victoriaAdvertisement on page 16 – For Sale – Ideal Concrete Block machine with brick attachment. nearly new, inquire  1777 Rockland Ave.
1910-04-19TimesBelmont Building  Union ClubTO BUILD LARGE APARTMENT HOUSE  Outside Capitalists Plan Eight Storey Structure Containing Restaurant on Site Occupied by Belmont Saloon  Outside capitalists, composed of Seattle and Vancouver people  have drawn up plans for the erection of an eight storey apartment house and restaurant on the corner of Government and Humboldt street now occupied by the Belmont saloon. Last December this site was purchased for the sum of $100,000 by the parties is question and the plans for construction work are now well on the road to completion.  The syndicate at work hope by the erection of a restaurant and apartment house on this desirable site to cater to the tourist trade all of which at present comes by the Government street route to the city. Humboldt street promises to be the scene of considerable building in the near future as the plans for the Union Club for the erection of its new home in this locality are also nearing completion.
1910-05-08Colonistfireplace hatley castle sandstone arizonaExtract from article about Hatley Castle”  “Leaving this beautiful terrace with its still more beautiful view, we rounded the house and entered, beneath an imposing porte cochere of stone, by a brass-studded door, the main hall. we passed the spacious cloak rooms and found ourselves confronting a cheerful fire in an immense fireplace of red Arizona sandstone, cut from the quarries at Flagstaff, and built into a charming effect with heavily-bracketed canopy and enriched with a frieze of Gothic tracery.
1910-06-09ColonistCrime in BC BunburyDaily Colonist, June 9, 1910.  Prompt Action by Province’s Police.  Incendiary Who “Stood off” American Officers Yields Quietly to Members of the Provincial Police.  Once again provincial police of British Columbia have proven their quality as man catchers and won the cordial commendation of the American authorities to the south. In the present case the good service stands to the credit of Chief Bunbury of Greenwood, who a few days ago quietly landed in jail one E.V. Kinney, wanted at Molson for arson, and who, it was declared, would never be captured without a sanguinary battle. Ed Burden’s hotel at Molson was destroyed by fire on Sunday, the 29th ultimo, the blaze being obviously of incendiary origin. There were upwards of 20 people sleeping in the house of the time, many of whom had to leap from upper windows in order to save their lives. One young woman fell on an adjoining roof and was slightly injured. E.V. Kinney was seemed to come out of the house just as it began to blaze, mount his horse and ride away. Sheriff Jones and two others attempted to arrest him, but he stood the trio off with a revolver, declaring that he would not surrender, as he feared lynching. Kinney crossed the line and a message containing his description and particulars of the case against him was sent to the provincial police office at Greenwood. Chief Bunbury, accompanied by “Billy” Wilson, took the trail at once, and after a hard right of 50 miles, captured Kinney in a shack on Anarchist mountain. He did not resist arrest, and made no “gunplay.” Within 24 hours of the receipt of his message, chief Bunbury had the prisoner safe in the Greenwood Jail.
1910-06-21ColonistUnion ClubUnion Club A syndicate of Union Club members has just completed the purchase of the lower half of what is known as the Badminton hotel property on Humboldt street. The sale price was $50,000. The club executive is now considering plans for the erection of a new clubhouse, which will probably cost from $80,000 to $100,000. In the meantime the present property of the club, at the corner of Douglas and Courtney streets, will be sold.
1910-06-29ColonistSt michael’s University School 
1910-10-13ColonistNew buildings in Victoria – 1910 fireUnion Bank Has Purchased Site  Cash Payment of $145,000 Made for Property at Corner of Government Street and Trounce Avenue  By a cash payment of $145,000 jut made, the Union Bank of Canada has acquired one of the most desirable business sites in the city, that at the corner of Government street and Trounce avenue. The property has a frontage of 60 feet on Government street and 120 feet on Trounce avenue. On the former thoroughfare it embraces the premises occupied by the Hub Cigar Store, the Great Northern Railway Company, Mr. J. Wenger, jeweller, and the Messrs. Heisterman Foreman real estate firm. On Trounce avenue it includes the Grotto saloon and the realty offices of Messrs. Lee & Fraser.  It is understood that plans will be drawn up within a short time for the erection of a five or six-storey building on the site just purchased, the ground floor and possibly the first floor being utilized as premises for the Union Bank, the branch business of which is increasing daily in Victoria. The structure will be an up-to-date one in every respect and its erection will entirely metamorphose the appearance of that portion of Government street.
1910-10-18ColonistTheatre in VictoriaC.P.R.  Interest in Theatre Scheme   Sir Thomas Shaughnessy Raises Subscription Promised Towards Local Project to $25,000.  Evidencing the keen interest which the C.P.R. processes in Victoria and the knowledge of its advantages as a tourist centre, Sir Thomas Shaughnessy, president of the company, last evening announced that he would give a sum of $25,000 towards the scheme which is afoot for the erection of a new theatre in the city. The C.P.R., through Sir Thomas, has previously promised a sum of $15,000, and this amount has now been increased to $25,000.  “I fully realise,” said Sir Thomas, in conversation with Mr. Leiser, Who has the matter in hand, that you must have a new and up-to-date theatre in this beautiful city of yours. I understand that you have a considerable amount of support already, and, with the help of our increased subscription, I hope that you will soon have a theatre here.”  Mr Leiser, who has been the mover in the scheme for providing the city with a new theatre, interviewed the C.P.R. president at the Empress Hotel last night and as a result of his representations the railway company’s subscription has been increased. The amounts now promised towards the scheme are as follows: Canadian Pacific Railway, $25,000; Grand Trunk Pacific Railway, $10,000; Messrs. Klaw and Erlanger, $10,000; and from other sources, some $15,000.  With the additional subscription of the C.P.R., the scheme is now within reasonable sight of being carried out. The matter has already been before the city council, and a bylaw for the granting of the site at the corner of Belleville and Douglas street is at present being prepared. If this bylaw is carried, work will be at once commenced on an up-to-date theatre situated on one of the most central and ideal sites in the city.  Mr. Leiser, when seen last evening, stated that all the project now wanted was a moderate amount of support from the citizens. He personally had little doubt that, having regard to the keen interest which railway companies were showing in the city and its future, that the citizens would carry the bylaw for granting the site by a very large majority.
1910-10-27ColonistThe great fire – Started the evening of Oct. 26, 1910Colonist, October 27, 1910 page 1  Flames Sweep City’s Business Section.  Almost Entire District Bounded by Government, Fort, Broad and Trounce Wiped out — Damage Will Exceed $1 million — Two Score of Firms Rendered Homeless.  Fire which apparently started in the main aisle of the Government Street department store of David Spencer, Ltd., last night practically wiped out the entire block bounded by Government, Fort, Broad streets and Trounce Ave, the estimated damage being $1,500,000.  The conflagation, which was still in progress when the Colonist went to press, is the greatest in the history of the city.  The chief sufferers and their estimated losses are as follows: David Spencer Ltd., building, $200,000, stock $400,000; H. Young and Company, building $100,000, start $200,000; Five Sisters Block, building and contents $150,000; Victoria Book and Stationery Company, building and contents $100,000; various stores and offices destroyed or damaged by water, with heavy loss of stock, the damage variously estimated at between $300,000 and $400,000.  After four hours desperate fighting the outbreak was brought under control about 2:30 a.m.  The actual origin of the fire is a mystery but it apparently started on one of the counters in the main aisle of the store and leaping up the elevator shaft spread rapidly throughout the top story and burning downwards soon enveloped the entire Spencer building in a mass of flames.  In less than an hour it had eaten its way into the surrounding buildings.  At midnight the Five Sisters Block was ablaze.  Above the same time it became apparent that the premises occupied by H.Young and Company were doomed.  The damage was not confined to the block in which the fire or originated.  On several occasions the Driard Hotel was ablaze, well stores fronting the eastern side of Government Street and the southern side of Fort Street suffered some damage.  Telephone communication was dislocated, 1500 lines being put out of commission.  Owing to the flames still burning fiercely at 3 a.m., it is impossible to estimate, except in the broadest way, the actual losses.  It is believed that the premises occupied by the Times Printing and Publishing Company are uninjured by the flames, although they have suffered through water.  From the outlook at the time of writing, the entire Five Sisters Block is gutted, the premises of Henry Young and Company, as well as those of D.Spencer, Ltd, were the outbreak originated, being in ruins.  Two accidents sparked the progress of the fire while there were hundreds of narrow escapes.  Chief Davis of the fire department was slightly injured through shattered glass.  His wounds were dressed on the spot and he continued to lead the firefighting.  A volunteer named Ferris was cut in the leg but his injury is not serious.  While the fire is well under control, there is still considerable danger from the ruined walls which may fall at any time.  The utmost precautions are being taken to safeguard the public in this respect.  The Sufferers.  The following firms suffered practically a total loss;  Government Street No 1207 — Office Building (total loss) No 1205 — Office Building (total loss) No 1200 — Skene Lowe/photographer, John Wilson, architect, H. J. Saunders, broker (total loss) No 1201 — Fit Reform, damaged by water 1123 — 1127 — Henry Young and Company, dry goods (total loss) No 1117 — David Spencer, dry goods (total loss) No 1113 — Victoria Book and Stationery and Limited, (total loss) No 1111 — Wm. Foxalf, photographer, W. H. Langley, barrister; also von Alvensleben, real estate No 1109 — Charlton and Company, 5, 10 & 15c store. No 1107 — Finch and Finch, haberadashery (total loss) No 1103 — William’s Drugstore (total loss); Shaw, photographer. No 1101 — Royal Bank (total loss).   Broad Street W. R.Bownass, hardware store and office building.  Tenants; Howard Potts, J.L. Skene, E.C.B. Bagshawe, Plummer & Rideout, F. Coates, Hargreave, Mr. Bownass loss on stock, $12,000, partly covered. D. Spencer & Co. Times newspaper (loss by water). D. Spencer, store and hardware.   Fort Street Five Sisters Block — JW Jones, real estate office. C. H. Smith, picture framer and photo goods. Woodwards florist store. Western Union telegraph office. Five Sisters Block (upper floors) E. Watkins, architect; Mason and Mann, solicitors; Thomas R. Hooper, architect; H. Dier, dentist. WW Grime, dentist. Gavin H. Burns, real estate. T.D. Sedger, architect, W. Rochfort, architect, William M. Woodburn, agent, Vancouver Island Fire Underwriters Association. W. R. Marsh. R. H. McMillan. Also a number of roomers who occupied rooms and studios on the upper floor.   Flames Spread with Fierce Speed.  The progress of the fire highly spectacular in its every incident was of an appalling character.  The spread of the flames was remarkable for the fact that the wind, carrying them along the top stories of the buildings, it was apparently impossible for the firefighters to locate the best point of the vantage on which to concentrate the streams of water.  By 11 o’clock it was a parent that the building occupied by David Spencer Ltd, was doomed.  The entire structure was a seething mass of flames.  Whirling showers of sparks and flaming debris were borne by the wind in a southerly direction, the thousands of spectators dodging these as they fell to the ground, littering the streets.  Eating their way into the surrounding buildings, the flames had evidently spread on all sides of the block before it was possible to ascertain where they would lay their next hold.  Spurting across Broad Street, they licked their way through the windows of the Driard Hotel which time still again was on fire only to be as quickly put out by the concentrated efforts of three hose, which for a long time had to be directed from one side of the street to the other.  At the Government Street side the wind swept the fire across the street, and only continuous playing of hose on the buildings lying between Fort Street and Bastion saved the buildings in that area.  Hundreds of the public, who up to this time had been mere spectators of the conflagration, now lent willing assistance in the efforts to prevent the fire reaching further than the block.  Ready hands hauled hose from point to point, but any systematic attempt to quell the outbreak were useless.  Shortly before midnight, the flames got a strong hold on the top story of the store are occupied by Henry Young and Company, and above the same time spreading in a parallel direction on the broad Street side, the Times building being involved in the doomed area.  It was only about now that the firefighters who had been reinforced by the arrival of the Garrison forces turned their attentions to this part of the block.  Hose were run to the roof, but all efforts were unavailing, and shortly after midnight it was apparent that the entire block would be gutted.  What looked like proving the most serious part of the disaster occurred a few minutes past 12 o’clock, when the Five Sisters Block, which, although always in the most imminent danger, finally became well ablaze.  Within what was apparently only a few seconds the entire top story was aflame.  Fire burst out of every window on Government Street, and the wind, at this time rising, carried showers of debris into Fort Street, while the cloud of sparks sweeping south wards over the city became denser than ever.  The interior of Spencer’s building, which had been collapsing in places, again attracted considerable attention, the heavy crashes at intervals marking the collapse of beams, ceilings, rafters and piles of charred goods.  The outer walls held their position well, and through the furnace-like interior it was possible at intervals to see Broad Street and the men engaged in fighting the flames on that side of the block.  By this time the amount of water which had poured among the ruins and burning portion of the block had converted the vivid flames into a dense red smoke-enveloped glow, which from time to time was parted and some portion or other of the block gave in and shattered timbers or portions of the brickwork fell on the continually growing pile of seething debris.  Portions of the outer walls added their quota to the mass of ruin, and as the nation against the spectacular features of the outbreak grow yet more appalling in character.  By 12:30 o’clock the Five Sisters Block, wreathed in flames, was doomed.  Despite the fact that the wind was blowing from a northerly direction, the fire continued to spread in the direction of Trounce Ave., and all attempts to cope with the outbreak in this direction seemed hopeless.  A cordon of hose, served by the entire fire department staff, the members of the Garrison, numbering 150 in all, and numbers of the public, surrounded the block and were kept continuously employed, but it had become apparent that if the outbreak was confined to the block in which it had originated, it was the most that could be hoped, such was the hold the flames had gained at this time.  Shortly after 1 p.m. the fire commenced to eat its way into the buildings fronting on Trounce Ave.  Again and again it was driven back, but continuing to spread despite the most strenuous efforts it ate its way through the length and breadth of the northerly end of the block.  At the southerly end of the Five Sisters Block was a mass of fire, vivid sprouting flashes of curling flame broke at intervals from out of the dense smoke-enveloped frontage of the structure.  Fort Street was littered with debris.  The hoses of all the stores on the edge of the fire zone were kept in continual play and the streets surrounding the doomed the block ran rivers of water.  Spencer’s building which had now been burning for upwards of three hours still showed no diminution in its furnace like effect.  While the majority of the hoses were engaged on other parts of the block, some half dozen were kept playing on either side of the Spencer building, which, possibly on account of the large amount of combustible matter contained therein, was a hotbed of flames.  First Alarm.  C.F. Hine, of the Army and Navy Cigar Store, was leaving the shop at 10:45 when he noticed a small blaze on the ground floor, in the centre of the main aisle, seemingly on one of the counters.  A moment later one of the two watchmen rushed from the front door are, shouting “Fire!  Fire!  Call the Firemen.” Mr. Hines ran back into his shop and telephone for the fire department, others seemingly being engaged in telephoning an alarm at the same time.  The watchmen ran back to try and beat out the flames until driven out.  The flames spread with a rush, the whole inside of the building having been aflame when Mr Hines left his shop, and, been alarmed for the safety of his wife and child who were in his rooms at the Five Sisters Block, he ran to awake them and save when he could of his belongings.  He ran from door-to-door, waking those residents who had retired and all went to places of safety, their arms laden with as many goods as they could save.  All lost the most of their belongings.  The residents of the upper floor were C.F. Hines, wife and child, Ike Culross, C. Kroeger, and two sons; Assistant Fire Chief stewart and wife, who were about to give up their rooms; Robert Myra, machinist of the Colonist, who was engaged in his work while his goods were being destroyed; Miss Davis; Mssers Laker, one of the bookkeepers at the Dominion Hotel, the other employed by W.S. Fraser and Son; Caretaker A. McNiven; Miss Miles, teacher of piano; and J.P. Mann, formerly city solicitor.  Where Blaze Started.  At the time when the alarm went in, the fire had reached but small dimension in the front west corner of the Spencer Building, where it undoubtedly got its start.  Two counters, which form the men’s furnishing department, seemed to be apparently where the fire started.  This was for barely one minute, for by the time the department arrived the second floor was ablaze, and it spread like lightening to the rear end of the first and second floors taking its course from there upward.  The fire started at 10:30 p.m.  The department arrived in less than one minute after the alarm went in, and Chief Davis, who was not at the hall was brought  at the rate of sixty miles an hour to the scene of the blaze to the Broad Street entrance. When the car made its mad dash along Broad street the massed crowd barely escaped from being cut down.  Arriving at the scene, Chief Davis was among the first to enter the building, and for many minutes later his voice rung the air with his quick cool-witted orders. In less than five minutes three streams were put into working which were later added to by more.  March of Flames on Government Street.  The big department store was a cauldron before the firemen laid their hose, and with five streams playing into the entrance, while sparks flew all about them and broken glass and other debris threatened them. Only for a few minutes though could the firemen approach close to the mass of the fire which, a short time before had been a great emporium of woman’s wear worth a very large amount. As the flames gushed out they were forced back to the middle of the road from where they played their streams on the upper floors, reaching only to the second floor. The place was quickly gutted, and the cornices began to fall, following the masses of broken glass. Then the bricks toppled, masses of the wall fell , the firemen being forced to run back again and again by the falling brick.  Meanwhile the crowd increased and the police had their hands full to keep back the sightseers until the artilleryman and engineers of the Work Point barracks doubled up from the Esquimalt road to assist the police. With the assistance of many of the soldiers – a number went to assist the firemen – the crowd was kept back to the west of Bastion street and east of Fort. Meanwhile sparks showered over them and Government street at times resembled the Brocken scene.  The department store was soon gutted and the spreading flame, fanned by a breeze, which sprang up before midnight, was swept on to the back and upper part of the Five Sisters Block, and burned through to the Five, Ten, and Fifteen Cent store which was soon enmeshed despite the efforts of the firemen who bravely forced their way in with a stream, the Victoria Book and Stationary Store took fire from the back and about the same time the fire swept through the rear wall of the Western Union Telegraph office and the adjoining picture store of C.H. Smith & Co., both these places being quickly wiped out. Meanwhile the upper part of the Five Sisters Block began to flame. It soon flared up like a giant torch, hurling clouds of sparks to the eastward, threatening other buildings. A block away, on Broughton street, the carpenter shop of J.P. Burgess & Co., took fire from the flying sparks, but a hose from a rear window of the Pemberton block was used to good effect.  Front the roof of the Victoria Transfer stables another hose was used to good effect.  Although the fire spread with great rapidity eastward, it also worked its way westward, licking through the wall into the Times newspaper building, which took fire shortly after 11 p.m., but was saved, and Henry Young’s department store with its valuable stock fell victim next to the sweep of the fire. The adjoining offices, Skene Lowe’s photographic gallery and the offices in the same building were destroyed – in fact the fire swept on along Government street from the Royal Bank to the Great Northern Railway office, destroying the greater portion of the block.  Across the street, the heat was so great that it broke the plate glass windows of nearly all the stores opposite the block. The owners of the premises within some distance of the fire busied themselves in removing as much of their wares and effects as they could carry, and Bastion, lower Fort street, Yates street, Trounce avenue were piled here and there, with office furniture and all manner of goods.  Sheets of Flame on Broad Street.  Broad street was the centre from which the department first directed its efforts. While the flames were seething in the Government street front of the Spencer block, they swept up through the open centre of the block, worked along the top floor and burst through the windows , afterwards working down floor by floor until, within two hours of the alarm, there was nothing but blazing embers encircled between the two side walls, which stood the terrific heat.  The flames ate their way south into the two-storey brick block occupied on the ground floor by the Bownass Hardware Co. In a few minutes the interior was gutted but the flames were unable to get into the adjoining block of the Melsose Co., the wall barring progress further south into the corner block occupied by the Dominion Bank and other offices. The Times building, which was in the very heart of the raging flames, withstood the assault in a remarkable manner, though encircled by a wall of fire as the blaze ate itself from the main part of the Spencer store, around the rear of the Times block and into the northern section of Spencer’s, which suffered a like fate with the balance of the big department store.  Driard’s Narrow Escape.  During the fiercest part of the fire, the intense heat licked off the metal cornices on the Driard hotel, igniting the woodwork on the gables and window sills, but streams of water from the fire hose as well as small streams from within saved the building, though at one time it looked as if it would be utterly impossible to save the big structure. The guests had plenty of time to remove their belongings, and a stream of trunks passed down the stairs and out onto View street. The greatest damage to the hotel premises will be from water, great quantities of which were poured through the broken windows and flowed through the rooms and corridors. Time and time again, the building ignited, and at first there was no stream which could reach the top but later an engine stream was put to the full height of building and saved the day.  Spread to Fort Street  While the flames were bursting out on the Broad Street front of the block, the fire ate its way around the rear of the Melrose Block and into the Five Sisters Block, which was and enveloped by a deluge of sparks which eddied through the entrance at the rear of the block, set fire to the woodwork at the rear, got into the elevator shaft and within an hour had completely gutted the building, cleaning out the stores on Government Street.  Every bit of available apparatus belonging to the Department was brought into service, and every inch of hose was requisitioned in the fight against the flames.  The three engines stationed at the corner of Yates and Broad, Government and Yates, and Fort and Broad streets worked right through the fire without a hitch.  Hydrant streams to the number of fifteen also did effective work, though the domestic pressure was not as effective as were the engine streams.  Occupants of nearby office buildings took ad vantage of the opportunity to remove their belongings, but so rapidly that the flames make their way through the buildings, that in many cases little was saved.  Willing workers by the score were in evidence, and thence, and vans, automobiles and other conveyances were ready to assist in carting off effects.  As the fire was destroying the Five Sisters Block, constant attention had to be paid to the buildings across Fort Street.  Streams of water were kept playing on the new Pemberton block, and on the low framed structures lying to the west between that block and Government street, while streams were also kept playing on the Colonist and McGregor blocks.  A party of soldiers from the Work Point Barracks did excellent work in assisting the police and firemen.  Lights Turned Off.  During the progress of the fire, the city electric lighting service was maintained, but that supplied by the BC Electric Company was turned off for a considerable length of time, though subsequently restored.  The darkness in which occupants of many of the stores were thus forced to work hampered the work of saving contents, while in other instances owners did not make any serious attempt to save their property.  As soon as the proportions of the blaze were ascertained, Chief of Police Langley called out the entire force, in order was generally well maintained throughout the night.  The irrepressible individual who would persist in crowding to the front and interfering with the fireman was generally conspicuous by his absence, and little or no trouble was experienced.  The BC Electric Company soon had a force of men at work cutting out dangerous wires, while City Electrician Hutchinson was ready at the city plant to cut off the current should such a step become necessary.  The flare of live wires as masonry and timbers fell gave sufficient warning to spectators to the danger of venturing too close to the blaze.  Watchman Cannot Explain the Cause.  Mr Monteith, one of the auditors of D. Spencer & Co, was at work in the building until 10 p.m., and there was no sign of fire when he left.  The firm employs two watchmen, A. Luscombe and J. Gale.  They state that they were past the scene of the start of the fire within a few minutes before the outbreak, and all was safe.  Soldiers Summoned by Motor Special.  An automobile was sent shortly after the telephone had failed on account of the fire to Work a Point Barracks to notified Col Wadmore, officer commanding, that assistance was required.  Orders were at once given dispatching the whole garrison to assist.  A bugler sounded the fall in and, in command of Captain McDonald, R.G.A. Captain W. Lindsay, R.E. and Lieut Harris, the gunners and engineers of the barracks doubled to the city.  They quickly got to work, part of them being told off to assist the police in keeping the fire lines and others to aid the fireman.  A number were sent up on the roofs of buildings in the path of sparks flying from the fire, and it could work in stamping out incipient blazes caused by the sparks.  Chief Langley called out all members of the police Department to join in the policing of the fire area.  Scenes on Broad Street.  The hardware store of W. Bownass and Company on Broad Street was destroyed, a two-storey building, the lower part given over to the hardware business, the upper part consisting of offices.  The hardware stock of Bownass & Co was valued at $12,000, partly covered by insurance.  The offices upstairs were rented by Howard Potts, real estate; J. L. Skene, contractor; Hargreaves; E.B.C. Bagshaw; Plummer & Rideout, real estate; and Mr Coates, architect.  The offices of Mr Bagshaw were insured, and some of the other offices were covered.  Fifteen Hundred Phones Are Dead.  The greater part of the district south of Yates and east of Government Street, will be with out telephone service today as a result of the fire.  Fifteen hundred subscribers, it was estimated last night, would be unable to communicate with the central offices by wire until repairs are effected.  Oak Bay and a portion of James Bay section were cut off.  The company already has made arrangements to rush the necessary re-stringing of cables.  A force which has been employed at Saanich has been ordered to the city and assistance has been obtained from the Vancouver staff.  It is expected that the service will be in operation throughout the city again this evening, or, at the latest, on Friday night.  To eliminate the danger to the firefighters from the live wires the power was cut off from the substation of the BC Electric Railway Company at 11 o’clock last night, the time when the conflagration was at its worst. All the business section was in darkness until about 1 a.m., and not until some time later, were the cars in operation.  Chemicals Quenched Many Roof Blazes.  While the department chemical engines could do little or nothing in fighting the big blaze they did excellent service in subduing a number of roof fires caused by sparks.  The Cusack premises on Courtney Street caught fire and was blazing merrily when the chemical arrived.  A number of other roofs were more or less scorched but little damage was done.  High-Pressure Plant Brought in Service.  For the first time the salt water high-pressure plant was brought into service and the hydrant streams on Government street were served from that source.  Owing to defects in the steam unit of the plant the city has refused to accept it from the contractors but the electric unit was in working order and materially added to the volume of water thrown.  Shortly before two o’clock the walls of the Five Sisters Block, on the Fort street side, collapsed, carrying down wires and a telephone pole.  A number of fireman on a line of hose almost immediately beneath, had narrow escapes from flying bricks.  The Broad street wall of the Spencer premises had a perceptible bulge, and the police kept the street clear.  Between 1:30 and 3 a.m. the efforts of the firefighters, directed on the north easterly portion of the block showed some signs of having effect, and it seemed that the frontages and some of the interior portions of the buildings on that area would be saved.  In the interior of the northerly end of the block the flames continued to rage furiously, and the fire into its way rapidly towards the top of most portion of the buildings fronting on Trounce avenue.  As yet it had not reached the ground floors is of these structures, and, indeed, a remarkable feature of the entire conflagration was that it burned from the top downwards like a candle.  Soldiers Help.  Somewhere about midnight there was a cheer and shout for right of way, and the Government Street crowd broke before a charge from a corps of the Work Point Garrison troops.  They had come to the assistance of the brigade.  They arrived at the critical moment.  Provided with a  hook ladder, and a couple of additional hose, they scaled the block between Spencer’s and Trounce avenue.  Directed by one of the regular force, they played a couple of streams on the voluminous flames.  There were seen to have some effect, and the events in that direction was finally checked.  The soldiers with numerous volunteers, also helped in many other ways.  They joined the almost frantic proprietors in stripping their stores of the most valuable of their belongings.  Safes were rolled out to the street, roller desks were tumbled down the city’s main artery, solid gold sets, jewellery, in other destructible articles of a costly nature were brought from the jewellery stores and removed as far as possible from the danger zone.  In one instance on the Fort Street, a procession of citizens, with a sprinkling of Tommies, were seen laden with silver sets, rushing towards Douglas Street, amid a heavy shower from the hose.  City Papers Burned.  Standing on government Street, disconsolately watching the destruction of the Five Sisters Block, was Mr Dubois Mason, of the firm and Mason and Mann, until recently city solicitors.  Just as he was approached by a newspaperman he raised his cane, pointing out the front office on the corner.  Flames were pouring from the windows.  “There goes our premises.  Some of the city papers are last.”  “Are they valuable?”  was queried.  “Well, there are documents the city doesn’t care to lose” was the reply.  With that Mr Mason told of an effort he had made earlier in the evening to rescue these and other articles he values.  He climbed the stairway, but, on almost reaching the top, was so overcome with the smoke as to be forced to beat a hasty retreat.  He said that in addition to his papers there was a collection of Miss Mary Mason’s paintings, valued at $2000 which he had stored for safekeeping in his quarters during the day.  He regretted losing these, as much as anything.  Colonist Crippled for Several Hours.  Owing to damage to gas mains and electric connections, the Colonist linotype machines became out of commission shortly after the outbreak of the fire.  The present edition was printed in type set by hand.  Throughout the fire the Colonist building was constantly in danger.  The Colonist fire brigade manned the hose line on different floors and did good service in protecting the building.  Manager Goward of the BC Electric Co at once placed men to repair the damage so that the paper’s plant will be in shape by ten o’clock this morning.  Its use was extended to the Times Printing and Publishing Company, by Mr J. S. H. Matson, proprietor of the Colonist, as soon as he learned of the misfortune to the contemporary journal.  BC Electric Lines  The BC Electric power had their gangs of men out at an early hour of this morning effecting repairs in their power and light and light lines.  It will be impossible to run the car is on Government street until the front walls of the Spencer building collapsed or are dismantled.  Valuable Plans Lost in Flames.  In the office of T.R. Hooper, architect, in the Five Sisters Block, were the plans of the new Isolation Hospital and the new Court House in Vancouver.  They have just been completed, and were lying on the architect’s desk.  He made a great effort to save them and was returning into the building after saving some plans when his way was blocked by several people placed at the door to stop people entering the building.  They few minutes before, Mr Darrell, who had been making his way to the offices on the second floor, was almost cut off, having to dash through some flames to make his way to the stairs.  Spencer’s to Build with All Dispatch.  Messrs Chris and Victor Spencer, who were in Vancouver, remained in the News-Advertiser office, and received bulletins of the progress of the fire by the Colonist leased wire.  Efforts were made to get across by special steamer, but this was found impossible, so they will leave this morning on the ten o’clock boat.  Mr Chris Spencer announced that Mr Thomas Hooper will be asked to prepare plans immediately for rebuilding and work will be rushed with all dispatch upon the new structure.  Dropped Dead through Excitement.  Mrs Samuel Shore, wife of the proprietor of the Bismarck Hotel, was awake when the alarm was sounded.  She proceeded to arouse all inmates of the house who were in their rooms, and immediately afterwards collapsed, overcome by the excitement.  Two doctors were at once summoned, but Mrs Shore was beyond their aid.  Her husband, a daughter and a son survive her.  Theatre Crowds Thronged Streets.  An incident of the fire was the presence on the streets as spectators a number of people in evening dress who had arrived on the scene at the conclusion of the performance at the Victoria Theatre.  Fully 10,000 people witnessed the conflagration from different points of vantage.  The reflection in the sky was seen for many miles around and before the telephone wires went out of commission the Colonist office was inundated with enquiries as to what was happening.  A Formidable Task  “I was there are from the beginning,” remarked a member of the Pacific Club as he stood on Government street watching the flames soaring skyward and gradually encompassing the Five Sisters Block and the structures to the north of the Spencer building, almost as far as Trounce alley.  “We heard the alarm and running up the street were in time to see the first sheet of flame break through the roof of Victoria’s largest business establishment.”  This club man stated, as was evident to all who were on the spot at the start, that Chief Davis and his brigade were on hand as soon as circumstances permitted.  They tackled their Herculean task from all sides and endeavoured to reach the seat of the trouble.  The hydrants within blocks were requisitioned and the salt water mains, charged with water from the Elk Lake, allowed the pouring of a much greater volume into the conflagration than would otherwise have been possible.  It is figured, roughly, that there must have been a dozen lines of hose in use within half an hour at the outside of the alarm.  But the fire was too far ahead.  Many of these streams were totally ineffective.  This appeared to be particularly the case as to those which were used from Government street.  They shot their puny charges of “drink” on the blaze to no purpose.  They seemed rather to feed than to subdue the devouring monster.  The delicate wooden fabric of the Spencer Block went up in smoke within an hour and a half.  The stock of women’s beautiful garments, fine silk gowns and silks which must have cost hundreds of dollars in themselves, and with which the windows w
1910-10-28ColonistAn editorial – the great fire – victoriaThe Victoria Daily Colonist, October 28, 1910, p4  An Editorial  After The Fire  Wednesday night’s fire has given us something to think about. First, as to the work of the department, as usual there has been some hostile criticism. We mention this fact for the purpose of showing that we have it mind when we say that in our humble opinion and in that of the great majority of citizens, the Fire Chief displayed excellent judgement and he and his men, and all who placed themselves under his direction, performed their work with courage and intelligence. To find fault is easy: to grapple with a fire that is out of control within a few minutes after it has started is an exceedingly difficult thing. There was more or less cheap talk during the fire. At a time when several strong streams were going on Broad street, several others on Government street and several others on Fort street, , spectators, who only saw one set of the streams, could be heard complaining of the lack of water, but we take the liberty of doubting if it would have been possible under any circumstances that can be suggested as reasonable, it would have been possible to have saved the Spencer block or prevented the fire from spreading to the adjoining buildings. The most that could have been hoped for was to keep down the heat and thus prevent external damage to buildings in the opposite side of the streets. The block bounded by Government, Fort, Broad and Trounce Alley was a solid mass of buildings, none of them of fire proof construction, except that occupied by the Times, the walls of which must be nearly so. In the very heart of this mass of relatively light structures a fire broke out in a great building filled with highly inflammable materials stored under conditions very favorable for the spread of flames, a great open place in the centre giving them free passage from the ground floors to the roof. This building extended from street to street in one direction and one the other two sides was flanked by structures which it over topped. It is almost impossible to suggest a combination of circumstances that would render the work of firemen more difficult. If the block had been hemmed in by fire-proof walls, it is doubtful that the destruction could have been confined to it. In view of these considerations we think it is only simple justice to say that the Fire Chief laid out his work exceedingly well and that the whole department is entitled to very great credit.
1910-10-28ColonistThe Great fire VictoriaVictoria Daily Colonist, October 28, 1910,  Rebuilding Their Slogan  Messrs. David Spencer, Ltd., and Henry Young & Co., Will Promptly Replace the Lost with Larger Blocks.  The rebuilding of the big department store of David Spencer, Ltd., will be commenced as soon as the plans can be prepared. A reinforced concrete building, planned after the most up-to-date department store model, will be erected, and within six months D. Spencer & Co. Ltd., expect to move into the new store. Negotiations are under way and are expected to be completed today towards securing the Driard Hotel as temporary premises, pending the construction of the new building.  Whether the new reinforced concrete department store will be built on the site of that lost by fire has not yet been determined. Two other sites are under consideration and, if it is found available, the site of the burned building will be sold and one of the sites now being considered selected for the new structure.  Mr. C. Spencer, of D. Spencer & Co. Ltd., last night told of the plans for rebuilding and enlargement of the scope of the new business.  “We have always been ahead of the requirements of the city in our business and do not intend to depart from this policy,” he said. “Victoria is growing and the future development of the city will be great. We will have these considerations in view in planning our new store, and it will be more extensive than the former one.”  “How many storeys in height will the new building be?” he was asked.  “That we have not decided, but this you can say, the new store will be larger and better in every way. Plans will be prepared at once by Mr. Thomas Hooper, our architect, and the structure will be a credit to the city. We have not had time to go into details, but this much we have decided: The new building will be of reinforced concrete and most modern in every particular. Much will depend upon the site in planning the new store. If we decide to build on the present site, we will have a higher building.  “We are now negotiating to secure the Driard Hotel as a temporary store and will meet the lessees today. If these negotiations are successful we will be open for business in the Driard within a week’s time, probably less. As soon as we complete arrangements for a place to put the goods in, we will soon have the goods there. Large shipments are constantly coming in, and with a supply from our Vancouver store, will be ready to enter into the wants of our large number of customers in a very few days.    “We will retain all of our employees that we can, and expect to be ready to employ the majority of them in a short space of time.   “Until we are able to get into the two safes which lie in the wreckage and secure the records they contain – if those records are not destroyed, and we will be unable to ascertain this until Monday, when the safe will be cool enough to be opened – we cannot make an accurate statement of the losses. But, speaking from memory, I would place them at approximately $400,000 on the stock, perhaps a little more. There is from 50 to 60 per cent of this covered by insurance. The fire could not have come at a worse time for we were carrying a larger stock than ever, considerable of the new goods having arrived.  Mr. Spencer was at a loss to account for the fire. Mr. Monteith, the bookkeeper, reported having been at work until 10:10 pm. When he left there was no sign of fire, or smell of smoke. Mr. W. Spencer received a report from the watchman engaged at the store. Two were employed. They worked with a time-clock system, going from floor to floor and winding the clock on each floor. The record on the clocks showed nightly that they had inspected each floor at regular intervals. The watchmen reported that, up to 10 pm, they made their rounds regularly, going over each floor, from the basement to the top story, and no sign of smoke or of anything out of the ordinary was seen. At 10:15 or thereabouts, they went to the third floor, where the tea room was located, to have their lunch, and were thus engaged when, about 10:30 pm, they detected the smell of smoke, and at once went to the ground floor to investigate. They saw flames springing from two places at the western side of the building, seeming to come out at the same time on the ground and second floors. On the ground floor the fire broke out near the men’s furnishing department. The watchmen turned in an alarm and ran to the back door and opened it as the firemen reached that entrance.  Pioneers Undaunted.  Henry Young of Henry Young & Co., stated yesterday that his firm would build again, larger and better than ever, as soon as an adjustment of the insurance was made and the site was available. Major W. Ridgeway Wilson, who was the architect of the first building erected for this firm – this was his first work in British Columbia – has been consulted with regard to the preparation of plans for a larger and better building, a first class emporium in every respect, to be built on the same site.  The stock destroyed by the fire in Henry Young & Co.’s store was valued at $100,000 and the building was worth $50,000. Alterations were recently made to enlarge the store, being completed in March last, at a cost of $15,000. Insurance was carried to approximately eighty percent of the value of the structure and the stock, the polices being held by a large number of companies in various amounts.  Henry Young & Co., is one of the pioneer firms of the city. Henry Young Sr established the business in 1859 when the city was in its boyhood. The building destroyed yesterday was built in 1887, when the site was secured from C. Strauss & Co., who had a dry goods store there. W. Ridgeway Wilson, the architect who will prepare plans for the new structure which is to take the place of that lost, had recently arrived in Victoria, and the commission to prepare the plans for the building was his first work. The firm has gradually enlarged its business year by year. In 1904 the sons of the founder of the business, Messrs. Henry B. and W.I. Young, took over the business and are now continuing it. When their new structure arises from the ashes of the old, they expect to have a much larger business than before.  Damage to the Driard  The damage to the Driard Hotel will prove greater than first supposed. While the blaze from the Spencer block failed to actually reach the hotel, the intense heat was sufficient to start a number of fires on the roof, while window sills and curtains were badly scorched. But the real damage will result from the water which was poured in immense volume up the side of the hotel and found its way through windows, down through floors, out into corridors, and searched every crack and crevice. Practically every window on the Broad street side of the building was smashed and the loss from this one item alone, including as it does a great quantity of expensive plate glass, will be considerable.  Over fifty rooms on the side of the fire were more or less damaged by water, while a few rooms on the fifth floor are damaged by fire. The cornices on the outside were twisted off as if they had been made of paper, and interior woodwork is blistered and blackened by the heat.  There were over thirty guests sleeping in rooms on the Broad street side of the hotel. These were awakened and all made their way comfortably to safe quarters, their baggage being brought downstairs and stored in the Victoria Theatre. After the first seriousness of the fire had abated and it became evident that there was nothing more to fear, a large proportion of the guests of the hotel returned and took rooms outside the damage limit.  Mr. Weldon, who has recently assumed the proprietorship of the Driard, suffered considerable shock when, early during the fire, as he was attempting to turn on an electric light, his fingers come in contact with a live wire. He was hurled backwards, but was uninjured. Mrs. Weldon, in coming downstairs in a hurry in the dark, turned an ankle.  Historical Portraits Lost  The well known photographic galleries of J. Savannah in the Five Sisters block, which were totally wiped out, as a complete studio equipment, probably the finest in the west, contained no fewer than 35,000 negatives, comprising a collection of portraits of public men not surpassed in Canada. The negatives included those of tall the lieutenant-governors, except one, who have held office in British Columbia, all the premiers and the majority of the cabinet ministers, army, navel and other officials, and public men. The loss can scarcely be estimated, although Mr. Savannah estimates that the orders for reprints from negatives made by him during his long professional career, represented annually interest upon at least $35,000. The studio itself represented an investment of $6,000; the insurance was but $2000.  While many plans, specifications, etc., were lost by the architects in the Five Sisters building, Mr. Ernest Watkins in the office of his brother, Mr. Elwood Watkins, saved the majority of the plans in the office. It was after the lights had been cut off that Mr. Watkins made his way in the dark to the office which stands at the head of the stairs on the first floor. He made but one trip, but this saved many valuable plans. Mr. E. Watkins has engaged rooms 1 and 2 in the Green building opposite the Colonist office.  The Williams drug company open within a few days at 623 Fort street. Mr Hopper, another architect, who lost a great deal in the fire, has engaged for rooms in the Royal Bank building. The Royal Bank has opened their new building: the work of completing, furnishings and the fixtures will not interfere with the business of the banking house.  Finch & Finch have also opened their new store on Yates street and were doing business yesterday.  Messrs. Mason & Mann have secured temporary quarters in Dr. J.C. Davie’s offices, Langley street, and will reopen in a day or so.  Miss McMillan of Spencer’s will also be ready to receive her patrons and care for their instructions by the first of the new week.
1910-10-28Colonist The Daily Colonist October 28, 1910, p1  To Rebuild on Larger Scale.  Burned Area in Business Section Will See Better and More Up-To-Date Structures.  Thousands Visit Devastated Area  Extent and Wednesday Nights Conflagration Indicates a Havoc Wrought by Flames – Tottering Wall Dynamited.   Blackened walls, tottering in dangerous fashion, piles of smoking debris upon which water is being continuously played, crowds of the curious who never seem to tire of looking at what was once the very heart of the business section, were the chief evidence yesterday of Wednesday night’s conflagration when a million or more went up in smoke – the most costly visitation by fire which Victoria has ever experienced.  But with the ashes is not yet cool, the progressive spirit of the firms whose several losses reach into the hundreds of thousands, are planning to extend their business, to erect larger and more commodious premises, and within a comparatively short time the effects of the conflagration will be much more than obliterated.  David Spenser Ltd, have already laid their plans for a new structure, and in the meantime are planning to secure quarters in the Driard hotel, where it is expected the firm will immediately open up again.  A large quantity of goods intended for the holiday trade, have arrived and more will be received within a short time, while additional stock will be ordered.  The other firms are also showing the same progressive spirit.  Henry Young & Co will also make an early start on a new structure, larger and better than that which they had, and which was practically rebuild only a few months ago.  Others of the burned-out firms are now awaiting adjustment of fire losses, when plans will be prepared for new buildings.  Thousands Visit Scene.  The magnitude of the fires depredations could be better gauged in the cold light of day and the thousands who thronged the neighbouring thoroughfares yesterday, were better able to appreciate the havoc which the flames wrought.  Over two score a firms or individuals were burned out, and while the aggregate loss which is estimated variously from a million to a million and a quarter dollars, will, it is thought, be about two thirds covered by insurance, still the actual loss will be a heavy one.  A notice to the effect that Messrs Luney Brothers, contractors, can give work immediately to one hundred men, indicates the energy with which the work of rehabilitating the burned district will be pushed.  Besides the devastated appearance of the scene of conflagration, residents of the city were also reminded yesterday of the havoc of the night by the interruption in the tramway and telephone systems.  Until the shaky walls are reduced to safe proportions, the streetcar traffic on Government Street will be suspended in the immediate vicinity of the burned area, and large barricades keep the public out of reach of possible injury through the collapse of the standing walls.  Just as soon as the walls cools yesterday afternoon, Luney Brothers had a force of men on the scene, and the tottering Government Street wall of the Spencer Block was demolished,, several charges of dynamite being inserted at the foot of the two main pillars and exploded.  The risky position of the men employed at this work, together with the success of operations, afforded entertainment to a crowd which packed Government Street and kept the police busy preventing to close approach to the dangers zone.  The dangerous wall of the Spencer Block on Broad Street was not attacked, but will be today.  This work of levelling the walls will take some days, but only those immediately threatening passers-by will be demolished at once.  Demand for Offices  No time was lost by those whose premises had been ruined by the flames in securing new quarters and the demand for office quarters was probably keener than has ever before been experienced here.  The telephone and electric lighting systems suffered severely, but almost before daylight yesterday gangs of men were at work repairing the breaks and connecting up the services.  The BC Telephone company brought eight experts over from Vancouver yesterday afternoon, and their forces will be kept at work until the service is restored.  Improvement is already noticed an accompanying officials state that by tomorrow night the fire damage will be repaired.  Lights have been strung at the pole heads in order to permit night work.  The B.C. Electric Company has also many men repairing the lighting system, and this work will soon be completed.  No attempt has as yet been made to open any of the safes or vaults which survive the intense heat.  The bulk of the Royal Bank is apparently intact and should be cool enough to be opened this morning.  Other safes are still lying in the midst of the smouldering debris, and it will be several days before they can be removed and the condition of their contents investigated.  Fire Wall Held  The solid, unbroken firewall surrounding the Melrose building on two sides was the salvation of the lower part of the business section.  The firemen knew of this wall, and made their big stand there.  Eight men played lines of hose from the roof of the Melrose building during the worst part of the Five Sisters Block fire, despite heat which was simply scorching.  It was owing to their efforts and the strength of the firewall that the paint and oil stock did not ignite.  This would have surely doomed Clay’s in all the buildings between that and the Brown Jug, And is doubtful if the fire would have stopped this side of Weller’s.  Effective System  The effectiveness of the salt water high-pressure system, even when this system is not in full working order, was demonstrated during the great fire.  Comment was heard at first on the part of some of the spectators upon the comparatively poor showing made by the hydrant streams from the domestic supply on which a pressure of about sixty five pounds was maintained.  Shortly after the blaze got well under way, however, the hydrant streams showed to much better advantage.  This was the result of the turning on of the high-pressure system.  City Electrician Hutchinson was early at the scene of the fire and did his utmost to get in touch with Chief Davis, but, what with the crowd, the fast movements of the Chief, and a constable who failed to appreciate the necessity of the electricians presence within the fire lines, delay was experienced.  The city electrician appreciated the fact that should be high-pressure system be turned on with its nozzle pressure of 140 pounds without first warning the brigade, damage to the men handling the hose on roofs might occur, as well as damage to the engines.  When the system was brought into play the improvement in the hydrant service was marked and those streams, particularly on Government Street, did good work.  Owing to the defect in the regulator of the pump, the city electrician was forced to watch it is working with care in order not to allow the pressure to become too great.  Some idea of the pressure from the system can be gained when it is stated that the suction hose connecting the Merryweather engine to the hydrant at the corner of Government Street and Yates Street was torn from its fastenings.  Eight streams in all were served by the high-pressure system as well as the engines and from the hydrant streams 2000 gallons of water per minute were pumped.  The city has not yet finally taken over the plant from the contractors, troubles with the steam auxiliary pump installed having arisen.  New parts have been ordered and will be installed by the city itself at the contractor’s expense.  An attempt has been made to arbitrate upon the amount which the city should pay for such parts of the plant as do not come up to the specifications, but so far the proceedings had not been commenced. In the meantime, however, the contractors have notified the city that in case of fire the electric pump may be operated without prejudice to the city’s status in the legal tangle which has arisen.  Accidental Humours.  As is the usual experience on such occasions, the fire was not without its accidental humours nor did these pass unappreciated even in the stress of such lamentable conditions as prevailed throughout the early evening hours of yesterday. The steadfast and unconquored presence of a large cotton sign over the business front of Finch & Finch’s premises announcing that We Are Positively Going Out of Business had in it just that touch of the grimly apposite that appealed to men watching the sweeping away of their labour for years and coaxed reluctant smiles from their set lips.  Hysterics also played their part in more than one fire incident, as a distracted mother rushed hither and thither in search of her baby girl – while separated by the distance of one city block, a well known newspaper worker displayed almost as much emotion as the sobbing child nestling in his unaccustomed arms, he besought advice from all and sundry of the absorbed crowd as to “what shall I do with this child?”  Another – a very large property owner of Fort and other streets– repeatedly cautioned the overworked firemen to “ be very careful not to scratch that woodwork,” until abruptly urged to seek a location boasting yet higher temperatures than that of the working zone.  Nor must one forget the a lady among the desolated residents of the Five Sisters Block who tearfully implored the men of Chief Davis’ force to please (with a very strong accent on that useful word) make one more attempt to save her winter hat. Apropos the latter incident and showing that there is small difference between the sexes in serious regard of the non-essentials under the stress of excitement, the story is related of the frantic endeavours of of a male resident of the same block that has ceased to be, to save a brand new pair of silk and elastic suspenders, a very recent purchase, while he ignored the pending extinction of much more valuable belongings.  The aftermath of the fire was yesterday, the sensation-seekers opportunity, all day seeing the streets of the visitation thronged with the curious. Last night, in consequence, a very considerable portion of the population suffered from most acute kinetics of the neck.    All yesterday the Fort street has been cleared of debris which had accumulated through the night. Efforts to tear down the Fort street wall of the Five Sisters Block failing. It was propped up and left until today. A feature of the blasting operations on Government street was the short-circuiting of the wire which supplied the power to the printing press of the Colonist building. The operation of printing the Victoria Times had to be suspended for a period of fifteen minutes.  At 1:45 pm, the Fort street wall of the Five Sisters Block toppled over into the street an several of the men working under it fell to the ground within two feet of the blazing mass. They were unhurt and, after being helped to their feet, they continued their work.  The granite piers, 33 inches thick, of D. Spencer & Co., splintered away owing to the intense heat and the four stories above, of steel and concrete, will probably collapse before much time has passed. The big sidewall on the eastern side, which is almost three feet thick on the lower story and 26 feet, 18 feet and 12 feet on the upper stories, collapsed and the bulk of it fell into the gutted building. The greater portion of the other side fell, and the upper part of Henry Young’s building collapsed completely, only a small part of the shell of the lower floor being left. The Fort street wall of the Five sisters Block came down in its entirety for about a third of the length on that street, and the upper floors of the Government street side fell into the street. This morning the work of pulling down the dangerous standing walls in the fire area will be completed.  The troops from Work Point remained at work assisting the firemen and police until about 3 o’clock this morning, when the fire had burned itself down considerably and the firemen were in control of the situation. The reflection of the burning buildings and the sparks flying were seen from Work Point. Anticipating a call, the alarm was sounded and the bugler’s “Assembly” brought out all the men in barracks, who were drawn up in readiness. Meanwhile the syren of the fire chief’s automobile was heard as the motor speeded toward the barracks and the men doubled up to the Esquimalt road and met the messengers who had been sent for them.
1910-10-28ColonistFire of Oct 26 – 27, 1910The Daily Colonist October 28, 1910, p 13  Falls Below Million Mark  Fire Chief Davis Depreciates Alarmist Reports Sent Outside Points – Praise Where Praise is Due.  That the fire loss resultant from Wednesday night’s blaze will not reach the million dollar mark is the opinion of Fire Chief Davis who depreciated the alarmist stories sent to outside papers wherein the loss was put at $3,000,000 and more. While until value of the stocks lost is fixed with more accuracy than at present it is almost impossible to give any very definite idea of the loss sustained, the fire chief is confident that $1,000,000 will be the outside limit.  Yesterday afternoon, Chief Davis took occasion to inform some Vancouver gentlemen who came over on the boat under the impression that the tales of poor water supply were accurate, that the contrary was the fact. These gentlemen, some of them interested in local property, were rather inclined to take a hostile attitude towards the Victoria supply and pressure, but the records taken during the progress of the fire considerably alleviated their feelings.  Will Assign No Cause  On the question of the cause of the blaze, Chief Davis could give no explanation.  “When the department arrived on the scene, within a minute an a half after the alarm from box 23 came in, the interior of the Spencer block was a furnace of flames, having worked up from the ground floor at the front and, sweeping through the mass of inflammable material, struck the top floor, breaking from the fourth story windows on the Broad street side. Within an incredibly short time it became apparent that it were useless to attempt to save the block and I directed attention to the Bownass and Melrose blocks on Broad street and the buildings adjoining Spencer’s on Government street. With the breeze and the sparks floating southwesterly, it soon became apparent that the Five Sisters Block was doomed. The whole efforts of the department after the Spencer block was doomed was to stop the spread of the flames as much as possible.  “The intense heat was too much for the men. No men could have worked harder or better and many times, after a hose has been run into an advantageous position for getting directly at the flames, the heat forced the hosemen to seek the street again.”  Chief Davis stated that altogether there were twenty-three streams in play, eight of which were hydrant streams from the high pressure system and these later proved an invaluable addition to the fire-fighting ability of the force. In fact, the chief declared that had the high pressure system not been brought into play there can be no doubt that the loss would have been vastly greater.  Praise for the Military.  To the soldiers from Work Point barracks, who marched 150 strong and rendered invaluable service in keeping the crowds in check, handling hose, and performing a hundred and one other acts which permitted the firemen to pay their sole attention to fighting the blaze, Chief Davis had nothing but praise. The local police under the direction of Chief Langley also rendered great assistance. To Mr. Weldon , proprietor of the Driard Hotel, who served the firemen with coffee, the force is indebted.  It was a tired body of men which sought sleep yesterday morning. It was not so much the length of time they were at work but the intense heat at the early portion of the fight combined with the chill from soaked clothing as the flames died out and the heat changed to cold were factors which pretty well broke down what remaining stamina the possessed.
1910-10-29ColonistView street – Fire of 1910Extending View Street  There is a good deal of talk on the streets about the advisability of opening a space between Broad and Government streets so as to extend View street to the latter. If the present width of View should be retained this would mean the demolition of the Times and the former Williams buildings and a portion of the block just south of Trounce Alley. The change would have a good many features. It would give a valuable frontage to the southern part of the block and to the buildings bordering on the alley. It would also be a great advantage in the matter of fire protection. It would be a very great convenience to street traffic of all kinds. It would be advantageous to all the property on lower View street. According to the city map, the southern line of View street would, if extended, come out opposite the southern line of Bastion, and would therefore give a straight route from the waterfront to School street, a feature that would likely to prove of very great value as the city increases and traffic upon Fort and Yates streets grows heavier. Indeed, it seems almost essential to the future requirements of Victoria that this improvement shall be made, and of course there is not likely to be a time when it can be done as cheaply as at present.
1910-11-02ColonistBridges Victoria, Rock Bay, View StreetNew Scheme of Civic Improvement  Bridge over Inner Harbour and View Street Extension is Taken Up By Council – Turn Down Board of Control  New problems in civic improvement, a bridge across the Inner Harbour from Johnson Street to the Songhees Reserve, the opening through of View Street to Government Street, and the creation of a board of control, were brought to the attention of the city council by Mayor Morely last night.  With regard to the bridge project a special committee of the council composed of the mayor and Alderman Sargison, Mable and Bannerman was appointed to act with the following gentlemen: Messrs. J.S.H. Matson, George McCandless, A.E. Todd and T.C. Sorby, the latter the secretary of the Inner Harbour Association.  A by-law will be prepared at once to authorize the expropriation of the necessary lands for continuing View street to Government street, the city engineer and assessor will report on the cost of such expropriation, and in the meantime, the building inspector will be instructed not to grant a permit for any building projected for the area which will be affected by the opening scheme.  The board of control idea was turned down , only the Mayor and Alderman Humber voting for it.  Mayor Morely urged that now that there is very little likelihood of the Songhees Reserve question being settled for all time, steps should be taken towards providing a bridge from the reserve to the foot of Johnson street. He had already secured a set of initial plans from the bridge company which some years ago offered to assist the city. A rough estimate of the cost of such a structure which would be paid for in part by the city and in part by the railways, had been secured, but His Worship did not state what that estimate was.  Alderman Mable suggested that it would be better to wait until the final negotiations with the Indians had been consummated. The reserve question had been in progress of settling for some months.  Alderman Sargison declared that it had been but within the past week that the matter was settled and Mr. J.S. H. Matson had done the whole work. It was due to his efforts that the longstanding tangle had been settled.  On the suggestion of the mayor the matter was referred to the committee named above.  View Street Extension  On the question of the View street extension through the recently burned area, the mayor stated that he had seen some of the owners and he did not think there would be any objection raised against the scheme. Some years ago the scheme had been suggested but at the time there was difficulty in that buildings were in the way. Now that difficulty does not exist. To continue the street would be advantageous to the business centre of the city in that it would give ready access to Government street and also relieve the congestion on Fort and Yates streets, and at the same time, improve the fire protection. If the View street owners would consent to widening that thoroughfare , then the proposed extension could be also widened, otherwise the extension would have to be the same width as the present street, sixty feet.
1910-11-03ColonistView Street FireThe Victoria Daily Colonist, November 3, 1910, p4 An Editorial  View Street.  Very great satisfaction was expressed yesterday when the proposed action of the city council in respect to the extension of View street to Government street became known. The universal opinion of the citizens appears to be that this work is imperatively necessary.  As a matter of public convenience it would be of great value. Trounce Alley is exceedingly useful for pedestrians, but it is not available for vehicular traffic. If Broad street were a straight thoroughfare, the argument for the extension of View would not be quite as strong as it is now from the standpoint of public convenience, but to get from Broad to Government it is necessary on the south to turn onto Fort which has a car-track on it and will always be the scene of congested traffic. On the north the first turning towards Government is onto Yates with its double car-track and the certainty that traffic will be even more congested in the future than it is now, and it is bad enough now.  There is no likelihood that a car line will ever be put on View street. There is one on Fort and one on Yates, and the latter may be extended before long – to a junction with the Fort street line. View being within half a minute’s walk of either of these lines there is not the slightest probability that any company will ever seek to put a car line on it. Therefore, the street is wide enough as it is, and the only necessary expense of the extension would be for the land to be acquired between Broad and Government, exclusive, of course, of the coast of making the street itself.  The frontage on the extension would be very valuable. Spencer’s would have from street to street, and Young’s would have half the northern side. We would undoubtedly see erected next year great blocks on both these properties and that on the north side would adjoin the block to be erected by the Union Bank. That the remainder of the frontage on the extension would be built on forthwith by the erection of a spacious modern structure may be taken for granted.  The effect of the above changes on the future of View street as it is at present would be hard to estimate, but certainly every foot of property on the street would appreciate quickly in value, in stead of being as it is now, a sort of orphan among streets, View would forge to the front rapidly. It would have on each side of it between Government and Broad fine retail establishments, between Broad and Douglas there would be the Driard and the improved and enlarged Vernon block as well as the McGregor block and the structure which is to replace the Victoria theatre. Crossing Douglas we would have on one side the Balmoral and on the other, the Sayward block, and then the fine structure of the Roman Catholic church. Next would come the Y.M.C.A. building. The remainder of the street is now bordered by properties available for improvement because the buildings upon them are inexpensive, in a few years View would be a modern thoroughfare in every particular.  The cost of the extension under the local improvement plan would extend over ten years, and it would not be felt by those contributing to it. We suppose the charge upon several properties would be on a sliding scale, those furthest from the extension paying the least.  We hope that nothing will interfere to prevent the immediate consummation of this highly important improvement, which would probably be of greater immediate advantage to victoria than anything now under consideration by the municipal authorities.
1911-01-08ColonistOcean ConstructionDaily Colonist, January 8, 1911. SHIPPING FIRM LOCATES HERE. Advent of Evans, Coleman and Evans Marked Recognition of Growing Importance of Victoria. Reference was made in the columns of the Colonist last week to the fact that the old pioneer shipping firm of Evans, Coleman and Evans Limited, of Vancouver, was about to establish a branch here. They have secured a lease from the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway of Pier “A” on very favourable conditions, and before the present month is over, they will be in full swing. The coming to Victoria of a house with their reputation and standing marks an important epoch in the commercial history of Vancouver Island, and emphasizes the contention that the future of the island is assured. Men of such marked business acumen do not pick out Victoria to be the seat of their first branch depot, without the fullest investigation, and Victoria has reason to congratulate itself at such a progressive concern is located here. The Evans Brothers started in Vancouver some 25 years ago, and by close attention to their field of action, combined with steady application and business integrity and conservatism, built up a trade and reputation second to none on the Pacific Coast. They have extensive docks and warehouse interests in Vancouver, are the agents of many lines of steamers, local as well as foreign, do a very large business in cement, plaster, bricks and everything in the general building line, they are importers of steel rails, gas, water and sewer pipes, as well as iron and steel products of all descriptions. They handle in a very extensive way cannery supplies of all kinds, also salt, pig iron, Calcutta bags, Hessian cloth and other articles too numerous to mention. Large stocks of all these commodities will be carried in Victoria. Local manager, Mr. H. J. Crowe, enters this field under very favourable auspices. He will be ably assisted by Mr. W. F. Salisbury, Jr., who has received his business training in the Vancouver office. Two well-known local men, Messrs. R. P. Buchart and Mr. F. S. Bernard, are Directors of the Corporation, their standing is well known, the other directors are residents of Vancouver, all businessmen of the highest class, Messrs. E. E. Evans (Pres.), P. W. Evans, William Farrell and A. L. Russell. Mr. Russell is managing Dir., and is known to be one of the best authorities on all matters pertaining to shipping and importing business in Canada. The secretary-treasurer of the Corporation is Mr. W. L. Martin, a recent arrival from San Francisco, formally manager of H. M. Newhall and Company, merchants and importers of the Bay City, and a man of very extensive business knowledge. Mr. T. M. Robertson, who is well and favourably known on the island as well as on the mainland is secretary-manager of the Evans, Coleman wharf Co., Limited in Vancouver. His recent promotion is a result of many years hard work, and a fit recognition of his ability. The large stocks a building material, etc., carried by the Company, and their knowledge of the requirements of a growing city should be of great assistance to the community, and facilitate and cheapen all building operations.
1911-01-17ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, January 17, 1911.  CITY ARCHITECTS AND THEIR PROTEST.  Take Exception to Location of Large Public Convenience at End of Causeway  – Want More Central Site.  That the choice of location for the proposed public convenience, the northwest corner of the Causeway and Wharf streets, is not suitable, and that if “such an eyesore” must be constructed it should be smaller than that contemplated by the Council, and a larger one built in a more central location, is the contention of the Victoria Association of Architects, which last night, in a communication from its secretary Mister P Leonard James, to the city Council, voiced its opinion in the following communication; “Gentlemen:  On behalf of the Victoria Association of Architects, which has offered its assistance in any matter of public improvement in our city, I am requested to direct your attention to the proposed comfort station under contemplation, and for which tenders are now being invited. “It is understood that the proposal is to place this at the northwest end of the Causeway at a cost of some $15,000, of a similar type to the comfort station in the lower part of Seattle. May we respectfully ask your consideration of the following points in connection with the proposal before concluding any contracts for the same. “One. Whether such a type of public convenience as may be suited to the lower end of a large commercial city like Seattle will be equally appropriate in such a conspicuous situation as a Causeway? “Two. If such an eyesore must be constructed in that locality, whether it cannot be of a very much smaller character and entered, say from the landing of the existing steps leading down to the water, and another and larger comfort station constructed further uptown any more central position, and on somewhat different lines? “Three. Before any definite steps are taken in the letting of a contract we would urge you to let the public have some idea what is proposed, as it appears to us that there will be very strong objection to putting one of the city’s small beauty spots to such an objectionable use.”  The above communication was received without comment and referred to Alderman Ross, Chairman of the building and surveys committee. Tenders for the erection of the public convenience were opened. These were from the following firms at the following prices:  For the plumbing, heating and ventilating them he: DR Menzies and Company, $6725; W born asked, $5000; Victoria Plumbing Company, $6904; Colbert Plumbing Company, 6000 $897,000; RJ Knott, $6832; JH Warner and son, $7000; Hayward and Dodds, $6601; A Sherritt, $6865.  Tenders for the erection of the buildings were received from the following: Dinsdale and Markham, $13,787; Parfitt Brothers, $16,493; Luney Brothers, $14,936; Thomas and Hodgson, $13,280; Farris and Barff, $12,718; city engineer, $12,893. The above tenders were referred to Alderman Ross, the city engineer and building inspector.
1911-01-22ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, January 22, 1911.  Cannot Change Site.  In regard to the recent protest of the Victoria Association of Architects relative to the location of the proposed public convenience at the northwest corner of the Causeway and Wharf Street the city solicitor has advised the city Council that as the bylaw under which the money for the erection of the convenience set forth the exact location where at the structure would be erected there can be no change of location unless on a vote of the ratepayers.
1911-02-05ColonistUnion ClubDaily Colonist, February 5, 1911.  Union Club Plans.  The Union Club committee appointed to select a set of plans for the new club building to be erected at the corner of Humboldt and Gordon streets, is gradually narrowing down its labors. Competitive plans have been received, not only from Victoria and Vancouver, but also from Seattle, Tacoma and San Francisco. The choice now lies between a couple of sets of plans and a final decision is expected within the next few days. Actual construction will commence probably in March, and it is anticipated that the club members will enter their new premises before the first day of 1912. Mister FM Rattenbury, the local architect, who is not one of the competitors, is acting in an advisory capacity to the committee which has the selection of the plans in hand.
1911-02-25ColonistUnion ClubDaily Colonist, February 25, 1911.  Plans for Union Club.  The name of the successful architect in the competition for plans for the new Union Club building to be erected at the corner of Humboldt and Gordon streets will be announced in the course of the next few days. The contract for the new structure which is to cost in the neighborhood of $135,000 will be let as soon as possible and the members hope to be installed in their new quarters by the end of the present year.
1911-03-11ColonistUnion ClubDaily Colonist, March 15, 1911.  Commence Work on New Union Club.  Plans for Structure Call for Expenditure of $150,000  San Francisco Architect the Successful Competitor.  The construction of the new Union Club building on the site recently acquired at the corner of Humboldt and Gordon streets will be commenced within the next few weeks, and it is anticipated that the club will be ready for occupation before the end of the year. The structure will comprise four storys, costing $150,000. All the financial arrangements have been made, and the architect, Mister Loring D Rixford of San Francisco, whose plans have been adjudged successful a mount a number submitted from different Pacific Coast points, will arrive in the city during the next few days.  The new Union Club will be a beautiful structure in the refined I tell you in style. It will occupy a floorspace of 100 ft.² even the space of 20 feet all round which will be put into gardens. The main entrance will be on Gordon Street, and it is intended that the entire building will be reserved for club uses. More bedroom accommodation will be provided, a large ballroom will be one of the features, and the dining rooms billiard room, card and reading rooms will be much more commodious than in the Douglas Street structure.  The architect, Mister Loring D Rixford, of San Francisco, is a graduate of the Ecole de Beaux Arts, of Paris, and was responsible for the plans upon which the Bohemian club of San Francisco, one of the finest……? (to faint to read
1911-03-17ColonistFairfield BlockDaily Colonist, March 17, 1911. Investors by on Douglas Street. Two Sites Change Hands at an Aggregate Price of $120,000. Messrs. Grant and Linehan, Realty Agents, have purchased the northeast corner of Douglas and Cormorant streets, with a 90-foot frontage on the former thoroughfare for $90,000. Is the purpose of the purchasers to put in three new stores on the ground floor of the premises occupying that site and generally to renovate the building.
1911-04-29ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, April 29, 1911.  REFUSES TO MEET COMPANY’S WISHES.  City Will Not Make Changes in Public Convenience As Demanded by Securities Corporation.  If the changes which have been suggested by the city in the original plans of the public convenience now in the course of erection at the northwest corner of the Causeway and Wharf Street do not prove acceptable to the British Canadian Securities Company, which contemplates erecting handsome business quarters immediately west of the lot owned by the city whereon the convenience is being erected, then the city will carry out the original plans irrespective of the company and its wants.  Sometime ago after work had been commenced by the contractors, Messieurs Ferris and Barff, the company sued the city for a declaration that the property on which the convenience was being erected was a Street, and asked an injunction restraining the city from proceeding with the work. When the argument on the injunction came up for hearing it was suggested that the city and Company endeavored to get together and make some settlement by a rearrangement of the building, which would be satisfactory to the Company. The latter suggested that the steps leading down to the interior of the convenience be placed on the Government side of the city’s lot, and not on the inside of the lot immediately in front of the proposed building to be erected. This work it was found would cost about $600, but when the city solicitor offered to recommend it to the city Council the company later altered its suggestion, and asked that an entirely new plan be taken to which the city engineer and plumbing Inspector were unable to agree, these officials taking the position that the area is too restricted and the approaches, as proposed, would prove awkward. The city thereupon again offered to adopt the original suggestion of the Company, that is to change the location of the stairways but the company, through its solicitors, responded they will not accept this proposition of a arrangement of stairways, and will be obliged to oppose the work altogether. If, however, the city will abandon the entire project of a public convenience at that locality the company will defray the costs of work already done on a fair basis of valuation, and in case of disagreement as to valuation, will submit to arbitration to determine the amount.  The city solicitor explained at last night’s meeting of the Council that the contractors one $12,000 to abandon the work already done, though of this amount a good deal represents supplies on order which would be serviceable elsewhere.  Alderman Humber urged that the work be proceeded with as first contemplated with the change in the stairways, but no further change, and Alderman Langley saw no reason why the company should object to the convenience being located there. In other cities no complaint is made of conveniences in locations just as close to find structures. The company, he believed had ample time to protest before operations had commenced. At any rate the location cannot be changed since the ratepayers by vote chose the present one.  The company will be informed of the Council’s decision along the line of Alderman Humber’s motion.
1911-05-06ColonistProvincial PoliceDaily colonist May 6, 1911.  Question of Duty.  Rev.G.R.B Kinney Materially Modifies His Charges against Provincial Constable. Chief Constable Bunbury has concluded an investigation at Hedley, under instructions from the Atty. Gen.’s Department, into charges of neglect of duty on the part of Constable Sproule, preferred by Rev. G.R.B Kinney, who had written to the Department specifying certain particulars wherein he considered the Constable had shown culpable negligence. Among the things complained of was “allowing the death of the late T. Atherton to be brought about through alcoholism at the Hotel Similkameen, and permitting drunkenness to go on generally in the town unchecked.” The complainant also averred that the Constable was “hand in glove the red light district,” and “unable, or too different to cope with the situation.” Under cross-examination Rev. Mr. Kinney materially modified his charges, and expressed a high opinion of Mr. Sproule in all things except performance of his official duty. The result of the investigation appears to be that Rev. Mr. Kinney was somewhat indiscreet in the language employed in his letter of complaint, which conveyed a graver meeting than he intended it to. Mr. Bunbury’s report will be made through Superintendent Hussey very shortly.
1911-05-06ColonistProvincial PoliceDaily Colonist, May 6, 1911.  Provincial Police Changes.  The following changes in and resignations from the provincial police force have recently been made: Constable Robert Webster, of Stewart, is transferred to Atlin; Constable Whiteman, of Nelson, goes to Stewart; and Constable Dinsmore, of Stewart, becomes Chief Constable in the Boundary district, succeeding Chief Constable Bunbury, resigned. Constable Hickman, of Nass River, is also residing to go into business on his own account, his successor having yet to be selected.
1911-06-22ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, June 22, 1911.  Before Gregory. J.  British Columbia Securities Company Vs. Corporation of the City of Victoria:  Action for a Declaration That Lot One, Section 70, Victoria City, is a part of the public highway. This property comprises that portion of the approach to the James Bay Causeway where it is proposed to erect what is known as the public convenience. There is also asked a declaration that the said proposed public convenience is a public nuisance, as well as a private nuisance to the plaintiff, and it is prayed that an injunction be granted restraining any further proceeding with the building and that the excavations already made be filled up.  In the case being opened McDiarmid for the municipality, submitted that plaintiffs had no status to bring the action on the first two heads, as in both the case of an roach but upon public streets or question affecting the ownership of same, and also as the abatement of a public nuisance, the Attorney General is a necessary party; and as to the complaint of the proposed structure being a private nuisance, the plaintiff has in law suffered no damage as he has not moved to quash the bylaw authorizing the building.  These been objections, which if sustainable, were fatal to the action, an adjournment was taken until the afternoon to enable the plaintiff to look up the authorities on the questions raised. After argument, judgment on the point was reserved, and it was decided to proceed on the merits. Hanington and Jackson for the plaintiffs, McDiarmid for the Corporation.
1911-07-02ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, July 2, 1911.  Regrettable Circumstance.  The information, which we give this morning, that the Dominion Trust company has decided to abandon its proposed building near the end of the Causeway, because it was unsuccessful in preventing the erection of a public convenience immediately adjoining it, will be unpleasant reading to the citizens. It is the first setback that had occurred in the progress of the city. We have on a former occasion protested against the erection by the city of the structure now approaching completion there, but to no avail. Nearly every person, with any pretensions to good taste or an eye to the fitness of things, was opposed to it, but someone, we shall not say who, was determined to go ahead, and the consequence is that we will have an eyesore instead of a fine office building. It is altogether too bad.
1911-07-25ColonistCauseway Daily Colonist, July 25, 1911.  Excerpt regarding railway to Ogden point. Harbour Railway Company.  “   provides that the plan shall be approved by the city, that the track shall be carried upon a cement foundation upon piles at a level as close as practical to high water and is close to the bottom of the causeway wall as feasible with a stone coping on the outer side, the tracks to be laid level with the surface of the emplacement. such plans shall carry as practical later development the construction of an outer wall similar in construction to the appearance with the present wall of the causeway and closed in between with an overhead will walk forming a cement plaza with only such openings therein as necessary for ventilation and light and until the entire construction has been carried out the company shall not operate cars over this causeway between the hours of 8 am and 9 pm.
1911-07-30ColonistUnion ClubDaily Colonist, July 30, 1911.  “A photograph of the new union club as it will appear when completed.”  The new home of the Union Club of Victoria is to occupy the lot on the northeast corner of Gordon and Humboldt Street, have a frontage of 146 feet on Gordon Street and 125 feet 4 inches on Humboldt. It will be a handsome buildings of four stories in height of brick and terra-cotta. The lower two stories will contain the club rooms proper while the two upper stories will contain forty-eight rooms for members.  The building will be entered from the Gordon Street front by a flight of granite steps leading to a large terrace 50 feet in length from which will be obtained an unobstructed view of the Empress hotel grounds, the Parliament buildings and the harbour. From the terrace one enters a vestibule and a spacious foyer, which in turn leads to a large central lounging room, 50 feet long and 27 feet wide, lighted from above by ceiling lights of leaded glass. In the rear of this lounge is placed a large billiard room accommodating six English billiard tables, also lighted from above.  On the Humboldt Street front the architect, Mister Loring P Rixford has provided a magnificent reading room 90 feet long and 33 feet wide off of which, in the shape of a projecting bay, will be located the silent reading room,  a special dancing floor will be provided in this main reading room, which may be at times used as a ballroom  the first floor will also contain a spacious bar, and the necessary coat room, lavatories, visitors’ rooms, etc.  The dining room will be located on the ground floor and will be approached from the first floor by a magnificent staircase in oak. Provision is also made on this floor for a ladies parlor and dining room with special entrance on Humboldt Street, and a private dining room with special entrance on Gordon Street. The large foyer on the ground will communicate with four large card rooms.  The kitchen service will be spacious and modern in their equipment and will communicate with a yard 25 feet wide to the north of the buildings with driveway, where tradesmen’s wagons may enter.  The entire building will be fireproof construction with reinforced concrete frame, and will be beautifully finished in the interior in hardwood. It will cost in the neighborhood of two hundred thousand dollars.
1911-08-01ColonistCraigflower SchoolhouseDaily Colonist – August 1. 1911  Craigflower School Operating Costs. Extract from the entire report  Financial Statement of the Saanich School Board for the year ending December 31, 1910  Craigflower School – Salary: $720; Repairs: $103.30; Janitor: $28.00; Incidentals: $13.05; Furniture: $24.25; Fuel: $12.75 Total – $901.35
1911-08-26ColonistUnion Club Daily Colonist, August 26, 1911.  New Union Club.  The Sound Construction Company will commence the work of building the new Union Club at the corner of Humboldt Street and Gordon Street Monday next.
1911-08-27ColonistCraigflower SchoolhouseDaily Colonist, August 27, 1911  Make Quarters of vacant School.  During the summer holidays some person or persons have been rusticating in the Craigflower school and, from the precautions which they took to be ready for an interruption of their tenancy, they would appear to have lived in fear of some physical violence. On Thursday afternoon when Mrs. Harding, the teacher, and a party of friends visited the school to ascertain in what condition the place was, found visible signs of the presence of intruders. All the drawers and cupboards in the building, which, during the school term is also the residence of the teacher, had been forced open and contents scattered about the rooms. A revolver and gun belonging to Mrs. Harding’s brother, left in one of the rooms, were found loaded, shells standing beside the kitchen door, a revolver beside the head of the bed. A half-witted Negro was discovered sleeping in the place, but he denied all knowledge of the identity of the persons who had occupied the place previous to himself. He was taken in charge and brought to the police station.
1911-09-10ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, September 10, 1911.  INJUNCTION NOT ALLOWED BY COURT.  But Amicable Settlement of the Trouble over Construction of Public Convenience Has Been Arrived at.  After all the trouble between the city and the Dominion Trust company about the location of the public convenience at the corner of Government and Wharf streets, a difficulty which eventually led the company to apply for an injunction against the city in an effort to prevent the city from further work of construction, the company’s application was yesterday denied by Mister Justice Gregory who dismissed the injunction.  The Dominion Trust Company, when it first expressed its intention of erecting a building upon Lot 2, the property line west of the plot of ground owned by the city, applied to the city for a change in the plans of the convenience. Finally, the city proceeded with it’s erection, but offered, after work had commenced, to make certain changes in the entrances. This did not prove satisfactory to the Trust Company, which sought legal means of preventing the city from proceeding with the erection of the convenience.  In the meantime, Mister Rorison purchased the property of the Dominion Trust Company, and at a recent meeting of the city Council he agreed, should the city make the alterations in the entrances along the same lines as those offered to the Trust Company, he would pay any cost of such alterations. Yesterday morning, before the judgment of Mister Justice Gregory was delivered, Mister Rorison and the city solicitor met and came to an explicit understanding to that effect. Such agreement ends the difficulty and within three weeks’ time Mister Rorison will proceed with the erection upon his property of a Hansom business block which will have an elevation on Wharf Street of six stories and eight stories on the waterfront side. New building, plans for which are now being prepared, will be in keeping with the surrounding structures and will be a decided acquisition to the general scheme around the Causeway waterfront.
1911-09-28ColonistCraigflower SchoolDaily Colonist September 28, 1911. Parliament Square Completing Arrangements for Moving Back Provincial Mineral Museum. Expedition is being shown by the contractors for the new southern, eastern, and western blocks on Parliament Square. Messrs. Macdonald & Wilson of Vancouver, who already have their office premises well advanced toward completion on Superior street and also have practically completed arrangements for the moving back of the historic old Legislative Hall, latterly utilized as a Provincial Mineral Museum. For the time being this is to be placed immediately in front of the new south façade and library on Superior street. It is expected that later a permanent site will be secured to which the old red brick pagoda-style structure will be carefully transferred, it historic value saving it from destruction. Arrangements will also be made for the preservation of the old Craigflower school, when that celebrated landmark has also been replaced by a modern schoolhouse, upon which contractors are now estimating.
1911-09-28ColonistCraigflower Legislature haddingtonDaily Colonist, September 28, 1911.  Parliament Square  Completing Arrangements for Moving Back Provincial Mineral Museum.  Expedition is being shown by the contractors for the new southern, eastern and western blocks on Parliament Square. Messrs. McDonald and Wilson of Vancouver, who already have at their office premises well advanced toward completion on Superior Street and also have practically completed arrangements for the moving back of the historic old Legislative Hall, latterly utilized as a Provincial Mineral Museum. For the time being this is to be placed immediately in front of the new South façade and library on Superior Street. It is expected that later a permanent site will be secured to which the old red brick pagoda-style structure will be carefully transferred, its historic value saving it from destruction. Arrangements will also be made for the preservation of the old Craigflower School, when that celebrated landmark has also been replaced by a modern school house, upon which contractors are now estimating.
1911-10-20ColonistUnion ClubImportant Building Programme Here  Sound Construction Company at Present Engaged on New Union Club and View Street Block  Two of the largest building contracts now under way in the city are being undertaken by the Sound Construction Company, which has earned a high reputation wherever it has carried out work. The contracts in question are the new Union Club at the corner of Gordon and Humboldt streets and the central block being erected for Messrs. Elliott, MacLean, Shandley, and McPherson on Broad and View streets. The former calls for an expenditure of $200,000 and the latter in the neighbourhood of $150,000. Mr John Hastle, who is the vice-president and managing director of the Sound Contracting and Engineering company, is a Canadian, born in Huron County, Ontario. It is twenty-five years ago since he first visited Victoria at a time when he was engaged on the Construction of the Canadian Pacific railway. He is amazed at the progress which the city and the island have made since that time an he predicts a continuous era of prosperity for this part of the province.  Three years ago the Sound Construction company was formed under the supervision of Mr. Hastle, its paid up capital being $200,000. It has been successful in securing a number of important contracts, the first in British Columbia being the New Westminster Trust company’s block in the Royal City which is of steel and concrete and will cost when finished $200,000. The company has the reputation of being thorough and holds the record on the sound for finishing its work in every instance before the contract time expires. It has put in tenders for a number of important works in different parts of the province and claims to be in a position to handle ten as rapidly as one at he same time. The new Union Club will be finished before next summer is over while the block at the corner of View and Broad streets will be completed at an even earlier date.
1911-10-28ColonistRoyal TheatrePlan to Build Modern Theatre  Syndicate of Well-Known Local Business Men Secure Site at Blanchard and Broughton Streets  The site for a new proposed new theatre has been acquired on the corner of Blanchard and Broughton streets, the Hanington property recently occupied by the Aberdeen boardinghouse, by a syndicate which includes the following well-known Victorians; Messrs J. Herrick McGregor, D.R. Ker, F.M. Rattenbury, F.H. Pemberton, R.P. Rithet, W.T. Williams, J. Musgrave, J.W. Spencer, R.F. Taylor, D.W. Rogers, J.A. Mara, A.J. O’Reilly, Dr. T. F. Stanler, Messrs Green and Burdick Bros., and Messrs McPherson and Fullerton. The members of the syndicate will become the provisional, and probably the permanent board of a joint stock company to be formed with capital in the neighbourhood of $250,000 to take over the site and construct a modern theatre.  Plans are being prepared by Mr. W. D’O Rochfort in association with an eminent theatrical expert for a five-storey theatre building.  It will not only include a modern theatre but also stores on the Blanchard and Broughton Street fronts and an apartment house, the intention being ultimately to convert the suites of rooms in the apartment house into offices, and in the grill room a good grill will be provided.  The theatre will not be sacrificed in any way for the apartment house, and provision is made for a house in keeping with the requirements of the rapidly growing city.  The stage as shown on the plan will be twice as large as that of the Victoria theatre, capable of handling all the scenery of the largest of the road attractions, and a seating capacity will be between 1400 and 1500, about 400 or a 500 more than that of the present Victoria theatre.  A feature will be the placing of tip chairs in the upper gallery, where seats can be reserved as in any other part of the house.  With a large canopy over the sidewalk so that patrons may step from a carriage under its shelter, and a large foyer the theatre will present an attractive view and will be up-to-date in every respect.  Ample provision is made for fire protection, the exits been large and numerous.  The proposed building, five storeys in height, will be of reinforced concrete with pressed brick facing.  The ground floor fronts will be occupied by five stores on Blanchard Street and several on Broughton Street.  There will be a big scenery deck at the rear.  It is announced that Messrs D. Spencers, Ltd., have agreed to allow the present theatre to continue open until May 30 in order that the management may care for the attractions that have been booked, and also to allow of the Ladies Musical Club and the Arion club completing their programmes for the season, the theatre being the only structure suitable for their concerts.
1911-11-12ColonistRoyal TheatreArticle preceded by sketch of interior of new theatre by Sankey dated 1911. Interior changed later in course of re-design.  Soon Start on Modern Theatre  Plans for Victoria’s New Playhouse Is Well Underway and Promoters Look for Start in Few Months  The new Victoria opera house, to be erected upon the site recently purchased at the corner of Broughton and Blanchard Street, at a cost of over $150,000, will within a few months the assuming shape, as the proposition is now well underway.  The prospective gives an idea of the interior of the artistically-lined new playhouse.  The new Theatre will be one of the few theatres built upon the Pacific coast, in which the type of decoration follows any particular of period of design, and as the French Renaissance is a style which lends itself most gracefully to the conventional ornament of the drama itself, this is the style which will be adopted.  The beautiful sinuous curves of the acanthus leaf, the graceful looping of the festoon and garlands, the conventional masks of comedy and tragedy; in fact all the exquisite ornament of this exquisite style will be harmoniously grouped and subdued in colour tone to make it a rich warm inviting theatre.  The theatre proper will be entered through a marble lobby, elliptical in plan, with ticket office and manager’s office situated at the right-hand side of the entrance, and a flower store and candy store at the left side of the entrance.  Passing through the lobby one will enter the foyer, which will cross at the rear of the pit and have four entrances to the same.  From the foyer access will be gained to the balcony by an incline of such low-grade that one will scarcely realise they have risen a matter of fifteen feet from the ground.  This incline will lend one on a double-width aisle which bisects the balcony, and which is provided with a generous exit-way to the street on either side of the building, Exits are also provided on both sides of the building at the lowest point of the balcony and at the rear of the second tier of boxes.  From the pit there will be six emergency exits beside the entrance doors, three in number, which will of course, be exits as well.  The gallery is reached by a flight of steps so arranged that seven steps only will be used between landings, making the ascent as easy as possible.  The gallery will be provided with two emergency exits on each side so that the entire theatre could be cleared in one minute of every occupant.  There will be a four-storey apartment house at one side of the theatre; this building will be provided with seven apartments on each floor, and each apartment will have separate bath and kitchen.  The apartment will be entirely cut off from the noise of the theatre by heavy brick walls, and a light shaft, which makes a separate building, but access for fire exits will be gained at every story of the apartment building at the level of the theatre from which the exit comes, so that persons using these exits will have two solid brick walls interposed between them in any danger which might be in the theatre.  Will Revive Green Room Period  Beneath the portion of the building covered by the apartments will be placed four stores and a buffet; access may be hand through the gentleman to smoking room, which is situated on the ground storey.  A ladies retiring room will be provided halfway up the balcony incline, and available from either balcony or pit.  In addition to the features mentioned above it is the intention of the management to revive the “green room” one so popular in all theatres on the continent, and a provision has been made for at this time-honoured institution.  The basement beneath the apartment building is to be arranged for a strictly “after the theatre bird and a bottle” restaurant of the highest order, and beneath the approaches of their theatre a well proportioned a billiard room or hall will be provided.  The theatre will be heated and ventilated by the most thorough fan system which has yet been devised, the fresh air being brought into the theatre from a point above the roof, Passed over tempering coils which will heat it without scorching, and force this heated fresh air into every crevice of the auditorium by a powerful electrically driven fan; the fan will have such capacity that the air pressure inside the theatre will be one-fourth pound greater than the outside air, which means that instead of the air coming into the building from the outside the super-heated and vitilated air on the inside will force out through every crack anc crevice besides the regular ventilating flues provided.  This system is also available for summer productions to cool the air in the building, the fresh air being forced over blocks of ice provided in the phlenhem chamber instead of the heat coils used in the winter, so that temperature on the very hottest day will be as mild as spring weather in the auditorium.  The proscenium opening will be forty feet in width, and the stage thirty-six feet in depth, with every fly gallery, rigging loft, spot bridge, smoke ventilator, sprinkling system, paint bridge, and scene dock provided, of such size and fitness as to accommodate the largest road production, so that the citizens of Victoria will never again have to see an admirable production curtailed for want of stage room to produce it.  The Building’s Construction  The construction of the theatre will be thoroughly fireproof throughout, with a steel skeleton carrying the brick walls for all exterior portions and reinforced concrete floor slab and interior partitions. The balcony and gallery will be of the type known as ‘cantilever construction’ and there will not be a single column inside the theatre to obstruct the view from any point of the house.  Special care has been given to the design of the seat spacing and the sight lines so that each purchaser of a seat is guaranteed a clear and absolute view of every part of the performance.  The boxes will be arranged three tiers high, and will project so far into the stage opening that a view of the entire stage is to be had from any seat in any one of them.  The Architects  Mr Rochfort, the architect who has been awarded this work, has gained the valuable assistance of Mr. E.W. Sankey, an expert theatrical architect, who has had under his charge or has been employed as assistant upon the design of a large number of the modern theatres of the coast built in the last four years, among them being the new K. And E. Theatre, the Metropolitan opera house at Seattle, the Portland theatre and the American music hall at Spokane. Mr Rochfort is a well and favourably known architect in this city.
1911-11-21Colonistlegislative parliament rattenbury haddingtonDaily Colonist, November 21, 1911.  Resume Excavating  The weather having improved, Messieurs MacDonald and Wilson, the contractors for the erection of the new legislative block, have resumed the work of excavating for the foundations. Horse-drawn scoops are utilized to remove the earth, which owing to the character of the ground, is comparatively light work.
1911-11-21ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, November 21, 1911.  Completing Convenience  The public convenience at the northern end of the James Bay Causeway is in such a stage of completion as to permit of the tearing down of the fences which enclosed it from the streets during the process of construction. The structure cost in the neighbourhood of $20,000 and was erected by Messieurs Ferris and Barff.
1911-12-23  Daily Colonist, December 23, 1911.  ROLLERSKATING RINK BURNED.  Structure on Fort Street and Dwelling Adjoining Destroyed in Early Morning Fire– Origin Unknown.  The Fort Street skating rink and one dwelling house were completely demolished last night by fire. Two other houses were damaged. Occurring within a few minutes of midnight the outbreak was accompanied by all the excitement of a night alarm, and almost as soon as the syren of the fire brigade announced the fact that it was on the way to the scene a throng of spectators began to congregate from all parts of the city to witness the fight, the fire having had a great start before a high wind.  Although it was impossible last night to obtain an estimate of the damage it would approximate $12,000.  Until 2 o’clock this morning the skating rink and one house were demolished and the firemen under the guidance of Chief Davis had saved the adjoining dwellings. The rink had houses on three sides of it, and the south east, on Fort Street, to the east on Vancouver Street and to the northwest on View Street.  The house completely destroyed belong to Mrs. Truesdale, an old feeble woman who had to be assisted out of bed and downstairs to the street where she watched the loss of her home. Mrs. Gelt, a young woman, whose house adjoined that of Mrs. Truesdale and Miss Christie, whose house adjoined the rink on View Street, also got out safely. Mr. Levy’s residence on Vancouver Street was ignited but a hose was rapidly brought to play upon it with the happy result that it was preserved. The residence of Mr. George Stelly, view Street, was also saved by drenching.  As far as could be gathered in the excitement there was only one death; that of a little dog belonging to a young member of the Christie family, who made a valiant attempt to rescue it and had to be restrained from incurring unnecessary risk to his own life. The boy had apparently forgotten about the animal being in the house until the flames rendered entrance positively dangerous.  Origin Mysterious.  How the fire started it is impossible to state at this time but from the evidence of witnesses who were on the spot the fire appeared to have its inception in the front of the building, at the Fort Street end. Perhaps the first to see the fire was young Christie who works in the rink as an attendant. He endeavored to get in but as the door was locked and barred he could not affect an entrance. A few minutes later Alderman Moresby and Mr. Arthur Courtney, who were passing observed the flames. At that time the fire had not broken through but was raging within at a great pace. Two other men were on the scene at the time and they all apply their shoulders to the door but without result.  Alderman Moresby sprinted at top speed up Vancouver Street to send in the alarm. An alarm was also phoned in from Mrs. Truesdale’s house.  Within a minute the brigade arrived. The interval, though very short had been sufficient for the flames to obtain an unconquerable grip of the rink and as the firemen reached the spot the building was a leaping mass of flames not in any one particular part but from end to end. A strong squally wind from the east lifted the flames in myriad sparks over the adjoining properties and for a considerable time it seemed that that section of the city was in imminent danger of total destruction. People on Vancouver Street, about 100 yards away from the actual fire, began to clear out their domestic effects.  Many Incidents.  In this respect the fire was a tragic one, revealing many a pathetic incident and many a kindly action. On the Fort Street and Mrs. Truesdale’s house was the first to go. The wind flashed the flames from the burning rink onto its roof and gave it no chance of escape despite the efforts of the firemen. Realizing the peril in which the house stood, several people rushed to the door and gave the alarm, and then followed a scene of pathos as the residence, an old lady, clad for retiring, and a young son, were brought out to the street and safety. As soon as they were in the custody of friends on the other side of the street, a band of spectators entered the house and succeeded in rescuing practically all of the furniture.  In the adjoining house, occupied by Miss Gelk, similar salvage was performed. At the other end of the rink on View Street, a similar fight was going on to protect the Christie House, and here again the efforts of the firemen are partially successful, the house being badly charred but not altogether destroyed. But for the adoption of drastic methods, all of the houses attacked by the flames would have been destroyed.  On the west side of the rink which was rapidly burning itself to tender and brick work is situated the Everett motor garage but as the wind was blowing directly away from it to the east the shell -like structure was preserved from the ruin that would certainly have over taking it at the wind being less consistent with the walls of the rink stood close up to those of the shop, so much so that until that part of the rink had burnt itself out it was not safe to leave it without a hose playing.  Covered by Insurance.  Insurance is believed to have covered the rink and part of the residential property. Mrs. Truesdale’s house was reported to be uninsured but the furniture was protected. The Christie House was reported to be insured to some extent. As no definite information could be obtained it is impossible to estimate the actual loss suffered by the occupants.  Considering all the difficulties that had to be met with, the brigade did well in checking the fire. Owing to the scarcity of nearby hydrants water had to be brought from about a block away and the hose swung around inconvenient corners. A large part of the brigade was turned out on three alarms.  The public behaved splendidly, helping to rescue furniture when that operation was safe and necessary remaining out of the way of the firemen when the critical periods were being passed.  In addition to the fire itself another danger threatened to break loose for a time. This was the overhead wires, passing down in front of the burning rink from which the flames leapt out to the wire standard and threatened to restore it and bring its load of live wire to the ground. Recognizing the danger, the fire chief had a line of hose play upon one poll while a linesman took the precaution to cut those on the next would seem to be in even greater peril from its proximity to the house of Mrs. Truesdale.
1911-12-29ColonistCraigflower SchoolhouseDaily Colonist, December 29, 1911.  WOULD PRESERVE OLD SCHOOLHOUSE.  Honourable Dr. Young Suggest That Craigflower Building Be Kept As Relic of Crown Colony Days.  Now that the handsome new public school at Craigflower provided by the Provincial government to meet the growing demands of that particular section is rapidly advancing toward completion, considerable speculation is rife as to the action to be taken by the Minister of education with respect to the old building, a familiar landmark on the most traveled suburban thoroughfare of British Columbia and which has recently been outgrown by the educational necessities of the district. Under ordinary circumstances the old building would be unceremoniously razed or else sold and the proceeds turned in to augment the general revenues of the education department. This particular building, however, possesses historical importance entitling it to careful preservation is one of the landmarks in British Colombia’s progressive development.  It is in the first public school of Vancouver Island or of British Columbia, the Pioneer School of all, of which Robert Barr was headmaster, having been established within the Hudson’s Bay Company for enclosure a disappearing with the demolition of the company’s original stockade and pioneer log buildings along the inner Harbour front the Craigflower School has been in continuous use since earliest Crown colony days on Vancouver Island and is in fact the original public school of this westernmost Canadian province.  It is therefore held to be only fit and proper that it should be preserved for posterity and one suggestion offered for the consideration of Hon. Dr. Young is that it be maintained as it stands, in its attractive location on upper Victoria Arm, provided with a suitable historical memorial plate, and utilized as a gymnasium and for manual training classes in connection with the work of the modern school now building. The suggestion at least is worthy of ministerial consideration.
1912-01-07ColonistUnion ClubAdvertisement on page 19 regarding the old Union Club being for sale on the corner of Douglas and Courtney. Lot 96 x 180 feet. Price 160,000. Terms can be arranged
1912-02-23ColonistYoung Building Normal schoolDaily Colonist, February 23, 1912.  Within a Report on the Provincial Estimates.  $135,000 for a new Normal School in this city.  Another appropriation in which Victoria directly and vary greatly interested is that of $125,000 for the establishment of a Normal School here.
1912-02-29ColonistCraigflowerDaily Colonist, February 29, 1912.  Craigflower School.  Premier McBride and Honourable Doctor Young to Attend Opening of New Building.  The new Craigflower School will be formally opened today at 3 PM and both Premier McBride and Honourable Doctor Young will be in attendance at the ceremony. The event will mark the passing of a structure historical in the educational annals of the province. It is over fifty years since the old schoolhouse near the Craigflower Bridge was attended by pupils and there is probably no similar institution in British Columbia which remained standing for so long. The principal of the new school is Mrs. Harding.
1912-03-26ColonistVictoria Union ClubDaily Colonist, March 26, 1912. Editorial  Victoria the Beautiful.   Victoria will shortly have one of the finest architectural centers on the continent and one that will be difficult to surpass anywhere when account is taken of the manner in which the structures will be grouped. The scene from the harbour will be a remarkable one. Entering on a steamer, the majestic block of the Empress will be in front. On the right will be the fine structure about to be erected for offices by the Canadian Pacific. Next on the right will be the Parliament buildings; next will come the great hotel which the Grand Trunk Pacific is going to build. On the left there will be the Post Office and Immediately across from It and on the same side of the Causeway, a fine modern building the height of which we do not know: next on the left will be the Belmont Block, and next the beautiful structure now being erected for the Union Club. The effect of these fine buildings will be enhanced by the water stretch where the yachts lie, the graceful embankment and the beautiful lawns with trees and flowers which will surround the Parliament Buildings and the two hotels. It will combine to make a wonderful picture, when viewed between the towers of the bascule bridge at Laurel Point. Victoria the Beautiful will then have a gateway that will be the admiration of the world. When the sun paints the clouds over the Sooke Hills and tends to distant Olympics with rose color the scene will take on a new beauty. When night comes and thousands of lights illuminate the buildings and long lines of clustered lamps radiate in every direction, it will be like something seen in dreams.
1912-05-05ColonistChurch of St. John the Divine“Lays corner stone of St. John’s church.” 2 photos and article  – architect’s draawing. Also photo of Rectory on on page 7. 
1912-05-07ColonistCampbell Building – VictoriaDrawing and article regarding the contract let for the Campbell Building – SE corner of Fort And Douglas – Thomas Hooper – Architect.
1912-05-13ColonistNew Method laundryNew building at 1015 – 1017 North Park
1912-05-22ColonistBlemont BlockExcavating for Rorison Building (now Belmont Block) a ten-story brick and terra cotta structure at Government and Belmont
1912-05-27ColonistNewcastle island QuarryGood photographs of workers in the quarry at Newcastle Island, Nanaimo – Article talks of quarry works, etc. King was photographer.
1912-06-07ColonistYoung Building CamosunDaily Colonist June 7, 1912.  Time Extended   — The time for receiving competitive designs for the provincial normal school be erected at Victoria, has been extended to 1 August. This extension has been made by the minister of education because of representations made by some architects that the time originally allowed for the preparation of plans was not sufficient.
1912-06-09ColonistVictoria West Methodist ChurchDrawing of Victoria West Methodist Church to be constructed at McPherson and Fullerton streets – Architect D.C. Fraine.
1912-06-21ColonistCity of Victoria PermitsPermits for JUne 1912 – Over half million – mentions Max Lieser – permit for hotel at corner of Blanshard and Johnson (was the site of the Klondike Hotel) Brick and terra cotta – Architect – Thomas Hooper – Contractors – Anderson and Andrews
1912-06-22ColonistRoyal Theatre Theatre Project Is Far Advanced.`  Victoria Will Have Model Opera House If Present Plans Are Successful.  Important Meeting on Monday.  That Victoria must have a theatre that will just be a little better than any on the Pacific Coast in its appearance, accommodation and appointments was the decision reached at a meeting of prominent citizens interested in the project held yesterday afternoon at the Board of Trade rooms.  Mr. Simon Leiser, who occupied the chair, made a most satisfactory report.  He was glad to be in a position to say that, after having been identified with two unavailing efforts to secure an adequate institution of the kind for the city, all those approached on the subject now not only admitted the pressing need of a new opera house, but were willing to do all possible to aid in securing it.  The stock, he said, was almost all subscribed.  There was, however, still a sum to be obtained before it would be possible to commence the construction of the building in mind — one that would be a credit to British Columbia’s capital and to the popular tourist resort of the Pacific Northwest.  Not only the chairman but every one of the well-known businessmen in attendance was in the most optimistic frame of mind, having before them practical evidence of the substantial support of many of their fellow citizens.  They said that the people were beginning to understand the necessity of having something done without loss of time to rid Victoria of the stigma of possessing an auditorium so small, both in respect to its stage and its seating capacity, as to be unable to accommodate the more important of the season’s theatrical attractions.  One of those present said: “The discomfort which audiences have put up with in the present makeshift building will soon be troubles of the past, and we shall be able to enjoy them and be able to offer, as an inducement to visitors, the best theatrical talents in comfortable surroundings.”  On Monday at the Board of Trade rooms another meeting of those who are taking a close and an active interest in the proposal will be held when final arrangements will be discussed.  As stated, although the subscriptions up to date have the most encouraging, the amount that is needed to realize Victoria’s ambition to erect a theater that will be a model in the character of its architecture throughout, and will change the words of criticism directed at Victoria by visitors on this score into a chorus of praise, has not yet been received.  It is important, therefore, that some plan which will bring the matter before citizens immediately and forcibly be devised.  This is the idea of the gathering that has been announced for the beginning of next week and as well as this business will be the final preparations for a tour to be made by a special committee of the chief cities of the Pacific Northwest to inspect their best theater buildings.  Those who have been chosen for this mission thus far our Messrs. Simon Leisor, W. D’Oyley Rochfort and E.W. Sankey.  Their duty will be to pick what they consider the best points of the structures they visit, segregate them from the objectionable or less desirable features, and by combining the best in Victoria’s Opera House assure the ambition of the promoters to make the proposed new entertainment center so near perfection as to give it a unique distinction.
1912-06-23ColonistCongregational Church – Quadra StreetDrawing of new church with article on page 3. 
1912-06-23ColonistRoyal TheatreWill Discuss New Theatre  Mass Meeting for Consideration of Popular Project Tomorrow Forenoon — Premier Endorses Proposal.  At a mass meeting of prominent Victoria businessmen, which will be held tomorrow at 11 o’clock at the Board of Trade rooms, the move having for its object the securing for this city of a theater of at least the equal of any on the Pacific Coast will be brought to a focus.  Sir Richard McBride, when approached, entered enthusiastically into the spirit of those who have been chiefly concerned in the project and who have been reported that there is but…………………yet needed to make the attainment of their goal assured.  The Premier has expressed his earnest desire to see this worthy cause brought to a successful issue, and is placing himself in the van of the body of leading citizens who have determined that Victoria shall have an opera house in keeping with the best of local public buildings and the advancement of Western Canada’s most favorable pleasure spot.  He will attend Monday’s meeting to take part in the discussion and to assist in every way in his power.  To assure the new playhouse being in every respect the finest in the West, a committee of some 12 of those interested are to make a trip through the large cities on the Coast to gather from their theaters all the most modern ideas which will be incorporated into the new house.  The architects, Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey will be of the party, so as to have the benefit of getting first-hand all the leading features described by their principles.  As appeared in the Colonist yesterday, the arrangements for the financing of this undertaking are in the able hands of Mr. Simon Leiser, to whose untiring energy and zeal Victoria owes much for having brought matters to such a promising state.  Mr. Leiser has been working in conjunction with Mr. D.  O. Rochfort of the Stewart Land Co., fiscal agents for the Opera House Company.  The New Theater  A description of the theater which it is proposed to erect follows:  The new Victoria Opera House will be one of the few theaters built upon the Pacific Coast, in which the type of decoration follows any particular prescribed period of design, and as the French renaissance is a style which lends itself most gracefully to the conventional ornament of the drama itself this is a style which will be adopted.  The beautiful sinuous curves of the acanthus leaf, the graceful looping of festoon and garlands, the conventional masks of comedy and tragedy: in fact all the ornament of this exquisite style will be harmoniously grouped and subdued in color tone to make a rich, warm, inviting interior, wherein the pleasures of the performance will divide with the satisfaction of observing the thoroughly-in-keeping Opera House.  The theater proper will be entered through a marble lobby, elliptical in plan, with ticket office and managers office situated at the right hand side of the entrance, and a flower store and candy store at the left.  Passing through the lobby, one enters the foyer, which will pass at the rear and have four entrances …………., access is gained to the balcony by an incline of …………….. realize they have risen a matter of fifteen feet.  This incline will land one on a double width aisle which bisects the balcony, and which is provided with a generous exit-way to the street on either side of the building: exits are also provided on both sides of the building at the lowest point of the balcony and at the rear of the second tier of boxes.  Thoroughly Fireproof  From the pit there will be six emergency exits besides the entrance doors, three in number.  The gallery is reached by a flight of steps so arranged that seven steps only will be used between landings, making the access as easy as possible.  The gallery will be provided with two emergency exits on each side so that the entire theater could be cleared in one minute of every occupant.  There will be a four-story apartment house at one side of the theater; this building will be provided with seven apartments on each floor, and each apartment will have separate bath and kitchen.  The apartments will be entirely cut off from the noise of  the theater by heavy brick walls, and a light shaft, which makes it a separate building, but still access for fire exits will be gained at every story of the apartment building at the level of the theater from which the exit comes so that persons using these exits will have two solid brick walls interposed between them and any danger which might be in the theatre.  Beneath the portion of the building covered by the apartments will be placed four stores and a buffet; access may be had to the buffet through the gentleman’s smoking room, which is situated on the ground story.  A lady’s retiring room will be provided halfway up the balcony incline and available from either balcony or pit.  In addition to the features mentioned above, it is the intention of the management to revive the “green room,” once so popular in all theatres on the continent, and provision has been made for this time honored institution.  The basement between the apartment building is to be arranged for a strictly after-the-theatre supper restaurant of the highest order and beneath the approaches of the theater a well proportioned a billiard room or hall will be provided.  Modern Ventilation  The theater will be heated and ventilated by the most thorough fan system which has yet been devised, the fresh air being brought into the theater from a point above the roof, passed over tempering coils which will heat it without scorching, and force this heated fresh air into every crevice of the auditorium by a powerful electrically-driven fan.  The fan will have such a capacity that the air pressure inside the theater will be one fourth pound greater than the outside air which means that instead of the air coming into the building from the outside, the super heated and vitiated air on the inside will force out through every crack and crevice besides the regular ventilating flues provided.  This system is also available for summer production to cool the air in the building, the fresh air being forced over blocks of ice provided in the plenum chamber instead of the heat coils used in the winter, so that the temperature on the very hottest day will be as mild as spring weather in the auditorium.  The proscenium opening will be forty feet in width and a stage thirty-six feet in depth, with every fly gallery, spot bridge, smoke ventilator, sprinkling system, paint bridge and scenery deck provided of such size to meet the needs of the largest road production so that the citizens of Victoria will never again have to see an admirable production curtailed for want of stage room to produce it.  The construction of the theatre will be thoroughly fireproof throughout with a steel skeleton carrying brick walls for all exterior portions, and reinforced concrete floor slabs and interior partitions.  The balcony and gallery will be of the type known as cantilever construction, and there will not be a single column inside the theater to obstruct the view from any point of the house.  Special care has been given to the design of the seat spacing and the sight lines, so that each purchaser of a seat is guaranteed a clear and absolute view of every part of the performance.  The boxes will be arranged three tiers high and will  project so far into the stage opening that a view of the entire stage is to be had from any seat in any one of them.  Mr. Rochfort, the architect who has been awarded this work has just gained the valuable assistance of Mr. E.W.  Sankey, an expert theatrical architect, who has been employed as an assistant upon the design of a large number of the modern theatres  of the coast built in the last four years, among them being the new K. and E. theatre, the Metropolitan Opera House at Seattle, the Portland Theater and the American Music Hall at Spokane.  Mr. Rochfort is a resident of the city who is well and favorably known.  The financing and business management of this great enterprise has been turned over to the Stewart Land Company., Ltd.
1912-06-25ColonistRoyal Theatre New Theater to Be Built at Once  Energetic Action Taken at Meeting of Citizens Yesterday Ensures a Playhouse Ready for Christmas.  Victoria’s theatre problem was solved in short order at a meeting of leading citizens held at the Board of Trade rooms yesterday morning when it was decided to proceed forthwith, just as soon as a necessary plans can be prepared, with the erection of a structure on the site secured sometime ago on the southeast corner of Blanchard and Broughton streets.  In order to finance the erection of the building from the funds subscribed, it was decided to eliminate the idea of including provision for stores and an apartment house.  It is now assured that the new theatre will be ready for occupancy before Christmas.  After a lengthy discussion, the matter was brought to a head by the passing unanimously of the following resolution, moved by Mr. J.H.S. Matson and seconded by Hon. Col. Prior.  ” Resolved that the company proceed to complete the purchase of the site at once, allot the stock and order plans prepared immediately for the theatre, a committee of eight to be named to take this work in hand.”  At the suggestion of Mr. R.T. Elliott, K.C., the committee of eight was chosen as follows: D.R. Ker, J.A. Mars, F.B. Pemberton,  F.M.Rattenbury, D’Oyly Rochfort, J.H.S. Matson, Simon Leisor, and A. Lineham.  The Premier Speaks  A very pleasing feature of the meeting which is destined to become historic in the annals of Victoria was a short address by Sir Richard McBride, who was present for a short time.  After the chairman, Mr. Simon Leisor, had introduced the distinguished guest as one who in the past had rendered very valuable service in forwarding the theatre project, Sir Richard said that aside from what little service he had been enabled to render in the past he desired even at this late stage in connection with the scheme to do everything which lay in his power to secure its successful accomplishment.  Continuing, Sir Richard said that while it was true that Victorians were exceptionally busy with material things, it was essential they should not forget elements of distraction from these serious tasks and he knew of no better medium than a suitable theater.  Time and time again he’d been reminded by visitors of the lack of a suitable theatre accommodation and surely this was a matter which should be remedied at the earliest possible moment.  They were bringing people here from the four corners of the earth, advertising the city and island as a great playground, and it was incumbent upon them to give them amusement.  Sir Richard reminded his hearers that the government was bringing great railway lines to their doors and there were other large enterprises afoot to which assured the upbuilding of a great city; and if they were to regard the question of the theatre purely from the material standpoint, he thought they would agree with him there would be “good business” to provide at once the necessary adequate accommodation.  Faith in Victoria  Continuing, Sir Richard said that so great was his Faith in the future of Victoria he believed the time was not far distant when it would have two big theatres.  He had had several conversations on the matter with Mr. Klaw, the great theatrical manager, who had told him that Victoria was one of the best theatrical towns on the continent, the audiences being invariably of the best possible type.  He sincerely hoped that the steps would at once be taken to provide this necessary form of recreation.  After a few pleasant words to the chairman, who he lauded for his efforts in furthering the enterprise, Sir Richard withdrew, his remarks having elicited loud and hearty applause.  The first order of business on the opening of the meeting was a presentation by the chairman of the financial statements which showed that subscriptions to date amounted to over $140,000 and some additional subscriptions had been promised which would swell the total considerably.  Fifteen thousand dollars had been paid on the property on the corner of Blanchard and Broughton streets which in dimension was 120 feet square.  He had promises of more large subscriptions and might mention that Mr. Matson had agreed to double his subscription, making the amount $5,000.  Sir Richard McBride had just subscribed $250.  Mr. Elliott thought the first thing to decide was a type of theater to be built.  What was the status of the matter?  Mr. Ker explained that fifteen gentlemen had put up $15,000 to purchase the property as a first payment to total being $28,000 these fifteen naturally supposed that the purchase would be completed.  Theater to Be Built  Mr. Matson suggested that a first step to get along would be to get the land clear and then find out what kind of building could be put up with the money on hand.  A theater without any apartment house or store features could be erected in the space of three or four months.  His advice was that they should go at the matter boldly and finish it.  If any land were left over after putting up the theater it could be sold or held just as was considered most desirable.  For an expenditure of $150,000 a theater with a seating capacity of 1000 people could be erected. This would be adequate to the needs of a city of 230,000.  Mr. Ker concurred in the views of Mr. Matson, and Mr. Clifford Denham, manager of the Victoria theater, gave some interesting figures as to the seating capacity of various houses along the coast.  In his opinion a theater which would seat 1000 people would do Victoria for a long time.  Mr. D’Oyly Roquefort, who acted as secretary, thought a difficulty would present itself in the scheme of building for theater purposes alone, in the subscribers refusing to accept what would be a very low rate of interest on their investment.  Mr. Elliott agreed with Mr. Matson that they should proceed to the erection of a theater building only and not mixed the project up with business premises.  People would come forward later with subscriptions and support any tangible thing.  There was no need to wait any longer.  Mr. Lineham thought that if they were to erect a building as originally proposed they would get more subscribers.  At this stage of the discussion Sir Richard McBride entered the room and was given an ovation.  After Sir Richard had spoken and withdrawn there was some further discussion and finally the matter was decided in the matter already described.  On the suggestion of Mr. Elliott it was decided that the board of eight was to have full power for a year.  The proceedings then terminated.
1912-06-29ColonistRoyal TheatreShows a sketch by Sankey showing the concept for the interior of the new theatre. Shows two balcony levels.
1912-07-07ColonistBamberton Cement PlantLarge article regarding the new plant being built at Bamberton
1912-07-11ColonistF.M. Rattenbury“F.M. Rattenbury Back from Europe” Describes his travels and an interview in which he gives his opinions on European subjects including the political situation in Germany.
1912-07-12ColonistRoyal TheatreTheater Directors View Seattle Houses  Shown Every Courtesy by the Managers of Metropolitan and Orpheum — Latter Buildings Design May Be Adopted.  The committee chosen by the directors of the theater association returned by the steamer Prince Rupert yesterday morning from Seattle where they inspected the principal theaters of the Sound city.  They arrived in Seattle at 2:30 p.m. on Wednesday.  On board the Prince Rupert they were the guests at luncheon of Captain Barney Johnson, and after a well served meal provided by Chief Steward Hamilton had been disposed of the party was invited to inspect the G.T.P. liner.  It was the essence of cleanliness from the hold to the bridge, and on every hand the civility and kindness of the officers and crew was evident.  They plainly leave nothing undone to cater to the comfort of travelers.  Captain Johnson is a disciplinarian, but the men under him respond readily the kindly manner in which he commands.  The trip was a most enjoyable one.  Arriving at Seattle the committee proceeded to the Metropolitan theater where Mr.W.H. Raymond, who formerly acted as publicity agent for Messrs. Sullivan and Considine, thoroughly explained the strong and weak points of that playhouse.  Mr. Raymond took considerable pains to furnish all available information to aid the committee in selecting a plan that would best suit the requirements of Victoria. After spending an hour at the Metropolitan with Mr. Raymond, the committee were taken to the Orpheum, owned by Messrs. Sullivan and Considine, and there the members were introduced to Mr. Carl Reiter, the manager, who has been identified with theaters, actors and theatrical promoters for seventeen years.  The Orpheum, a delightful playhouse, was seen in actual working condition and the committee feel safe in assuring its fellow promoters that it is the finest on the continent — Mr. Reiter says in the world and it is quite possible that he is right, for few excel if equal it.  It is a treat to witness a performance in such a well-equipped and splendidly constructed building as the Orpheum, as the committee had pleasure in doing.  The design was carried out absolutely under the instructions and ideas of Mr. John Considine, and after operating the property for more than a year, he and his associates have not discovered that anything necessary to add to the comfort of patron or player has been left unprovided.  The Orpheum is a credit to any city in a much greater one to the men who labored so long to build it according to experience gathered during a quarter of a century in the largest cities of the United States.  The grand interior and exterior decorations are such as could be scarcely be duplicated with a limited amount of capital subscribed, but the committee are a unit in deciding that a duplicate of the Orpheum without the costly decoration is none too good for the theatergoers of Victoria.  The committee were unanimous in thanking Messrs. Raymond and Reiter for their untiring efforts and kindness in doing all that was possible to put the members in touch with the absolute necessities of a modern first-class theater.  While it is possible that a theater on the lines of the Orpheum may be built with the amount at the disposal of the committee, it may be necessary to ask the citizens to contribute an extra sum to carry the work to completion in a manner that all would desire.
1912-07-12ColonistVictoria City HallArticle regarding the defeat of a bylaw to build a new City Hall for Victoria on Pandora between Cook and Chambers.
1912-07-14ColonistRoyal TheatreNot sure if this article is the one below – it is listed as an editorial titled The New Theatre
1912-07-14ColonistRoyal TheatreClearing Site for New Theater  Work Will Begin at Once on Demolishing Buildings and Getting in Foundations — House Ready by January 1.  Decisive action relative to the furtherance of the theater project was taken at a meeting held yesterday morning of the Board of Directors of the Victoria Opera House Co. Ltd. As in indicating that the matter has passed the stage of discussion, it may be mentioned that instructions were issued to lose no time in clearing the site, on the southeast corner of Blanchard and Broughton streets, of the old buildings.  It is hoped to have the theater ready for opening by January 1 next.  At the meeting there were present, the president Mr. F.B. Pemberton, and Messrs. Simon Leisor, D.H. Ker, A. Lineham,  D’Oyly Rochfort and J.B.H. Matson.  The report of a special committee which had been delegated to go to Seattle and inspect the theaters of that city, was received and adopted.  Its findings have already been published in the Colonist.  After full discussion of the recommendations made by the committee, it was decided to make the new theater which will be built here, conform to the auditorium of the Orpheum Theatre and to the stage of the Metropolitan theater of Seattle.  In respect to the financial position of the Company, it was pointed out that in view of the decision to build a theater of the first class, one ranking with the best on the entire coast, it would be necessary to raise by subscription a sum of money in excess of that already set, and on two members of the directorate offering to undertake the raising of this additional sum, it was forthwith determined to proceed at once with the work of construction to the extent of tearing down the old buildings on the site and putting in the foundations.  Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, the architects, were instructed to get out the plans needed for the foundation so that construction can be commenced at once, while awaiting the completion of the plans for the superstructure.  Subsequent to the meeting of the directors, a Colonist representative had an interesting interview with the Secretary, Mr. Rochfort who outlined some of the important features of the new theater.  Mr. Rochfort, by the way, has a vast fund of information respecting the leading theater structures throughout the world and has been able to render the promoters of the local project much valuable aid.  “An interesting feature above the modern theater,” said Mr. Rochfort, “is a fact that the auditorium is wider than it is deep.  Formerly the practice was just the opposite, and as a consequence, people seated at the sides from the line of vision to the center of the stage most uncomfortable.  In the new theater to be built here, every seat will give a clear view of the stage.  The stage will have a width of 42 feet, as against 32 in the old Victoria theater.  The depth, roughly, will be 45 feet.  This will give ample room for the production of any play.  Now in respect to acoustics.  In the present theater there is no sounding board, and as a consequence, the acoustics are not as good as they might be.  Experience has shown that sound rises from the stage, first to the wings, and later, to the galleries at the rear.  So modern architects have adopted the use of the sounding board which is erected at the top of the archway which frames the stage.  This has the effect of reflecting the sound waves straight out the auditorium.  The new theater will have a seating capacity of 1400.  The system of heating and ventilation which is to be installed is to be the most modern yet devised.  Thus the air in the entire chamber will be changed every few minutes, getting a sense of comfort and freshness to the audience, which is entirely absent in theaters which are poorly ventilated.  “Another feature of Victoria’s new home for playgoers will be the seat arrangement.  The English type of seats will be used, and it has been decided by the directorate that they shall be 2 inches wider than even those of the approved type in the old country, so that patrons shall be assured of lots of room.  Then again, the old difficulty of getting to one seat, as in the Victoria theater, will be eliminated for there is to be allowed a space of from eight to ten inches between the knees of the patron and the next seat in front of him.  This will allow people passing to their seats without the need of those whom they pass getting up to allow them to do so.  “Yes, we are very hopeful of getting to work immediately — — in fact my instructions are to get the old buildings off the site just as soon as I can get the man for the job.  The new theater should be ready for opening not later than the first of the year.”
1912-07-24ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, July 24, 1912.  DELAY IN PROJECT TO ILLUMINATE GATEWAY.  Provincial Government Only Party Interested Which Is Proceeding with Work as Approved.  Repeated inquiries have been made of the The Colonist and officials of the Board of trade relative to the status of the project of ornamental illumination for the “Gateway” for the city, and yesterday some little time was spent by a representative of this paper in attempting to solve the mystery of the apparent apathy. The secretary of the Board of trade said that he had been informed that the provincial government was proceeding with all haste in the matter so as to have the legislative buildings illuminated in time for the visit here in the latter part of September of His Royal Highness the Duke of Connaught. The work of installing the lights was to be of a permanent character and no less than 7000 lights will be utilized.  In respect to the part which the city may play in the project, it appears that the secretary of the board forwarded to the Mayor and Council on July 2 a copy of the report of the joint committee, which prepared details of the scheme. This letter was not only not acknowledged, but frequent inquiries on the part of the official mentioned, failed to get from the members of the aldermanic Board any statement that the matter would be taken promptly in hand.  The need for haste in going ahead with the project is indicated by the statement that the Royal visitors will be in Victoria the latter part of September. Mister M Hutchinson, Superintendent of the city’s electric system, sedative any showing is to be made by the city he ought to be instructed to go ahead at once. His Worship Mayor Beckwith was spoken to about the matter yesterday and he said that he would look into it at once.  Committee Wakes up.  Probably as a result of this stirring up of the officials, electric light committee of the city Council will hold a meeting you tomorrow morning at which the scheme of illumination as outlined by City Electrician Hutchinson and Mister SJ Hall’s, manager of the light and power Department of the BC Electric Company, will be further considered. Recently the Board of trade committee on civic matters met and considered the report, and it was decided that the city Council be requested to precede with the work along the lines suggested in the report.  Scheme contemplates the attachment of fixtures to the present electric light poles on the Causeway, each fixture to carry at least four lamps of about sixty-candlepower each, the cost of same be an estimated at $1500; cluster lighting for Belleville Street from Government Street to Menzies Street, the work to be done under the local improvement bylaw at an estimated cost of $3000; cluster lighting on Wharf Street from Government Street to Courtney Street, as a work of local improvement at an estimated cost of $2500.  In addition, report suggested that the CPR be asked to install cluster lights along the approach to the Empress Hotel and some attractive form of illumination in the grounds and that the provincial or Dominion governments also be requested to take steps to suitably illuminate their properties on the waterfront, while the steamship company should, it was suggested, also join in the scheme.  The matter, as outlined and approved by the Board of trade committee, has not yet been fully considered by the committee of the city Council, but will be tomorrow morning, it is understood, and later a report of that committee will be submitted to Council.
1912-08-13ColonistParliament Buildings AdditionPhoto of steel erection for the addition to the Legislature – library McDonald and Wilson, Haddington
1912-08-15ColonistBelmont BuildingPhoto of Belmont Building going up at Government and Humboldt – about 4 stories done,
1912-08-15ColonistOgden BreakwaterLarge article of Ogden Breakwater showing cross-sections and details of construction.
1912-08-17ColonistVictoria BuildingsChurch of St John the Devine under construction
1912-08-20ColonistVictoria BuildingsNew apartment block at the corner of Pandora and Oak Bay Avenue.
1912-08-21ColonistVictoria BuildingsOlympic Hotel – Johnson between Douglas and Pandora Streets  – captures part of the Porter Building
1912-08-21ColonistVictoria Buildingssouth Park School – Announces first convocation of the University of British Columbia
1912-08-22ColonistVictoria BuildingsFairfield Block – corner of Douglas and Cormorant street
1912-08-23ColonistVictoria BuildingsNew wing of the Empress Hotel under construction. from the Douglas Street side.
1912-08-25ColonistYoung Building – Camosun Daily Colonist, August 25, 1912.  Victoria Will Have Fine Normal School  Plans Building Show a Modern Structure in Every Way  Efficiency the Keynote.  As the views of the proposed Victoria Normal school, which are reproduced this morning will show, the building which the provincial government is about to erect in the capital for the training of teachers will be one worthy of the use to which it is to be put. The views, however, do not give any idea of the excellent arrangement of the interior. Among the 16 sets of plans submitted in public competition by leading architects of Canada there were some that were probably more ornate in exterior design  one or two would have been something over half a million dollars for the building alone  but, as was set out in the specifications and as judges were instructed, the efficiency of the interior arrangements with the principal factor to be considered.  Hon. Dr. Young, Minister of education, who has had the project of building a normal school here under consideration for some time, desired that it should be most complete in its accommodation and appointments, and therefore, while he wished to see a handsome structure that would be a credit to the capital, he was more anxious that in their arrangement the classrooms and other rooms should be thoroughly adapted to the needs of a modern training school. Best Plans Accepted.  He is satisfied that in the plans which he has accepted on the recommendation of the judges, Messrs. FM Rattenbury and Cox, the province, and especially the capital city, a building of which everyone may be proud. The successful designer is Mr. W. C. F. Gillam, of Vancouver, a member of the Society of Architects and a licentiate of the Royal Institute of British Architects, who has designed a number of college and school buildings in the old country and Canada The new school is shown in his plans as a building of two stories and a high lower ground or basement story, with short wings at either end and a square tower rising from the center of the front elevation. Standing, as it will, on terraced ground the building will be a distinctive feature in the landscape and will be visible from many parts of the city. Some minor changes in the arrangement of rooms are likely to be made to better meet the views of the department.  As already mentioned in these columns, the normal school is to be built on the site purchase some months ago for the purpose, an area of 7 acres at the corner of Mount Tolmie road and Lansdowne Road. It will stand on rising ground, giving a magnificent view over the city and out over the straits to the snow-clad mountains. At the back Mount Tolmie will rise and to the west will be seen the blue ridge of the Sooke Hills. The building will front to the south and this will result in the classrooms having the sunlight pouring in practically all day from the east and south.  Abundance of Light.  The impression the plans of the interior arrangement gives is one of spaciousness and light. The classrooms are all large, the corridors are wide and the staircases are broad and of easy slope. Every room and corridor is abundantly lit and there is not a dark corner anywhere. In the classroom seating is so designed as to give left-handed light, the proper light to work or study by. All corners are rounded off so as to prevent the lodgment of dust. The lower sashes of all classroom windows are arranged to be fitted with draught screens for the Inlet of fresh air without a draught.  Throughout the building separation of the sexes has been carried out. At no time will the students of the two sexes mingle except when they are under direct control of their teachers. The entrances are independent and also the staircases, the latter being all under supervision from the teachers’ rooms.  Large Classrooms.  On the lower ground floor, in addition to the janitor’s quarters and workshop, there are rooms for the male and female students, storerooms for games and for bicycles and other facilities. According to the plans, the manual training workshop is placed on this floor, but this is subject to change before the building is started. The gymnasium is to be at the rear of this floor, below the auditorium. Plans call for a large apartment, 70’ x 34.5’, amply lighted.  On the ground floor there are six classrooms, two on the east side of the main entrance, and two towards the back of the building. And joining the rooms in front, the principal’s room is at one end and the room of the headmistress at the other. The cloak rooms are in the wings, lying immediately behind the student’s entrances. These will be fitted up with wardrobe accommodation of the most compact and convenient design. There are to be large music rooms at either end of this floor, so placed that no sound will penetrate to the other classrooms to distract attention. In the center of the building, at the end of the main hall, will be an auditorium with a floor space of 35 x 18’. The library will be a fine apartment on this floor.  Domestic Science Rooms.  The first floor will be occupied by four classrooms, above those below. At one end will be the chemical laboratory and the general science laboratory, a science lecture room and an optical darkroom. The lecture room will be 35 x 24’ in size. At the other wing will be the domestic science department, the art classroom and a modeling room. The domestic science classrooms will be the most modern in their appointments, and promised to be superior to anything of the kind yet installed in any normal school in the Dominion. There will be gas and electric cookers, laundry tubs, pantries and storerooms, and all the necessary equipment of what has become one of the most important departments of the 20th century educational course. There is to be a raised tier of seats at the back of the main classroom. The room in the center tower of this floor is to be fitted up as a rest sickroom, with a store of medicines and every facility for first aid to students who may be taken ill.  Later there will be erected on the site model schools, as is done in connection with all normal schools. Tenders will shortly be called for in connection with the erection of the school, for which an appropriation of $135,000 was obtained from the legislature at the late session, and work will commence immediately on the awarding of the contract. The school when finished will be a monument to the zeal and ability of the minister of education, and will be one more proof of the regard for the interests of the capital which animates the members of the government.
1912-08-25ColonistVictoria Buildings“A new Fort Street Structure”  “This imposing five-story building is prominent among a large number of offices which have lately gone up on Fort Street. It stands on the north side of the thoroughfare near the corner of Douglas and is under lease to the Ritz Hotel Company.”
1912-09-06ColonistRoyal theatreTake Larger Area for New Theatre  Additional Land Acquired by Victoria Opera House Company at Corner of Blanshard and Broughton Streets  The new Victoria theatre to be built shortly on Blanshard Street at the corner of Broughton Street will cover a larger area than previously expected, additional land having been acquired by the Victoria Opera Company, Ltd., which yesterday bought for the sum of $25,000 a frontage of 30 feet on Blanshard street by 120 feet in depth, making the site now held by the company 150 feet by 120 feet.   The additional land was acquired in order to build a modern theatre duplicating the Orpheum at Seattle, which is considered on of the best of the amusement houses on the continent, and the plans, being prepared by Messrs. Rochfort & Sankey, associate architects, are expected to be ready in two weeks and no time will be lost in calling for tenders for the construction of the theatre.  The land purchased in addition was bought from Mrs. Cook and Mrs. Hepburn, a frontage of 30 feet on Blanshard street by depth of 60 feet being acquired from the former and 30 feet by 60 in rear of this from Mrs. Hepburn.
1912-09-06ColonistDowntown VictoriaPhoto showing a harbour view. New construction at the Empress, Belmont Bldg, Union Club, Strathcona Hotel.
1912-09-06Colonistadditions to the Parlaiment BuildingsSteel Erection photo titled – “The New Provincial Buildings”
1912-09-07ColonistVictoria BuildingsPhoto of new building  at the corner of Broad and Pandora? Appears to be SE corner and 3 storys high,
1912-09-08ColonistVictoria BuildingsNE corner of fernwood. ” A Fernwood Business Block” for Imperial Bakery.
1912-09-08ColonistVictoria BuildingsHotel under construction at the SW corner of Blanshard and View street
1912-09-08ColonistLumber IndustryB.C. Lumber Men to Present Strong Case.  Want Fair Play in the Customs Tariff — Americans Benefiting by Technicality — Question before Supreme Court.  That the claims of the lumber men of British Columbia in regard to fair play in the Customs tariff has by no means been ended, was the statement made to The Colonist by Mr. R.  H.  Alexander, of Vancouver, one of the men who thought the issue before the exchequer court in Ottawa a few months ago.  The point in dispute is that American lumber men have been taking advantage of a technicality in the tariff by which they have been able to bring in lumber, sized on one side, free of customs duty, though the Customs tariff distinctly states that when lumber has been manufactured in any degree whatsoever it shall be liable to duty, all other lumber being free.  The point has been urged upon the federal government for eight years past, but the Laurier government absolutely refused to consider the request of the British Columbia lumber men at all.  When the change of government came last year, the lumber men sent a deputation to Ottawa and persuaded the new minister of customs, Honorable J.  D.  Read, to issue instructions that all manufactured lumber should be subject to duty.  The farmers of the prairie provinces protested in the federal government decided to refer the question to the exchequer core for arbitrament.  Mr. Justice Cassels decided that such lumber, as the Americans were flooding the Prairies with, was distinctly dutable under the Customs act, but an appeal was immediately launched to the Supreme Court and there the question rests until that court meets in October next.  Where Americans Win.  But meanwhile, the sized lumber from Washington, Oregon and the other timber states is entering Alberta and Saskatchewan free of duty, until a final decision is given.  This the British Columbia lumber men consider a grave injustice.  They claim that when a Canadian court has ruled that the American sized lumber is liable to duty that duty should be collected.  If the Supreme Court should sustain our reverse Mr. Justice Cassel’s decision, there will still be an appeal to the judicial committee of the Privy Council, which may mean years of further litigation with disastrous defects to the lumber men of British Columbia whose natural market is on the plains of Alberta and Saskatchewan.  A determined attempt will be made to present a strong case to show that the present arrangement is an absolute injustice.  The court, which is the arbitrator between the King (as represented by his Canadian government) and a claimant against the crown, has decided that the British Columbia lumber men have made out their case, that the Americans have been guilty of evading the customs tariff by a subterfuge, and the duty should be collected upon every foot of such lumber brought into Canada and the lumber men of this province claim that they have the same right to fair play is any other claimant who wins in a suit against the crown, that of justice and compensation.  It is now proposed to send a mammoth delegation of the representatives of the lumber industry are British Columbia, loggers, sawmill owners and workmen to beseech Ottawa and ask that ordinary common justice shall be dealt out to the industry.  “It is ridiculous to say that the enforcement of the customs tariff would mean an increase in price to the consumer on the plains,”  said Mr. Alexander.  “We are ready now to do as we did in Ottawa last winter, produce facts and figures to show that we can sell our goods as cheaply, and probably cheaper, then the American timber is sold.  We are up against the dumping of the American product in a manner which would never be stood for a moment by the manufacturers of the east.  The situation is simply that we are penalized such as no other industry of Canada has ever been subjected to.  Why should the future of so great an industry as the timber industry of British Columbia the penalized?  We want fair play.  That is all we ask.  And when we get fair play we can sell to the consumer on the plains cheaper through our own distributing yards, that is done now by the middleman, who is the cause of all the trouble.”
1912-09-23ColonistVictoria BuildingsChalloner-Mitchell Block “This fine six-story structure on the north side of Yates Street, above Douglas, has only recently been completed. it is one of the most modern buildings on the coast.”
1912-10-12ColonistOgden Point BreakwaterDaily Colonist, October 12, 1912.  BREAKWATER BIDS IN BY TUESDAY.  Expected That Contract for the Ogden Point Harbor Works Will Be Awarded at an Early Date. The tenders for the construction of the breakwater from Ogden Point to shelter the new Outer harbour for Victoria will all be in at Ottawa by Tuesday next, and it is expected that in a short space of time following receipt of all the bids contract for the work, which will involve the expenditure of over $2 million will be awarded. Some of the most prominent of British engineering concerns are among the bidders for this work which has attracted wide attention from harbour construction firms. Many of the bidders have had their engineers in Victoria at various times during the past few months. The construction of the breakwater will greatly facilitate the shipping plying to this port. Already the Outer wharves of Messrs. RP Rithet and Company are being overtaxed and with the prospective increases of shipping trade to Victoria new piers will soon be necessary. It is anticipated that no time will be lost in providing for the construction of these, along the lines laid down in the plans prepared by Mr. Lewis Coste, M.I.C.E., as soon as the breakwater is constructed. Panama Canal Opening. With the opening of the Panama Canal not 12 months removed it is expected that next year will be notable for the development in the shipping trade of Victoria, which has grown rapidly during the past few years. The amount of tonnage has greatly increased, and the cargo landed at the Outer wharves has travelled within 2 years. Regarding the opening of the Panama Canal, Col. G.W. Goethais, chief engineer there, has addressed this following letter under recent date to the Harbour Commissioners of Los Angeles: “I beg to acknowledge the receipt of your letter of the 1st inst., relative to the probable date that actual business will be carried on through the canal. Every effort is being made to complete the excavation and the work on the locks by June 30, 1913. If this be accomplished the water will be allowed to rise from the 50 foot elevation to the 80 foot elevation, where it will be held to enable the construction of a dike at the headwaters of one of the tributaries of the Trinidad River. “This should be completed in time to permit the lake to rise to the full height of 85 feet sometime in September. If this be accomplished the 1st boat will then be put through, and, if successfully passed, announcements will be made that the canal is in condition to pass shipping. In any event we expect this latter condition to obtain the latter part of 1913, so that we can have at least a year’s tryout before the formal opening.”
1912-10-19ColonistOgden point breakwaterDaily Colonist, October 19, 1912.  CONTRACT LET FOR BREAKWATER.  Sir John Jackson, Limited, To Build the 1st Part of Our Harbour Improvements At Cost of $1,800,000.  3 YEARS IS TIME ALLOWED FOR WORK.  Firm Undertaking Enterprise Is One of the Most Prominent of Engineering Concerns in the World. Ottawa, Ontario, October 18  The Dominion government has awarded the contract to build the breakwater at Victoria, BC, to the firm of Sir John Jackson, limited. The cost will be $1,800,000. The firm which will build the breakwater to extend 2500 feet southwestery from Ogden Point  the 1st part of the big Outer Harbor scheme to include concrete piers, ferry slips, warehouses and all facilities for modern shipping  is one of the largest, if not the largest, of harbour construction firms in the world. When Mr. Brooks, Canadian representative of the Company, was in Victoria, some weeks ago, he stated that if Sir John Jackson, limited, was successful in securing the contract, no time would be lost in starting work. Quarries would be opened at once to get out the rip rap and the material and equipment would be assembled as quickly as possible, a large force of workmen being put to work before many weeks elapsed after the contract was let. The work is to be finished within 36 months of the notification of the acceptance of the tender  in October 1915. WILL EXTEND 2500 FEET. The breakwater, which will be 2500 feet long, and extend into 75 or 80 feet of water, and will have a foundation of riprap, surmounted by a concrete wall, protected on the seaward side by concrete blocks. It is estimated that at least 365,000 yards of riprap will be required. This will be quarried in the neighbourhood and dumped to make a lower mound, on which the wall will be built. The award of the contract to a firm with the record and scope such as Sir John Jackson, Limited, possesses means that the work will be carried out without unnecessary delays, probably much before the time allowed  this be in the record held by the firm on the majority of the works it has undertaken. Have Ample Facilities. When Mr. Brooks was here he said: “we have at the present moment, available in England and at the Cape, plan for Doc and Harbor Works of the value of something like between £400,000 and £500,000, so that if the present contract is placed in our hands the government could rely on ample plant and it materials being put on the ground for carrying on the work forth with with the utmost expedition, as against the disadvantage of delays which must necessarily occur if the work is placed in the hands of people who have not absolutely and liberty suitable plant in large quantities. In addition, we control the ownership of 3 large 7000 tons steamers specially designed for the quick dispatch and carriage of all heavy plant, machinery and materials required for such work. Notable Harbour Builders. Sir John Jackson has the distinction of having carried out more dock and harbour works than any other contractor. He secured his 1st large contract for the extension of the Stobcross docs at Glasgow at the age of 25, and this was quickly followed by various huge undertakings. He completed the last 8 miles of the Manchester Ship Canal in two thirds of the contract time, and at one time had work in hand for the British government alone aggregating £8 million. He laid the foundations of the Tower bridge, and constructed the new Naval harbour at Simon’s Town, Cape Colony, built the new harbour at Singapore, Loch Leven dam, Scotland, Tyne breakwater, the new Naval dock at Ferrol, Spain, and the railway across the Andes from Arica to La Paz. These contracts total nearly 10 million pounds. Visited the Site. It is while returning to England from a visit of inspection on the Chilean Railroad that Sir John Jackson visited Victoria late last year, being accompanied by Mr. Brooks, the engineer later appointed Canadian representative of the firm, and during his stay here the eminent contractor and his engineer visited the site of the proposed breakwater. He was much impressed with the outlook here, and after some preliminary investigations at the site of the breakwater, said that when the government called the tenders his firm would be among the bidders. The firm has at present a force of between 4000 and 5000 men at work completing a contract for damning the Euphrates, part of a great irrigation scheme being carried out for the Turkish government, and has other large contracts underway in various parts of the world. A list of some of the principal contracts carried out by Sir John Jackson, Limited, embracing submarine, dock and harbour works of every description will be interesting. Some Contracts Completed. Extension of Queen’s Dock, Lascaux; Dock Extension Works, Middleborough on Tees; Barry Docs New Deep Water Lock, South Wales; extension of Dock Works at Tyne Docs; Commercial Graving Docks at Berry, South Wales; Extension of Admiralty Breakwater, Dover, for the British government; substructure of the Tower Bridge, London; article continues to list about 20 other projects by Sir John Jackson, limited.
1912-10-19ColonistFerries ferryDaily Colonist, October 19, 1912.  BRANDISHED REVOLVER ON PRINCESS CHARLOTTE.  Shortly before the steamer Princess Charlotte less Seattle on route to Vancouver and Victoria yesterday, there was much excitement on board, and a hurried call was sent for Capt. Griffin, who had just gone on the bridge to start from the dock. In the smoking room, James Flynn, a machinist, 35 years of age, was brandishing a 38 calibre Colt’s revolver and shouting in a frenzy that he was going to “shoot up the place.” When Capt. Griffin arrived on the scene Flynn swung the revolver around at the captain grabbed him quickly and wrenched the weapon from his hand. He then extracted 6 cartridges from the chamber. The passenger, who had come on board in an intoxicated condition, claimed that he had lost his purse, stating first that it contained $300 and later various amounts ranging to $1300. He said that he had been in the bar and had been robbed. As the bar had not been opened this was obviously incorrect. He was ordered to shore, but refused to go. “I’d like to see anyone who will put me off this steamboat,” he shouted, and about then a burly patrolman who had come by motorcycle came aboard and he saw the man who would put him off. The policeman put a half-Nelson on him and had a pair of handcuffs on in quick time. Shouting and swearing Flynn was hustled away to the Seattle lockup, and the revolver was turned over to the constable.
1912-10-25ColonistRoyal TheatreNew Playhouse to Be McBride Theater.  Directors Unanimously Decided on the Name — Bronze Bust of Mr. Simon Leisor to Be Placed in Foyer.  In honor of the premier,Victoria’s  new playhouse, which shortly will be under construction at Broughton and Blanchard streets, will be named the McBride theater.  That the splendid services of the Premier to the province should be so recognized was determined yesterday afternoon by unanimous vote of the directors of the theater Company, in meeting in the company’s offices in the Pemberton block.  Honor was done another distinguished citizen of the province when, again by unanimous vote’s, it was ordered that a bust in bronze of Mr. Simon Leisor be placed at some point of advantage in the foyer of the theater.  The meeting of the theater directors was called for the purpose of discussing finally the plans for the playhouse prepared by the architects, Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey.  Mr. William Kingsley, associate architect, arrived in the afternoon, bringing with him such changes in the general plans as he had to suggest.  These were agreed to heartily by Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey and a final draft of the plans was ordered.  Construction will be begun as soon as this draft is completed and the necessary contracts made.  Mr. Simon Leisor, sitting as chairman, introduced Mr. Kingsley, who took occasion to highly complement the local architects upon their plans and to say that when these should be carried out by the builders, Victoria would have the finest and most modern “combination” theater on the Pacific Coast, excepting none at all.  Discussion of the theater led quite naturally do it a name for it, and it was suggested that, as some small recognition of the great services of the Premier, the new playhouse be known from that moment forward as the McBride theater.  Everyone present hastened to second the motion and it so went into the minutes.   Mr. J. S. H. Matson spoke of the tireless energies and unceasing effort of Mr. Leisor had expended to give Victoria a  theater as fine or finer than any in all the West.  He was joined in his high tribute by the other directors present, and in the end it took much less than a minute to agree upon the bronze bust as a fitting token of the esteem of his fellows and recognition of the splendid quality of his citizenship.  Excavation for the new theater is underway at the present and work along all lines will be rushed from now on.
1912-10-31ColonistFairfield BlockDaily Colonist, October 31, 1912. More Accommodation. Temporary Quarters for Civic Departments Will Be Secured outside City Hall. At the Council Board Meeting on Monday night lengthy discussion took place on the need of more accommodation at the City Hall for the health department and the waterworks Department. The present crowded quarters in the Treas.’s office and the ill-ventilated and unsanitary condition of the other offices was roundly scored. The city Council decided to lease for a term of three years the store at the eastern end of the new Fairfield Block on Cormorant Street for the waterworks Department at a rental of $125 per month, provided the owners of the block, Messrs. Grant and Linehan, build a vault suitable for the requirements of the department. For the health department quarters will be found in the market building, Cormorant Street, immediately west of the present detective headquarters. Considerable objection to the Fairfield quarters was voiced by Ald. Gleason, declared that in the present financial stringency the city would be foolish to go to so much expense as to take a three years lease. He was willing to admit that the City Hall treasurer’s office is overcrowded and that a new City Hall will not be a certainty for at least three years, but other less expensive arrangements might be made. Water Commissioner Raymer pointed to the fact that the work of the waterworks Department had increased greatly in the past year or two, or 1000 new services having been added this year, and the staff more than doubled. The report of the finance committee recommended the renting of the new quarters was adopted, only alderman Gleason, Humber and Dilworth objecting.
1912-11-06ColonistRoyal TheatreTheater Plans Are Accepted.  The Showhouse Second to None in the West — Work Will Be Hurried on the Building — All Canadian Material.  Final drafts of the plans for Victoria’s new theater were inspected and accepted by the directors of the Victoria Opera House Company at a meeting held Monday noon at the offices of the Company in the Pemberton block.  The working tracings will be made at once and within five or six weeks, at the latest, these will be ready for the inspection of the contractors in the contract for construction will be let.  Excavation for the new theater structure is already under way — is, in fact, about one fourth completed.  The Pacific Coast Construction Company, which holds the contract, is under a time limit of 60 days, and as soon as it’s work is finished the ground will be ready for the heavy cement foundations.  All haste is to be made in getting out the steel estimates in order that the material may be ordered.  The steel, of which there will be approximately four hundred and three tons, will arrive in Victoria all ready to set up.  It goes without saying that all structural steel will be bought in Canada.  For that matter the “all — Canadian” principle was enunciated with all emphasis at the meeting of the directors and concurred in unanimously.  Everything for the new playhouse which can be had in Canada will be bought with in the Dominion.  The final drafts, as accepted, carry the suggestions of the consulting architect, Mr. William Kingsley, in combination with the original drawings by Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey.  Theatrical experts to whom they have been submitted pronounced them the most complete theater plans ever drawn for a house in western America and declare without qualification that there will be no more handsome or modern theater west of Chicago.  Now that the boards are cleared for active work the directors will hold weekly meetings, Monday mornings been set.
1912-11-13ColonistRoyal TheatreTheater Contract to Be Awarded.  Expected That Arrangements for Construction Will Be Entered into — Splendid Structure Planned.  Tenders are to be called for the construction of the McBride Theatre at Blanchard and Broughton streets within the month.  The excavation is now one fourth complete and the heavy cement foundations will be laid as soon as this work is completed.  By the time the foundation is set the steel is expected to be on hand, ready cut and shaped and no time will be lost.  If the carefully prepared estimates of the architects, Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, are made good, Victoria’s new theater will be ready down to the last detail for the opening of the season of 1913 –14.  Speaking, by the calendar, that means September 1, 1913.  Were there reason to hurry this work, to put contractors and workmen to the top of their speed, it would be possible to open the new playhouse by July 1, but that would be in mid-summer, when the show world is in the doldrums, actor folks at the seashore and productions in the store houses.  Beautiful Interior Work.  Is not the placing of concrete and the hanging of steel that will engage the finest skill of the contractors.  Rather it will be the “inside” of the house, the furnishings and hangings, the scenic investiture, the murals and ceiling panels, the decoration of the proscenium frame, the plaster friezes and what not, all of which must be placed or hung with a eye every minute to acoustics and sight planes which, although vital, still may be put wholly wrong by so small a thing as a misplaced tapestry.  It has been determined by the Company directors that the maple leaf shall be the keynote to the notably beautiful interior decoration that has been planned.  With it, not too frequently for artistic effect, will be the use of the provincial coat of arms.  It will be shown in striking medallions at each side of the proscenium arch and it will mark the central feature of the panel treatment of the ceiling.  It will also be shown at two points in the grand foyer.  Lighting Arrangements.  The lighting of the whole of the interior of the house will be accomplished with never a globe or bulb evident to the eye.  All lights will be concealed in ingeniously constructed coves and the footlights will be inverted so that they will shine backstage at exactly the right angle but oppose no glare to the range of vision from the front of the house.  All the house as well as a stage lights will be on independent banks of “dimmers” in arrangement by which the volume of light may be increased or decreased gradually, with no sudden and disconcerting change from light to dark.  The color scheme for the interior of the house will range from seal brown through the sienna tones.  The shading of tones from the front of the house to the stage will be so graduated at the eye will be led naturally and insensately, to the desired focal point, which is, of course, the stage.  While the murals and other art features will be of excellent quality, they will be done in such neutral tints that they do not tend to distract attention from the stage and what may be going forward there.  For the same reason the whole artistic treatment of the interior of the house will be intensified upon the proscenium frame.  Comfort the Object.  It may fairly be said that in the construction of the new theater money will be spent generously for comfort.  It is an axiom of the show business that the most difficult competition the theater must meet is the home itself.  Recognizing this fact the company in their plans, have sought to furnish more of comfort then one might have in even the most elegantly appointed residents.  The grand foyer is shown as a spacious, richly tapestried promenade, off of which is a delicately furnished women’s drawing room and also the men’s check room.  The mezzanine foyer affords as much room as the first-floor foyer and gives access to a large and comfortably furnished smoking room and to the manager’s suite.  Nowhere in all the house will there be a garish color or a discordant note.  The factor of personal safety will be larger than in any other theater on the Pacific Coast.  Fire with in the building will be to all intents and purposes in possible, for even the scenery in the backstage department will be painted upon fireproof to material, and the construction of the whole structure will be in steel, concrete, brick, marble and stone mosaics.  With the system of exits devised, the house can be emptied of its audience in three minutes.
1912-11-16ColonistBicycles and lightsDaily Colonist, November 16, 1912.  Vehicle Warning  Before the police court at Oak Bay opened yesterday afternoon, the Chief of Police, Mr. W. I. Hendley, issued a warning to the public that the municipal bylaw compelling all vehicles driven or ridden  after dark to carry lights is being rigidly enforced in the interest of the public in that district, and later Mr. E. Mackie was fined three dollars for riding an unlighted bicycled down the avenue last week after dark. Messrs. Smart and Wood were also summoned for their motor car having been driven with one side light out after dark and were mulcted five dollars, the driver stating that both lamps were lit he started, but then one must have blown out Mr. C. G. Stewart, answering the charge, stated that, though he had been a resident of the island for two years and had owned a license during that period, he did not know that sidelights with the numbers clearly showing were necessary. A fine of $10 was imposed. Mr. Purtuba, a Hindu, was also fined five dollars for driving a wagon and team over a sidewalk
1912-12-01ColonistWomen in the modern world/Daily Colonist, December 1, 1912.  A Social Peril.  The strength of a nation lies in the mothers of the people. There is not the least doubt that the purity of womanhood has stood as a barrier between the excesses of men and social degeneration. When we say purity we do not use the word in the connection in which it is ordinarily employed, but as satisfying that wholesome life, which up to a comparatively few years ago characterized the women of the English-speaking world. Of late years there has grown up in England, Canada and the United States a childless class of married women. They will not be bothered with children. Representatives of this class have been instrumental in erecting in London a $75,000 Dogs’ Club, and when it is mentioned that the most conspicuous place in it is the dogs cloakroom, it will be seen that it is not intended as a home for outcast animals. The opening of this club has led a London daily to say that once it was considered the depth of poverty to live like a dog, “but now the poor might be glad to eat the crumbs that fall from the dogs’ tables.” Let us take the question directly home to ourselves? Can we think of our own mothers pampering dogs and smoking cigarettes? Can we think of them bunny-hugging or turkey-trotting? God knows that our mothers, for all their self-respecting, self-sacrificing, home-loving lives, had a hard enough time to keep us straight. What will be the fate of the children of the turkey-trotting, cigarette-smoking, gambling frequenters of women’s bars, such as are being set up in the larger cities for the pleasure of women who think themselves the social elect? Fortunately out here on the edge of things, we have very little of this abomination; but as a rule it is the great cities which set the example for the country. Therefore it is that we see in the growth of certain habits among the richer classes in the large centres of population and wealth a terrible menace to society.
1912-12-03ColonistStreetcars Rapid transitDaily Colonist, December 3, 1912.  RECORDS BROKEN IN TRAM TRAFFIC.  November Returns in Victoria Show That Local Lines Carried over a Million People during the Month.  Over 1 million passengers were carried upon the local lines of the BC Electric Company during November, the exact total being 1,021,847. This constitutes a record and is the first time in the history of the company that its local traffic ever exceeded the million mark in any single month.  The growth of traffic in Victoria is indicated by the figures issued by the company yesterday showing a total of 9,902,992 passengers carried for the 11 months of the year to date corresponding with 7,417,799 in the corresponding period last year, an increase of 2,495,193, or no less than 33%.  The November figures show an increase over those of October of 200,000 and of 290,000 in excess of November last year.  The November totals included the new traffic which has been carried on the Burnside Avenue branch but on the other hand the Douglas Street traffic has been curtailed during paving operations. With the new Hillside Avenue line now open for traffic, the cars having started running yesterday morning, the December returns should also show a steady increase. Should the 10 new cars expected to be placed in service this month arrive the traffic figures for December will undoubtedly establish still another record.
1912-12-20ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, December 20, 1912.  Tenders for Cluster Lighting  Sealed Tenders will be received by the undersigned up to 4 pm, Monday, December, 22, 1912, for the installation of cluster lighting upon the resent trolly poles erected on the Causeway. Plans and specifications may be seen at the office of the Purchasing Agent , to whom all tenders must be addressed, and Marked “Tenders for Cluster Lighting”.
1913-01-22ColonistYoung Building Camosun Complete Plans for New Normal.  Mr. Gillam, the Architect, Has Revised Everything, and the Tenders May Be Called Soon  Cost $250,000.  Tenders are about to be asked for construction under the revised plans by the Provincial Government of the new normal school in Victoria to be located off Lansdowne Road at an approximate cost of $250,000. Mr. C. F. Gillam, the architect who won the design competition, has now completed his revision of the entire set of plans and is ready to have the work of construction tendered upon as soon as possible. It is understood that as soon as they have been passed by the executive, a contract will be let for the construction of the building, which when completed will provide the city of Victoria with one of the greatest educational institutions in the Dominion of Canada.  As a general indication of the dimensions of the building comprising the new normal school it may be stated it has a frontage of more than 300 feet, which is an increase of 60 feet over the original design. It consists of two floors and a basement, partitioned off in a manner conducive to the highest efficiency from educational point of view and stands in a 7 acre block of ground. Added to that, when completed, it will be a most imposing sight as it stands on an eminence, the ground all around the actual building rolling off gently and affording it a spectacular appearance that would have been difficult to secure on another site.  Generally and particularly, the site is regarded as ideal in every respect, and the city, which, in a sense it will overlook, will have every reason to be proud of it.  Mass of Detail Involved.  Mr. Gillam’s plans of the school which occupy reams of canvas, reveal a wonderful mass of detail in architectural finessing, but salient features of the school are tolerably easy to grasp, it must be said of them that they embody the very latest ideas in structure, composition, location, design and dimension. They represent the labor of many months, and the citizens will only be able to appreciate the fact, not merely of the architect’s efforts, but of the Government’s generous intentions, when the last stone is laid in place and the structure has assumed its finished form. The general  exterior effect is Georgian, and the center tower with the clock sets it off very handsomely. The tower by the way is to be 83 feet high. For a general description of the interior of the building The Colonist is indebted to Mr. Gillam.  After treading the great open space in front of the building the entrance vestibule  is approached by a litter of steps leading first into a spacious lobby and then into the great entrance hall, which is twenty-two feet square. On the wings of this hall are located  the porter’s premises and sundry storerooms. Going straight through the building, as it were, the great auditorium is invaded and the sense of size in the entrance hall is dispelled by the extraordinary dimensions of the auditorium.  Dimensions Are Given.  The exact dimensions of this great feature of the school are 73’ x 35’ x 31.9. At one end of the floor there is a raised platform for the ordinary purposes of lecturing, etc., and immediately behind it there are ante rooms for accommodating clothing. The tremendous height of this hall is relieved by a gallery, and the whole has a seating accommodation for 500. Situate on either side of this great theater are splendid classrooms for the Normal School students, each of them and there are four in all, being 32’ x 24 x 14.9. These rooms in turn are, each of them, equipped with cloak rooms and locker rooms of generous dimensions. Rooms are divided as between right and left, the males be located on the right and the females on the left. Another feature of the ground floor will be the model teachers’ classrooms, with male and female cloak rooms attached. Remainder of the floor is taken up with music rooms, a press room, the secretary’s office, the mistresses’ room and a splendid equipment of toilet departments. The central feature of the first floor is necessarily the great gallery to the auditorium. Then there are four classrooms, each of the measuring 24 x 32; and art classroom with a proper studio light, the space devoted to this section being 39.6 x 24; a science lecture room of the same size as the art room, with a small gallery, demonstration tables and sliding blackboards.  Up to Date Equipment.  All the principal teaching rooms in the school have sliding blackboards on three walls. The scientific laboratories are also located on this floor, physics, chemistry, biology, etc., each having commodious apartments allotted to them, to be fitted up with all the requirements prescribed by the very latest conceptions. Properly equipped apartments are also set aside for the science masters and their assistants.  Beyond the scientific section, that is on either side of it, there are rooms devoted to the study of dressmaking and sewing, domestic science, with cookery and laundry branches, possessing galleries for the facilitation of massed study, and the demonstration tables, laundry tubs and sink, for individual instruction. In the last named section there will be three ranges, representative of the three powers to be used, mainly, electricity, gas and coal. There will also be a housekeeping suite, comprising a kitchen, dining room, parlor, bedroom, hall, bathroom, toilet, etc.  The basement will figure just as prominently in the curriculum as the other two floors, in as much as it contains departments that are of equal importance in the educational schedule of today.   Extensive Gymnasium Planned.   An extensive gymnasium will occupy the entire space under the auditorium, which means that it will measure 73 x 85’. It will also be fitted up with a gallery for visitors. The other feature of the basement will be the manual training department. This will comprise a woodworking room 64 x 24’, fitted up with modern benches and all the paraphernalia pertaining to such a department; a manual instruction room; a model working room, containing a forge, etc., a great recreation room for girls, measuring 64.6 x 24, and a space for boys for a similar purpose, measuring 37.6 x 24. This differentiation in the sizes of the recreation rooms is accounted for by the fact that there will be many more girls than boys. In addition to these technical departments there will be the janitor’s workshops, general storage rooms, luncheon rooms for both sexes, extra stores for school literature, stationery, etc.  Throughout the interior the building will be “hard wood trimmed,” with terrazzo pavings in the corridors, of which by the way, there are two, the main one being on the first floor. The frame of the building will be reinforced concrete and red brick, and automatic fire alarms and fire hydrants, steam heat, will be installed so as to render the building as nearly fireproof as scientific appliances can make it.
1913-02-01ColonistRoyal TheatreContract Let for Steelwork  Shareholders of Victoria’s New Theater Company Hold a Meeting and Advance Work in Building Construction.  Following the enthusiastic meeting of the shareholders in the Victoria Opera House Company Ltd. held on Wednesday in the Board of Trade rooms, the newly named Board of Directors of this company held a meeting yesterday in the offices of the Stewart Land Co., 101 Pemberton Block and by acclimation, re-elected Mr. Simon Leisor President of the Board, and Mr. D’O Roquefort secretary and treasurer.  On motion of Mr. F. B. Pemberton, both officers were thank most cordially for the splendid service they had given in the organization of the Company and in the initial work upon Victoria’s new playhouse.  At the shareholders meeting on Wednesday the provisional board of directors were re-elected and Mr.A.E. Todd and Andrew Wright were added to the Board.  Among the original directors were Mr. Simon Leisor, Mr. J. B. H. Matson, Mr. Arthur Lineham, Mr. R.T.H. Elliott, Mr. F.B. Pemberton, Mr. D’O Rochfort and Mr. D.R. Kerr.  During the course of the meeting President Leisor addressed the shareholders at length upon the affairs of the Company and the progress of work upon the theater.  He set forth clearly the multitude of details with which the provisional directors had been compelled to deal and gave the shareholders for the first time an idea of the great amount of work involved in financing a modern playhouse.  Unanimously Thanked  A motion by Mr. Todd, seconded by Mr. Wright, that the provisional directors be thanked by the shareholders for their services to date was passed by unanimous vote.  At the meeting yesterday the directors, once they had qualified for service, proceeded to the business of the Company.  President Leiser took the floor to inform the new members of the Board that, presided over by himself, a committee of the provisional board and decided to let the contract for the structural steel for the new theater to the United States Steel Products Company, and for the erection of the steel on the theater site to Mr. E.E. Davis, a builder of bridges of note in Canada and presently engaged erecting the 42 story Smith Building in Seattle.  He asked that the letting of the contracts as set forth be confirmed by the new directors and this was done without question.  In setting forth the reasons which moved the provisional directors to make the contracts as indicated, President Leiser made known clearly the exact condition of the steel market in both Canada and the United States.  “Theater construction,” said he, “is different than any other construction which our steel mills are called upon to supply.  Responsible for Lives  “Every time that a performance is given in the theater this company will carry the liability for hundreds of lives and this fact has been borne in mind at all times by our architects and engineers, under our instructions.  When we called for tenders the fact was disclosed that all the steel mills in America are thousands of tons behind in their orders and that no mills, except those of the United States Steel Products Company, could guarantee delivery of our steel in a shorter time than eight months to a year, unless we should permit them radically to vary the plans laid down by the architects and engineers.  The fact was also disclosed that practically all of the companies bidding purchased by far the larger part of their steel stocks from the United States Steel Products Company, and we deemed best to do business with that concern direct, particularly in view of the fact that it guaranteed to complete our steel delivery within four months, without a single substitution or variation.  Quick Delivery Necessary  When it is considered that for every week during which the new theater is unopened next season the company will lose hundreds of dollars in profits, the importance of quick and accurate delivery becomes evident.  Mr. Davies, the erector, guarantees on his part to finish the erection of steel on the theater site within six weeks after the steel is delivered to him on the cars in this city.”  Mr. Pemberton spoke in support of Mr. Leiser and approved the action taken.  Now that the provisional board has become the permanent guiding body of this company, with definite and fixed powers, progress upon the new theater promises to be much faster than in the past.  For a matter of that, the slowest and most difficult part of the work, the excavation, is completed, and work upon the reinforced concrete foundation will be begun as soon as the necessary outfit can be assembled on the site.  The first fraction of the foundation will be put in by the Pacific Coast Construction Company, which held the contract for the excavation and tenders will shortly be called for the remainder of that part of the construction.  “From now forward,” said Mr. Arthur Lineham yesterday, “the growth of the new theater will be more evident and I am confident that there will be no material delays.  Excavation has been a much more difficult task than we had expected the we now have that off our hands.  Thus far the work upon the theater has been wholly downward.  From now on it will go up, where everyone may see it.  The directors find the affairs of the Company in excellent shape and knowing that they have the unanimous support of the shareholders they are prepared to go through with our big project with all enthusiasm to matter at what cost to our personal affairs.  We have promised Victoria the handsomest and most modern theater in the West.  Within a few months we shall have made good our promise and next season will see this new playhouse opened with a full list of bookings which already have been arranged.  Mr. Charles A. Forsythe was selected………………………
1913-02-13ColonistYoung Building CamosunTenders for construction for the new Normal School were called with a closing date of February 28, 1913. Colonist page 18.
1913-02-14ColonistProvincial Normal School – Young BuildingPhoto and article regarding the laying of the cornerstone for the Young Building
1913-02-23ColonistYoung Building CamosunThe Daily Colonist, February 23, 1913.  Victoria Will Have Fine Normal School.  Plans for New Building Show a Postmodern Structure in Every Way  Efficiency the Keynote.  As already mentioned in these columns, the normal school is to be built on the site purchased some months ago for the purpose, an area of 7 acres at the corner of Mount Tolmie Road, and Lansdowne Road. It will stand on rising ground, giving a magnificent view over the city and out over the straits to the snowclad mountains. At the back, Mount Tolmie will rise and into the West will be seen the blue ridge of the Sooke Hills. The building will front on the south, and this will result in the classrooms having the sunlight pouring in practically all day from the east and south. Will Approve Work  While the City Council will undertake to carry out street improvements to Hillside Avenue between Cedar Hill Road and the city limits, works urged by property owners in Oaklands, there is little likelihood that the work will be completed or even commenced this year. At a recent meeting of the Oaklands property owners, a resolution was passed urging upon the city the necessity of proceeding with the work as provided for under a bylaw passed early in the year, being a pavement  of 51 feet in width, with 4 foot boulevards and 6 foot sidewalks on each side. At yesterday afternoon’s meeting of the streets committee, it was decided to recommend to the City Council that the work be proceeded with. The doubter who questions the advantage of widening schemes has only to look at Hillside Avenue, today, and remember what it was a year ago. It will not be long before the street will be transformed into a business district, having become the main artery of traffic between East and West the northern end of the city. Tenders will shortly be called for in connection with the erection of the school, for which an appropriation of $135,000 was obtained from the Legislature at the late session, and work will commence immediately on the awarding of the contract. The school when finished will be a monument to the zeal and ability of the Minister of Education, and will be one more proof of the regard for the interests of the capital which animates the members of the Government. Closely
1913-03-02ColonistRoyal TheatreTheatre Ready Next November  With Steel Already on Cars and Final Delivery Guaranteed, New Show House Will Be Opened This Fall.  “With some of your steel already on the cars and final delivery guaranteed by the United States Steel Products Company three months from this date, the new Victoria Opera House should be ready for business by November 1,”said Mr. E.E. Davis, famous Canadian builder of bridges, who came over from Vancouver yesterday to begin preliminary arrangements for the erection of the steel for the new theater.  “Of course,” continued Mr. Davis, “if delays which I cannot foresee should intervene, I shall claim the privilege of revising my estimate.”  Before he left Victoria on the afternoon boat, Mr. Davis arranged to have the huge booms  and masts necessary to handle the heavy steel rigging cut in the forests of Vancouver Island and shaped to their purpose in the mills of Victoria. He also arranged with the Pacific Coast Construction Company who have the contract for the foundation of the new theater, for the placing of steel cable anchors in the concrete column basis so that when it is time for work to be begun there will be no time lost in swinging the giant derricks.  Known As Bridge Builder  Mr. Davis is best known in Canada for his work as a bridge builder, but on the other side of the international boundary line the forty-two story L.C.  Smith Building in Seattle is his most notable work.  When the Smith family of Syracuse, New York, determined to erect a skyscraper in the Puget Sound metropolis they sent across to Vancouver for Mr. Davis and gave him that huge contract on the mere statement of his price for the work.  He had no competition and he vindicated the Smith judgment by establishing for Western America a record for fast and safe steel erection.  Building statistics show that ten men at least should have given their lives to this huge construction, but the last rivet was driven in the crown of the forty-second story without a man having been hurt seriously enough to require the services of a surgeon.  Erection of Theater Steel  Mr. Davis is best known in Victoria for the bridges he has built for the E.& N. Railway.  He built also the mile-long Mattawa Bridge in Ontario for the C.P.R. and was called to British East Africa to erect many bridges for the Uganda Railway.  He is now under contract with the Canadian Northern Railway for nine bridges between Vancouver and Cisco, which work  he will undertake as soon as he has Victoria’s new theater underway.  As an erector of theater steel, which is a wholly different division of construction, Mr. Davis is qualified as an expert in the erection of the steel for John W. Considine’s beautiful Orpheum Theatre in Seattle and his new Empress Theater in Portland.
1913-03-02ColonistNew Parliament BuildingsPages one and three have great photos on the new addition to the new Parliament Buildings under construction.
1913-03-17ColonistAutomobiles and highwaysLarge Sunday supplement 
1913-04-01ColonistRoyal Theatre Permit was issued in March  on April 1, 1913, page seven, the Colonist reported on building progress for the prior month that permits for building to the amount of $613,075 were issued.  “The chief permits issued during March were those for the new McBride Theatre and the addition to the Dominion Hotel.  This latter was issued yesterday.  The addition which will be five stories with basement, will cost $60,000.  The plans have been prepared by Messrs. Fox and Berrill, architects, and the contract for the structure has been left to Messrs. Hoag and Anderson.”
1913-04-04ColonistSaanichDaily Colonist, April 4, 1913.  TWO-MILE CIRCLE. “Mount Royal” Blenkinsop road, near Quadra Street, fine park of six and 1/6 acres, with new, 10-roomed house finishing, 300 fruit trees, 16,000 strawberry plants, stables and outbuildings; most magnificent scenery around Victoria, overlooking Victoria, Oak Bay, Straits, Mounts Rainier, Baker, Olympics, western hills and vales; price $30,000, being $20,000 for land and $10,000 for improvements; $5000, balance during five years. Box 3055, Colonist.
1913-04-06ColonistRoyal TheatreBids Will Be Called for Building Theater.  Last Yard of Earth Has Been Lifted from Excavation — Nearly Ready for Steel Construction.  The Pacific Coast Construction Company reported yesterday to the directors of the Victoria Opera House Company that the last yard of earth had been lifted from the excavation for the McBride Theatre, and that the heavy cantilever foundation system was at the moment 55% complete, which means that within three weeks from date, when the first carload of steel for the new theater arrives, the concrete will be ready to receive the tremendous loads which the construction of the superstructure will entail.  The theater directors at the same time instructed Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, their architects, to publish a call for tenders for the remainder of the theater construction.  Contracts let, down to date, cover the steel supply and steel erection, heating, interior decoration and plaster modeling, interior furnishing, excepting seats and all of the excavation and foundation.  The contract for the remainder of the work will cover brickwork, terra-cotta, plumbing, electrical installation, flat plaster, ornamental iron and glass work, marbles, woodwork and other lesser details.  It is to be said it all of the contracts covering supplies which are likely to involve delay in construction have been let.  In theatrical construction, said President Simon Leiser, of the theater company yesterday, the interior decoration always consumes much time by reason of the fact that in nearly every case it is necessary to dry out the plaster for at least five weeks by the use of “salamanders”, huge fire pots which must be kept burning constantly throughout the building.  “In our case we have so arranged our contracts that we will escape this customary delay.  Adams and Moffat will install in the McBride Theatre the heating plant which is now accepted as the theatrical standard throughout Western America and it is a part of their guarantees and contract that they shall have the plant working up to its full capacity before the plaster is put on.  This will mean that within a week after the application of the plaster the artists may begin with the interior coloring, the beautiful murals and frescoes which Mr. C. E. Dorisy, the artist who is to decorate the interior, is already laying out.  Mr. Dorisy is a highly trained Parisian who, with his associate Mr. Pierre Houpert, comes to us by way of Montréal.  We already have examples of their work and I speak for all of us when I say they are beautiful.  Will Get Steel  “The supply of steel under the present condition of the market also involves danger of delay, but reports from the steel mills on our order are to the effect that they are ahead of the guaranteed time on the whole job and that we may count with confidence on better than prompt delivery.  There is further danger of delay in terra-cotta delivery, particularly in the case of such highly ornamental terra-cotta as we require, but this danger we have obviated by instructing our architects to invite tenders ahead of the letting of the general contract so that whoever is may be wins the contract will find this heavy work already done for him.”  C. E. Dorisy, the artist spoke about by President Leiser, is now in the city hard at work upon his preliminary drawings and has already submitted to the theater’s directors a sketch indicating the color scheme for the interior of the new playhouse.  The scheme ranges through the shades of brown and it has been given the hearty approval of all the directors.  Mr. Dorisy’s tentative sketch now hangs in one of the windows of The Colonist business office in Broad Street, where it may be seen by the many who are following with interest the progress of the work on Victoria’s Theatre.
1913-04-08ColonistRoyal TheatreAdvertisement calling tenders – Rochfort and Sankey – 506 Union Bank Building  “TENDERS”  “Tenders are invited for the remainder of the construction work on the McBride Theatre. which includes the general construction, plumbing and electrical work. Plans and specifications may be had upon application to the architects, Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, 506 Union Bank Building, Victoria. “
1913-04-24ColonistHudson’s Bay Store – Terra cottaMoney Appropriated Hudson’s Bay Store  Directors Have Authorized an Expenditure of Quarter Million Dollars for Big Structure on Douglas Street.  That an early start is to be made by the Hudson’s Bay Company in the erection of a large departmental store block on the site at the corner of Douglas and Fisgard Streets is the gratifying assurance conveyed in a special cable message from London.  The directors have authorized an expenditure of $250,000.  It will be recalled that a couple of months ago Mr. E. H. Burbidge, chief store commissioner, with headquarters at Calgary, authorized The Colonist to state that work would be begun at a very early date, and the latest news is a confirmation of that information. Mr. Burbidge explained that it was the intention to erect here the same type of departmental store building as at Calgary and Vancouver, and that the cost of such structure outside of site would be over one million dollars. For the present, however, the building to go up on Douglas Street would be four stories in height, but the foundations would be put in for the larger structure.  Present Expenditure Large  The site is very large in respect to ground area. There is a frontage of 240 feet on Douglas Street and 120 feet on Fisgard and a similar frontage on Herald. The price paid by the company for the property was in the neighbourhood of $250,000, so it will be seen that with a similar amount allotted for the building, the entire expenditure, when the matter of interior equipment is considered will be little less than one million before the store is opened for business.  The announcement of the intention of the Hudson’s Bay Company to proceed with this great enterprise comes at a very opportune moment. It ensures a period of large building activity during the present year, and it, besides, removes all doubt as to the conviction of one of the most conservative commercial organizations in the world as to Victoria becoming one of the leading cities of Western America.
1913-04-24ColonistBelmont Building – terra cottaHandsome New Block is Nearly Finished  Belmont Building on Corner of Government and Humboldt Streets, Almost Ready for Occupancy  One of Victoria’s finest commercial buildings, the Belmont Block, which represents an investment of at least $700,000, is practically completed. The Norton Griffiths Steel Construction Company the contractors, are engaged now in administering the finishing touches. It will be completely ready for occupancy by June 1. Standing as it does at the northeastern end of the James bay Causeway, and overlooking the harbour entrance, it completes the imposing picture, made up of the Parliament Buildings, the Empress Hotel, and the Post Office, which confronts one on entering the city’s gateway.  The structure is eight storeys in height, exclusive of the basement. It has a ground space of 79 feet on Government, 140 feet on Humboldt and 109 on Broughton Street. Provision is made for 144 offices in the upper floors: and it is a gratifying illustration of the business conditions here to find that those in charge able to announce that the greater part of this accommodation already is bespoken. On the ground floor the first, or corner suite will be occupied by “The Trust Company of Victoria.” A first class restaurant will be conducted by a syndicate of enterprising local caterers as soon as the workmen have finished.  A Handsome Structure  Reinforced concrete is the material which has been employed in all the walls of the structure. The artistic use of terra cotta on the exterior relieves it from even a hint of severity. The interior has been furnished most attractively. The wall are of marble and the woodwork, while made up principally of the native fir, has been improved by the judicious use of oak. There are to be three elevators.  It was in July 1911, that the contract for this building was let to the  Norton Griffiths Company. Since then workmen have been engaged without cessation. The fact that the property was solid rock made excavation a long and tedious work.
1913-04-28Colonistrailways – victoriaWork Starts on Terminals  C.P.R. Building Large Roundhouses and Machine Shops on Old Songhees Reserve – Huge Undertakings to Start  Eloquent testimony that at last actual work has been taken in hand in the task of transforming the heart of the city known as the Songhees Reserve, into a busy centre of industrial activity is furnished by the picture on this page taken by a Colonist staff photographer yesterday.  The view is of the work now in progress by the C.P.R in erection of a large roundhouse and machine shops, the first of the items in a large programme of improvements which the company will undertake and push to completion at a very early date.  When the new roundhouse is completed, the Island  division of the CPR will be in possession of vastly improved facilities for the care and handling of its rolling stock.  A large gang of men is at present employed by the contractors for the buildings, which, it is anticipated, will be completed and ready for occupancy by October, if not sooner.  The roundhouse itself will have accommodation for 10 engines, and machine shops will be of the most approved design and equipment.  It is stated to be the intention of the Provincial Government to authorize almost immediately a commencement upon the comprehensive plan for the development of the terminal area, for which an appropriation of some $350,000 has been made.  The details of this work and for some time past been engaging the attention of the engineering staff of the Public Works Department, and when the work is once taken in hand it will go with a rush.  It is known also that the Canadian Northern Pacific Railway Company has almost completed its plans from a large amount of work it intends undertaking on the terminal area.  These various undertakings, besides involving a huge expenditure, will furnish employment to a large force of men.
1913-04-29ColonistRoyal TheatreHeavy Steelwork in McBride Theatre  Some Special Trusses Required Which Are Said to Be Unique in Building Construction on This Continent.  With the cast steel column bases for the McBride Theatre being loaded on Canadian Pacific Railway cars in Detroit in the concrete foundation works seventy five percent along toward completion, the liveliest kind of race is on between the Pacific Coast Construction Company of Victoria, which holds the foundation contract, and the United States Steel Truss, which has a contract to supply the 500 and odd tons of steel necessary in construction.  Mr. W. E. Holmes, of the construction company, reported to Mr. D’Oyly Rochfort, secretary of the theater company, yesterday, that only twenty five percent of the concrete remains to be poured to make foundations ready for their tremendous loaded of steel and that unless the Canadian Pacific Railway should break all records in transcontinental freight, he would have the remainder of the work ready by the time the steel should be delivered on the theater site.  Approximately 400 cubic yards of concrete have been poured down to date and all the heaviest walls are completed.  Thirty Six Huge Columns  The steel construction will be “hung” upon thirty-six huge steel columns and every one of the columns will be imposed upon a concrete base extending from the street level, or close to it, down to the bedrock.  Twenty of these bedrock bases have been poured so that the work to be done consists of the remaining sixteen bases and the lighter concrete walls which connect them and which will carry the brick superstructure.  The huge truss, which is a heaviest of all of the many items in the steel construction of the whole theater, is now being fabricated in the Detroit mills.  Word to this effect was received several days ago by Rochfort and Sankey, the architects, and is accepted by them as an indication that the whole shipment will be made according to the dates first fixed.  This truss has a span of seventy-four feet and will weigh sixty-eight tons.  It is intended to carry the full load of the theater balcony, and the experts of the steel supply company, in Eastern technical magazines, have declared it one of the most remarkable long span the trusses ever devised.  It is wholly a new type created especially to meet the extraordinary conditions involved in Victoria’s theater.  A Transportation Problem.  The shipment of the truss across the continent will prove almost as much a problem as its fabrication in the mills.  The under chord of the truss must come in one section, which means that it will require three ordinary flat cars for its transportation.  It must be so stowed on the cars that the sharp curves in the mountain sections of the railway can be negotiated safely.  The truss proper will come in two thirty-four ton sections, and the three pieces will be assembled on the theater site before the whole is swung into position.  Mr. Simon Leiser of the theater company has taken up the matter of expeditious transportation personally with Sir Thomas Shaughnessy, who has instructed the traffic department to put forth every effort to send forward the successive shipments safely and without loss of time.  Mr. E. E. Davis, who has the contract for the erection of the steel and also for its transportation from the railway cars through the city to the theater site, has had that matter up with the  Victoria Transfer Company, and believes that that part of the general problem is solved.  The only detail that is now giving trouble is handling the seventy-four foot chord of the truss around street corners, but Mr. Davis believes that this worry will disappear with a little more figuring.
1913-05-01ColonistVictoria BuildingsPhoto only of the Scott Building – Bay and Douglas.
1913-05-01ColonistScott Building – Douglas and Hillsideat time construction was completed.
1913-05-07ColonistYoung Building Camosun sandstoneDaily Colonist May 7 1913.  Victoria Promised a New Industry.  Will Be Distributing Center for Denman Island Sandstone  Property Purchased for $100,000 by Syndicate.  In a comparatively short time the city of Victoria will be in a position to supply the finest quality of Sandstone to be found beside of Nova Scotia in large quantities and with ready dispatch. The source of supply is Denman Island, situated off from Union Bay, and the operators are now looking for a wharf site in the city to which the material can be shipped and landed with the greatest facility. Mr. T. F. Patterson, of Vancouver, nephew of the Lieutenant Governor of the Province, his head of the party which has just purchased the island from the holding company known as the Denman Island Stone Company, and he arrived in the city yesterday to make complete arrangements for the purchase of a waterfront site for wharfage, and yardage purposes.  The purchase of the Island involve the sum of $100,000. But from the reports of engineers upon the quality and quantity of the material in the quarry the promoters believe that they have made a splendid bargain, and not only a bargain themselves, but for the building industry generally on the Coast for, as Mr. Patterson pointed out, the lack of such material has led to serious delay in the construction of important blocks both in Victoria and Vancouver during the past few years and the consequent loss of capital must have been tremendous.  Is Splendid Investment.  “I regarded as a splendid investment,” said Mr. Patterson, “and I look to the development of the property to contribute largely to the more general use of such material as it contains in the buildings of Western cities. In the first place we will be able to supply the Sandstone cheaper than it can now be secured from the East or from Tacoma, which latter is the nearest point of supply on this Coast, and in addition to that excellent factor, we will always have it on tap, so that their need be no delay in delivery. We intend to erect a wharf in Victoria as soon as we can secure a suitable site, and of course we will establish an extensive yard in connection with that where we will have the material dressed and prepared for buildings of all conditions and sizes.  “Our first move will be the putting in of extensive machinery to operate the quarry, and in that connection I may say that we have already sent East for a number of steam channelers. These will be here in about two weeks time, when we propose to start active work in the quarry. We have a staff of men there already getting things in shape pending the arrival of machinery, and when it arrives on the scene and is installed we will commence production right away. Talking about production reminds me that in the reports of our experts on the subject there is startling information that there is material enough insight at the present time the last for the next four thousand years at the rate of production carried on last year, and in order to get something like the proper basis of calculation I may say that this stone was used extensively in Vancouver and other places. The Vancouver schools are very partial to this kind of stone, nearly all of them being constructed with it, and I am hopeful that we may be able to obtain a similar privilege in the city of Victoria.  Distributing Center Here.  “For the city of Victoria also I think our operations should mean something. We propose to have our distributing center here, and that necessarily implies that we shall employ much labor, just how much I cannot yet say. At all events it will be something new for the city, and I am sanguine that in time, with the acceleration of building activity here and in Vancouver, not to mention the various other points on the Coast which we hope to supply, it will be extensive also from our information on the nature of the stone it is regarded as of the very finest quality, and we will be in a position to furnish it in a much cheaper rate than at present prevails.  “With the cheapening of supply I believe that the use of it will increase tremendously, next three lines of the document are difficult to read.
1913-05-14ColonistRoyal TheatreTheater Opens Next November  Contract for Construction of Superstructure Awarded to Messrs. Pinner and McLennan — Gratifying Announcement.  By next October 17, the McBride Theatre, the handsome opera house now in course of construction on the corner of Blanchard and Courtney streets, will be practically completed.  Less than a month later, November 15, its doors will be opened to the general public.  Messrs. Pinner and McLennan, a well-known local firm, have been awarded the contract for the superstructure, on which work will be started immediately.  They have entered into an agreement carrying with it a severe penalty for any delay.  While the auditorium’s interior finishing will constitute a distinct contract it will be possible to do most of it while the workmen are in gauged on the main structure, which accounts for the lapse of only about a month from the date set for the buildings completion to the time fixed for its formal opening.  An authoritative outline in detail of the plans made for the theater’s construction is contained in an official statement issued by the Board Of Directors of the Victoria Opera House Company yesterday.  It follows:  “The contract for the erection of the superstructure, the last and largest of the several contracts involved in the construction of the McBride Theatre, was awarded yesterday by a special committee of the Board of Directors of the Victoria Opera House Company to Messrs. Pinner and McLellan, whose offices are in the Sayward Block.  “Tenders were laid before the Board of Directors at their regular meeting held Monday noon.  The Board promptly called upon President Simon Leiser, Mr. R. T. Elliott, and Mr. AE Todd, directors, to assume the task of investigating both the bidders and their bids, and the responsibility of awarding the work to the satisfactory firm making the lowest tender.  This committing held their meeting in noon yesterday, and during its course heard highly pleasing reports both upon the ability and standing of the contractors subsequently named.  Participants in Conference  “After a conference participated in by the members of the committee, Mr. D’Oyly Rochfort, secretary of the Company, and Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, architects, it was announced that Messrs. Pinner and McLellan had been awarded the work and that they had agreed to have the new playhouse completed and ready to turn over to the theater Company not later than October 17.  “To make this agreement doubly sound, the contractors readily agreed that the date of completion should be made an essential part of their contract, and agreed further to pay to the theater company and indemnity of $50 per day for every day of delay beyond the date stipulated.  “The matter of the opening date was brought up by President Leiser,  “We have fixed upon November 15 as our opening date,” said he, “and this theater must be ready by that time.  We are booked solidly with attractions from October 10 on through the season and every week we remain closed after that date means a loss of approximately $1000 in profits.”  “We will beat your date by 30 days,” replied the contractors, “and will give bond to make good our promise.”  “Mr. Elliott, acting voluntary as attorney for the directors as well as its committeemen, quickly reduced all promises and abstractions to a concrete legal agreement which is held ready for delivery upon the formal presentation of the required bonds by the contractors.  “With the last of the contracts disposed of and with the opening of the house in the early Fall guaranteed, the members of the committee expressed themselves as highly pleased with the status of the theater affairs.  In view of the fact that both steel and terra-cotta deliveries are bonded as to time, no delays are expected or even believed possible.  Seats Are Ordered  “Seats for the new theater are ordered by the directors at the Monday meeting.  They will be supplied by the most important firm of theater seat manufactures in North America, and are to be set up on the floor of the theater not later than October 1.  “The matter of seats engaged the special attention of all the directors.  No theater in North America boasts a chair wider than twenty-two inches.  Many of those ordered for the McBride Theatre will be 25 inches wide and none will be smaller than 22 inches.  Also there will be 2 inches more of room between seat rows that is the custom which will assure free passage back and forth without  inconvenience or discomfort.  That the best chair up to enable should be had, samples from the various makers were assembled in the meeting room of the Board of Directors and for half an hour they were put to thorough and practical tests by directors of various weights and sizes.  At the end the choice was by unanimous vote.”
1913-05-16ColonistYoung Building CamosunTenders were – RECALLED for construction for the new Normal School were called with a closing date of June 2 , 1913. Colonist page 22
1913-05-17ColonistYoung Building CamosunDaily Colonist, May 17, 1913.  Normal School  –  Detail plans and working specifications for the new Provincial Normal School in this city having been completed by the architect accorded first place in the recent design competition  Mr. Gillam, of Vancouver  tenders for the work of erecting this important addition to the educational establishments of the city and Island have been invited by the Provincial Minister of Public Works, receivable up to noon of Monday, the second proximo. It is intention to push the work forward as speedily as possible, so that at least all exterior structural operations may be complete well in advance of the rainy season.
1913-06-01ColonistVictoria – sealing industryfeature regarding the passing of the sealing industry
1913-06-04ColonistYoung Building camosunDaily Colonist, June 4, 1013  Tenders Sent in for New Normal School.  Six Bids Submitted by Builders For Important Educational Institution  Executive Will Examine Them Tomorrow.  Hon. Thomas Taylor, Minister of Public Works, is in receipt of tenders submitted for the construction of the new Normal School for the City of Victoria. There were six bids submitted through the post, and the Minister proposed to have them considered by the executive today. It is expected that an announcement will be made in a day or two to the effect that the contracts for the initial section of the undertaking has been let. The Minister himself left yesterday for London England, to attend the International Good Roads Congress.  The new Normal School, which is to be located on the Lansdowne Road, near the junction with Richmond Road, is one of the big educational undertakings of the Provincial Government, and the inauguration of work upon it is significant not only of their determination to place the city in an enviable position from educational point of view, but also of their extreme care to accord the institution every advantage which expert knowledge and the experience and observation of other places can possibly bestow.  Early Start on Building.  As soon as the government decides in regard to the award of the contract, a start upon the actual construction will be made, as there is already an appropriation of $100,000 in the estimates for the purpose of commencing construction. The total cost of the new school is estimated at $300,000, so that, according to the money provision, a third of the work can be undertaken this year. In view of the important nature of the work, however, together with the unique design provided; it is questionable if such a proportion can now be handled within the year, but the important point to be kept in mind is that there is sufficient money in hand to have the work proceed with all possible speed.  The plans for the school have been recast, or to be more exact, modified, and it is claimed now that they provide everything to be expected of a modern Normal School. When they were drawn up for the first time, and the tenders were called in, it was found that the contractors’ estimate greatly exceeded that of the architect’s, so that the tenders were returned and the architect was instructed to modify his plans. This has been done to the satisfaction of the Works Department, and in the event of the tenders being within the mark this time, there will be no further delay in letting the contract, is such a circumstance could be called a delay.  An Educational Need.  What the new Normal School will do for Victoria, and what Victoria will do for the new Normal School are questions a time alone can answer, but it seems a very fair assumption that between them, education and the cultivation of the higher elements will greatly benefit. At the present time and for a considerable time passed, it has been apparent to the government that a Normal School was required in this city, and not only so, but that such an institution could not be better located with a view to producing results than in the Capital City of the Province. For many months past the Department of Education has been engaged in considering ways and means for the realization of this idea. At the last session of the House, things took a very tangible turn through the passing of the vote of $100,000, and now Victoria can look forward to being the home of a great educational institution within a comparatively short time.  As already indicated, the construction of the school will be conducted in sections, the most important section being built immediately, and thereafter the plans being completed according to requirements.
1913-06-04ColonistRoyal TheatreMaterial On Road For McBride Theatre  Forty Carloads of Steel Are Shipped From Detroit by Way of Canadian Pacific – Remainder Comes Soon.  Somewhere along the route of the Canadian Pacific Railway, between Victoria and Detroit, Michigan, there are forty carloads of steel for the new McBride Theatre.  The shipment consists of the column bases and the first tier of columns, and it is being moved across the continent with all possible dispatch for, Sir Thomas Shaughnessy himself has said the word to the freight department which, above all else, would ensure rapid transit.  The first of the several shipments which will be made left the mill yards in Detroit on Monday, according to information received by Mr. Simon Leiser, president of the Theater Company.  The last shipment will leave the yards before the last day of the month and should be delivered on the theater site not later than July 15, two weeks ahead of the time for final shipment guaranteed by the steel company.  Advices from the steel company are as follows:  “Shipment of steel for McBride Theatre, column bases and first-tier columns, leaving yards.  CPR cars under rush order.  Whole order practically complete except main truss, which will be shipped two weeks of ahead of time guaranteed.  Yards will be clear of whole order before thirtieth.”  Upon receipt of these advices Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, the theater architects, notified the erector, E. E. Davis, of Vancouver, who replied that he would come at once to Victoria, with a crew of men, to set up the heavy rigging which will be necessary.  The huge fir masts which Mr. Davis will use were cut on Vancouver Island and now await his order in the local railway yards.  Work upon the theater foundation can be completed with a week, any time the order is given.  The Pacific Coast Construction Company under instruction from the architects has taken its own time to finish that end of the work, so that there will be no lapse between the completion of the foundation and the arrival of the steel.  The steel erection will not run to a longer period than five weeks and brickwork on the superstructure can be begun as soon as a first columns are swung into place.  At the last meeting of the Board of Directors contracts were let for the decoration of the grand foyer of the theater and the ladies room, and for the painting and installation of the scenery.  The first contract was given to Henri Gotter, a Parisien decorator of note, and the second to the Twin City Scenic Company.  The scenery contract requires that the scenic equipment shall be in place and ready for business by November 1.
1913-06-08ColonistYoung Building CamosunDaily Colonist June 8, 1913.  Fixing Details for the Normal School.  Government Calls upon Architect in Regard to Matters Affecting Interior Construction  Contract Let Soon.  An interesting discussion was held yesterday in the Parliament Buildings by the Premier, Sir Richard McBride, Hon. Dr. Young, Minister of Education, and Mr. Gillam, the architect for the new Normal School, and as a result of the same it was given out that practically all the details causing the delay in the letting of the contract for the immediate construction of the institution have been considered.  The tenders for the construction of the Normal School were received by the Deputy Minister of Public Works last week, and they were immediately submitted for consideration to a meeting of the executive called upon the return of the Attorney  General to town. It was then brought out, in the course of discussion upon the tenders, that there were still several important details concerning the interior construction demanding the attention, or rather the further information of the executive  Mr. Gillam was therefore communicated with, and he came down from Vancouver to discuss the question, and the matters involved were taken under advisement. It is now understood that the Government will, in the course of a day or two, make a formal announcement of the letting of the contract.  In speaking of this important matter, the Minister of Education, Hon. Dr. Young, stated specifically that the construction of the school would be commenced forthwith, that enough money was already appropriated to carry the work over the year, and that as the Government was extremely anxious to have a start made there was no reason to doubt that the contract would be awarded in the next few days.
1913-06-09ColonistRoyal TheatreSteel arriving on site of McBride Theatre
1913-06-10ColonistYoung Building camosunDaily Colonist, June 10, 1913.  Normal School Contract Let.  Messrs. Luney Brothers, of Victoria, Prove Successful with Tender in Excess of $300,000.  The contract for the new Normal School to be erected in the city of Victoria was let yesterday by the Provincial Government to Messrs. Luney Brothers, of this city. This important announcement was made by the Hon. Dr. Young, Minister of Education, yesterday, together with the information that work upon the foundations would be commenced without a moment’s delay.  While the Education Minister declined to issue for publication the exact figure mentioned in the tender of the successful contractors, he went so far as to state that it was in excess of the sum of $300,000.  The contract obliges the contractors to complete the work within the next eighteen months, so that by Christmas of 1914 the new Normal School would not only be in operation, but will be replete with the latest scholastic equipment adjudged necessary to the makeup of the normal system.  Cost Brought Down.  Hon. Dr. Young, who is naturally very much interested in this latest manifestation of the Government’s supreme concern in the educational facilities of the city and of the Province, expressed his gratification at the satisfactory completion of the numerous discussions which have been held by the Ministers with the architect and other educational authorities. “Yes”, he said, “we let the contract for the Normal School today, and I think no time should be lost in acquainting the people of Victoria with the fact, since they are the most concerned after all. And I may also say that we were glad, in a measure, and being able to award it to a local firm. Messrs. Luney Brothers have done considerable school work in the city already, and I think it will scarcely be gainsaid that, in awarding this important contract to them, the Government has done the right thing. I don’t think it is advisable to mention the contract price, but there can be no harm in stating that it exceeded the sum of $300,000 originally decided upon.  You may recall that on the last occasion, or, rather, on the first occasion of our receiving tenders for this work, the Government returned them on the score that they were too much in excess of the sum agreed upon by the Government as requisite for the purposes of an up to date Normal School. Well, the figure runs over our estimate again, but this time we are of opinion that the tender of the successful contractor is reasonably within the mark, and, in addition to that, it is no part of the Government’s policy pare things down unnecessarily.  “Construction will be commenced just as soon as the contractors can get to the scene of the operations. I have been in touch with them today, and I can say that they are already making headway with the preliminaries of getting their men and machinery into shape. No time can possibly be lost, because it is understood that the work was be completed within the next 18 months, and as the plans of the school reveal something of its imposing nature and thoroughness of design, the public will readily understand the time is a considerable asset. “According to the specifications the school is to be constructed of terra-cotta throughout, and the various departments will be finished off in such a manner as will compare with the finest conception of the Normal idea in the world. In one or two particulars we believe that it will be somewhat in advance of the best even. For instance, the domestic science and manual training departments which we are providing for will set a new standard in this class of school equipment. A glance at the drawings of the building shows that, generally speaking, it is divided into three leading sections, a great and capacious center and two wings. The wings are being devoted entirely to the departments of domestic science and manual training, one whole section being apportioned to each of them.  Technical Education.  “This step on the part of the Provincial Government is being taken in accord with this intention of developing the technical education of the Normal system. In connection with this undertaking, I may say that the report of the Royal commission on technical training, appointed by the Laurier Government, is now in our hands, and we are about to make the best possible use of it consistent with the conditions of this country and the circumstances of adoption. Mr. Dean, school inspector has been commissioned by the government to traverse the whole of Canada, the United States and the Old Country for the purpose of conducting an investigation of the technical education systems in vogue. He has been away for a considerable time, and has, I understand, made a very close study of the subject in the places referred to. We are expecting his return soon, and when he comes we shall be placed in possession of first-hand evidence as to the value of our own ideas through comparison with those prevailing elsewhere, and in some of the greatest educational centers in the world at that.  “I may also say, while speaking on the subject, that it is our intention to establish another branch in the Education Department, a branch to assume charge of the technical education throughout the schools of the Province. It is proposed to place Mr. Dean in control of this new department.  In view of the fact that the Normal School site, which is located on Lansdowne Road and Richmond Road, is somewhat rocky, considerable blasting will have to be done in order to secure a suitable foundation for the structure. This will put off the “foundation stone” ceremony for a little while, but Dr. Young intimated that incident would certainly be marked with appropriate honor.
1913-07-09ColonistYoung Building CamosunDaily Colonist  July 9, 1913.  Stone to Be Used in Normal School.  Government Decides to Alter the Specifications in Order to Keep Local Tradesmen Employed.  An important change in the material to be used in the construction of the Normal School in Victoria was announced yesterday by Mr. W. W. Foster, Deputy Minister of Public Works, which will have a direct and beneficial effect upon local stonecutters, the decision being made the permit the use of stone in place of the terra-cotta prescribed in the specifications.  This action was taken at the instigation of Hon. W. R. Ross, Minister of Lands, who is Acting Minister of Public Works in the absence of Hon. Thomas Taylor, and he was constrained to have the change effected after hearing the arguments of the deputation of local stonecutters and other tradesmen concerned in the building industry of the city. It was pointed out by the deputation that conditions in the industry were not as favorable as they might be at the present time, and further, that it if it was decided to use terra-cotta in the construction of the Normal School, it would inevitably mean that a number of men would be thrown out of employment.  Hon. Mr. Ross made inquiries as to the possibilities of securing the proper kind of stone nearby, and upon being assured that this would be a simple matter, there be an excellent stone quarries within measurable distance of the Capital City, he decided to have the architect’s specifications altered so as to allow the use of stone instead of terra-cotta. This change does not mean any particular section of the work but the whole structure. In the matter of cost, it is believed that the change will be a slight increase upon the original estimates, but in as much as it will mean the continued employment of local workmen, the minister felt justified in making the change, especially as it cannot mean any weakening, either in material or appearance, of the school.  Messrs. Luney Brothers, the contractors for the Normal School, are already attacking their task with zeal. A large gang of men has been on the scene of the structure for several days, making the necessary excavations for the foundations. It is expected that this work will be finished within a few more weeks, and that the first stone will be laid early in the Fall. With this end in view, the contractors have been working their men doubles shifts, and it is believed that this preliminary work will be completed well within the time set by the Education Department.
1913-07-11ColonistRoyal TheatrePlacing of Steel for New Theater  Good Progress Made with Early Part of Construction Work — Promise of Completion in Satisfactory Time.  Eighty-six tons of a steel having swung into place in the new McBride Theatre; seventy-two more tons are on the way from Vancouver, via Ladysmith; two carloads more are reported passing through Calgary on Monday last, and the remainder of the 500 and odd tons necessary to the theater construction is all on the route, “spotted” here and there along the Canadian Pacific Railway in fractional shipments.  The first shipment, which was delivered on the theater site early in the last week, was made up of the column bases, first tier of columns, mezzanine girders and stage floor beams.  The equipment of the steel erector was early on the ground, and the metal was handled as fast as it was laid down.  The shipment now due will arrive in such time that there will be no cessation of work, and the same may be said for the rest of the supply.  The second shipment carries the second tier of columns, remainder of floor beams, stage steel and several tons of rivets.  Close upon the second shipment is coming the seventy-four foot truss, which, supporting as it will the balcony of the theater, is a vital principle of the whole construction.  The main trust will weigh sixty-four tons when fully assembled and ready to hoist into place, and it will tax to the limit of capacity the heaviest equipment that the erector, Mr. E.  E.  Davis, can assemble.  It is a statement of Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, architects for the theater, that the steel is coming across the country precisely in the order in which it will be required on-the-job, and, knowing this, Mr. Davis has promised President Simon Leiser that there will be no cessation in his operations until the last ton is put in place.  He stated further, that he would require not more than five weeks to complete his contract.  The directors of the Company are holding frequent meetings, and keeping at all times in touch with a progress of the work in order that there may be no lapses which would operate to delay the opening of the house.  Under their direction the heating contractors have assembled their full plant in the city and their men will begin work in a few days.  The huge boiler, fuel tank and all of the sheet metal and pipe necessary were bought by the contractors in Victoria, and almost all of the remainder of the plant is from factories in Toronto.  Under the arrangement made by the directors, the heating plant will be in full operation by the time the plaster is ready to go upon the walls, which will save at least five weeks in the drying period.  The various other contractors are well up to their work.  The notably beautiful plaster and staff modeling, which is to be a feature of the interior decoration, is being done in the studios of the contractor in Northpark Street, and will be completed several weeks before it becomes necessary.  The same may be said of the murals and frescoes these last, in fact, as completed and drying and could be set into their panels within the week, where the panels ready.  It is a statement of the general contractors that they will begin laying brick in a week or 10 days, and they are now assembling their materials on the site.  A very large part of the brickwork can be carried on while the steel is in course of erection, by arrangement with the steel erector, so that another possibility of delay has been eliminated.  The Board of Directors of the theater Company held a meeting on Tuesday, at which all plans were given full discussion.  The next regular meeting will be held on Tuesday, July 22, unless business should require an earlier date.
1913-07-12ColonistMcPherson TheatreAnnounce pending construction – Pantages 
1913-07-17ColonistCausewayDaily Colonist, July 17, 1913.  May Suggest Dredging.  Among steps which may be recommended for rendering the sanitary conditions of the Inner Harbour more satisfactory will be the dredging of the harbour along the front of the Causeway and the retaining wall on the south side.  At low tide mud banks, which become exposed, emit a stench which is highly offensive. There is no reason to doubt that this dredging can be safely undertaken in front of the Causeway, but whether it could be done along the south front without danger to the wall, there was a question which will have to be investigated. The special Council committee which was appointed to look into the whole matter of harbour pollution, will submit its report at the next session of the City Council. Go to sleep
1913-07-18ColonistNew Parliament BuildingsUnder construction
1913-07-26ColonistRoyal TheatreThe McBride Theater in Canada Circuit  Included by Klaw and Erlanger in Chain through This Country, Choice of Plays for Opening.  Mr. Simon Leiser, president of the Victoria Opera House Company, received word yesterday that Klaw  and Erlanger, the “theatrical trust”, had completed their All-Canada circuit and that the McBride Theatre, Victoria, had been designated as the Western terminal for the new organization.  The Majestic Theatre, Montréal, marks the Eastern terminal, and every city of size between the two points will from now be booked by the big American organization.  The Canadian chain was completed when the Klaw & Erlanger franchise was granted to a new theater in Winnipeg and to the new Vancouver Theatre, which is now financed and which will be open to the public shortly after the McBride Theatre.  President Leiser secured the same franchise for the McBride Theatre several months ago, and a short time back succeeded in having the original of the local franchise extended an additional three year term.  Klaw & Erlanger have been quietly at work upon the organization of a all-Canada circuit for four years.  The work on the Western end, from Winnipeg to the coast, has been in the hands of Mr. George J.  MacKenzie, general Western representative of the booking firm, while the work on the Eastern end has been handled from the Montréal and New York headquarters.  The new arrangement means that every town and city of Canada large enough to support a first-class theatre will be given every theatrical attraction that such cities as Los Angeles, San Francisco, Seattle, and Vancouver and Victoria are given.  Canada, from now forward, will see everything in the way of production that takes to the road from the Eastern producing centers.  Mr. MacKenzie arrived in Victoria yesterday after completing the Klaw & Erlanger contracts in Vancouver and Winnipeg.  He called it once upon President Leiser, who took him to the corner of Broughton and Blanchard streets for an inspection of the work on the McBride Theatre.  “I had heard that you were somewhat behind with your steel.” said Mr. MacKenzie, as he watched the huge derricks hoisting beams and girders into place.  “But this certainly does not look like it.  You will be opened several weeks before the new Vancouver house can be made ready, and we shall be very glad of it, for we have many exceptional attractions coming on early in the season. There is not a city on the Coast that spends its money more freely for Theatre-going than does Victoria, when it is given the class it demands, and our shows consequently like to play here.  “We had just granted a Klaw & Erlanger franchise in Winnipeg and completed our contract with the new Vancouver Theatre, and this completes our long-sought All-Canada circuit.  If such a thing be a geometrical possibility, which covers the whole of North America and makes our concern and international organization.  Our booking contracts now cover the territory bounded by a line running from Montréal along the Atlantic Seaboard to New Orleans to Los Angeles; from Los Angeles to Victoria, along the Pacific Seaboard, and from Victoria across Canada to Montréal.  “By the way, I have told Mr. Leiser at Victoria may have its choice between Otis Skinner in ‘Kismet’, the ‘Count of Luxombourg’, or a brand new musical comedy which we first promised, by way of opening attraction, for the McBride Theatre.  For my part, I should choose ‘Kismet’.  It was the sensation of the last New York season and is a truly wonderful production.”
1913-07-30ColonistNew Parliament BuildingsUnder Construction
1913-07-31ColonistYoung Building camosunDaily Colonist  July 31, 1913  Normal School  The preliminary work in connection with the building of the new Normal School has made excellent progress during the past month. The contractors, Messrs. Luney Brothers stated last night that the excavation work is now practically completed. This has been an unusually arduous task, as a whole of the ground is rock, of which between 7000 and 8000 cubic feet have been excavated, in preparation for the concrete bases of the building. Mr. W. A. Luney believes that the work will be sufficiently advanced to allow of the ceremony of the laying of the foundation stone taking place soon after the beginning of the New Year.
1913-08-13ColonistMiners striking at NanaimoArticle and photographs – army moving in – violence, later i October look for trials, etc.
1913-08-16ColonistRoyal Theatretwo Good Photos – steel being erected – One from SW and one from NW – showing frames with Mellor building behind. Second photo on page 11.
1913-08-22ColonistCPR rail shops in Vic WestConstruction of CPR , E& N Rail yards in Vic West – Roundhouse, machine shops, etc.
1913-08-28ColonistHudson’s Bay store – Douglas and FisgardVictoria Block Next Completed  Hudson’s Bay Company Officials at Calgary Announce That This City’s New Quarters Will Be Hurried.  “The Hudson’s Bay company’s new Victoria home, which will be situated on Douglas Street, between Herald and Fisgard Streets, will be made for occupancy just as soon as possible. The matter was discussed among the officials who gathered at Calgary for the opening of our large establishment there, and it was stated that the next ceremony of a similar character would be at Victoria.”  Mr. R.V. Pratt, the company’s local sales manager, made the foregoing statement in conversation with a Colonist representative yesterday. He said that all reports to the contrary notwithstanding, it is the fixed determination of those responsible to carry through the enterprise decided upon in this city with the least possible delay. In a project of the kind there were innumerable details requiring consideration, but he thought he could say that all problems had now been disposed of, and the company was in shape to let the contracts and allow the block to be proceeded with uninterruptedly to its completion.  It was stated by Mr. Pratt that there was a belief among the most sanguine that the structure would be in the company’s hands by next June. Wether it would be practical to carry it through so rapidly was a question in his mind, but, with no unforseen delays, it probably could be done. A feature that was likely to hold it back was the fact that there would be considerable rock to be remove din the course of the excavation. However, as soon as that part was done it would be plain sailing. The first four stories of the ten which it is proposed erecting ultimately, would be gone ahead with immediately. On the part of the building it is intended to construct right away there would be expended about $450,000, which is the amount of the appropriation. The plans have been prepared by Messrs. Burke, Horwood and White of Toronto, the same architects responsible for the handsome structure of which Calgary now boasts, and the firm which designed the Vancouver store now under way.  Mr. H.E. Burbidge, store commissioner for the Hudson’s Bay Company, will be in Victoria at the end of the week, according to Mr. Pratt and it is expected he will make the arrangements for the awarding of the excavation contract. The latter official also states that, in spite of the fact that the Hudson’s Bay quarters in Vancouver, between Granville and Seymour Streets, has been in the hands of the builders for almost four months, that of Victoria will be the first to have its doors thrown open for business.
1913-08-28ColonistSchool at Fernwood and Grant  nearing completion
1913-08-28ColonistRoyal TheatrePhoto of top chord of main truss being delivered to McBride Theatre.  Much Steel Landed in McBride Theatre  Large Truss for Support of Balcony Swung into Place — Good Progress with Construction.  Four hundred tons of steel have been “landed”, as the erectors express it, in the new McBride Theatre, and early in the coming week the general contractors, Messrs. Pinner and McLellan, will begin bricklaying with a crew of forty masons.  The huge truss, which is to support the balcony section of the new showhouse, arrived in the city last week, and was swung into place in two sections yesterday and the day before.  The top chord of the truss weighs 35,700 pounds, and is the largest single piece of steel ever fabricated or brought into Canada, excepting some of the girders used in the Québec Bridge.  Handling it off the cars in the railroad yards and through the city to the theatre site at Broughton and Blanchard Street taxed to the limit the heaviest hauling equipment available in Victoria.  When the big chord went into place in the theatre construction, President Simon Leiser of the Theatre Company, and several members of the Board of Directors were at hand to celebrate when it should be safely anchored.  The truss was the one feature of the whole building over which the erector, E.E. Davies, felt any high anxiety, and both he and Mr. Henry Britman, the structural engineer who designed the steel frame of the theater, heaved sighs of genuine relief when the engines settled the piece gently into place and the foreman announced that “she’s jigged.”  The various other features of the theater are well along toward completion.  The heating plant is 85% installed and the plaster modeling is so far advanced it will be ready for delivery long before it is needed.  The murals and ceiling decorations, which have been in the hands of the artist, Mr. Tadama, are completed and the canvases held ready for delivery on the company’s order.  More than 400,000 of the million and a quarter common brick which will be required in the construction have been stacked on the site and the remainder is on barges in the harbor.  Mortar is being mixed and stocked in big piles in readiness for the “hurry-up” campaign which is being organized by the general contractors to begin the moment the steel men clear the floor of the site.
1913-09-06ColonistMcPherson Theatre – Pantages“Steel for new theatre”
1913-09-07ColonistGonzales Observatory“Observatory at Gonzales under construction…”
1913-09-12ColonistOgden Breakwater – new PiersPhotos regarding new facilities at Ogden Point. Proposed docks.
1913-09-13ColonistHudsons Bay Terra cottaWork To Start on Great Store.  Contract Is Let To Luney Brothers Of This City for Hudson’s Bay Excavation.  Building Contract To Follow Shortly.  Expected That Company Will Make Award During Progress of Ground Clearing – Stimulate Business.  Excavation work on the site of the new Hudson’s Bay department store in the city of Victoria, will commence in a day or two by Messrs. Luney Brothers, of this city, who have been awarded the contract for this preliminary undertaking, and it is expected that the announcement of the letting of the contract for the construction of the building itself will be made while the excavation is in progress.  Authoritative information to this effect was conveyed to The Colonist yesterday, together with the rider that th work upon the initial contract is to be pushed as rapidly as possible, as it is the intention of Mr. H.E. Burbidge, chief stores commissioner, to lose no time in having the ground cleared for the erection of the building itself. Messrs. Luney Brothers, who are now handling the contract, will commence work at once upon the excavations and it is confidently expected, despite the lateness of the season, that tangible proof of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s intentions will be seen before many weeks are past.  The fact that the contract for the building is now pending is generally regarded as an indication that the amount of money to be invested therein will react upon the capital now held in abeyance by other corporations, and so inaugurate a general movement that cannot fail to make the year end of 1913 a more lively period for business than the forepart has been. When it is considered that the sum of £90,000 is appropriated for the construction of the great store, and that when completed, it will represent the faith and certitude of one of the greatest corporations in the world in the future of the city of Victoria, the influence of the undertaking upon the public and the private mind must be considerable.  Located on Douglas Street, where it will have an extensive frontage, and having other frontage on Herald and Fisgard streets, to both of which it stretches, the site of the new structure is a most excellent one: and once the building is erected it can scarcely fail, in all events , broadening the business centre, in which, by the way, it will have the contemporaneous support of other great edifices promised for that particular section of the city. It is the present intention of the company to erect a four-storey building on the site, which will be added to later on. The completed plans call for a ten-storey building, and the present work of excavating will be made with that in mind.
1913-09-18ColonistHudsons Bay store  – HBC Architects drawing showing new store.  Plans Here For Great Building  Stores Commissioner Burbidge Gives Colonist Official Drawings of Hudson’s Bay Company’s Departmental Store  Commence Today Excavating Site  Work of Actual Construction to Start In Three Months – An Expenditure Of Half A Million Dollars.  An authoritative sketch of the handsome Hudson’s Bay Company departmental establishment, which is to be built in Victoria on the spacious site fronting on Douglas, Fisgard, and Herald Streets, is reproduced herewith. Work on the excavation will begin today and, when completed, the expenditure will represent an investment of $500,000, as well as adding an imposing architectural ornament tot he city’s commercial district.  The plan was handed The Colonist yesterday by the company’s officials, accompanied by the announcement that Luney Bros., who have been awarded the contract, have received instructions to proceed with the excavation forthwith. Through Mr. H.E. Burbidge, the stores commissioner, it was also stated that these preliminary operations were expected to be completed in three months at the outside.  Mr. Burbidge has been in the city for some days for the purpose, as he declared when interviewed, of seeing that his company’s new home was well underway before leaving on a well-earned holiday. He was delayed for a few days because Mr. J.C.V. Horwood of Burke, Horwood & White, the Toronto architects acting for the Hudson’s Bay Company, did not reach the West as soon as expected. As soon as Mr. Horwood was available, however, Mr. Burbidge took action, with the result indicated.  Present Expenditure $450,000  It was explained that the picture shown takes the building designed for this city only as far as it is proposed to carry it right away. As will be noted, four stories only are provided for, while it is the intention to double the block’s accommodation, or to add four additional floors at a comparatively early date. When it is mentioned that, on this, the first section of the project alone, there is to be an estimated expenditure of $450,000, a clearer idea may be gleaned of the extent and the civic importance of the project. Bearing in mind the plans for the immediate future, the company’s architects are so constructing the foundation and the lower floors as to permit the building to carry either four or six more floors , as may be deemed necessary.  That, with the opening of the new establishment, Victoria will boast one of the most modern stores of its kind in the Northwest cannot but be realized when it is pointed out that forty departments are being arranged for. There will be employed, the officials assert, at least 400 people. In short, there will be found within the four walls of the structure everything required by a fastidious and perhaps too exacting public. As well there will be attendants, highly trained and in sufficient numbers, not only to care for the wants of the company’s patrons, but to give their convenience and comfort that consideration which is now deemed an indispensable feature of the modern store of the American metropolis.  Many Departments  A merchandise directory, issued by the Hudson’s Bay Company in connection with its Calgary branch, which has been opened only a few weeks, and after which the Victoria store is to be closely modeled, gives some idea what is proposed in the way of service. It gives a detailed outline of the different departments in alphabetical order. Opening it is the “accommodation desk” and closing are the “public telephones.” Between these two, directions are given as to the situation of a multitude of retail sections, everything imaginable being sold, from “garden tools” to “hair goods.” There are also the cafeteria, the restaurant, the rest room, the children’s playground and other such features, provided chiefly for the diversion and the pleasure of shoppers.  The structure is to be of a most attractive type, more attention having been paid to its exterior appearance than was the case in connection with the Calgary establishment. In the first place, its size cannot fail to impress, there being a frontage of 240 feet on Douglas Street and 120 feet on both Fisgard and Herald Streets. There will be two fine entrances on the former thoroughfare, and one each on the other two streets. The facings throughout are to be of terra cotta. At base the pillars will be square, of exceptionally large dimensions, set off with the Hudson’s Bay Company’s motto. From the first story up they will be converted into fluted Corinthian columns.  To Rush The Work.  Seen yesterday, Luney Bros. stated that it was their intention to have their men on the job early today. Owing to the necessity of rushing the work, a steam shovel and between twenty and thirty teams would be employed, together with an adequate gang of workmen. Their contract called for an excavation twenty feet in depth, to be carried out the full width at the sidewalks on each of the three streets. It was expected that from one-half to two-thirds of their work would be through rock. However, there were ample facilities available for handling it, and there was no doubt that, nothing untoward happening, the site would be ready for the building’s foundation within the prescribed time.  “In this enterprise the company is out to set a record,” said one of the officials, “It is impossible, of course, to say just when it will be completed, but it is to be rushed through just as fast as practical.” He added that, with all the officials on the scene, it was assured that there would be no delay in the awarding of the contract for the superstructure. Before the excavation was finished that matter would be dealt with, so that the building itself could be proceeded with without the usual hiatus between the two operations.   This information continues for Sept  18 — 19 — 21. Covers ground breaking ceremonies and excavation works.
1913-09-18ColonistHudsons Bay store  – HBC An Editorial  A Departmental Store  The citizens will be gratified to learn that the construction of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s departmental store in Victoria is to commence at once. Our information is that there is to be no delay in the work of building the structure, which, in facilities and design, if not in size, is to be equal to the best of its kind to be found in the Dominion. We have before alluded to the faith that this great trading company has evinced in the future of the Canadian West. With its enterprise of the last few years in opening and developing a chain of departmental stores it is only right to couple the name of Mr. H.E. Burbidge, the general manager of the Stores Department, for his initiative and incentive have had much to do with the expanding policy of the company. The new store will have a large field of activity on Southern Vancouver Island. It is safe to predict that within a few years it will be found necessary to add to the four-story structure now proposed.
1913-09-19ColonistHudsons Bay – terra cotta – new storePhotos on front page depicting the start of excavations. Photo of H.E. Burbidge.
1913-09-21ColonistHudsons Bay – terra cottaExcavation Work Is Well In Hand.  “We are making just as good time as is possible. Our plant will be completely installed in a couple of days, and the indications are that we will be finished with our part of the work within the three months prescribed.”  Mr. Walter Luney, of Luney Bros., the local contractors who are excavating the site of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s mammoth new store at the corner of Douglas, Fisgard and Herald Streets, made the above statement yesterday.  Discussing his plans, Mr. Luney explained that, since his firm was advised that its tender was accepted, all the facilities, both men and machinery, had been bent towards getting completely ready for carrying through the work expeditiously and satisfactorily. The steam shovel had been put in place. There was still to be erected an electric derrick , as well as an air compressor.  To prepare the foundation for the block, which eventually will go eight stories in height, and in the first four floors of which there will be invested approximately $$450,000, it is necessary, Mr. Luney stated, to go down about twenty feet. It was estimated that, owning to the exceptional size of the site, with its extensive frontage on three streets, there would be 24,000 yards of material removed. Two-thirds of this, Mr. Luney figures, will be rock – hence the need for the large compressor plant which has been secured.  At the present time the force of men engaged is comparatively small. The first thing done was to cut the fir trees, which for many years furnished shade and added to the attractiveness of St. John’s Church. The next was to commence destruction of the old church rectory, one of the pioneer and historic residences of the city. This is well underway, and it is expected that all will be in shape for the initiation of the real work on Monday.  Upwards of twenty-two teams and forty men will be engaged in a short time, according to Mr. Luney. With a modern plant, plenty of horses and an adequate gang of men, he is confident that the undertaking, formidable as it now appears because of the amount of rock that must be blasted away, will be disposed of within three months. By that time the contract for the superstructure, the Hudson’s Bay Company officials assert, will have been awarded, thus permitting the immediate commencement of operations on its construction.
1913-09-21ColonistBeacon Hill ParkFull page – Beacon Hill Park – Children’s Playground
1913-09-28ColonistRoyal bank of CanadaPhoto and story about new Royal Bank of Canada at corner of Fort and Cook. Brick, terra cotta, Granite base. T Hooper architect.
1913-10-01ColonistCPR buildings in Vic West.Photos of Round House etc.
1913-10-17ColonistHBC  – Hudsons Bay storeGreat Store Site Being Excavated  Rapid Work Being Done on Hudson’s Bay Property With aid of Steam Shovel – Will Blast Rock Out Soon.  Messrs. Luney Bros. are making splendid progress upon the excavations for the foundation of the Hudson’s Bay store on Douglas Street, and in the course of a few week the contract will be fulfilled and the site ready for the erection of the building.  When it is stated that thirty teams are kept continually on the move dumping the clay taken from the pit, something of the speed of the undertaking may be gathered. It is possible to keep this number of teams in constant operation by the use of a big steam shovel, which not only digs the material up, but conveys it bodily into the wagons and renders the ordinary process of shoveling and loading entirely unnecessary.  So far, none of the rock on the site has been touched, and it may be said to be the intention of the contractors to remove all the earth and clay first. At several points the excavation has been made almost to the necessary depth, with the exception of the spots at which rock has been encountered. Once the contractors are free to attack the rock formation, and they expect to do so in the course of another week, the completion of the excavation will be well in sight, for, with careful blasting, it is deemed possible to complete the task within a few days. Modern blasting methods will be used, so that, while the most effective results will be secured, there will be no danger to property in athe vicinity.  The work of excavation as it is now being carried on affords employment for a staff of over thirty men. Every day also a large number of people are attracted to the scene by the operations of the steam shovel.
1913-10-18ColonistRoyal Theatre – McBrideSplendid Progress on the New Theatre.  Brick Facing Almost Finished and the Interior Decorative Work Is Well in Hand — Directors Consider Opening.  The new Thespian shrine, the McBride Theatre, is making rapid progress towards completion and in the opinion of those most closely associated with the undertaking, if it is not ready for the Christmas and New Year holidays, it will not be very greatly delayed after that period.  A meeting of the committee of directors is to be held shortly, and at which ways and means will be discussed for expediting the remaining work upon the structure and having it presented for patronage at the earliest possible moment.  During the past few months excellent progress has been made, and at this date the framework is almost completely surmounted with the brick covering.  Nothing has yet been done in regard to the Interior fittings, which, of course, can only be handled in their due course, but the decorative work which is being done by Mr. Dorisy, of this city, is now practically completed and can be placed in position immediately upon completion of the interior structure.  While it is impossible in the meantime to speak of this work, it may be taken for granted that it is of an exceptionally high quality, and fully in accord with the handsome design of the Theatre and of the luxuriant makeup of the interior.  The contractors are working steadily upon the exterior, and in the course of a few days the walls will be completed and the roof will be started upon.  At the present time the Blanchard Street front is well advanced, and the Broughton Street front — to which, by the way, the gallery swings out, is yet to be filled in.  The present condition of the theatre, however, affords an excellent view of the stout ironwork and steelwork that is being put into the building.  A glimpse is also possible of the splendid proscenium and stage accommodation, which, to say the least, will dwarf that of the present Victoria theater.
1913-10-19ColonistGonzales Observatoryregarding construction of observatory
1913-10-25ColonistRoyal TheatreMcBride Theatre Opens This Year.  Directors Fix Inaugural Performance of “Kismet” for December 29 — Contractors Declare It Can Be Done.  “Before the present year has run its course, Victoria will not only have a new theatre but Victorians will be attending it.  On the night of December 29, the McBride Theatre will open its portals to the public and in earnest of good faith, it may be added that “Kismet,” the great Klaw & Erlanger production, will be the baptismal performance.”  Such was the brief intimation given to the Colonist yesterday regarding this project, and inquiry at headquarters served to confirm the announcement, which will assuredly be read by Victorians with the greatest possible appreciation.  Previous announcements as to the possible opening date of the new theater, met with a somewhat skeptical reception, not so much on account of directorial intention, as simply on account of the exigencies of construction at this time of year, but in making this statement to the public yesterday, the Directors wished it to be understood that the date had been fixed, after consultation with the contractors, and after every consideration had been given to the hazards of building.  The Directors met yesterday in conference with the contractors and the architects and after studying reports and hearing forecasts, it was agreed that December 29, could be named as the opening date, and forth with arrangements were made to secure the performance of “Kismet” as the Premier production.  And, by the way, “Kismet” is a large production — it carries two hundred characters — ever seen in the West, so that the first night at the McBride Theatre will have a double significance.  The outer structural effects are practically completed, and all material necessary to the completion of the building contract is now on the scene.  In addition to that, the contractors are working more than normal time, so that while the announcement might appear to bear an optimistic glamour at first glance, it becomes a perfectly reasonable proposition on second thought.  And, as has already been stated, the interior fittings are in readiness for installation at any minute.  A Fine Playhouse.  At this time it might be in place to mention a few of the features of the new theater.  In the first place, it has a seating capacity for 1600 people, divided between the auditorium and the balcony, with a score or more of boxes.  Departing from the conventional in the matter of box location, these will be placed on each side of the orchestral stalls and in front of the balcony, suitably lowered so as not to interfere with the vision of the patrons of the upper story of the house.  The stage will be ninety feet in width and forty feet in depth which naturally affords accommodation for the staging of the most immense and spectacular productions of the day.  The proscenium arch will enjoy majestic girth also, and conform in this respect with the spaciousness at the productive end of the enterprise.  Three great and individual curtains will divide the theatrical hemispheres.  The first curtains, or stage mantel, will consist of heavily bordered velour, that plush-like efflugent fabric so popular for kindred purposes.  The second — which will only be seen at rare intervals — is the asbestos fireproof curtain: and the third, the drop curtain, will represent a scene in Strathcona Park, finely treated.  These effects, together with a great many others, are been supplied by the Twin City Scenic Company, and are now on the way to Victoria.  In point of furnishing and paneling, in decorating, painting and mural art, the atmosphere will affect the Louis VI period, and in this respect it is claimed by competent judges that the work done by Mr. Dorisy and Mr. Tadema (the latter, by the way, is a close relation of the great artist, Alma Tadema) is of an order unsurpassed by anything of the kind on the Pacific Coast.  The old French effect will be further enhanced by the tapestries, which are been brought from Paris, and by the exquisite pallisading work in marble.  Good Equipment  The heating and lighting of the theater is being looked after by Messrs. Adams and Moffat of Victoria and Seattle, who have much of this work on the Coast.  Behind the scenes and elaborate system is being installed whereby the most delicate shades of light can be handled effectively, and in consequence the scenic effects in this respect are secured from the betrayals that so often mar the theatrical representation of physical conditions.  From the point of view of fire prevention and public safety, the new theatre is admirably equipped.  There are twenty exits, and no less than four alarm boxes, and it is estimated that the house can be cleared with ease in two minutes.  One entirely new feature that ought not to be overlooked is the way to the balcony is not by the trading of endless stairs, with their con-commitment confusion of skirts and neighboring feet, but of a gentle incline with no steps at all.  Already the incline is in place and has been tested and found “there” in every possible respect.  The accommodations of the balcony are adequate also, and will prevent crowding at any point.  Mention should also be made of the foyer.  It will measure about sixty feet long and thirteen or fourteen in width.  There will be no buffet adjoining, but there will be a gentleman’s smoking room and a ladies room, together with a number of other necessary appurtenances.  Mr. W.  H.  Raymond, who is the special representative of Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, the architects, on the ground, reports that progress is satisfactory, and that there will be no trouble in effecting the opening on the date selected.
1913-10-25Colonist Royal  Theatre – McBride Photo shows front from NW corner under construction.
1913-10-26ColonistHudsons Bay Store Douglas and FisgardExcavation of foundations for new store – horses, wagons, etc.
1913-11-07ColonistHudson’s Bay store – Douglas and Fisgard terra cottaHudson’s Bay Co.’s Big Outlay Here  Sum of One and One-Quarter Million Dollars to Ultimately Go Into Great Department Store  considerable local interest centered in the announcement from London yesterday of the intention of the Hudson’s Bay Company to expend the enormous sum of a million and a quarter upon their Victoria department store which is now being made.  Mr. H.V. Pratt, the local manager of the company, intimated to The Colonist, upon inquiry, that the announcement was in accordance with what had been understood for some time as the policy of the company, and added that the still more agreeable information that it was his belief that the contract for the building will, in all probability be let before the present contract for the excavation work is completed, which means within the next six weeks at the outside.  Initial Appropriation  For the past six months the initial appropriation of $450,000 has been in hand, which cover the present building plans of the company – four stories. The completed plans call for a ten-story block.  It will be gathered therefor, that the initial expenditure of $450,000 does not half represent the company’s intention in regard tot he Victoria store, but rather that the announcement from London, setting forth the fact that a million and a quarter dollars will be expended is the full expression of the Hudson’s Bay activities in this city.  Excavation work has now been in operation for five weeks, and practically all the earth has been remove, as also has a considerable quantity f rock. Messrs. Luney Brothers are now pressing their attentions upon the removal of the rock, and they expect to complete the undertaking well within the specified time, namely three months.
1913-11-09ColonistVictoriaDaily Colonist, November 9, 1913.  REVISITS VICTORIA AFTER 50 YEARS  Daughter of Col. Moody of the Royal Engineers Tells of Conditions in Victoria in the 50s. After an interval of over half a century, Mrs. Newall, the eldest daughter of the late Col. Moody, the Royal Engineer officer to whom the Province of British Columbia owes the famous Cariboo Trail and many of the engineering works which contributed so greatly to the development of the country is revisiting Victoria. Mrs. Newall came out recently by the Panama Isthmus route by which she had travelled out in 1858 on her visit to the Province; and on the way up the Pacific Coast had the opportunity of seeing many of the Mexican and American ports and comparing them with her recollections of them in the “50s”. At the Mexican ports the vessel embarked numbers of refugees who stories of the cruelties practised on prisoners and others by camp followers were gruesome in the extreme.  Faith in the Province  “I have lately, been reading Sir Richard McBride’s speeches on the future of the province,” Mrs. Newall remarked on his faith in it and his grasp of the enormous possibilities are exactly those of Col. Moody in those early days. He would have been delighted but in no way astonished to have seen what I have seen since my arrival here. Everything that has happened he prophesized  even then and he foresaw much that is yet to come in the future.” The extreme beauty of Victoria as a residential city is another subject on which Mrs. Newall dwelt with emphasis. “Your houses, the broad well-lit streets with their grass lawns edging them; each in its little garden, are making it to be the most beautiful city I have ever seen.”  Vivid Recollections.  Mrs. Newall has vivid recollections of her first arrival here, of the scarcity of houses at Esquimalt, which necessitated the family living on board HMS Satellite, then under the command of Capt. Prevost. Her recollections of Victoria recall exploring the trails that penetrated the timber to the sea at the Dallas Road, the grassy banks along the Inner Harbour between James Bay and the church which stood on the site of the present cathedral; Gov. Douglas’ house on what is now Elliott Street and Victoria’s one street  Fort Street  with its one plank sidewalk. And when having her first walks during the present visit was directed to where the Gov.’s old house stood. Mrs. Newall expressed the hope that it may yet be possible to mark the spot, now occupied by other houses with a tablet as has been done in the case of the Hudson’s Bay Fort.  Other memories recall the choosing of the site of the present New Westminster, the first clearing performed by the engineers and the building of Col. Moody’s headquarters; again, the first house erected there, from which he directed his force of soldiers and also carried out his duties as Chief Commissioner of Lands and Works. Being the only house, hospitality had perforce to be extended to all distinguished guests who visited New Westminster, and at times even the floor of the dining room might have seemed crowded with guests to whom a warm welcome might have been extended but to whom a warning had to be sent to “bring their own blankets.”  Col. Moody returned with his family to England in 1862, but ever afterwards retained, said Mrs. Newall, his deep interest in the Province and his belief in the future greatness, and to see so much of his dreams of the future become facts has been one of the most pleasant incidents of his daughter’s present visit. Mrs. Newall is already renewed her acquaintance with several soldiers who served out here under Col. Moody, including Mr. William Butler, who had just completed 50 years in the service of the Provincial Government, and hopes to meet other ex-members of the Royal Engineers when she visits New Westminster next week.
1913-11-09Colonistcars automobilesDaily Colonist, November 9, 1913.  Winter Motoring  “We have been asked,” says The Western Canadian Motorist, now a year old, “by several readers, to see just a suitable venue in this section of the Province for Winter motoring, and in reply we have, after due consideration, given our decision in favour of Vancouver Island the reasons for this are many and varied, but first and foremost is, from the motoring point of view, the excellence and multiplicity of roads. Better surfaces with more scenic advantages would indeed be difficult to find. From the point of view of the Mainland motorist, its accessibility from Vancouver via Nanaimo, or even from Victoria, is an added charm, for the various CPR steamers are quite adequately fitted for conveying autos across the Gulf, and from either of the points named, the Island Highway is easily reached. The Island of Rhodes are available all the year round, and if one is to believe the inhabitants, they certainly enjoy better weather conditions at all seasons than is experienced in and around Vancouver.
1913-11-12ColonistBay street Armoury“Tenders Called for Drill Hall” “Indications that new building for use of militia will soon be commenced – will be commodious.”
1913-11-13ColonistRoyal TheatreThe Rushing the Final Touches to Theatre.  Director Standby Announcement of Opening Date — Working Steadily upon Interior Fittings.  Contractors, decorators, artists and others are all busily engaged in the contest against time for the completion of the McBride theater by the period intimated in the recent announcement of the directors — that the first show would be given in the completed theatre on the night of December 29.  And inquiries yesterday elicited information that there was no reason to doubt that the seemingly impossible would be accomplished.  To the Man in the Street the exterior of the new theatre presents an aspect of practical completeness.  The roof is now on, and the efforts of the army of workers are concentrated upon the interior, the laying out to the foyer and the opening façade.  Large quantities of the interior fittings are already inside the building waiting to be ranged in their respective places.  Lath and plaster work is being hurried with; and upon its completion in the course of a day or two, the heating plant will be turned on and the walls dried.  Officials Confident.  In conversation with one of the officials of the theater yesterday The Colonist was informed that the contractors and others connected with the undertaking were firm in their faith that the theater would be open to the public on the date mentioned above.  While they realized that much had yet to be done it was mostly a nature that could be hurried without injury to the general effect.  Of course the paneling and decorative work is already complete and ready to be placed, and the same remark applies to the mural work, tapestries, curtains, etc.  In a day or two large fittings, such as the main curtains, will arrive from Minneapolis, and by that time the theater will be in such an advanced stage that it will be possible to hang them without delay.  The completion of the roof has enabled the interior workers to redouble their efforts, as prior to that accomplishment they were, to a certain extent, depending upon the eccentricities of the weather.  As has been stated before, the theater will open to the performance of “Kismet”.  That arrangement, like the others, stands, and the theater-going public of Victoria will make the acquaintance of the city’s new Thespian Temple under circumstances never before possible, in the cast of “Kismet” numbering in the vicinity of 200.
1913-11-14ColonistBay street AmouryAccommodation in New Drill Hall
1913-11-16ColonistRoyal TheatreNew Theater Is Scene of Activity.  Now Eighty Percent along the Way to Completion — All Preparations Made for the Opening Attraction.  It is the word of Rochfort and Sankey, the architects, and of the contractors, that Victoria’s new theater has gone eighty percent along its way to completion: that there is only a scant twenty percent of construction to be accomplished before the lights go on and the velours “drop” goes up on smiling “Hajj, the Beggar.”  It is no longer a matter of brick walls and essentials, of columns, of beams and batters, for the progress of the last week reduced erection to lesser details and made certain doubly sure that the moving spirits in the Victoria Opera House Company were in no wise wide of the mark when they announced that the evening of December 29 would mark the opening of their magnificent Christmas gift to the city of Victoria.  As a matter of fact, so certain have been the directors of the Company of the ability of the contractors, Pinner and McLellan, to deliver the new playhouse on the given date, that, early in the week, they completed negotiations with George J. Mackenzie, Western representative of Frehman, Klaw & Erlanger, for the outright purchase of the full rights in Mr. Otis Skinner and “Kismet,” the entrancing Arabian Nights tale, with which it is the intention to open the house.  Wherefore, the contractors being willing, and Mr. Otis Skinner duly “bought”, come December 29, it will be, as has been said, “Hajj,” that delightful sinner of Araby, who first will smile his way to the heart of show-going Victoria.  The Minus Quantities.  As the new theatre stands now, the minus quantities are the flat plaster, the seats and scenery, the marbles and hangings, the murals and frescoes, half of the front wall, and the lower floor slab.  While this may sound a formidable list of deficiencies, it is nothing of the sort when considered with the facts, for the metal lathing is on the walls, and tomorrow morning a crew of forty plasterers, working night and day, will go to their task under bond to have it completed in twelve working days.  The contractor who lays on the first plaster will also set in the modeled plaster ornamentation, which is complete and ready to his hand.  The seats, three carloads of them, are purposely bestowed upon a CPR sidetrack near Vancouver, for the reason that they will not be welcome before November 25, when the representatives of the manufacturers will come to bolt them to the floors.  Working with electric drills, they will require not longer than two weeks to finish their work.  The scenery is likewise sidetracked, and for like reason.  Only two weeks will be required to “hang” it and to spread the borders and this seventy sets of lines that will make up the grid iron equipment.  Assembling Much Material.  The marbles, cut to the lines laid down, have arrived, and will be set during the coming week, and the same may be said for the scagliola, which is of exceptional beauty, and is being made here in Victoria.  The yards in yards of heavy pile carpets have come to hand from the Old Country factory, and the velours curtains and hangings are ready to go into place the moment the plaster is made ready.  As has been told before, Mr. C. E.  Dorisy and his corps of artists, have the exquisite murals ready for the walls.  They are done in oils, on canvas especially woven to the purpose, and need only to be set on.  The front wall of the house involves a highly intricate design in tapestry brick and is being slowly and carefully worked out.  Nobody needs a front wall anyway, until the opening day, but even at that, this end of the week will see it completed.  The concrete floor slab of the balcony has been in place for 10 days in the lower floor slab, a quick bit of work, will be put in when it is needed, probably not before the end of the week.  There is none of these several lines at cross purposes with another.  Were desirable to do so, all of them could be put forward at the same time, and the workmen kept well warmed to their task, for the heating plant is already on the job.  The tickets are on their way from the printers, and the ticket racks and other box office equipment all at hand.  In fact, so far advanced is a work of construction, and so well in hand, that the directors are giving the major portion of their interest and attention to the arrangement of the ceremonies which will make the opening night.  Of “Kismet,” the opening attraction, there will be four performances; the evening is of December 29, 30 and 31, and one matinée.  “Kismet” will be followed closely by a season of grand opera in English, offered by the Quinlan Grand Opera Company, now en route, from London, by way of Sydney and Melbourne.  The Quinlan organization numbers 160 voices, and it is the present plan to open in the new theater here a tour which will extend over the whole of the Continent.  The Victoria Amateur Operatic Society managed to find to open dates between outside bookings, and will be the first of a home organizations to play in the new house when, on January 9 and 10 it produces “The Gondoliers” which is already thoroughly under rehearsal.
1913-11-19ColonistJohnson Street Bridge“Easterly Approach at Johnson Street.” 
1913-11-21ColonistRoyal Theatre  – EditorialThe Victoria Theater  In deference to the wishes of the Sir Richard McBride, after whom it was first proposed the new theater should be named, it has been decided to christen the structure now rapidly approaching completion on Blanchard Street, “the Victoria Theatre”.  The idea of those who were mainly instrumental in securing the funds for the building of the theater was that it would be an appropriate complement to call it after the Premier’s family name in view of the great interest he has taken from the first to last in its inception.  This proposal, needless to say, was only abandoned after Sir Richard had intimated that he would much prefer to see the theater even some other name.  The change in the plans of the directorate was brought about after a lengthy correspondence, extracts from which we print today so that the public may appreciate why the new place of entertainment is to be known as the “The Victoria Theatre.”  Its new name is, in the opinion of the Premier, an excellent one, for it has been built by public-spirited subscription.  It is a structure that will be an ornament to the city.  There are few, if any, buildings of a similar character of equal pretensions on the continent.  Those who first mooted the idea that it should be built and work so hard to ensure it’s been available during the present year, deserve well at the hands of the theatre-going public.  In the necessary large amount of organization work it had to be carried out, Mr. Simon Leisor labored indefatigably.  To his initiative is due much of the praise that we are sure will be given in unstinted measure by the citizens when the curtain rises on the first performance.  Success was, we believe, made surer still by the kindly sympathy and warm-hearted co-operation with which Sir Richard McBride did all that lay in his power to advance the project of providing a new and thoroughly up-to-date theater for Victoria.
1913-11-21ColonistRoyal TheatrePlayhouse Is Named the Victoria Theatre.  In Deference to the Wishes of Sir Richard McBride, Directors Make Change — Some Explanatory Letters.  The following self-explanatory letters were made available for publication yesterday:  Victoria, July 15, 1913. Simon Leiser, Esq.  President, Victoria Opera House Company Ltd.;  Dear Mr. Leiser — I have lately been thinking over the matter and still further convinced that, as I think I mentioned to you and Mr. Matson, it would desirable to give the new theater some other name than mine.  I greatly appreciate the kindly feeling that prompted you in selecting my name for the building but the same time I have concluded that it is advisable to choose some other title for the new Opera House, and would ask you, as a personal favor, to accede to my request.  Yours sincerely, Richard McBride.                ———————————— Victoria B. C.., November 14, 1913  Simon Leiser, Esq., President, Victoria Opera House Company Ltd.  Dear Mr. Leiser — While I greatly appreciate the feeling which prompted the naming of the new theater after me in acknowledgment of what small service I was able to render, I would feel obliged if, in line with the wishes expressed in my former letters, some other designation be adopted for the building.  Various considerations led me to this decision and I would esteem it a personal favor if you take steps to have the name changed.  With best regards, yours very truly, Richard McBride.                  ——————————————– Victoria, November 19, 1913.  Simon Leiser, Esq., President, Victoria Opera House Company Ltd.  Dear Mr. Leiser — With further reference to my letter to you the other day and my conference with you of the 13th, I am quite in accord with the proposal to call the new Theatre, The Victoria Theatre, as the whole community is interested in this undertaking.  I think the name I suggest would be most appropriate in identifying the theatre with the city and the citizens, whose help has made are the building of the theatre possible.  Yours very truly, Richard McBride.                        ————————————  It may be explained that the action of the Directors, in the first instance, in suggesting that the new Playhouse be named The McBride Theater was first inspired by a desire to perpetuate the name of a citizen who, of his own personal efforts, had done so much to make possible its erection, having enlisted the sympathy and support of influential people who contributed  large sums towards the enterprise.  The president of the Company, Mr. Leiser, announced yesterday that the Directors had it once acquiesced in the suggestion of Sir Richard, and that the Playhouse will hereafter be known as the Victoria Theatre.
1913-11-22ColonistJohnson Street Bridge“May submit bridge measure at once.”
1913-11-23ColonistRoyal TheatreFinal Work Now on Big New Theater  Owing to Rush of Operations Playhouse Closed to Visitors — Rapidly Assembling Interior Fixtures.  Victoria’s new theater will be opened December 29, but it will be closed tomorrow and from tomorrow on, to everyone save the working man and those others directly connected with the construction.  Down to date visitors have been welcome to view the work at almost any time.  For a matter of that, they will be wholly welcome hereafter; the trouble is, they will not be safe.  Work in every department is now being pushed at top speed.  There is one thing or another going forward from stage to foyer and from plenum chamber to roof, with the result that bricks are dropping just about where they like, and now and then a scantling does the same thing.  The very best that can be expected on one’s head or down one’s collar is a trowel full of mortar, and it is for this reason that it has been determined to bar visitors in the future.  Of course, the directors of the theater Company may now and again get in “under the tent,” but it must be understood that, after the trials and tribulations of financing and building the biggest playhouse in the West, a little thing like being bumped with a brick would appeal to the average director as a frolicsome incident of the day’s work.  Welcome Visitors Today.  All through today visitors will be welcomed, and there will be a representative of the Company at hand at the offices at Broughton and Blanchard Street to show those who may go there through the building.  The best news that came to the hand of President Simon Leisor during the last week came from Mr. E.  A. Waterman, managing director of the Weilers Corporation.  It was to the effect that all of the rich hangings for the interior of the theater were complete and ready at any time for installation.  Weiler Brothers were given the contract for the furnishings early in the year, and as an expression of their civic loyalty they have contributed practically the whole of their profits to the theater.  Every yard of carpet and velours and all of the details of furnishing have been put in at factory cost, plus freight and handling, with the result that it has been possible to furnish Victoria’s new playhouse with the funds available more richly than any other theater in all the West.  The velours “drop” curtain is of exceptional richness and beauty.  It is worked out in jasper delta velours in brown, the color tone of the house enriched with burnt orange.  The grand drape, which makes the proscenium arch, is done in the same rich material.  Mr. Waterman has draped both curtains and drape across one end of the Weilers establishment, on the third floor, where it will be on view to the public all through the coming week.  All of the auditorium and balcony curtains and hangings of various kinds are the same velours and colors and these two, are at hand and ready for viewing.
1913-11-23ColonistColonel Moody“Old Scenes Revive Old Memories Again.”  Col. Moody’s daughter in New Westminster.
1913-11-29TimesRoyal Theatre“New Theatre has Tank Below Stage.”  (for Kismet play).
1913-12-01ColonistJohnson Street BridgeReport on Status of Bridge Project. projected structure to span harbour at the foot of Johnson Street
1913-12-02ColonistHudson’s Bay Store Terra CottaLet Contract For Superstructure Soon  Hudson’s Bay Company Is To Lose No Time With Work on Great Department Store for Victoria  According to the plans of Mr. H.E. Burbidge, chief stores commissioner of the Hudson’s Bay Company, work on the superstructure of the immense block that concern has underway on Douglas, Fisgard and Herald Streets, will commence in early January. This announcement was made by Mr. H.V. Pratt, the local manager, yesterday.  Mr. Burbidge purposes spending his Christmas holidays in Victoria, and while here intends to award the several contracts involved in this – one of the most pretentious building projects ever inaugurated in this city. This news is considered especially significant as indicating that the Hudson’s Bay Company has great faith in the immediate future development of the city.  That fifteen sets of plans and specifications for the first four stories of the building, which ultimately is to boast of ten floors, are en route from the offices of the architects in Toronto and are expected any day, is another piece of interesting information for which Mr. Pratt is responsible. He says that, as soon as these are received, tenders will be invited. Two weeks approximately will be given the firms for figuring so that the competitive estimates should be in hand while Mr. Burbidge is in the city.  There is no doubt that the excavation work, which is being executed by Luney Brothers, will be completed early in the new year. They report that, in spite of the heavy rock work necessary, splendid progress is being made, and that, as far as they are concerned, everything soon will be in shape for the laying of the structure’s foundation.
1913-12-04ColonistTheatre closure by fire ChiefCloses Theater  Moving Picture House on Government Street Meets with Condemnation of City Official and Censor.  Drastic action was taken yesterday by Fire Chief Davis, in behalf of that large section of the community which has formed the motion picture habit when he ordered to be closed the Empress Theater of moving pictures on Government Street until such time as its proprietor has complied with the laws and regulations devised for public safety in these popular entertainment houses.  While the Empress was the only theater closed down on account of insufficient protection, instructions were freely given to others to make certain improvements, most particularly in regard to the wiring and isolation of the instrument box.  The Fire Chief has had the moving picture theaters in the corner of his eye for a considerable time, and yesterday, in company with Mr. L. Gordon, of Vancouver, the film censor of the Provincial Government, he made a roundup of the theaters, with the result stated above.  In expressing his reasons for closing down the theater, the Fire Chief informed The Colonist that he found the conditions at the Empress most unsatisfactory, particularly as regards the projecting instrument.  The wiring work also fell beneath his standard of what was necessary in the circumstances and in view of the fact that the defects were of such a nature as precluded the possibility of them being remedied at short notice was slim and he felt the only course to follow was to have the theater closed down.
1913-12-07ColonistRoyal Theatre – SharesSee PDF File Victoria’s New Theater   On December 29, the last Monday in this month, the new Victoria Theatre will be completed and be formally opened as a permanent place of entertainment and amusement   The Victoria Theatre will be one of the finest playhouses in America, west of New York and beyond all question the finest in Canada.  It will be a civic assets, the value of which, directly and indirectly, cannot be computed.  The Theatre is not a private enterprise undertaken for private profit, but is the people’s playhouse, owned by the people, and to be operated by the people, absolutely free from control by theatrical trusts.   This the cost of this handsome, spacious and perfectly equipped theatre will be nearly $400,000, a very large sum, but one quite in keeping with the needs of Greater Victoria and its progressive spirit. Our people not only demand the best that can be presented in the way of entertainment, but they demand also that it shall be given under the most favorable conditions possible.  The object of the Directors of the Victoria Opera House Company, Ltd., has been to meet the wishes of the public in this respect, and they are confident that, when the doors of the new structure have been thrown open, the universal verdict will be that they have been completely successful.  No argument will be required to convince anyone that the Theatre is well worth its cost.   Of this sum of $400,000 the public have as yet contributed less than one half.  There are 78 shareholders in the Company, and they have either paid or become responsible for approximately $180,000.  The remainder of the sum necessary to complete the work has been bore owed on the personal security of several members of the Board of Directors.  This is a heavy burden for a few private individuals to assume in order that the public may be provided with a Theatre that will be a source of general pride in pleasure to the whole community.  Hitherto subscriptions for shares in the Company have only been invited from persons, known to the Directors, who might feel disposed to take a considerable number; but in order that, when the doors are opened, a sufficient issue of shares may be taken to meet the whole cost, and that the enterprise shall not be handicapped by a heavy liability to a few of the Directors, a decision has been arrived at to invite popular subscriptions.   The Directors do not wish to be understood as guaranteeing that the investment will be a profitable one.  There are basing this appeal upon what they believe the community will recognize as a reasonable ground, namely, that the burden of providing a first-class playhouse for the benefit of all should not be allowed to rest upon a few: nevertheless, they think they can safely say that the experience of other investments of the kind justifies the expectation that the shares of the Company will yield during the first two years 4 percent, and probably a much higher dividend thereafter.  It is only write to add that the promoters of this undertaking have never had prospective profits in mind, but have been actuated solely by what seemed to them to be a duty to the community, and it is upon this ground that the appeal with confidence to the public at large to come forward and make it possible that when the curtain rises upon the night of December 29, the announcement can be made that every dollar of the cost of the Theatre has been paid or guaranteed by public subscription.   In order to accomplish this result, the following plan has been adopted;   The opening play will be the great drama, “Kismet,” to be produced by Mr. Otis Skinner and his company of 160 players, which will be presented four times — three evening performances and the matinée.  The price for the lower floor and first few rows of the balcony will be $3.00  a seat.  The box office sale will not begin until December 19.  The demand for seats is already very large, and the house might even now have been sold out, but the Directors have decided that there shall be no sales in advance of the 19th inst.; but applications for seats will be received at any time, be numbered consecutively has received, and be allotted accordingly.  If more applications are received than can be filled by first night tickets, second night tickets will be provided, and so on, the Directors being confident that the four performances will enable all who wish to see this remarkable play and participate in the opening of this splendid playhouse at an entertainment that will mark a new era in the theatrical history of Victoria, and be an event that will long be remembered.   The Directors invite each purchaser of a ticket to subscribe and pay for at least one share of the capital stock of the Victoria Opera House Company, Ltd., the price of which, fully paid up and hence entailing no further liability, is $5.00.   To insure the comfort of its patrons, the seating capacity of the Theatre has been scaled down to 1650.  Had the standard chairs being used, the capacity would have been 1750, but, after examining many samples, the Directors decided upon a specially made seat, 6 inches wider than the ordinary chair and with 6 inches more space between the rows.  This change entailed an extra cost of $10, 000, and has reduced the earning capacity of the house for a single performance, but the additional comfort will make it so much more attractive that the receipts will, in the long run, not be lessened thereby.   There are, therefore, 1650 seats for sale for four performances, making 6600 seats in all.  If each person, who buys a ticket, buys also one share of the capital stock of the Company, the results will be:     6,600 Shares at $5.00 each……………………………………$33,000 At 2 Shares to each ticket ……………………………………..66,600 At 3 Shares to each ticket ……………………………………..99,900 At 4 Shares to each ticket …………………………………….132,200 At 5 Shares to each ticket …………………………………….166,500 At 6 Shares to each ticket …………………………………….199,800             This little table shows how the money needed can be provided, it patrons of the Theatre are willing.  The Directors do not expect each purchaser of one or more tickets will feel able to buy a share for each ticket, but they hope that most of them will buy at least one share, and that many of them will buy several shares.  Applications already received show an average of nearly seven shares per ticket.   The Directors realize that there must be many persons in the community who are able and willing to subscribe liberally for shares in the Company, but whom they have not been able to me personally.  The newcomers have been so numerous that the Directors could not possibly get in touch with them all.  They therefore express hope that all such persons will regard this as a personal appeal to them to come forward and take part in an undertaking which means so much to the community.   Remittances for seats are shares by mail should be by cheque, payable to Mr. Simon Leiser.  Applicants for seats will please state for what night they require them, and if they wish the money refunded encased seats for that night are not available.   The Directors wish it to be understood that applications for seats only will be treated just the same as if they were for both seats and shares.  It is hardly necessary to add that they will gladly received applications for shares unaccompanied by orders for seats, but they would prefer to see every shareholder in the Company present at one or the other of the opening performances.     The Directors think it only fair to add that in the cost of the Theatre there is not included anything what ever for salaries, commissions or any remuneration or profit of any kind, directly or indirectly, to themselves or to any shareholder of the Company, except that the Secretary of the Company, who is also a shareholder, as for the two years in which to project has been in hand, received $50 per month, for his services, and the use of his office.  They have given their time and energy freely, expecting no profit except what will be shared with the other shareholders, and no other reward than that which will come from what they believe has been the discharge of a public duty to the community in the progress and standing of which they are deeply interested.    VICTORIA, DECEMBER 6, 1913
1913-12-07ColonistRoyal Theatre – EditorialThe New Theatre  The directors of the Victoria Opera House Company Limited, present to the public a statement of its position which will be found on another page. The object of this statement is twofold.  It is to give the citizens generally an idea of what has been achieved, how it has been achieved, and the cost of achievement.  It is also to point out how those persons, who may be so disposed, may contribute towards liquidating the liability, which some of the directors have assumed and at the same time acquire a direct interest in the fine new theatre rapidly approaching completion and participate in making successful the effort to provide this community with a first-class playhouse.  When Mr. Simon Leisor took up this project, some four years ago, is plan was not so formidable as it has developed, but, as the months passed and the greatness of the future of Greater Victoria became more apparent, and as he learned more and more of the great advance that had been made of late years in the character of buildings of this nature, his ideas and the ideas of those who associated themselves with him in the work, became broadened and culminated in resolve to give Victoria a theater that would be second to none on the North American Continent.  The result will be seeing with a theater is opened on the night of the 29th instant, and we are very sure that every person present will feel a pride in the fact that we will by then have such a monument to the energy and courage of Mr. Leisor and those who have been associated with him.  Later, we shall take occasion to say something more fully in keeping with Mr. Leiser’s splendid and self-sacrificing exhibition of public spirit.  At present we only ask all Colonist readers to peruse what the directors have to say and do what they can to relieve the directors of the large liability which they have assumed in order that Victoria might have a theatre worthy of the capital city of this great Province and in harmony with its fame for beauty of situation and general attractiveness.  We are sure that all persons who are or shall become part owners in the theater will have no other feeling than one pride because of what they have done or may do towards making possible this great addition to the institutions of Victoria.  There has been no general appeal for subscriptions and it is hardly an appeal that is now being made.  It is rather a statement of an opportunity now existing for those who have not already done so to provide some part of the cost of this much-needed enterprise.  The theater will very shortly be at the disposal of the public, and what the directors wish is that as many of the public as possible shall share in the ownership, management and control.  The directors assure us that their desire is to have this new board, to be elected in January, fully representative, so that the person who has only one share shall feel that he is on the same footing as those who have many shares.  They want the Victoria Theatre to be, in point of fact, the theater of the people of Greater Victoria.
1913-12-09ColonistRoyal theatre – ad for sharesSee pdf file  – Victoria Theater Property of The Victoria Opera House Company, Limited .  Capital Stock, $500,000 — — Shares at $5.00  Each  Cost of land, theater and equipment, approximately………………………………………… $400,000. Amount of shares taken, approximately………………………………………………………… 180,000. Amount to be provided and for which the Directors are personally responsible, approximately…………….. 220,000.  Buy shares when you buy tickets for the opening performances.  THREE NIGHTS                    ONE MATINEE  Seating capacity of the house, 1650.  For four performances, 6600.  If shares are bought with each ticket the result will be:  6600 shares at $5.00  each………………………………………………… $33,300 At 2 shares to each ticket……………………………………………………. 66,600. At 3 shares to each ticket…………………………………………………….. 99,900. At 4 shares to each ticket……………………………………………………. 133,200. At 5 shares to each ticket……………………………………………………. 166,500. At 6 shares to each ticket……………………………………………………. 199,800.  No liability on a share beyond the price paid for the same, that is, $5.00.  There is no further charge, assessment or  liability thereon of any kind.  Purchase one or more shares and do your part towards providing a valuable public institution.  A block of shares will be an acceptable Christmas present, for it will always be worth what it will cost and in all probability be worth much more.  Make cheques for seats or shares payable to Simon Leiser.  Opening night, December 29  “KISMET”  Presented by Mr. Otis Skinner and 160 Players, December 29, 30 and 31, and a Matinée on December 31.  To That the
1913-12-10ColonistRoyal theatre – Advert for shares see pdf file “Victoria’s New Theatre- Ad of Dec 10, 1913”  The Directors of the Victoria Opera House Co. Ltd., wish to thank the public for the hearty support extended to them on Monday and yesterday.  If applications for shares in tickets continue at the present rate until the opening-night, the enterprise will be out of debt.  Money is coming in from all sections of the Island, and the newer residents as well as the older are responding liberally to their appeal.  A number of persons have had an opportunity to inspect the Theatre, and the verdict of approval is unanimous.  The share applications to date average eight to each ticket sold.  Price of Shares (Fully Paid up and Non-assessable)  $5.00 Price of Tickets, Each….. $3.00    Make checks for shares, or seats payable to Simon Leiser, president.    The Directors wish it to be understood that they have not received, and will not hereafter received, any remuneration, directly or indirectly, for their services in connection with the financing, construction or management of the Theatre
1913-12-11ColonistRoyal Theatre – EditorialThe Victoria Theater.  We printed a letter yesterday from Mr. L. C. Lytton, in regard to the Victoria Theatre.  The questions are pertinent because the public, having been invited to subscribe towards the cost of the structure, have a right to full particulars regarding it.  We, therefore, submitted Mr. Litton’s letter to the Directors of the Victoria Opera House Company Ltd., and are authorized by them to say:  The Company owns a block of land measuring 150 feet on Blanchard Street and 120 on Broughton.  The Blanchard Street frontage is not occupied.  It is an area 150 feet long by 27 feet deep and must prove a very valuable asset to the Company.  Three transportation companies have subscribed to the cost of the theatre: The Canadian Pacific, $25,000; the Canadian Northern, $15,000; the B.C. Electric, $10,000.  The Late Mr. C. M. Hays Promised a Subscription in the name of the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway, but the promise has not been recognized by his successor in office.  The Directors wish The Colonist to say that they welcome all inquiries are pertinent to the undertaking and will answer them either personally or through the columns of this newspaper, as inquirers may desire.
1913-12-12ColonistHudson’s Bay store terra cottaAsk Bids For Palatial Block  Contractors Invited to Tender on Superstructure of Hudson’s Bay Company’s Douglas Street Building.  Either in the first or second week of January, work on the superstructure of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s new department store block on the corner of Douglas, Fisgard and Herald Streets, will be inaugurated. Fifteen copies of the plans and specifications were received by Mr. H.V. Pratt, the local manager yesterday, from Messrs. Burke, Horwood and Hall, the Toronto Architects.  In accordance with instructions received from Mr. H.E. Burbidge, chief stores commissioner, Mr. Pratt immediately took steps to call for tenders. The first notice is published in The Colonist this morning, and fixes the limit of time allowed the contractors to make their estimates and submit them at December 27. This allows only two full weeks, which is an earnest of the determination of the officials that the building shall be actually underway as early as possible next year.  It is not the intention, as will be noted, that one contractor shall be given full charge of the entire structure. Separate tenders are asked for the different branches of work necessary, as follows: Reinforced concrete, plain concrete, architectural terra cotta, ornamental iron, carpentry and joinery, sheet metal work, plastering, marble and tile, painting, glazing. In fact, every phase of structural work is being dealt with separately as far as such a system is practicable.  The only work that is not dealt with is the mechanical part, and this, it is understood, is to be considered later. It includes the elevator system, the heating plant, and the lighting.   Covers Four Stories  There has been some doubt expressed as to whether the present appropriation of the board of directors of the Hudson’s Bay Company for the Victoria building, namely $450,000, was intended to cover the outlay involved on a ten-story structure, which will be its ultimate extent, or only the expenditure proposed on the four stories to be erected immediately. Discussing this question yesterday, Mr. Pratt stated that the amount was intended for the construction of the first section of the block, in other words, for the four stories now to be undertaken. While it might appear a large sum, especially when it was remembered that the cost of the property was not figured in it, the construction of such a building as that called for in the plans and specifications was an expensive enterprise. He pointed out again that it was to be of the very highest class, in its architecture, in the materials used, and in its equipment. There would be nothing on the Canadian west in the line of modern departmental establishments to excel it in point of provisions for stock accommodations or in its equipment for the convenience and comfort of patrons.  Mr. Burbidge has announced that he will spend his Christmas holidays in this city. He will arrive sometime before the festive holiday and remain until after December 27, the day on which tenders will be accepted. He thus will ?…………………………………………………………………..? with those contractors whose figures are acceptable. While it is not certain that he will be able on that occasion to announce the awarding of the contracts, it is assured that this will be done a few days later.
1913-12-13ColonistWinter Resorts – Tourism, Tourists“Famous California Winter Resorts” List of ads for California resorts and hotels. 12/12/1913
1913-12-13ColonistHudson’s Bay StoreExcavation Work At Hudson’s Bay Site  Amount of Material Removed for Great department store Establishes Local Single Building Record.  That the excavation work will be completed in ample time to allow the contractors to proceed with the superstructure of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s large new departmental store on the corner of Douglas, Fisgard and Herald streets early next month, was the statement made by Luney Brothers, the well-known contractors,  yesterday.  Mr. W. Luney asserted that the progress made since the commencement of operations was fully up to expectations. His firm had been fortunate to an extent in finding that there was not as much rock to be removed as was considered probable. At the outset it was thought that two-thirds of the work would be of that character, but it was proved that approximately fifty per cent only, was rock. What was encountered, however, was of exceptionally hard type, a driller of seventeen or eighteen years’ experience here having said that in all those years he never had been called to drill through tougher granite than that which has been encountered.  Incidentally, Mr. Luney pointed out that the excavation now underway is the largest of its kind ever ordered for building purposes in this city. When it is finished, its depth, measuring from the street grades, will be about twenty-three feet throughout. As the frontage on Douglas Street is 240 feet and that on Fisgard and Herald Streets 140, and as a material allowance must be made for that taken from under the sidewalks on all the thoroughfares, the total amount of soil and stone taken from the site will total in the neighbourhood of 25,000 yards,  Recently orders have been received by the contractors to make the foundation deeper at certain spots to allow for the installation of the heating and mechanical equipment. These instructions were not forthcoming, it is stated, until a little over a week ago, and for that reason it is likely that Luney Bros. will not have the contract off their hands quite as soon as was predicted. But the delay will not amount to more than a week or so and there is no doubt that the ground will be ready by the time the contract is let and the materials assembled preparatory to the commencement of operations.
1913-12-16ColonistRoyal Theatre“Load Test Carried Out on Balcony by City Inspector.”
1913-12-19ColonistRoyal Theatrea series of ads was placed in the Colonist through the month of December 1913 offering shares in the new Royal Theatre. These were needed to carry on with the proposed additional buildings to the sides of the theatre. Ads were placed on the 25th, 19t, 18th, 7th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 13th, 16th
1913-12-21Colonisthaddington legislatureDaily Colonist, December 21, 1913.  Stonecutters Finishing Work   — According to Mr. W. S. McDonald, contractor for the Parliament Buildings extensions, the stone cutting for the three main blocks will be completed within a month, and that section of the work will, therefore, cease. The stonecutters, who have been working in the sheds on Superior Street for many months, are understood to have signed contracts for a big undertaking in San Francisco, so that when they cease work here they will immediately travel south. Mr. McDonald came over to the Capital yesterday to inspect the progress made. The amount of stone necessary for the completion of the three blocks, the wings and the centrepiece, will be cut within the month. As already reported, Mr. McDonald thinks that the West Wing will be finished within a very short time and ready for occupancy.
1913-12-23ColonistRoyal theatreCIVIC APPRECIATION  Daily,Colonist, December 23, 1913 City Council Will Attend Theater Opening As Recognition of Efforts of Promoters.  As a mark of its appreciation of the efforts of those gentlemen whose hard work and substantial support has resulted in the erection of a first-class theater in the city, the members of the City Council will attend as a body the first performance in the new playhouse on the 29th inst. It was Alderman Cuthbert’s suggestion which led the Council to take this action. He pointed to the fact that for many years Victorians have been looking forward to the time when the city would have a theater worthy of her. That time has arrived, and that it has been due almost solely to a few public-spirited gentlemen, whose generous support has ended in success. This public spirit, the alderman believed, was worthy of recognition, and the Council could show its appreciation by being present when the theater was formally opened.
1913-12-23ColonistRoyal Theatre  Comfort Is Feature of New Theatre  Scheme of Decoration Carefully Conceived and Restful to the Eye — Putting Finishing Touches to Playhouse.  Those who have watched an army corps, at the close of the day’s campaigning, erect its full complement of tents and, amid an apparent chaos, but with the orderly precision aboard of military training, convert a barren plain into a tented city, will find a strange similarity to such a scene of activity being enacted daily in the new Victoria Theater building.  Workmen in white overalls, like the rank and file of the soldiery in their fatigue uniforms, seemed to be passing and repassing in endless confusion and yet slowly but with an almost visible progress, the work of completion of the interior continues until the eye begins to discern the wonderful metamorphosis that the structure is undergoing, that is destined to change the present unromantic chrysalis into a gorgeous butterfly.  Amid the rasping hiss of the mechanical drills, that dull thuds of a hundred hammers and the treacly splashings of the plaster mixers, moves the superintendent of the building, ordering, commanding, and suggesting, now give you a hurried instruction to inquiring messenger, now sending reinforcements were the work is flagging, like some general who amid the whole kaleidoscope movement keeps the ultimate aim of his army within his vision, with his finger constantly on the pulse of his forces, ready to meet any emergency.  Within the building last night stood veritable seas of scaffolding, not a chair has yet passed within its portals, the very decorations on the walls are swathed in giant sheets, and although to the layman the task of having the building ready seems insuperable, all fears and doubts  are banished with the general in command speaking with an ex cathedra dignity, says;  “The building will be turned over to the cleaners on Christmas Day.”  Scene of Busy Haste.  One feels that the suggestion is trite and impertinent, as one hints that the work still to be done, and points to the busy haste of the plasterers swarming an impossible angles along ceilings like a giant hive of bees. Without the slightest traced of irritation and with the same “I have spoken” voice of authority that brings conviction in spite of the tangible proofs of seemingly normal senses, the general in command says:  “There is only the grand foyer and the entrance lobby to be finished and the plasterers will be out of this building within twenty-four hours. The general contractors will turn this building over to the cleaners on Christmas Day.”  And so one braces up one’s imagination and with the aid of acres of blueprints tries to picture the theater as it will appear next Monday when Otis Skinner and his company will present Kismet.  The stage investiture is practically complete with the exception of the velours curtain which will be hung after the cleaners have taken up their brooms and dusters and departed. This curtain measures thirty-nine feet, six inches wide and thirty feet high. It was specially made by Holliday’s of London, who are famous world over for these hangings. The stage is the largest working stage on this continent, outside of New York; except that of the Majestic theatre at Chicago, measuring eighty-eight feet from wall to wall and forty feet from the curtain lying to the back wall. The stage picture made through their proscenium arch, is thirty-eight feet wide by thirty-three feet.  All the scenery is controlled from the grid which built seventy-five feet above the stage line. There are no roll pieces and when the stage is not working at all, the scenery is raised thirty-five feet clear of the stage, thus reducing the fire hazard to the irreducible minimum. In order to offer a further protection against fire all the scenery is saturated with asbestos solution, while an extra weight asbestos wall can be dropped between the audience and the stage. That this fire resistant curtain is a real protection against sudden conflagration can be understood when it is remembered that it can be dropped its entire length in less than one second, thus eliminating the danger of air pressure.  Comfort the Maxim.  Comfort has been the slogan of the architects, Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, and this idea dominates the whole scheme of design. Modern theatrical producers have grasped the fact that the theatre of today must compete with the attractions of the home and the old discomforts of narrow and crowded seats offer no inducement to the tired business man or woman in search for relaxation for mind and body. The seats on the floor of the auditorium of the new theatre are of the Squab chair type, upholstered in leather of a tobacco brown tone. They are the widest seats in any auditorium in North America, being not less than twenty-six inches across as compared with the nineteen to twenty-two inch chairs that are the standards of the American theatre. In addition to this feature, that will tend towards the additional comfort, no less than four inches more than is allowed in any theater on this continent has been provided between the rows so that latecomers will not be able to enjoy that added felicity of obstructing their neighbor’s view of walking heavily on his toes.  According to the established American Standard, the seating capacity of a house of the dimensions of the new theater would be 2200, but owing to these considerations of comfort the new theater will only have a seating capacity for 1558, including 112 box seats. Even then the house will only be exceeded in seating capacity by three London theaters, the London Opera theater, the Lyceum, and Drury Lane, considerably exceeding such substantial structures as the Aldwych, the Garrick, and the St. James theatre.  The color scheme of the theater is brown, ranging from the lighter shades of a gamboge yellow to the deep rich tones of Etruscan stenna.  Decorative Scheme.  The object of the whole scheme of decoration is to lead the eye to the stage and to rivet it there, which the blatant attractions of startling mural tints in other theaters so often prevent. The lightest tones are used at the back, and these, gradually shading into darker tints, lead harmoniously to the proscenium arch which forms a suitable frame for the velours curtain of rich brown.  In the grand foyer columns are of onyx with scagliola in imitation of coven Sienna marble. The columns edge panels which are made of rich brocade especially imported from Paris of Delft blue with an overtone of tarnished gold. The brown, which is the dominating color scheme in the auditorium, harmonize as with the combination of blue and yellow in the foyer, and this color scheme has been found the best foil to the many color dresses of the ladies of an audience. The decorative scheme is more closely allied to the late Renaissance than to any other period, but the treatment is entirely continental.  The lighting of the house is throughout under triple control, and each section of the building, both on the stages and in front, can be controlled from any one of the three panels which are located on the stage, at the box office and in the male chorus dressing room. There are three banks of dimmers so that the finest lighting effects can be graduated, thus avoiding the strain arising from breaking from a sudden glare to almost total darkness. The footlights are designed, patented and constructed by a Victorian. They are enclosed in inverted boxes swung on hinges and are capable of producing the finest scenic effects by throwing a full or partially dimmed light on chorus or principal whether at the extreme back of the stage or when close up to the apron.  Special attention has been paid to the facilities for handling scenery in transit to and from the theater, allowance having been made for the scene wagons to back directly onto the stage, which will not only greatly facilitate handling but will serve to eliminate the expenses of damage to scenery.  Entrance Lobby.  The entrance lobby is of white marble with white terrazzo floor. The ceiling is a single model piece of allegorical design painted by C. E. Dorisy, a French artist, who has spent several months in Victoria engaged on this work. The mural and ceilings in the auditorium are by A.Tadema, a nephew of the late President of the Royal Academy, Sir Alma Tadema.  This is an outline of some of the wonders of this new treasure house. Those responsible for this artistic triumph speak from knowledge when they say it will be the finest theater west of New York. The croakers who say “Can anything good come out of Victoria” will have an opportunity of reversing their judgment when the doors are thrown open next Monday.  “It is the last word in theater construction,” said one of those prominently identified with its erection in discussing the new theater yesterday. “We have profited by the mistakes of theater builders in the past, and I believe the new theater will rank as one of the great playhouses, not only of this continent, but of the world.”  And the general-in-command, in the midst of his orders and entreaties, reiterates his pronunciamento;  “We will turn over the theater to the cleaners on Christmas Day.”
1913-12-24ColonistRoyal TheatrePremier Will Speak Prologue  Fitting Tribute to Location and Welcome to Audience at the Opening of New Victoria Theater.  Sir Richard McBride, Premier of British Columbia, will speak the prologue that the new Victoria theater on the occasion of the first performance, December 29.  Mr. Simon Leiser, President of the controlling company, will welcome the people of Victoria and the visiting actors within its portals, and Mr. Otis Skinner, the leading actor in America, will respond for the dramatic profession.  Although it is two years since Kismet was first stage on this continent, there is little doubt that the performance that will be witnessed next Monday will be framed in a more brilliant setting that has ever been accorded to the play before.  The advanced booking has exceeded the most sanguine anticipations of the supporters.  But a seat remains on the floor of the house for the opening night and the few remaining seats on the balcony are being rapidly taken.  With the past experience of theaters and halls in this country to guide them, the people of Victoria in making their reservations, have naturally chosen the parterre in the belief that the seats on the balcony are inferior to those across the footlights.  But in the Victoria Theatre, as indeed in most houses of modern construction, the mezzanine floor commands the best seats, for it is only on this floor that the spectator can appreciate the full wealth of the decorative scheme.  All the seating comforts that are so prominent a feature on the main floor are carried out on the balcony, and there is little doubt that theatergoers of Victoria will be quick to realize the advantages of the seats.  In addition to this it might almost seem as if the architects had designed the house for the especial benefit of the holders of balcony seats, for the men’s smoking room and the retiring rooms for ladies and men are located directly behind the balcony, immediately off the mezzanine rotunda.  Heavy Demand for Seats  Applications for seat reservations have been so heavy within the last few days that with the exception of a few blocks in the balcony, there are practically no seats unreserved for the opening performance.  For the remaining two evenings on which the great Eastern drama will be stage, there are still several seats left both on the ground floor and in the balcony, but the management announced last night that no further mail order applications would be received and that personal application at the box office would be necessary in order to insure reservations.  There’ll be a sound of revelry at night, and no effort will be spared to give the new theatre the baptism of good wishes and good fellowship which its promoters deserve.  Kismet is staged in ten scenes, and in order that the performance may not be prolonged beyond reasonable hours the speechmaking will begin at 7:15 in order that the curtain on the play proper may rise sharp at 8:30.  The audience who will see the grim tragedy in the baths or will watch with mingled feelings Hajj, the beggar, as he mounts to the throne of the Wizar, cannot fail to marvel at the wonderful stage pictures which are set for their enjoyment.  And yet few will appreciate the labor that the settings of these scenes involved.  Sharp at nine o’clock in the morning the eighteen loads of scenery carried on the long flat stage trucks will begin to arrive at the building.  Included in the paraphernalia is the twenty-two foot tank in which the grim tragedy in the Hamman baths is enacted.  The gorgeous scene of the bazaar will live in the memory of the audience, but the toiling of the stage hands, the brain that planned the splendid spectacle, will remain hidden behind the wings, their reward obtained in the distant plaudits of the audience.
1913-12-24ColonistRoyal theatre – other goings on at theatresFracas at Theater  Chinese Playhouse Scene of Trouble When Police Officer Seeks to Quell Disturbance.  A disturbance as to which of two claimants were entitled to the front seat in a box at the Chinese Theatre, Theatre Alley, created much excitement in the Celestial playhouse last night started a miniature riot which resulted in an appeal for police aid, a hand-to hand struggle between Constable Heatley and a score of Chinese frequenters of the place, and only ended when half a dozen more police were hurried to the place in the patrol wagon.  When this latter contingent arrived they found comparative peace restored.  Constable Heatley having effectively quelled the trouble, but not before he was forced to use his club in beating back his assailants.  The performance was in full swing when the squabble over the right to the box seat commenced.  The disputants refused to relinquish their respective claims and the management called in Constable Heatley.  The officer endeavored to restore quiet but without success and finally attempted to eject the chief trouble maker.  A dozen or so more of the audience resented the action of the policeman, and pushed upon the officer in attempts to release his captive.  The trouble grew worse at the entrance and the officer was being hard-pressed when he drew his baton and with vigorous swings cleared away his tormentors.  In the meantime the call for the patrol was sent in.  Constable Heatley is a bulky officer, built on lines calculated to make him efficient in just such an emergency.  When the reserve arrived the officer was monarch of all he surveyed, while roundabout were signs of the recent strife.  One Chinaman had been thrown headfirst into an ash can and another had been projected backwards with such force that he struck between the rungs of a ladder, and with head and feet sticking forward, the rest of his anatomy was pinioned between the rungs.  There was a great deal of chattering and excitement in the alley when the other police reached the scene.  They separated the crowd and while one half was pushed out through the alley towards Fisguard Street, the other half was kept moving to Cormorant Street.  In the meantime the performance went on inside the theatre without a stop.
1913-12-24TimesRoyal TheatreTheater Will Be Ready on Monday  Work yet to Be Done Laid out in Perfect Schedule.  Skeptical remarks are frequently heard when mention is made of the opening of the new Victoria theatre on December 29.  People unfamiliar with theatre construction and with the wonderful progress which is made daily in the last week before completion are misled by the appearance of planks and plaster and mortar and ends of steel beams and windowless cavities in the walls which greet the eye on every side of the building at Broughton and Blanchard streets at the present time.  Mr. Raymond, superintendent of construction, gave in detail this morning the schedule of work which is to be completed before the opening on Monday night, and there is not one job which will take more than two days at the outside.  The brass rail all over the house requires to be set.  The plastering and painting in the box section, and the small remaining portion of the scaffolding over the boxes, have yet to be done.  The heavy velour drop and asbestos wire wall have yet to be hung.  Weller’s will begin laying carpet on Friday and will have also completed putting up the beautiful hangings by Saturday night.  On Friday morning a big crowd of cleaners will go into the house, and by Friday night the house will be as spic and span in appearance as a drawing room.  The seats will have been set up by the time this paper is in the street.  Although it was not expected that the marquee would be ready by the opening the contractors have promised that this job, too, will be completed and the entrance will appear exactly as portrayed in the plans.  Already the electric lights have been lit all over the tasteful front wall, and passersby at night have stopped to admire its beauty.  The vacant lot to the west of the building now occupied by a hopeless tangle of scaffolding, planks and various building material, completely covered with the inevitable white dirt, will be planted with ornamental trees by Saturday night in the greatest transformation in the premises will probably be effected in this detail.  Arrangements have been made for the opening night.  Sir Richard McBride will deliver the opening address, and he will be followed by Simon Leiser, president of the theater Company.  Otis Skinner, star in the opening production of Kismet, will speak for the profession.  The speeches will begin at 7:45 and the performance at 8:30 p.m.
1913-12-24ColonistRoyal theatre – An editorialThe New Theatre  There is no matter of doubt that the new Victoria Theatre will be a playhouse that will be a delight and a source of pride to the people of Greater Victoria.  That it will exceed in its impressive excellence the expectations even of those who were instrumental in erecting it, not to speak of the public at large, will not be questioned by anyone, when once the doors are thrown open.  It is the embodiment of a great that, which may be expressed in the words, “Nothing is too good for Victoria.”  A gratifying surprise awaits those who will fill the structure at the opening performances for they will realize the breadth of conception of a handful of their fellow citizens who with much self-sacrifice have labored to achieve so great a result.  We gave a description yesterday of what is being done but, as everyone knows, no adequate idea can be conveyed in words of the manner in which a completed structure will appeal to the eye.  The new Victoria Theatre will make this city known far and wide.  Those who have contributed to its erection will feel a justifiable pride in the years to come that their names have been associated in some way with the production of so admirable a house, where music and the drama can be exhibited under conditions unsurpassed for beauty, convenience, comfort and safety anywhere on the American Continent
1913-12-24TimesGonzales ObservatoryPhoto of Gonzales Observatory nearing completion.
1913-12-25ColonistRoyal TheatreFull page ad for New Victoria Theatre  SEE “ADVERT FOR DEC 25, 1913 ”  WP or Adobe
1913-12-25ColonistBay Street Armoury“Contract is Awarded for Victoria’s New drill hall.”  Copy of architect’s  drawing and article.
1913-12-26TimesBay Street Amouries“Amouries Contract Let to Parfett Bros.
1913-12-27TimesHeritage preservation – “France Protecting Historic Buildings.”
1913-12-27TimesVictoria High SchoolPhoto of Victoria High School nearing completion.
1913-12-27ColonistRoyal Theatre“Kismet” Played before His Majesty  Origin of Spectacular Production to Be Staged at the New Victoria Theater on Monday Evening  It is just two years ago yesterday since Edward Knoblock’s wonderful Arabian play Kismet was produced at the Knickerbocker Theatre, New York, by Messrs. Klaw and Erlanger and Mr. Harrison Gray Fiske, with Otis Skinner in the stellar role of Hajj, the beggar, and during the months of its presentation the Oriental drama has probably received more favorable criticism than any play from the pen of an American dramatist.  A little more than eight months previously this great four act play was produced at the Garrick Theatre in London, and on May 11 of the same year the play was honored by the appearance of His Majesty King George at the Garrick Theatre, being the first play which his Majesty saw after his accession to the throne.  The author, who is a graduate of Harvard University, began playwriting immediately after his graduation, and he has told the story of how he was led to the idea of the writing an Oriental drama through his enthusiasm over Sir Richard Burton’s translation of the “The Arabian Nights.”  Having steeped himself in these marvelous tales, he went to Tunis, where he spent a year gathering material for his play and studying the Arab at firsthand.  Mr. Arthur Asche saw the possibilities of the play when it was submitted to him, and it was during its run at the Garrick that Mr. Harrison Gray Fiske secured the American rights to the drama.  The critics and the audience had dealt favorably with it in London, but scarcely anyone was prepared for the furor which it created on the opening night in New York.  Company of 100 Players.  To present the story of barbaric splendor on the stage with its ever-changing background of Old Baghdad in all its Oriental richness, a company of nearly 100 players is required, and nine massive stage settings are utilized including the tank of the Mamman baths which is twenty-two feet long.  The incidental music, which is almost like an operatic score, was composed by William Forest, and is based on ancient Arabian musical themes.  The costumes are made from fabric brought especially from the East, and many of the properties were obtained in the bazaars of Northern Africa and Arabia.  The drama deals with a single day in the life of Hajj, the bigger, a rascal of considerable wit and resource who passed his life asking for alms at the beggar’s gate of the mosque — a day in which Kismet raises him from poverty to momentary affluence, delivers his two enemies into his hands, grants him the felicity of seeing his beloved daughter wedded to the Caliph, and then, as the sun sinks in the West, stripped him of his wealth, clothes him again in his rags and sets him again on the beggar’s stone at the door of the mosque of the carpenters.
1913-12-27TimesRoyal TheatreNew Theater Known as Royal Victoria.  Will Be on Wheel of Musical Comedy Company Headed by Mitzi Hajos.  Acoustics Tested and Found to Be Perfect.  No Shows Will Come Here for Fewer Than Two Nights in the Future.  Simultaneously with the completion of the Royal Victoria Theatre, for that is to be the name of the beautiful new home of drama, at Blanchard and Broughton streets, comes the announcement from New York that Victoria is to be one of eight cities on a new musical comedy wheel in the Northwest, with Seattle as the hub.  Mitzi Hajos, one of the most sparkling of New York’s big constellation of musical comedy stars, will head the company which is to be organized in New York and shipped out here, and the productions which will be staged will be strictly royalty pieces and their production in Seattle and Victoria will follow within a week or two of the New York opening.  Another important announcement in respect of the Royal Victoria Theatre is that bookings will all be for from two to four days.  There will be no more one-night shows in Victoria, according to the contract which Simon Leiser has succeeded in signing up with Klaw and Erlanger.  The effect of this is important to Victoria’s business interests, so many theatrical companies have made a practice of coming in here on the afternoon boat and leaving at midnight, spending no money while in this city.  Under the new arrangement the theatrical people will be able to buy their much-beloved Canadian diamonds, furs and woolens, for which they have hitherto had to go to Vancouver.  Furthermore, the hotels, restaurants, and general business firms will all have a chance to offer them their wares.  The further advantage to the public in getting more than one opportunity to see the shows is appreciated without explanation.  Work is still proceeding with frantic haste in the structure, which is to be ready by Monday night.  Several hundred men, all in different gangs, are exerting every effort to have their respective jobs ready.  The marble is in the entrance and the sumptuous black and gold tapestries are all in position on the walls.  The scagliola pillars in the grand foyer have been the object of admiration for several days of all who went near the theater to catch a glimpse of its rapidly developing beauties.  There is one feature of the Royal Victoria which has been a source of worry to the architects, contractors, management and directors, and even the general public.  No auditorium was every erected yet in which this most vital detail was not a source of equal anxiety, and the utmost that science has been able to accomplish has been the establishment of a couple of primitive rules which may or No may not result in success.  Last night, however, a small committee of the directors visited the theater for the thousand and first time, and the scaffolding having all been cleared away, it was possible to test the acoustics.  A violinist played on the stage and the directors sat in various positions of the house, finally taking seats in the back row of the balcony, the ultimate test.  Not a note was missed from the tones of the instrument although the most delicate shading was executed by the player.  Then a speaking test was made.  J. S. H. Matson went on the stage and Simon Leiser sat in the third row and they conversed in ordinary speaking tones.  Manager W. H. Raymond sat in the back row of the balcony and was able without effort to hear every syllable uttered by both gentlemen, although the one had his face to the stage.  There was jubilation in the camp when this result became known, and the various persons who have sounded the premises since, maintain that few buildings in America have more perfect acoustics.  When it is considered that beyond the observance of a few fundamental rules the architects had to rely upon pure chance to attain this result, the public of Victoria may thank kind Providence for this exceedingly unfortunate circumstance.  In addition to the several local people who will be present as the guests of the management, a distinguished assembly of theatrical men from the other leading theatrical centers of the West will be in attendance.  John W. Considine, of Sullivan and Considine, will be there from Seattle, as will George J. MacKenzie, the Western representative for Klaw and Erlanger.  Among the other theatrical people will be William C. Meagher, the K & E representative in Vancouver; Carl Ritter, manager of the Orpheum theater in Seattle, and Carl Hellig, owner of the Hellig theater in Portland.  Sir Richard McBride, the Lieutenant Governor, R. H. Sperling, managing director of the B.C. Electric company, and T. G. Holt, fourth Vice-president of the Canadian Northern Railway, will also be guests of the Royal Victoria Theatre.  The appearance of Otis Skinner in “Kismet” at the opening of the new house will undoubtedly prove the most important dramatic happening of the season.  Mr. Skinner’s portrayal of the vigorous and romantic Baker of Baghdad, who in a day, is dragged by Fate through a maelstrom of adventures, is easily the finest achievement so far in the career of this distinguished actor.  The staging of the play, which is the work entirely of Harrison Gray Fiske, is the most perfect in detail and gorgeous in general effect that has been seen in recent years.  The pageants and groupings of the great number of players and supernumeraries, clad in the rich and colorful raiment of the Orient, have rarely, if ever been equaled.  In presenting “Kismet,” Messrs. Klaw and Erlanger and Mr. Fiske have placed before the public a splendid, thrilling drama in a magnificent setting and have thereby set a new standard for theatrical productions in this country.  No more appropriate production could have been selected for the opening of so fine a house as the Royal Victoria, where the specially constructed tank and other up-to-date equipment make the work of setting so elaborate a show comparatively easy.  The importance to the theater-going public of the northwest of Klaw and Erlanger’s announcement mentioned further up in the column cannot be overestimated.  It has sometimes taken a year before even a road company came to Victoria with the big new musical comedies which were successful in New York.  The adoption of the wheel system (for, if it is successful similar companies will be sent out from San Francisco and Los Angeles), means that the books and lyrics of new musical comedies can be forwarded to Seattle at once as fast as new shows are produced in New York and, as the company is to be of thoroughly competent Eastern material, the productions in Seattle will be of scarcely less magnitude and artistic merit than those in Gotham itself.  Supporting Mitzi Hajos will be a case of Broadway artists, and a beauty chorus sent out from New York also.  The front row of the singing chorus will also be from New York, and the remainder of the chorus will be built up according to the extent of the production been put on at any given time.  The eight cities on the wheel are Seattle, Victoria, Vancouver, Bellingham, Spokane, Missoula,, and Portland.  The ever increasing Western demand for musical comedies caused Klaw and Erlanger to take this important step.  The company will play three night and week stands only.  Manager Raymond, of the Royal Victoria, was asked about the scheme this morning, and said he believes some such plan was being worked out, and was sure Victoria would be included.
1913-12-27TimesRoyal TheatrePhoto of Royal Theatre nearing completion. also photo of plaster figures placed over boxes. an Article is attached.
1913-12-28ColonistRoyal TheatreAdvertisement “Victoria’s Fine New Playhouse to Use World-Famous Instruments.” Fletcher Bros. Music House.
1913-12-28ColonistRoyal Theatre – EditorialThe New Theater.  The fact that the Royal Victoria Theatre will be opened to the public tomorrow evening and be then fully completed  affords such an illustration of capable business management on the part of the contractors and workmanship on the part of all concerned in the erection and furnishing of this highly modern structure, as to warn, a reference to the man whose skill and energy have an able the Victoria Opera House Company Ltd., to carry out itself assumed undertaking to the public to have the theatre ready before the cornerstone of the year pass.  When this promise was given a few months ago, it was received with a good deal of incredulity, and as the weeks passed by, the conviction that the work could not possibly be done by the date promised became very general.  But the contractors, Messrs. Pinner and McLellan, were never for one moment in doubt.  Their plans were so systemized that there was never an hour’s delay.  They took no short cuts to the finish; they did everything in the most thorough manner possible, and they completed the job when they said they would.  To erect so fine a playhouse in the time at their disposal is evidence of a degree of executive ability on the part of this firm which cannot be easily equaled and certainly cannot be surpassed.  The names of some of those who were in charge of certain departments of the work well deserves mention.  The beauty of the interior of the theater is of a very high order. Mr. Henry Hazel, who had the subcontract for the plastering; Mr. D. E. Dorisy, in whose hands was the work of decoration; Mr. F. Tadema, to whose skill the beautiful panels are due, and Mr. Louis Inwegen, the superintendent of the electrical installation, have left nothing to be desired in the manner in which they have carried out their respective shares in this undertaking which is beyond all question the finest example of construction in the way of a home for music and the drama to be found anywhere in western America and is unsurpassed on the continent.  A theatre for a city like Victoria should not only be large, safety and comfortable, but it ought also to present an artistic appearance.  We think the public will, when the new house has been opened, feel with us that this end has been reached in it, and will concede that this reference to Messrs. Hazel, Dorisy, Tadema, and Inwegen is well-deserved, for good work well done deserves honorable mention.  It may be of interest to know that the new Victoria Theatre is built upon the general lines of the Orpheum Theatre of Seattle, the architect of which was Mr. Kingsley of that city.  Associated with him in preparing the plans for the Victoria structure were Messrs. Sankey and Rochfort, the well-known local architects, who are to be congratulated upon what they have contributed to the conspicuous success of this enterprise.  The steel structure which forms the framework of the theater was planned by Mr. W. Billman, of Seattle, one of the greatest experts in the world, and he says it represents the very last word in that line of construction.  Yesterday the directors of the Victoria Opera House Company Ltd., said that they would be very glad If The Colonist could see its way clear to express for them the gratitude they felt towards all the workmen engaged upon the theatre.  There has rarely, if ever, been an occasion in Victoria when a body of men, representing so many different trades, have work together with such a fine spirit of co-operation as has been manifested in erecting and completing this structure.  They seemed to be animated by a single desire, namely, to do their work well and quickly, so that it might be finished with in the specified time period.  We take very great pleasure in complying with the request of the directors in this behalf.
1913-12-28ColonistRoyal Theatre – Fashions AdvertisingAn advertisement offering “For the Opening of the New Theatre — Superb Gowns and Handsome Opera Capes.”
1913-12-28ColonistRoyal TheatreOpening of Royal Victoria Theatre Takes Place Tomorrow.  Under this title a full-page ad was run in the magazine section of The Colonist.  The article included a photograph of the Royal partially completed but, it is assumed, pretty well ready for opening.  The upper balustrades  have not been installed but the parapet terra-cotta is pretty well completed.  A framework for the canopy appears to be hung but no glass installed.  Photographs of the various contractors and architects are included as well as a photograph of what is purported to be the first theater built in British Columbia.  The text of the article is as follows:  Men Responsible for New Theater.  Those Who Build, Adorned and Equipped Playhouse Whose Doors Will Be Thrown Open Tomorrow.  “Exagi Monumentum Aere Perennius”  These words penned by the greatest lyrical poet of the Golden age might well be emblazoned above the portals of the Royal Victoria Theatre.  Long after the sculptured plaster casts have cracked and the wonderful murals have lost the delicacy of their pristine charm, the building itself, grown old with the passing centuries, this monument to the faith of a pioneer age in the future greatness of Victoria will endure with no less certainty than the sapphics of Horace.  Victoria, indeed, has much to be proud of in her new theatre.  This western outpost of civilized nation has set a high mark in theatre construction to the older cities of the Eastern Provinces and to Europe.  It is the last word in playhouse building, and the indomitable energy and “joy in the working” which has been contagious in every department throughout the whole course of construction, deserve the unstinted encomiums of the people of Victoria.  Messrs. Penner and McLellan  Messrs. Penner and McLellan, the general contractors, are no novices in structural work, although the firm has only been in existence two years.  Each of the partners brought in as part of his capital a wealth of experience, sound of business knowledge and ability to do things, which they learned in different continents.  Mr. Arthur Penner was born at Birmingham, Warwickshire, and comes from a race of builders.  For more than 120 years the firm established by his great grandfather has been engaged in the erection of buildings, and after the manner of his race, has built “buildings that endure.”  Nineteen years ago he came to Victoria, and he has erected many fine structures in British Columbia and in the neighboring State of Washington, among them being the Masonic Temple at North Yakima and a number of schools in Seattle, the most prominent of which is probably the Fairview School.  As a record of quick construction it may be noted that under Mr. Penner’s personal supervision the entire balcony of the new theatre was set in a remarkable time of ten hours and a quarter.  Mr. A. M. McLennan, the other partner of the firm, is from Missouri and it is a jest among his fellow workers on the new building that he had “had to be shown what a real theatre was by coming to Victoria.”  Mr. McLennan was born and brought up in the contracting trade.  At an early age he was a superintendent of construction of the Garfield smelter in Utah, supervising 3500 men during the process of erection of what is probably the largest building in the world.  At one time Mr. McLennan had under construction no less than forty five buildings simultaneously at Salt Lake City, including three large apartment houses.  On one of these structures, three stories high, three quarters of a million bricks were needed and yet the building was turned over to its owner, Mr. M. P. Stathokos, twenty eight days after the ground was broken.  Mr. McLennan built the laundry buildings of the Vancouver General Hospital and erected the Langley Apartment House and the Vancouver Engineering Works in the Terminal City.  Mr. William H. Raymond.  Builder-journalist-play producer is a composite profession which claims Mr. William H. Raymond, the superintendent of construction.  For three years he was publicity manager for the Sullivan and Considine circuit, and later acted for two years as representative for Messrs. Klaw and Erlanger in the Northwest.  The old Los Angeles Theatre, the Bush Street Theatre at San Francisco and the Denver Orpheum know his ability in front of the house, while the new Victoria Theatre, which he watched grow from the infancy of excavation to the full measure of its virginal beauty is a monument to his ability, untiring energy and unquenchable enthusiasm.  Mr. C. E. Dorisey  The directors were fortunate in securing the services of an artist of international reputation for the design of the interior decoration on which the reputation of the theatre for artistic beauty must eventually stand or fall.  The dominant note of the house is the artistic beauty of its color scheme, the harmonious blending of the decoration and the execution of the groups of statuary which are a prominent feature.  Mr. C. E. Dorisy was born at Paris and educated at the famous Beaux Art School of the University of the French Capital.  Early in life he envinced  an aptitude for sculpture and decorative art, and was awarded a prize at the annual exhibition of the famous salon.  Mr. Dorisy has been a member of the jury at various exhibitions in France and in the United States, and unmistakable testimonials of the perfection of his art are seen in the declarations of the Federal Building, the College Inn, and in many of the most beautiful residences in Seattle.  Mr. Dorisy was fortunate in securing Messrs. A. and C. Weissenborn to carry out faithfully the wonderful ensemble which he designed, and Mr. Gotter, whose artistic tastes in draperies and hangings is seen in the mansions of Mr. John D. Rockefeller and Mr. Vanderbilt in New York City.  Mr. F. Tadema  The accident of birth makes Mr. F. Tadema claim the island of Sumatra for his birthplace, but like his famous relative, Sir Alma, Holland is his true fatherland.  Mr. Tadema has painted wonderful allegorical studies, rich in coloring and with a lightness of brush that only a real artist, can accomplish after studying at Amsterdam, Antwerp, Düsseldorf and Paris, he settled for some years in the French capital, gaining prizes at Amsterdam and at the Paris salon.  Like Mr. Dorisy, he has frequently served as a member of the jury a different international expositions, and there are few of the larger cities of Europe at which some example of his wonderful work has not been seen.  Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey  A special word of praise is due to Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, the supervising architects, who have caught the spirit of the original design, and, with the aid of the clever workman supervising the different branches, have faithfully carried out a remarkable scheme.  It was a task of considerable magnitude, and the efficient way in which they have fulfilled the general plan, adding to it the suggestions of the able artist and decorators employed in the construction speaks well for their ability to handle a structure of this magnitude.  Mr. Henry Hazel  Mr. Henry Hazel, who has installed the plasterwork designed by Mr. Dorisy, was born at Bath, Somerset, in England.  It is no new experience for Mr. Hazel to be engaged in executing intricate models in plaster, for in the sixteen years that he has been a resident of British Columbia his work has been entirely along this line.  Mr. Hazel was a contractor of the plasterwork of the convent at Vancouver and at Pont Grey high school, and as an authority on the subject he is confident that the work of this branch at the new theatre is not excelled in any playhouse in America.  As a proof of his rapid workmanship it is interesting to note that in spite of the extraordinary amount of stuff to be run, the heavy moldings and enrichments, but the whole of his contract was completed within thirty days, during which time the amount of plaster, cement, plaster of Paris, etc., used amounted to more than eighty five tons.  Messrs. Ne Page & McKenny  The firm of Ne Page & McKenny Co., has almost obtained a monopoly for electrical installations in theaters on this continent, and when the contract for the new theater was let it was natural that the directors should ensure their  representative in Victoria has of the work.  Mr. Louis Van Inwegan, their representative in Victoria, has proved the fallacy of the remark that man cannot work for long periods without sleep, for on the top of a regular working day of about eighteen hours he and his staff frequently put in several hours overtime and turned up for the regular shift next morning smiling.  Messrs. Adams and Moffat  What Messrs.Ne Page & McKenny are in electrical installations to the theatrical world Messrs. Adams and Moffat, who have erected the heating plant in the new theatre, are rapidly becoming in their own branch.  The best proof of the excellence of their design and workmanship is the fact that under the present system installed at the new theatre, every cubic foot of air in the theatre could under pressure be changed in a minute and a half, while under ordinary conditions the change will actually take place every few minutes.  Prospect of auditors who have visions of hurricane-like draughts may dispel their fears for the change takes place entirely unknown to those seated in the theater.  The Pacific Heating and Plumbing Company has furnished the fixtures required in this service throughout the theatre.  These are all of Canadian design and manufacture.  Mr. Joseph Nelson, who has personally supervised their erection, is to be heartily congratulated on the scale of his workmanship and the working efficiency of his modern fixtures.  There are four men living at the present day on this continent of the Government of the United States recognizes as authorities on scagiola work for their Federal buildings.  One of this quartet is Mr. N. B. Scott, who has carried out all this class of work in the new theater.  Designed by himself, the work is entirely Victoria made, and not only will the beauty of design and the efficiency of the workmanship be a source of wonder to many visitors, but to builders and contractors who have had their attention drawn to this class of work, and there seems to be a probability that it will be more generally adopted in many of the better class buildings of Victoria in future.  Messrs. Weiler Brothers Ltd.  Messrs. Weiler, famous furnishers of Victoria, have eclipsed their high standard in providing furnishings and hangings for the new theatre.  The carpets have been specially woven for this firm, and the chairs are the finest to be found in any playhouse on the continent.  Paris, London and New York have been scoured for the richest draperies, while magnificent veloeurs drop curtain cannot be matched outside of a few of the world’s famous opera houses.  Messrs. Weiler have also supplied the furniture for the stage, the smoking room and the ladies room, which is fully up to their highest standard of elegance.  The two pianos used in the theater, the Steinway Grand and a Heintzman upright were supplied by Fletcher Brothers of Victoria and the high standing of the makers is a sufficient guarantee of their excellence.glansdowne
1913-12-28ColonistRoyal TheatreCeremony at New Playhouse  Royal Victoria Theater to Be Opened by Sir Richard McBride Prior to Presentation of Kismet.  Tomorrow night the Royal Victoria Theatre will be opened with Sir Richard McBride taking part in the inaugural ceremony prior to the presentation of “Kismet.”  Owing to the length of the play and to the fact that several speeches are to be made before the raising of the curtain, the audience is requested to be seated at 730 o’clock.  At eight o’clock sharp the doors will be closed and latecomers will not be admitted after this time until the close of the first act.  After the audience has had time to inspect the wonderful decorative scheme, the rich hangings and the subdued lighting effects, Sir Richard McBride will, from the stage, make a congratulatory address to the directors of the theatre, and give expression to the feelings of satisfaction which Victorians must enjoy at the completion of this playhouse, which unquestionably is the finest in the West.  Mr. Simon Leiser will respond on behalf of the directors, and at the close of his address Mrs. Mac Donald Fahey will sing “Rule Britannia.”  Before the play proper commences, Mr. Otis Skinner who is today recognized as the greatest actor on the American stage will make a short address.  Pioneer Playhouse  It is a far cry from the old Royal Theatre, the earliest seat of the drama in Victoria, to the magnificent structure which is to be open tomorrow and which stands as the ultimate expression of playhouse construction, and yet it is only half a century since this pioneer playhouse was a rendezvous of Victorian society.  The first theater was built of logs and sadly lacked the elegancies and refinements that make its latest successor such a delight to the eye, and yet there are many pioneers living in the city today whose memories of that structure are fragrant with the sweetest memories.  The theater was located on Government Street on the old Fort property belonging to the Hudson’s Bay Company, now the site of the Hibben Bone Block.  The main entrance was on Government Street, which even at that time was the principal street of the settlement.  The playhouse consisted of a hall and gallery, the gallery being an addition that came with the accession of popularity for theatrical productions.  The stage backed onto what is now Langley Street, and the great swinging doors used for the transporting of scenic effects, were also requisitioned as safety exits.  In this way the theater acquired a reputation for security, a reputation which it sustained.  The lighting arrangements together with the scenic equipment were marvels  in their way, and no less wonderful in character than those with which the Royal Victoria Theatre are now equipped.  In those days, as in these present times, the best of the dramatic world sojourned here at one time or another, Charles Keen, in the role of Otello, is a very distinct recollection.  Mrs. Keen is also recalled, and many other famous actors and actresses, who enjoyed the hospitality of the people of the city during their short stay in Victoria.  At the new theatre the opening performance will be a play which has made its American author famous in every civilized country in the world; that has brought to the producer the glory of having fashioned the most famous example of stage artistry the American theatre has known; that has raised an already notable actor to the highest rank in his profession, and has given pleasure to thousands of audiences on this  continent.
1913-12-29TimesRoyal TheatreNew Theater to Have Impressive Opening.  “Kismet” Will Be Preceded by Inaugural Addresses from Premier and Others.  Will Be Brilliant As Social Function  Decorations of Interior Are Unusually Beautiful and Artistic.  In the midst of a season which has been noted for the multiplicity and brilliance of its social events, the one great outstanding feature will be without question the opening of the Royal Victoria Theatre. For weeks passed the most elaborate preparations have been underway so that the appearance of the buildings may be quite in keeping with the importance of a function which is of a unique significance in the life of the city.  And the business of the past few weeks has had its own reward.  The great building is complete, inside and out, as far as anything that is likely to affect the comfort of the patrons is concerned, and barring one or two minor points the house this evening will appear in its finished state to the big audience which is to crowd the place to capacity.  The inaugural ceremony is to commence at 7:30, by which time everyone is supposed to be in his seat.  The actual performance of “kismet” will not commence until eight o’clock, but a preliminary program is to be given in honor of so auspicious an occasion.  Sir Richard McBride will make a congratulatory address to the directors of the theater, and will, on behalf of the citizens, express the appreciation which everyone must feel at the opening of so handsome a home of drama and the allied arts.  On behalf of the directors, Mr. Simon Leiser, the president of the board, will respond, and this part of the proceedings will conclude with the singing, by Mrs. McDonald Fahey, of “Rule Britannia.”  Owing to the time to make up as Hajj, it will be impossible for Otis Skinner to speak before the performance, as was previously announced.  It is expected, however, that he will find an opportunity of expressing his pleasure with the new house after the play, and those who may be disappointed at the omission at the beginning, may look forward to having their wishes gratified later on  The new theater is a work of art from the entrance doors to the proscenium.  A small army of workers are today putting on the finishing touches which are necessary to rob the interior of any appearance of crude incompletion.  To commence with, the scheme of coloring is extremely restful and artistic, being, in a general way, in dull old gold, softly lighted, and the lines of architecture throughout graceful and harmonious.  The proscenium arch itself is a beautiful span, the supporting pillars of which and the arch above being of solid gold leaf.  In the middle of the roof of the arch is a coat of arms of British Columbia, this possessing almost the only piece of bold color in the whole interior design.  The walls represent, as it were, a delightful Grecian scene viewed through a window, and in the design of the three panel canvases which formed this, Mr. Dorisy has surpassed even the most ambitious hopes of the directors.  Highly decorative, the panels are nevertheless most artistically subdued to the general scheme of coloring and the sky, the reflections in the water, the silhouette forms of the trees and the very figures are toned to the veiled gold of the surrounding walls.  Two groups of classic figures, representing drama and comedy leaning on a shield, topped the space above the boxes, behind these being the soft golden-browns, purples, orange, and red of the Dominion emblem, the maple leaf.  This touch is modern, but is so artistically carried out that it does not interfere in any way with the general effect.  Seating accommodation is, to be exact, 1,650.  The seats are reserved all through the house, including the gallery, where, as in the rest of the house, the chairs are upholstered and tip up, while a splendid view of the stage is obtainable from every point in the auditorium.  The chairs in the orchestra stalls are an inch and three quarters wider than any other theater chairs in the world today, and the knee space is so much deeper than theater-goers here are accustomed to that the seats will seem particularly luxurious.  On the main floor of the theatre there are no stairs, saving those which lead to the upper boxes, and the incline is so good that whether in pit or orchestra stalls, an excellent view of the stage is obtained.  The balcony and gallery are all on one incline, and the front of the former is broken up into loggias containing four and five chairs in each.  There are altogether twelve boxes in the entire house, three on each side of the ground floor, and three above these again.  The acoustics are magnificent, and were “tried out” to the great satisfaction of the conductor at a rehearsal given this morning.  The ventilation has been particularly carefully studied and it is possible, with the system of exhaust and pressure fans installed, to change the entire air of the theater in three minutes.  Hidden lights are fitted throughout the house, and the effect is extremely pleasing.  The most perfect illumination being possible, and at the same time no blatant or disagreeable flare of light being visible.  The enterprise and its accomplishment are almost phenomenal.  On October 29 there was nothing more of the theatre ready than the steel frame.  In sixty days the whole of the visible work has been completed and put in place.  Mr. Dorisy and Mr. Tadema have been working together since April on the big decorative panels, the curtain has been ready for some time: but otherwise the great part of the work had to be done since the time mentioned.  The Royal Victoria theater is an “open house” not a theatrical trust.  The management would like to see bookings from every traveling company that they think is really good enough for the house, but will stand out rigorously against “barnstorming” performances.  The total liability on the theater on the opening night will be between $180,000 and $190,000 out of which sum R. T. Elliott, Simon Leiser, and J. S. H. Matson stand responsible to the Merchants Bank of Canada, who have been kind enough to make the advances to the extent of $130,000, and for as much more as will be necessary, pending the completion of the building.  W. H. Raymond has been selected by the Board of Directors as house superintendent and acting manager.  All bookings in contracts made on behalf of the shareholders and the Board of Directors will be confirmed by the managing director J. S. H. Matson, the board been as follows: Simon Leiser, president; R. T. Elliott, F. B. Pemberton, A E Todd, Andrew Wright, A. C. Burdick, D’O Rochfort and J. S. H. Matson.  It is largely owing to the enterprise of Simon Leiser, whose bust, by Mr. Dorisy, has now been placed on its marble pedestal in the foyer, and is a splendid likeness of this energetic benefactor of the theater-lovers of the city, that the new monument to art has been erected in Victoria.  To Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, the architects, is do a great measure of praise for the excellence of the architectural design and the beauty of the structure generally, well to the decorators, Mr. Dorisy and Mr. Tadema, the congratulations of a large public are well merited.  The beauty of the decorations extends beyond the auditorium of the theater itself into the foyer and dressing rooms, the entrance having panels of French tapestry and curtains to match which on the other side will be of golden-brown plush to harmonize with the scheme of coloring in the theater itself.  The walls of the ladies’ dressing rooms are finished in Empire design of old gold watered-silk, with curtains to match, and blue carpet, the same carpet being used in the foyer, and making a delightful contrast to the golden brown of the scagiola marble pillars and ledges.
1913-12-29TimesRoyal TheatreHOW FIRST VICTORIA THEATRE WAS OPENED  Many Prominent Figures Took Part in Ceremony of 28 Years Ago  Twenty eight years on October, 16, 1885, the present Victoria Theatre was opened with an amateur performance of the Pirates of Penzance and among the performers were several people well known in Victoria today.  At that time the theater was regarded as a masterpiece of modernity in amusements and as the census of 1881 returned the population of 7000, it was certainly an ambitious effort on the part of a small town.  The president of the theater company, R, Dunsmuir, occupied the chair, and the theater was declared open by the mayor, R. P. Rithet.  On the platform were the leaders in the movement for the new theater, S Redon, Carl Strouse Kurtz, and J.J. Austin, the secretary. The mayor said “it was a building which all would be proud of for its magnificent proportions and elegance of finish.”  Coming down to the performance itself, among the Company of amateur actors were E.G. Prior, Herbert Kent, J. Stewart Yates, R.B. McMicking and Mr. and Mrs. George Jay.  Mr. Yates spoke the prologue prepared by J. McH..  Smith.  An English minuet was advanced subsequently.  The honor of opening the first professional appearance fell to Grace Hawthorne and William F. Clifton in a repertory engagement in the following week.  For the opening performance the prices were a $1.50 for the dress circle, $1.25 for the parquet and $1.00 for the gallery.  Since that time the anticipations of its value to the citizens of Victoria have been more than justified, and many distinguished actors and actresses have appeared before the footlights in the old Douglas Street house.  Tonight a new headquarters of the drama is to be dedicated to the public.
1913-12-29TimesRoyal Theatre – an EditorialTHE ROYAL VICTORIA THEATRE  The Royal Victoria theatre will open its doors to the public for the first time tonight, inaugurating what we hope will be a successful career as a Temple of the Muses.  The city will no longer the suffer the reproach of having everything that is modern but a modern playhouse.  We have catered extensively to tourist travel, thousands of visitors have enthusiastically paid tribute to Victoria’s charms, but the one large, forbidding smudge on the canvas has been the absence of a theatre devoted to the legitimate drama in harmony with its surroundings.  Criticism on that score henceforth will be disarmed, and we shall be able to look the most exacting critic in the face on ashamed.  Public-spirited citizens have supplied the deficiency, which in itself has distinction to the establishment.  It now remains for the producing companies to do their part.  Inadequate presentation of plays and operas has been excused by those presenting them on the ground that facilities for full and proper performances and settings have not been available in this city, and we know that there has been a wide measure of justification for the complaint.  But the basis of these pretexts have disappeared and patrons now have every right to expect that the character of the productions shall not suffer in comparison with the performances given in other cities under happier conditions.  In the final analysis, the success of the new enterprise, in common with every project of similar character, depends upon the nature of the productions presented on its stage.  The playgoers of New York and the other great metropolitan centers of the East have set the standard which heads of the theatrical booking syndicates with an eye to box office receipts have faithfully followed.  The old days of art for art’s sake, when Booth, Barrett, Mary Anderson,Mieljaska, Wallack, Jefferson and others were the bright particular luminaries have largely passed away: we have been living of late years in an era of farce, burlesque and musical comedy, interspersed only at brief intervals with relics of the golden age.  The spirit of commercialism has gripped the stage as it has gripped mostly everything else:  playwrights, producers and players direct their courses according to the balance sheet.  Magnificent failures in the cause of art are as unfashionable as magnificently futile charges on the modern battlefield, and so long as success is measured by dividends this will be always the case.  Our new playhouse must accept the menu the booking syndicates of the East provide for it and for the other theatres on their chain.  It, too, is subject to financial considerations which will be materially affected by the character of the productions which may come here.  It is earnestly to be hoped that our attractions will be such as to appeal uniformly to the taste and support of our play going public, and at the same time accord with the worthy spirit which prompted the promoters to undertake an enterprise of such magnitude.  We wish the Royal Victoria theatre every success.
1913-12-29TimesRoyal TheatreTheatre Traffic To-night  Regulations for Motor and Horse Vehicles Will Obviate Any Delays or Congestion  In order that there may be no confusion at the new theatre this evening with the arrival and departure of vehicles, the police department has issued special regulations, which will be strictly enforced, and which all drivers are asked to observe.  All vehicles, whether motors or  horse-drawn must approach the theatre from Quadra Street, which will bring them to the entrance on the left-hand side of the street.  This will apply both before the performance when bringing people to the theatre and after it when calling to take them home.  Having let down or taken up passengers, the vehicles will pass out onto Blanchard Street.  During the performance they may remain on Blanchard Street south of Fort St, but no vehicle will be allowed to stand on  Broughton Street between Quadra and Blanchard streets, unless in the opinion of the officer in charge, and by his permission, it is allowed to do so.
1913-12-29TimesRoyal TheatreAn interesting article especially if taken into the context of the day. Some big businessmen and politicians (including Shauhnessy) were trying to get the Governments of the day to cough up a big grant to construct additional  rail lines  through the southeast areas of the Province. This resulted in the construction of a line from Midway to Penticton – the Kettle Valley Line – in 1916.  Marble Industry Has Developed Greatly  Stone on New Victoria Theater Was Quarried from Texada Island.  It is interesting to note that the marble used to give the wonderfully attractive appearance to the new Victoria theatre was obtained from the fine deposit of the mineral on Texada Island, where the most recent developments have taken place.  It seems more than probable that the next year will see the start of the development work on the largest marble quarries which have been discovered in various parts of the province.  Marble has great possibilities as a natural asset of British Columbia, though, until very recently, it was an asset of little value owing to the almost impossible conditions of transportation.  But what the coming of additional railways, those who for years have held onto their marble locations, are brightening with the prospect of being able to develop them and get out of them a financial return which, taking into consideration the growth of the cities and the demands for marble finishing, makes the locations of very great value.  Marble is found in several parts of the province.  There are deposits of fine, mottled marble in the interior, and recently there was discovered up the coast, only about one hundred miles from Vancouver, some of the finest white marble ever seen in this city.  Experts pronounced at the equal of Italian white marble and samples given a polish bear out the claims for it.  The latest big discovery of marble reported is near Keremeos, and is shared by both British Columbia and the state of Washington.  Samples of this brought to the city, when polished, have taken on a surprising luster of several mottled colors, a deep purple and azure blending most pleasing to the eye.  This is said to be the best of its kind ever discovered anywhere.  When the promoters of the big L.C.  Smith skyscraper in Seattle were looking around for marble to finish that great structure, the Keremeos discovery was investigated.  The marble came up to every test given, and it was just what was wanted, but there was practically no transportation to the spot, and it was impossible commercially, to take this western marble to Seattle and adorn the big building.  It seems a pity that with all the marble in this province, it is necessary to import that product, send millions of dollars out of the province and the Dominion for it, and then getting marble not one whit better or of more commercial value than the marble which we have at home.  However transportation is the commercial key to almost every natural product in this province as in every other section of the world.  With the completion of the railway policies now underway and to be undertaken later, transportation facilities sufficient to make of commercial value the marble of the province with other natural resources, will come, mining men trust, and one of the most valuable of the resources, the marble will be quarried here, and not only used in local building enterprises, but find a ready market in other provinces, the United States, and most likely the Orient as well.  HB Brown, a well-known mining man and superintendent of the mining section of the Vancouver Exhibition Association, has begun a lively investigation into the marble resources of the province and, transportation or no transportation, next year’s exhibition will have on display in the mining department a much larger show of the marble resources.
1913-12-30TimesRoyal TheatreBRILLIANT INAUGURAL CEREMONY AT VICTORIA’S FINE NEW PLAY-HOUSE  Simon Leisor Presented with Loving Cup by Sir Richard McBride  Before the gayest and most brilliantly attired audience which ever attended a public occasion in Victoria, the most elaborately spectacular drama at present on the English-speaking stage gave the first performance last night in what no less an authority than Otis Skinner himself described to be the most beautiful play-House in Canada, the Royal Victoria theatre.  Delays without which it would not have been a true opening-night kept the program of speeches from beginning until half an hour after scheduled time, and it was nearly one o’clock before the vast audience thronged out into the streets with the words of Otis Skinner’s appropriate closing speech still in their ears.  The audience arrived earlier and stayed later than an audience is likely to do again in the history of the house.  By half past seven there was hardly a vacant seat except for those persons whose delight with the beauty of their surroundings led them to wander about the corridors and aisles admiring the mighty murals which adorned the walls of the house, and the many comforts arranged by the Architects for their convenience.  The delay before the beginning of the speeches also gave an opportunity for the people to move about from seat to seat and box to box, the movement lending additional color to the already gay scene.  During every intermission, too, there was a similar flurry of silks and interchange of calls, and few were they in the big house who sat throughout the performance in their own seats, the short pauses between the action of the play not always giving time to return.  Record Preparation  And in improbable as it seemed, even at four o’clock in the afternoon the house was ready.  Flags covered two or three spaces in the entrance where the marble pillars will lend even greater majesty to the beauty later on, and there was an unpainted patch on the asbestos fire-wall.  There were other particulars in which the theater was incomplete, but so perfect was a picture presented that few were they who realized it.  From the royal box occupied by the Lieut.-Governor and his suite to the topmost row of the balcony, the audience was composed of the most select people in Victoria and surrounding cities even as far as Portland, Spokane and Calgary.  The array of white shirt-fronts and vary-colored robes was no less dazzling in the second tier of the balcony that it was in the dress circle.  This seems in the smoking room and the dressing rooms where hundreds gathered at every intermission baffled description and were comparable only to the display of colored silks and mingling of voices in the Baghdad market scene in the play.  The universal topic of conversation was the quietly beautiful effects obtained from the delicately shaded paintings on the walls and ceiling and the soft lighting scheme.  The substitution of graded inclines to the balcony for stairs was appreciated highly and a perfect acoustics in every corner of the building were marveled at.  The program began by the orchestra playing “The Maple Leaf” after which Sir Richard McBride formally declared the theater opened, not, however, without referring in eulogistic terms to the great public service performed by Simon Leiser, J. S. H. Matson and R. T. Elliott in providing the people of Victoria with so sumptuous a play-house for their enjoyment.  He wished the theatre every success and hoped it would for many years be the medium of conveying to the public of this city the best examples of the legitimate drama.  On behalf of the public of Victoria he presented Simon Leiser with a loving cup, and the applause was deafening.  Simon Leiser, president of the company, followed with a review of the trials and tribulations of the public spirited gentlemen who supported him through thick and thin in the endeavor to give Victoria a theatre worthy of its art-loving population.  To the directors, Messrs. Linehan, Todd, and Pemberton, as well as those named by Sir Richard, he gave great credit.  Mr. Leiser made an important announcement during his address when he stated that the capitalization was about to be increased to $500,000 and the extra $100,000 was to be devoted to the erection of a high-class restaurant on the vacant corner lot adjacent to the theater.  The restaurant is to cater to the theater trade, supper parties after, and dinner parties before the show, not to mention tea parties after the matinées.  This announcement was received with enthusiastic applause.  Mrs. McDonald Fahey concluded the preliminary portion of the program by singing “Rule Britannia” in her beautiful soprano, after which she was made the recipient of a beautiful bouquet.  A telegram of congratulations and best wishes was read from Sir Thomas Shaughnessy.  Otis Skinner, the star of the production, was called upon for a speech after the final curtain and in a few brief words informed the audience that the evening was a real occasion for him.  He had seldom such a beautiful sight as the gay audience which welcomed his play and the spirit of the occasion had entered into his acting and his Hajj was reinvigorated for the night.  He stated that the house was one of the most perfect in America and quite the finest in Canada.  The acoustics he was able to appreciate by the fact that every syllable was seen to have its effect on the further-most portions of the gallery, and this was a fact on which he congratulated the architects and management most heartily.  Fashionable Assembly  There was hardly an empty seat in the whole of the vast auditorium and seen from any point of view the assemblage presented a gala appearance, some especially handsome downs been worn by the ladies, while viewed from the balcony, boxes and loggias alike were easily visible with their animated parties.  Among those present in the boxes were the Lieutenant-Governor and Mrs. Paterson, the latter are wearing a beautiful gown of Spangler’s net, embroidered with pain, over apple green chartreuse, with a wrap of pale green velvet deset.  Senator and Mrs. Riley, the latter in green, with overdress of Hoidton lace, and an oriental blue cloak; and Mr. and Mrs. Muskett, the latter in white, occupied the same box.  Sir Richard and Lady McBride, with their daughters and niece, Miss Mowbray, occupied another of the boxes.  Lady McBride was handsomely gowned in silver brocade, trimmed with Château lace, and the Mrs. Mary, Margret, and Dolly McBride wore respectively white crepe de Chine, pink crêpe de Chine, and white charmeuse.  Mrs. Simon Leiser and a party which included Miss Hilda Leiser, in shell pink Japanese embroidered crepe with bodice of rose point lace and skunk trimmings; Miss Amy Leiser in duck’s egg blue with rose pink belt; and Mrs. Hamburger, in black crepe de Chine with bodice of green and black shadow lace, occupied the remaining box on the lower right hand side of the house.  On the left, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur McCurdy the latter in rose-colored satin, entertained a party, this including Miss Harriet McCurdy, in duck’s egg blue.  Miss Leanora McCurdy, in shell pink; and Master Melville McCurdy.  The Honorable Chief Justice and Mrs. Hunter were also in the party, the latter wearing wisteria brocaded satin.  The Honorable James and Mrs. Dunsmuir also occupied one of the lower left boxes, the latter wearing old gold charmeuse, while Mrs. John Hoop, wearing black with white shadow lace, and Miss Muriel Dunsmuir, in blue, were also members of the party.  Mr. and Mrs. R. T. Elliott entertained a party including their daughter, Miss Ruth Elliott, in pink chiffon; Dr. and Mrs. Fraser, and H. T. Brewster.  Mrs. Elliott wore oriental shaded chiffon over maeuve satin.  Mr. and Mrs. J. S. H. Matson entertained a large box party, the latter wearing apple green satin with silver ornaments.  Among those who were with them in the box were Mr. and Mrs. Henry Croft, the latter in oyster grey with purple chiffon; Miss Vivian Matson, in white; and Mrs. Hickman Tye in black with trimmings of vierge satin.  The Honorable William Templeman and Mrs. Templeman occupied one of the mezzanine boxes on the right, the latter wearing black with overdress of the sequined net.  With them were Mrs. J.C.  McIntosh, in black, and Miss McAdam in pale blue satin.  Mr. A. McLellan and his party occupied another of the mezzanine boxes, with him being Mr. George McKenzie, Western representative of Klaw and Erlanger; Mrs. McKenzie, Mrs. F. I Flynn, of New York; and Mrs. W. H. Raymond of this city.  Among those with parties in the balcony were Mr. R.P. Rithet, who had two loges, Mr. and Mrs. Will Spencer, and Mr. Gordon Ross.  The Attorney General and Mrs. Bowser had two loges, in their party being Miss Bowser, in pink chiffon; Mr. Irving, of New Brunswick, in apricot charmeuse; Mr. and Mrs. Doherty, the latter in deep gold collonne; the Honorable W. R. Ross and Miss Ross.  Mrs. Bowser wore a very graceful gown of green chiffon with white lace.  Mr. and Mrs. Fred Pemberton, the latter wearing black, occupied one of the loges, and Colonel Payne and his party occupied an other.  Others who were seen in the house included Mr. and Mrs. Hamilton, Mr. and Mrs. Stephen Jones, Mr. Justice Martin and Mrs. Martin, Mr. and Mrs. Harvey, the latter in black charmeuse; Mr. and Mrs. Sweeney, the latter in deep apricot crepe de Chine; Reverend Baugh Allen and Mrs. Allen, the latter in white; Mr. Tolmie and the Misses Tolmie; Mr. and Mrs. Wilkerson, Mr. and Mrs. Sankey, Mr. Gavin Burns, Miss D. Burns, Ms. Patricia Burns, Miss McDonald, Mr. and Mrs. Lugrin and the Misses Lugrin, Mr. and Mrs. McDonald Fahey, the latter in white satin; Mr. and Miss Mara, Miss K. Gordon, in white lace over shell pink; Sir Richard Hall and Mrs. Hall, Mr. H. B. Wilson, Mrs. W. E. Scott, in black satin and lace; Miss T. Scott, Miss Cochrane, J. L. Beckwith and Mrs. Beckwith, Dr. Cummings and Mrs. Cummings, of Sydney; Miss Mayhew, Dr. Harper, Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Kent, Judge and Mrs.Laupman, Dr. and Mrs. Hermann Robertson, the latter in white lace over ivory satin; Mr. and Mrs. Harold Robertson, the Honorable D. M. Eberts and Mrs. Eberts, the latter in primrose satin; Mrs. Mary Riter Hamilton, Miss Cann, Mrs. C. R. Littler, Miss Ethel Littler, Mr. Gillespie, Major Harris, Mr. and Mrs. E. V. Bodwell, Mr. and Mrs. O.M. Jones, Mr. Kostenbader, Mr. Tilley, Mr. and Mrs. Oldfield, and Miss Oldfield, Mr. and Mrs. Fletcher, Mrs.Heisterman and Miss Heisterman, Mr. and Mrs. Peter Turner, Mr. J. Bridgeman, Mrs. England, in primrose satin; Dr. and Mrs. Butler, Mr. and Mrs. Fitzpatrick, Chief Langley and Mrs. Langley, Mr. Lindley Crease and Miss. Crease, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Crease, J. Boscowitz, Miss Watt, Miss Cunningham, in white brocaded crepe de Chine; Mrs. Brooker, Mr. and Mrs. Cummings, the latter in black chiffon velvet with jet ceinture; Miss Watts in apple green with overdress of chiffon to match; Miss McAllister, in pale blue messaline, Chief Davis and Mrs. Davis, the latter in pink satin; Miss Pegg, Mr. and Mrs.Schwabe, Mr. and Mrs. Inglis, Mr. and Mrs. Hartley, and many others.
1913-12-30ColonistRoyal Theatre – Opening night reviewsROYAL VICTORIA THEATRE OPENS  Crowded House Hears Inaugural Speech From Sir Richard McBride and Reply by Mr. Simon Leiser.  PRODUCTION OF “KISMET THOROUGHLY ENJOYED  Mr Otis Skinner Pays High Tribute to New Playhouse Which Begins Career Under Happy Auspices  AN INSPIRING SIGHT  “It has indeed been a pleasure to play in this magnificent playhouse this evening. It is without question the finest theatre in the Dominion of Canada and in fact there are few to equal it on this continent. The acoustics are perfect and, although I have played the part of Hajj many times , for I am now in my third season with this play, the spirt of the new playhouse has tonight made me feel as if I was playing the character for the first time. It is an inspiring sight to an actor to see the theatre packed from the first row to the back of the house and I hope the representative audience which has greeted our play tonight will be an augury of future prosperity. For myself and on behalf of my company I extend you our sincerest thanks for your appreciation of our efforts – Mr Otis Skinner before the curtain after the last drop.  The Royal Victoria Theatre, royal in the sumptuousness for its decorations and royal in its sovereign suzerainty over the playhouses of the West, was opened last night mid a scene of splendour that has seldom been equalled in the social annuals of Victoria.  Sir Richard McBride, Premier of British Columbia, struck the dominant note of the inaugural proceedings when he referred in warmly eulogistic terms to the building as a splendid proof of the optimism and faith in the future greatness of he Capital City displayed by the directors.  There was not a vacant seat in the house when Sir Richard stepped on the stage to make his address and the picturesque scene has seldom been equalled; the handsome dresses of the ladies and the general air of festivity formed the scene which will long live in the memories of those present. There was a spontaneous burst of applause when, at the close of his speech, the Premier presented a loving cup to Mr. Simon Leiser , president of the Victoria Opera House.  Sir Richard’s Tribute  Sir Richard McBride was accompanied to the platform by Mr. Leiser , who formally introduced him to the audience, which applauded loudly.  “Ladies and gentlemen’” said the Premier, “ I am indebted to the management for the pleasing task to which I am now about to address myself. I think it is a signal honour and privilege that I should be asked to come here and declare this handsome playhouse open., and, in doing so, I wish you understood the very great pleasure I have in performing it. We have all wanted a real playhouse for a long time, but I doubt if any of us, even in our wild imaginations, conceived of such a splendid structure as the one we find ourselves in this evening. It is the equal, if not the superior, of any other house in the country, and I am glad to think that the Capital City of the Province of British Columbia has the distinction of being the centre which gave it birth and brought it to fruition. When we think of this wonderful theatre we ought also to remember those men whose energy and enterprise are so largely represented in the undertaking.  “It is not necessary for me at this time to speak upon the exterior of the theatre, or, for that matter, upon the interior decorations, because, in regard to the latter, you are now in a position to appreciate them. I am sure that you will agree with me that everything speaks eloquently of he generous spirit in which this gigantic task was approached and handled throughout.  Just a word , however, in compliment to the architects. This house is a splendid testimony to their work and must, for them as well as for us, remain replete with satisfaction and pleasure. It is indeed but right to say that everyone who has had the slightest participation in the undertaking is deserving of recognition from the people of the city and of the Province.  “A Banner Performance”  “Now, ladies and gentlemen, let me say that we have for this evening’s delectation a repetition of the enormous success achieved by the performance of Mr. Otis Skinner. We trust that his will prove a banner performance I every respect, that the players will glean as much satisfaction as we will. We also trust that it will be followed by ???????????? (unable to read)????, a great deal of legitimate drama. I thank you ladies and gentlemen, for the patient and courteous hearing which you have given me. All that remains for me to do now is, to present, on behalf of the people of the city and the board of directors of the theatre, this beautiful loving cup to Mr. Simon Leiser who, I am sure will all agree, richly merits the expression of gratitude and good will which the token represents.  Mr Leiser’s Speech.  Mr. Simon Leiser was accorded an hearty response upon stepping forward tot he footlights. “I am very much obliged to Sir Richard McBride, he said, “for the honour he has paid me in speaking of my part in this enterprise in such a charming manner. I think he said to many nice things about me and my directors; but, being a modest man, I  plead guilty. But here are others. Mr. Elliott, Mr. Lineham, Mr. Todd, Mr. Wright, and Mr. Pemberton, who have taken part in this work with me. I must return thanks, in the first place, to Sir Richard McBride for the great help he has given us in connection with the erection of this building. He has been instrumental in getting us large sums of money for the theatre when we most needed them and which we might otherwise not have been able to secure. He has always been of the greatest assistance and that must be my excuse for my desire to name the theatre after him. You must know that when the naming of the theatre took place, and the directors wanted to honour me by naming it after myself, I declined the honour. I also requested that I should be given permission to name it myself. That request was gladly acceded to, and I promptly named it the McBride Theatre in recognition of the splendid services rendered by the Premier. But, as you all know, Sir Richard McBride also declined the honour. He has written us repeatedly on the subject, suggesting that the theatre should be named after his home city, and finally we agreed. History of Movement  ?????(Unable to read two lines)??? …to tell you this undertaking has been a tremendous one. I myself have been at it for four years. I have been twice defeated at the polls, once by 1,100 and once by 1,000. After two years work I had only converted 100 people. But still, I went ahead with confidence in the future. As time went on, some citizens purchased the land on which the theatre now stands and at the request of Mr Rithet, a deputation waited upon me and asked me if I would take charge and see what could be done towards the erection of a building here. I told them that the place was not big enough for a theatre, 120 feet square, and they said, ‘Come in with us and get it bigger if you can.’ And from that moment we ??(unable to read)??? in a whole hearted manner. In January, 1912, we held a meeting and it was there and then that the articles of incorporation were signed. The other gentlemen interested left it in my hands. I do not know why, but they did, and as someone had to shoulder the burden, I went ahead. I realized at he outset that it was necessary to get the big men of the city interested in the project, so I looked about for them.  “Having organized in this way, the next thing we did was go to Seattle and see what they had there in the shape of theatres. We went there and settled upon the design of a theatre which we thought would be suitable to this city, and upon returning, we started in to build the playhouse here. Then we discovered that we did not have enough ground. We were short thirty feet. We bought the thirty feet for $23,000. Shortly after that Mr Elliott went to Australia and Mr Lineham to England. All they said before leaving was “you go ahead.” Well I did and when they came back I had started to build the theatre and had contracted very large liabilities. They stood by me in all my transactions, as indeed did all the rest of those interested. It is true that we may not make a great deal this year, but we certainly will in the course of the next two years. I may inform you that we had an offer to rent the building for $20,000 a year. We were offered $3,000 a year for a saloon and we refused that also. We did not want a saloon next to the theatre. I think we did right in that and I feel satisfied that the people of Victoria will appreciate us for it.  Investment of $400,000  When you look around the theatre tonight, let the fact sink into your minds that we have spent the sum of $400,000 upon it. I remember when we started out being told that we could get a theatre for $200,000. But we did not want that kind of theatre. We knew that we could duplicate the Douglas street house easily but we knew that the people of Victoria wanted do something better than that. Ladies and gentlemen, this theatre from the standpoint of safety to its occupants in case of fire is, perhaps, unique. It has thirty-two exits and can be cleared in two and a half minutes. We have thirty rooms downstairs for the players and every accommodation necessary. I had Mr davis, the fire chief, here the other day, and he calls it a class A building. ‘If people would build more like this,’ he said, ‘my presence in the city would no longer be required.’  “I know I am trespassing upon valuable time, but I cannot retire without again acknowledging on my own behalf and in behalf of you, the great debt of gratitude we owe to such men as Mr Elliott and Mr Lineham and the others who have been so closely identified with the theatre movement.  Mrs. Macdonald Fahey stepped forward, and accompanied by the orchestra, sang “Rule Britannia, the audience standing up to join in the refrain. Mrs Fahey was attired in an exquisite gown of white brocaded satin trimmed with fur and rhinestones. She wore a coronet of silver in her hair.  Having omitted reference to a cablegram from sir Thomas Shaughnessy, Mr Leiser handed it to Mrs. Fahey to read to the audience. It ran as follows: “I am glad to hear that he new Victoria Theatre is being opened today and I am sure that your persistent efforts were no small factor in making the erection of the building possible. I hope that it will be eminently successful. With the compliments of the season.” (Signed) T.G. Shaughnessy.  Prominent People Present.  Among those who occupied boxes and were noticeable in the audience were the following parties: the Lt. Governor and Mrs. Paterson, the latter wearing pale green silk with an overdress of white net embroidered in pink.  With them were Senator and Mrs. Riley, the latter in pale green satin trimmed with hand made Bruges lace, and Mr. and Mrs. Muskett.  Sir Richard and Lady McBride, the latter attired in a handsome gown of silver brocade, trimmed with shadow lace, Miss Mary McBride wearing white crepe de chine, and that Miss Peggy McBride in pink crepe de chine and Miss Mowbray in white silk.  Mr. And Mrs. Arthur McCurdy’s party consisted of Miss Harriet McCurdy in pale blue silk, Miss Leanora in pale pink silk, Master Melville McCurdy and the Honourable Chief Justice and Mrs. Hunter, the latter wearing a handsome gown of mauve brocaded satin trimmed with old lace; Mrs. McCurdy wearing rose coloured satin.  Mrs. J. S. H. Matson, wearing a French confection of green satin with velvet and silk of the same shade and silver trimmings; Miss Vivian Matson in white silk; Mr. and Mrs. Henry Croft, the latter in a handsome gown of silver gauze over purple chiffon and silver trimmings, and Mrs and Mr. Hickman Tye, the latter in black silk relieved with touches of blue.  The Honourable James and Mrs. Dunsmuir, the latter in gold charmeuse brocaded in black; Miss Muriel Dunsmuir in blue charmeuse with bugle trimmings, and Mrs. John Hoop in black and white.  Dr. and Mrs. Herman Robertson, the latter in white lace over white satin, Mr. And Mrs. Harold Robertson, the latter in black crepe de chine and the Honourable and Mrs D. M. Eberts, the latter in pale yellow satin, the overdress been embroidered with pink roses and sequin trimmings.  The Attorney General and Mrs. Bowser, the latter wearing green chiffon with an overdress of white lace; Miss Bowser in pink chiffon, their niece Mr. Irving, from New Brunswick, in apricot ???? and their guests, Mr. and Mrs. Doherty from Vancouver, Mrs. Doherty wearing golden brown colinne and the ??????????? the latter wearing pink satin.  Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Roper, the latter wearing a most handsome gown of black jet, with an exquisite cloak of blue and gold brocaded satin trimmed with shadowed white fox, Mr. And Mrs. Frank Tuck of Vancouver, the latter wearing black satin with burnt orange trimmings, Mr. Hull, of Kamloops and Mr. Edgar.  Mr. and Mrs. R. H. Sperling, of Vancouver, the latter wearing a unique and most becoming gown of violet satin with a bodice of white lace trimmed with crystals.  Mr. and Mrs. Gavin Burns, the latter in white brocaded satin, Miss Dunghleton Burns in white crepe de chine and Miss Patricia in white satin.  Ms. McDonald in flame coloured satin with silver trimmings and flame coloured cloak, and Mr. Stewart Gregory  Mr. and Mrs. C. H. Lugrin, the latter in blue satin with black lace overdress; Mrs. Bernard Shaw in pale blue satin with crystal overdress, and Miss Lugrin in Primrose coloured satin with white lace tunic.  Dr. and Mrs. Hassell, the latter in black and white, and Mrs. G. H. Bernard, Mrs. Fred Pemberton and Miss Holmes and Miss Macdowell.  Colonel and Mrs. Jones, with whom were Mrs. Langworthy, Mrs. Matterson and Mrs. Cuppage.  Mr. and Mrs. Simon Leiser, Miss Leiser, Miss Hilda Leiser and Mrs. Hamburger.  Mr. George J. MacKenzie, the general Western representative of a Klaw and Erlanger, with whom were Mrs. W. H. Raymond and Mr. F. L. Flynn, of New York.  Captain Balcom and a party of six, Mr. R. P. Rithet and party, Mr. and Mrs. Will Spencer and party, and Mr. and Mrs. Herbert Leiser and party, and Mr. A. C. Burdick and party.  Decorations Admired  Although many accounts of the artistic interior have appeared in the daily papers the effect of the completed picture came as a surprise to the large body of the audience.  Before taking their seats, many of the visitors spend some time in admiring the wonderful murals and the delicate tracery of the allegorical studies, while the magnificent veloeurs drop curtain came in for its full share of appreciation.  The colour scheme of the interior is harmoniously carried out in the grand foyer, where panels of rich onyx frame a handsome hangings that were specially imported from Paris for this new theater.  The comfort of the seats, and the splendid heating and ventilation arrangements won the warmest praise from the audience, while the acoustic properties which were tried for the first time in a full auditorium, proved excellent, and as far as comment was obtainable, no “blind spots” were discovered.  America’s Leading Actor  It was a fortunate coincidence, the direct intervention of “Kismet,” that the leading actor of the American stage should have been the first to tread the boards of the new playhouse, and although this is the third season in which Mr. Otis Skinner has starred in his play, he has probably never acquitted himself better in the role of Hajj the beggar.  The romantic fantasy and the barbaric splendour of an “Arabian Nights” tale became last night a breeding reality.  So naturally has the author, Edward Knoblauch, caught the spirit of the Orient that what might easily have developed into a sordid melodrama became transfigured into a fairy story of old Baghdad, and the audience looked unmoved over the murders of Hajj with the same zest that children revel in the history of Bluebeard, or fight with King Arthur’s knights through the drilling pages of “Mallory,” and it was this translation of the normal feelings and ideals of an audience steeped in the conventions of modern civilized nation that the great power of the portrayal of the beggar’s character found its most fascinating expression.  One felt an utter absence of horror at the human slaughter, because the audience was translated to a far country through centuries of time.  The minute and marvellous attention to detail in costume, scenery and properties was, perhaps, less wonderful than the power of playwright and actor to infuse an Oriental mode of thought into the playgoer.  We put back the clock more than a thousand years, and for a few hours lived in Moslems believing in the creed of blood vengeance enjoined by the Koran.  We were mesmerized into a belief in the doctrine of fatalism and, with the great actor, we fought desperately when Kismet proved unpropitious.  We fervently praised Allah with a fervency oblivious of the gulf of time and forgetful for the nonce of the ideas which a higher civilized nation and a deeper religion have instilled.  We passed among the hucksters of the bazaar, journeyed through the harem and sat with Hajj in the splendour and sputum of old Baghdad.  Realization of Dramatic Art  In the role of Hajj the beggar, Mr. Skinner was afforded every opportunity for the display of his genius in characterization.  Every facet of his polished art was turned to the light of criticism and sparkled brilliantly. Hajj, the beggar, experienced in the single day with which the action of the play is concerned every emotion of the human heart, and Mr. Skinner was called upon to portray the entire gamut of dramatic expression.  When he mounted the seats of the Wizar of Mansur, with the wife of the Wizar at his feet, he showed the zenith of a triumphant ambition.  The murder of his hated enemy, Jawan, gave him the opportunity of displaying a lustful hatred, warmed by years of waiting into a sublime vengeance, while in the Hamman his gleeful triumph of the downfall of his victim was a marvellous realization of the dramatic art.  Hajj was an elemental savage, and the primal instincts of his blood fostered by his environment and his fatalistic creed became a living reality.  Through the whole play there ran an undercurrent of humour always present in the oriental character.  It is this spirit of tragic humour which one sees today in Constantinople during the feast of Ramadan, or at Smyrna when the first caravan of figs comes in, and the merrymaking is infectious and uproarious.  A lesser artist might have missed the intense parental devotion of Hajj which is epitomized when the sentence a banishment makes the thoughts of the outcast fly to his daughter,, and again in his pride when he sees that beloved daughter wedded to the Caliph.  Every colour in the mental and intellectual prism is brought out, and the kaleidoscopic changes of scenery are but a background to the portrayal of his ever shifting emotion.  Boasting, mocking, vengeful, philosophic, laughing, Hajj found his way into the hearts of his audience through the wonderful characterization of Mr. Skinner.  Worthy of a Great Play  Although there are only six or eight roles apart from that played by Mr. Skinner among the whole company of players that are important, the support of these characters was worthy of a great play.  Messrs. George Gaul and William Mansur as the Wazir and the Caliph were excellent there and nun was perfect in their interpretation showed every evidence of intelligent sympathy of the oriental character.  Richard Scott had a most remarkable makeup as the Numidian sworder, and his gestures and his intonation showed an ability that pleased the audience.  As the sheik, Jawan, William Lorenz gave a clever portrayal and is piping voice added its quota to a clever impersonation.  As Marsinah, Hajj’s daughter, Miss Marie Maddern looked charming and acted with a sprightly vivacity that won all hearts.  She was enticingly attractive in her love-making, and sympathetic and tender in her devotion to her father.  As the wife of the Mansur, Miss Grace Hampton proved herself an actress of no small attainments.  Acting throughout with great reserve, her scorn of the lover, whom she had sought, when she finds he is merely a beggar was a piece of dramatic intensity that has not often been surpassed on the local stage.  Miss Rosa Coates gave an alluring eastern dance, while Miss Genevieve Dolaro gave an excellent portrayal of Narjis, the nurse.  It is impossible to single out any of the wonderful scenes that were stage last night for special mention, but a word of praise should be given to the staff behind, under Mr. Henry B. Stillman, who handled the ten massive scenes, with such dispatch that there was a minimum of waiting between acts.  Mr. Ernest Leeman, who took the part of the Man before the curtain is a veteran of Kismet, and his voice has lost none of the charm since he first appeared with Mr. Arthur Asche and his company at the Garrick Theatre in London.  Mr. Lou Turner and his orchestra of sixteen pieces played with an artistic skill and appreciation of the oriental musical themes, that proved a delight, while the choruses and groups of bystanders showed a refreshing vitality that was in harmony with the superb performance.
1913-12-30TimesRoyal Theatre  – The First Review“Kismet” Is a Pageant Play with Wonderful Scenery and Magnificent Acting.  It is something for Victorians and the directors of the Royal Victoria theatre to possess as a remembrance that the opening of the new play-house found behind the footlights such a magnificent production as Kismet, presented by an actor of the ability and experience of Otis Skinner.  There could not have been brought here an attraction that would more perfectly had tested the resources of the stage and the acoustics of the house, and the result on this side is all that the most sanguine could desire.  Pacific Coast theater openings have been fortunate in their first nights.  Six years ago the Moore in Seattle was opened with The Alaskan; Mrs. Fiske in Salvation Nell Opened the Alhambra Theatre in July, 1909, and the Metropolitan had as its first attraction two years ago Richard Carie in Jumping Jupiter.  Now has come the opening in Victoria of a theatre that surpasses any of these, with a production that is the peer of any ever seen on this continent, and presented by a company headed by an able and estimable actor who is at the top of his profession on the male side, as is Mrs. Fiske on the other side.  Kismet may perhaps be described as a pageant play, a class of spectacle drama of which there have been several staged within the past few seasons and which there are two or three now enjoying equally successful runs in the East.  It was first put on in London some three years ago, and for two seasons has been duplicating on this continent its popularity over there.  There is a definite plot running through and holding the several scenes together, a credible and consistent plot, but it makes no demand on the audience and half the time one forgets it in watching the scene.  Indeed, it is a question whether it would be disentangled from the spectacle very readily if it were not that a resume of it is given in the program.  Little, if anything, is left to the imagination, in fact, in Kismet, if one accepts the general imaginative appeal of all things eastern to an occidental mind.  In a great spectacle of this kind of there is much to be considered — the play itself, the pageantry, the acting, the incidental music, the setting — all these would deserve consideration by themselves.  Time and money have been expended in making the pageant one that leaves scarcely any room for criticism, while it gives wide scope for praise and commendation.  It is truly a page out of the Arabian Nights and if Hajj is not actually to be found there, his proto-type can be discovered in almost any one of the thousand and one tales that Shazradzade told.  Into one crowded day of glorious life — to him — there came all the good and ill that could befall man, and all was taken with true Eastern philosophy, four was it not say — Kismet?  Between the dawn that finds Hajj a beggar on the steps on his favorite mosque in the dusk that finds him back there to claim his old place, he is exalted to power, has the fleeting possession of great wealth, is offered the love of a beautiful woman, is cast into prison, is in danger of life and limb — and at every point praises Allah, they all-merciful, the compassionate.  The part is one that offers great scope for any actor, and can only be essayed by the best. It needs no telling that Mr. Skinner is more than equal to all the demands of the part, that he ably portrays all the varying emotions and gusts of passion that marked the character, that he is at all points the very beggar of Baghdad himself whining, imprecating, blessing by turns and in his transformation, playing with a forceful discretion.  Rich in technical resources, he can make his points and at the same time keep the character true, consistent and human; he is an actor who works from the inner intelligence outward, and not as a mere imitator of life.  Mr. Skinner has a rare gift for the picturesque in his stage groupings, his own poses and relation to the picture being carefully thought-out and carried into effect, and his company seconding his work admirably.  It is an exceedingly large company that is supporting Mr. Skinner, and well chosen for the work they have to do.  George Gaul as the Wazir Mansur and Willard Webster as the Caliph Abdullah stand out by the excellence of their portrayals.  Miss Marie Maddern brings not only a distinguished name in American theatrical annals to the delineation of Marainh, daughter of Hajj, but youth, girlish beauty and emotional ability.  Miss Grace Hampton plays the voluptuous wife of the Wazir with enough reserved to save it from being overdone and sufficient verve to make it convincing.  Miss Genevieve Dolaro does a good bit of character acting as the nurse, Narjia.  Preceding each of the three acts is a brief performance before the curtain, in which Ernest Leeman and Miss Theodora De Combs sing and play seated on the ground.  In the prologue Ward Thornton comes on as the story-teller and sounds the prologue to the tale of Hajj the Beggar, which is then unfolded on the stage.  In the first entr’acte a juggler joins the singers and between the second and third acts Miss Rosa Coutes dances gracefully.  Previous to this Miss Coutes appears in the diwan of the Caliph’s palace with attendant sprites, and dances and eastern measure.  The production and the stage management of Kismet is the work of Harrison Gray Fiske and bears striking testimony to his artistic taste, his attention to detail, and his zeal for sincerity in everything that goes to make up a stage presentation.  There will be another performance of the play this evening and tomorrow there will be both matinée and evening performances.
1913-12-30ColonistRoyal TheatreLOCAL ARCHITECTS ARE CONGRATULATED  Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey Responsible for Designing and Supervising of Royal Victoria Theatre’s Building  One of the features of the Royal Victoria Theatre most admired by the large crowd which attended the opening last evening, was the remarkably fine interior  arrangements.  This point, which was so generally commented upon, must be credited in a large measure to Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey, the local firm of architects.  These two Victoria professional men shouldered the burden of the design and supervision of the structure.  To illustrate the magnitude of their task, so satisfactorily and successfully completed, it may be explained that the plans, etc., occupied eight hundred and five sheets, and took over a year to compile.  The beautiful plaster designs stand to the credit of Mr. Sankey, who made full-size details of all such ornaments in the theatre.  These were turned over to the artist and modeler, Mr. C. E. Dorisy, thus avoiding the possibility of conception in type in the ornamentation, the period followed throughout being that of Louis XVI.  The same system with respect to the details was followed in all cases and aided the contractors, whose efficiency is emphasized by the completed structure, a work carried out according to schedule.  As far as the balcony and ground-floor are concerned, the new theatre is a replica in its main points of the Orpheum of Seattle, but for the balance, Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey are responsible.  When the plans were completed some 12 months ago, the Board of Directors of the Victoria Opera House Co. Ltd., called in Mr. Kingsley, of Seattle, who endorsed them, adding that they were one of the most complete sets of theatre plans and specifications he had seen in his experience.  It is specially requested that thanks be tendered on behalf of the architects, to Mr. Raymond, superintendent of construction; Messrs. Pinner and McLellan, general contractors, and all who were connected with the buildings construction for the marked efficiency of their organization of the working forces and their willingness and promptness when pressed to finish the project within a limited period.  The belief is expressed in this connection, that the completion of the Royal Victoria theatre within sixty days is the most rapid construction successfully and safely carried out on the Pacific coast for many years.  As evidence of the executive ability in the knowledge of detail in looking after their help displayed by those in charge, it is pointed out that not a man was injured while the work was underway.  Steel Structural Work  In reviewing the labours of the past few months, the result of which in Victoria’s model opera house, Messrs. Rochfort and Sankey are particularly enthusiastic in their praise of Mr. H. Bittman, the expert steel engineer who designed the framework of the handsome structure.  He is classed as one of the finest designers in all types of construction practising in America.  He has a large number of notable achievements to his credit, many of which are familiar to Victorians.  It was he who designed the steel for the Empress and the Orpheum theatres, Seattle; the Heilig and the Empress, Portland, Ore., while another local work for which he is responsible is the new Provincial Jail.  He, also, it is understood, will design the steel used in the proposed Victoria Pantages Theatre and the new Drill Hall.  Special pains have been taken by Mr. Bittman to make the steel design, as applied to the new Victoria Theatre, modern in every detail.  He has the importance of absolute safety in mind from the time he was instructed.  The result is that the steel framework will stand four times more strain than it is ever likely to be required to withstand.  The main truss holding the balcony is of an entirely new type, as through it pass the inclined planes, this method of construction accounting for the peculiar shape.  The cantilever ends of the balcony stringers are among the largest used in theatre construction on the Pacific coast.  The large truss is the buildings backbone.  Its size and design, together with the strength of the numerous stringers, made it possible to satisfactorily pass one of the most severe tests to which a theatre was ever subjected.
1913-12-31ColonistBunty – Royal theatre  second play NEW YEAR’S  MATINEE AT ROYAL VICTORIA  Popular Play, “Bunty Pulls the Strings,” Will Be Staged at the City’s New Playhouse Tomorrow.  After the deluge comes the homely gardener with his watering can.  Kismet, which was the first play produced at the Royal Victoria Theatre, a drama of thrilling intensity which gives Mr. Otis Skinner an opportunity of exercising the highest expression of his technique, will be replaced next Thursday by “Bunty Pulls the Strings.”  “Bunty” is no stranger to Victoria, and the friends she made in the past will be anxious to renew her acquaintance.  “Bunty” is a mild satire on Scottish virtues and foibles.  The austere religious habits of the North Britishers, coupled with that shrewdness which profits by observations of form and violations of spirit, are tenderly dealt with in Graham Moffat’s play.  The story is the acme of simplicity, just a simple chronicle of a dour, Highland family, whose daily life is closely bound up in the Kirk.  It details within an airing touch of remarkable delicacy the lights and shadows of Scottish family life; their frugality and searching impulses, the canning is of a narrow mountain community deeply imbued with the severe creed of Calvinism.  “Bunty,” who pulls the strings, is the daughter of Tamas Biggar and presides over his household.  Susie Simpson is an old maid and a distant relative who has loaned Tammas a matter of “one hunnert and twenta poonds,” which Tammas used to make good the deficiency of an elder son.  Miss Simpson compels Tammas to choose between marriage and the restoration of her money, and as Tammas is not in a position to liquidate he passes a “sair bad Sabbath.”  The rest of the play is taken up in showing how “Bunty” sets all things right, defeating Susie and marrying her father to his boyhood love, smoothing the past of her dissatisfied brother and arranging our own marriage.  The story is told with a simplicity that is almost strange to the stage, in terms of unforced humor and interpreted by actors thoroughly imbued with the spirit of the author.  “Bunty” is a delightful little lady and those who have not yet made her acquaintance had missed one of the joys of life.  Their opportunity will come tomorrow when the refreshing tale of fascinating simplicity will be repeated at the Royal Victoria Theatre.  For those who already know “Bunty” there is no need to offer an invitation to renew her acquaintance for “Bunty” is — well just “Bunty.”
1913-12-31ColonistRoyal Theatre“Kismet Now at The Royal Victoria Theatre”  ACTORS PRIASE NEW PLAYHOUSE  All Are Enthusiastic in Eulogy of Royal Theater and the Wonders of the Capital City.  A wonderful impersonation of Mr. Otis Skinner at the Royal Victoria Theater last night gained him a new host of friends.  The superb characterization of Hajj , the beggar, in the great Oriental play gives Mr. Skinner and opportunity of portraying every human emotion.  The laughing philosophic, tenderly emotional Hajj made a new host of friends last night, and the audience who saw him will carry away a realization of the Moslem character that time will not eat face.  “We have scotched the old jest that Britishers are unappreciative of humor,”  said Mr. Otis Skinner, after the performance last night.  “I have never in a long experience of stagecraft played before an audience that was so quick to take up the comedy situations, and the murmur of satisfaction that passed through the house in every part of the play was even more welcome than the boisterous applause that sometimes greets the play.  “It is always a matter of speculation to the player as to how the audience will receive the play.  I shall not forget the dour silence that greeted my appearance when I first appeared in Scotland, and how for two solid acts, I wondered how the play was taking.  And then, just when I had begun to despair, I heard a murmuring titter, which a few seconds later broke out into a real laugh, and before I had said another dozen lines, the whole house was in an uproarious tumult like some mighty freshet that comes down when the ice floes break.  “Again in France I remember the little ripple of laughter that greeted the opening scenes, and that permeated the entire play in which I was appearing and how I longed to get up and shake the audience into a hearty guffaw.  “THRILL OF APPRECIATION”  “But on your stage last night and again tonight I had scarcely entered that I felt the magnetic thrill of appreciation between audience and actor that is such a powerful incentive to his best effort.  If I responded it is due to the sympathy of the audience and the wonderful acoustics of your house.  “When I spoke on the opening night, I referred to the splendid acoustic properties of your new theatre and the opinion I’d first expressed has been more than confirmed this evening.  I know of no theatre on this continent where the acoustical properties are better and the relief to the actor caused by such a condition is inestimable.  The delicate touches of light and shade need not be strained and no actor may ask for more than an appreciative audience and a house where even the smallest whisper can be heard in the furthest seats.”  “I don’t yet know which I love best, your wonderful theater or your wonderful city.”  Said Miss Marie Maddern, who takes the part of Marsinah with such great skill and lightness of impersonation “I have only seen one quarter of your picturesque city, but I cannot believe that the parts I have not yet seen are more beautiful.”  Miss Maddern was a niece of Mrs. Fiske, comes of dramatic stock and her clever impersonation shows that she is capable of greater things.  The sprightly vivacity of the beggar’s daughter, her girlish playfulness in the scene with the old nurse and her intense devotion for her father, gave Miss Maddern every opportunity in the expression of her dramatic Art and of these opportunities she made the utmost use.  Nothing could have been more charming than her merry bi-play with her spinning wools, while in her scenes with her father she gave evidence of a reserve force that made the audience wish she was presenting a deeper part.  “YOUR SPLENDID THEATRE”  “Conjure up all the best adjectives in your vocabulary and then search the dictionary for a few more and you will have my really truly opinion of your splendid theatre,” said Miss Maddern.  “Unfortunately for your newspaper I cannot compare this theater with all the world famous playhouses, but at least you can say that I have played in no better and certainly not in one where the audience was so appreciative of our parts.  “Yes, it is three years ago next April since I first appeared as the singer before the curtain in Kismet and I love the part I have to play,” said Mr. Leeman last night.  “It is like getting back to the Garrick where I first appeared in the play to sing in Victoria and I can imagine no better occupation than to be a Victorian.  For surely to live in Victoria is an occupation as well as an education.  I am a little doubtful as to what the true occupation of so many fellow countrymen must be, but I’m sure they must spend a large amount of their time at golf for today — but that is another story.”  From principle to chorus, from the premiere danseuse to the humblest supernumerary the word of praise is the same.  “You’re theatre is splendid and what we have seen a Victoria we love and we mean to stretch our capacity of affection to the breaking point while we are here, for there is not the slightest shadow of a doubt that we will return.  We would be behind too many” — but the poor tired interviewer fled.
1914-01-01ColonistRoyal Theatre“Fine attraction at Royal Victoria, ‘Bunty Pulls the Strings'”
1914-01-03ColonistRoyal Theatre“Bunty Proved a Delightful Comedy”
1914-01-08ColonistRoyal Theatre“To present comic opera – The Gondoliers” Photo of players and article.
1914-01-09TimesRoyal TheatrePhoto of cast of “The Gondoliers.” on stage at the Royal.
1914-01-09ColonistHudsons Bay Store  terra cottaHudson’s Bay Store Architect Arrives.  Mr. J.C.B. Horwood Now in Consultation With Mr. Burbidge Regarding Letting of Contract for Big Building.  With the arrival in town yesterday of Mr. J.C.B. Horwood, architect for the Hudson’s Bay Company, considerable interest in the letting of the contract for the great block the company proposes to erect on Douglas Street, on the site now being excavated. Mr. Horwood came straight from Toronto, and together with Mr. H.E. Burbidge, the chief stores commissioner of the company, will consider the various bids submitted by the contractors. While it is impossible to say on what date the contract will be let it was conceded by company officials that the next few days would decide the matter.  Mr. Horwood was in close consultation with Mr. Burbidge all day, together with several other officials interested in the considerations of the tenders. He expects to remain here for several days. In the course of the day he inspected the site of the new building and expressed his satisfaction with the excavation work.   Messrs. Luney Brothers are hard at work completing this necessary preliminary and while they still have some work to do, the contract is practically fulfilled, and it will be possible to make and immediate start upon construction as soon as the contract is let, assuming that the same takes place within the next few days, as is generally expected.  A large number of contractors have submitted tenders for the work, and it is understood that the competition will work our pretty close.
1914-01-10ColonistRoyal Theatre“Mr William Raymond, Manager of Royal Takes New Position”  Guide the Royal through the construction and opening phases and then moved on.
1914-01-10ColonistRoyal Theatre“Gondoliers Score a Fine Success”  First Gilbert and Sullivan at the Royal.
1914-01-11ColonistRoyal Theater“Pavlowa to Appear at Royal Victoria”
1914-01-11Colonistroyal TheatreFull page of attractions to come to Royal Theatre – Pavlowa and opera.
1914-01-11ColonistRoyal Theatre“Lively Booking is on for Pavlowa” Ballet
1914-01-13ColonistRoyal Theatre“Re-elected President of Theatre Company. Mr Simon Leiser Again Honoured by Shareholders of the Royal Victoria Opera House.” Announce Clifford Denham as the new manager.
1914-01-14ColonistSonghees Band“The Songhees and Their Wealth” Photos of houses on reserve lands. Long article. 
1914-01-15ColonistRoyal Theatre“Pavlowa Tonight” Ballet Company
1914-01-17ColonistJohnson Street Bridge“Early Consideration of Bridge Project.”
1914-01-18ColonistHistoric barsDaily Colonist January 18, 1914  Boomerang A Thing of the Past  Popular Place of Assembly Will Be Blotted out, According to Present Plans  Some Recollections  Another of Victoria’s historic landmarks, the Boomerang Inn, will be but a memory in a short time. The proprietess, who has been identified with the establishment for the last few years, has auctioned its furniture and, if plans under consideration are carried through, the “Inn” as it appeared to old-timers, will be completely blotted out. There are few residents have called this city their home for long who will not regret to hear of the approaching end of the quaint little hostelry, situated back of the Court House in the heart of the block bounded by Bastion, Langley and Yates Streets.  Mr. Edgar Fawcett, one of the cities ablest recorders of incidents of the early days, in a letter to The Colonist some months ago gave some interesting recollections of pioneer associations with “The Bommerang.” He recalled it being opened by Mr. Ben Griffin in 1858 and emphasized his popularity. He says, in this connection “In the early 60s there was an influx of Englishmen, who were supposed to have left home for the Cariboo Gold Fields but who, on arrival, decided that it was too far to go and took up their quarters at Ben Griffin’s Boomerang.”  Mr. Fawcett refers to the ability of the many young men who live there in amateur dramatics and tells of various performances which they successfully staged. He also says: “It was at the Boomerang that I saw for the first time ale barrels with grass growing on the top, which was supposed to keep the ale cool.” Continuing, Mr. Fawcett observes: “many of the patrons of this popular place where, as I have already stated, professional men, lawyers, some of whom were afterwards judges of the Supreme and County Courts. Messrs. McCreight, Wood, Walkem and Courtnay: also of the members of the dramatic club I can remember Messrs.Arthur Keast, W.J. Collingham, Godfrey Brown, Lumfey Franklin, Charles Clarke, C.B. Tenneil, Stanhope Farwell, H.C. Courtnay and Josiah Barnett.”
1914-01-18ColonistRoyal TheatreFull page on the Opera Company  – a repertory group – list five different operas in five days.
1914-01-18ColonistOgden BreakwaterFull page article and photos of Albert Head quarry getting materials for breakwater.
1914-01-18ColonistRoyal Theatre“Quinlan Co. to Arrive Today” Arrival of opera company.
1914-01-20ColonistRoyal TheatreAlmost a full page of articles and photo regarding the opera company at the Royal.
1914-01-22ColonistRoyal Theatre“Felice Lyne is Great Soprano” Also related story January 21, 1914, p 1
1914-01-22ColonistRoyal Theater “The Glad Eye is Coming Tomorrow”
1914-01-22ColonistJohnson Street bridge“Bridge Project Comes Before New Council”
1914-01-24ColonistHudson’s Bay StoreCouncil to Remove Building Restriction.  Height Limit for Reinforced Concrete Buildings is Increased at Request of Hudson’s Bay Company  Recent amendments to the building by-law, providing for the regulation of reinforced concrete structures, will not remain long n force. Following the application of the Hudson’s Bay Company  for a permit for the new department store structure to be erected on Douglas Street, between Herald and Fisgard Streets, the Council, at Monday night’s meeting, will pass an amendment to the building regulations permitting a greater height for reinforced structures.  The Hudson’s Bay Company has had plans for an eight story reinforced concrete structure prepared, the architects having been at work on these for some months. In December, the Council made changes n the by-law, whereby the height of buildings was restricted as follows: steel frame, 130 feet; reinforced concrete, 100 feet; brick or stone, 80 feet. While it is the intention of the Hudson’s Bay Company to at first erect but a four-story structure, the plans cal for an eight-story building, and the first structure will be built with the idea of later adding the additional storeys. But the structure will, when completed, be 128 feet in height, or in excess of the present limit permitted for reinforced buildings.  Limited to Ten Stories  after hearing what Mr. Pratt, local agent of the company, had to say, the streets committee of the Council yesterday decided that the by-law should be amended, making the limit in the height of reinforced and steel building the same, namely, 130 feet. All structures are already limited to ten storeys.  Mr Pratt pointed out the department stores are in a class by themselves. While for a hotel or ordinary office structure a limit of ten storeys and 100 feet in height might be quite reasonable, in the case of a department store covering such a large area, as the proposed building of the Hudson’s Bay Company, the storeys must be of greater height to permit of needed ventilation and light. He also stated that the plans show that exceptional care is being paid to strength in construction , exceeding what is generally adopted by a large margin.  Building inspector Northcott stated that in most other cities the limits fixed are the same for either steel frame of reinforced concrete. In Toronto the limit is 130 feet, in Los Angles, 150 feet, in Vancouver, 130 feet and in San Francisco 102 feet for reinforced concrete but with no limit for steel frame structures , constructed under certain conditions.  The committee was unanimous in it’s decision that the bylaw should be amended to make the limit 130 feet for both steel frame and reinforced concrete buildings.
1914-01-24ColonistBay Street Armoury“New drill hall to be very modern”
1914-01-24Times ColonistHeritage designation – VictoriaHeritage designation proposed for Banfield home  Carolyn Heiman, Times ColonistPublished: Monday, May 15, 2006  A bungalow built in 1909 for one of the early printers at both The Colonist and The Times, who went on to become a city alderman and scion of the Victoria West community, is being considered for heritage designation.  The Edwardian classical revival bungalow at 402 Skinner Rd., which has a front verandah with chambered wood columns, is singled out as being historically significant for both its architecture and being the home of Charles Frederick Banfield and his wife, Effie Maud.  In a written report to Victoria council, Steve Barber, city heritage planner, called the house “typical of homes built by the working classes during Victoria’s pre-World War I development boom.”  Banfield was born in Saanich in 1877. Following a printing apprenticeship, he was employed by a series of printers, including The Colonist in 1898 and later the Victoria Daily Times.  In 1924, he was appointed King’s Printer. He retired in 1946 at age 69.  Banfield was the founder and president of the Fernwood Athletic Association, one of the founders of the Gorge Vale Golf Course, and served as president of the gun club. His commitment to developing field sports, shooting and golf in the city led to the creation of public open space. It was for these reasons Banfield Park was named in his honour in 1948.  He was active in St. Saviour’s Anglican Church and served as a Victoria city alderman from 1948 to 1950. He died in 1959 at 82.  Homes designated as heritage by Victoria can be eligible for maintenance grants but have restrictions placed on them as to how they can be developed.  A public hearing on the proposed designation will likely be scheduled for June 8. © Times Colonist (Victoria) 2006
1914-01-25ColonistRoyal TheatreFull page of coming attractions to the Royal.
1914-01-27ColonistMcPherson TheatrePantages – McPherson Theatre – photo of steelwork partially erected.
1914-01-27ColonistScott Building“Scott Block to open next week”. Robert Scott, Pacific constrcution, W.L. Hargraves, Architect.
1914-01-27ColonistJohnson Street Bridge“Whole Council will Conduct Negotiations”.   Johnson St Bridge.
1914-01-28ColonistRoyal TheatreAnother Concert by the Arion Club. Performance at the Royal.
1914-01-29ColonistJohnson Street Bridge“City Preparing to Commence Work Soon.” Johnson St Bridge and other works.
1914-01-31TimesNew Building“Swift Canadian Open New Plant.” Corner of Store and Telegraph (Swift)  Street
1914-02-03ColonistRoyal Theatre“Artistry Marks Opening Concert” Victoria Symphony Orchestra – first performance at the Royal.
1914-02-03ColonistSewersDaily Colonist, February 3, 1914.  Joint Sewer Works.  Sir Richard McBride brought down an Act ratifying an agreement between the City of Victoria and the Municipality of  Esquimalt respecting the construction and maintenance of a joint sewer. He said that the measure affected the health of a large number of people in northwest Victoria and southeast Esquimalt, and that the sewer in question would be built by Victoria to the satisfaction of the engineer of Esquimalt, which municipality would pay a portion of the cost and maintenance.
1914-02-05ColonistRoyal Theatre“Gifted Tenor Sings With Great Charm”. John McCormack?
1914-02-07ColonistVictoria libraryDaily Colonist, February 7, 1914.  Library Returns —  The circulation figures issued by the public library for the past month show that the total has been 19,338 as against 10,943 for the same month last year. Of this total 2822 volumes were borrowed by juveniles. The daily average of books works out at 743.73. Ms. Stewart announces that 337 new books have been added since the beginning of the year, and that 514 new members have been enrolled, including 126 children. A record taken of the numbers who use a reading and reference rooms shows at 15,433 attended on weekdays and 2839 on Sundays.
1914-02-07ColonistVictoraiDaily Colonist, February 7, 1914. Stricter Regulations — Owing to complaints which have daily be made to the police authorities concerning the practice of youthful cyclists hanging onto motorcars, and of boys roller skating and playing games on the paved streets, action will be taken by the City Council. While the members of the Council are indisposed to stop altogether roller skating on the sidewalks and payments, hockey and other games will be prohibited; and also the practice of hanging on to motorcars. These steps will be very much in the interests of the youngsters. The Streets Bylaw will be amended to cover these points.
1914-02-07ColonistStreet Names VictoriaDaily Colonist, February 7, 1914.  Street Names —  At yesterday’s meeting of the Street Committee of the City Council, Assistant Engineer Foreman also called attention to the fact that as the city is now preparing a new map, several streets, the names of which are similar, should be renamed. He submitted a list of streets as follows: Regent Street and Regent Place; Hulton Street and Haultain Street; James Street (Victoria West) and James Street (James Bay); Andrew Street and St. Andrews Street; Park Lane, Park Boulevard and Park Road; Richmond Avenue South and Richmond Avenue; Selkirk Road and Selkirk Avenue; Clover Lane and Clover Street; Oliver Street and Olive Street; Cross Road and Cross Street. Alderman Cuthbert urged that no changes be made at present but, as the city must sooner or later undertake the preparation of an official map, it would be wise to prepare for the latter work now and later, when the map is prepared, make a thorough revision of all street names. The matter will be dealt with by a committee composed of Alderman Todd, Porter, Cuthbert and the City Engineer.
1914-02-07ColonistJohnson Street Bridge“Clearing Ground on Bridge Controversy”
1914-02-12ColonistYoung Building CamosunDaily Colonist, February 12, 1914.  Normal School Ceremony  Tomorrow morning at 11 o’clock His Honor Lieutenant Governor Paterson will lay the foundation stone of the new Normal School on the corner of Lansdowne and Richmond roads. The list of invitations issued bears witness to the importance of the event in the annuals of education in this Province. The Premier, the Minister of Education, with other Members of the Cabinet, the Mayor, the Reeves and Counselors of Victoria and the other municipalities adjoining, the different School Boards are all expected to be present, and special arrangements have been made for the presence of the teachers of the public schools in the neighborhood.
1914-02-14ColonistYoung Building CamosunDaily Colonist February 14 1914.  Historic Ceremony at Normal School.  Cornerstone of New Provincial Building Laid by His Honor Lieut. Governor Paterson  Description of Structure.  The cornerstone of the new Normal School was late yesterday by His Honor Lieut. Governor Paterson, in the presence of the Minister of Education and a distinguished gathering which included Hon. Thomas Taylor, Hon. D. M. Eberts, K. C., Mayor Stewart, of Victoria, the Reeve of South Saanich, and many Members of the Provincial Legislature.  The weather was propitious and the large number of ladies and others who made the journey out to mount Tolmie were well rewarded by the opportunity of inspecting the first floor of the building, noting the beautiful outlook over Victoria, is Esquimalt and Oak Bay, and the waters of the Gulf, and listening to the forecasts of its immense usefulness to the Province in the years to come, made by the various speakers.  Dr. Young’s Address.  His Honor on arrival was welcomed by the National Anthem, played by the band of the 88th Fusiliers, and after a prayer by the Bishop of Columbia, Dr. Young spoke of the importance of the present location in view of the demand for such education which would supplement of the teaching to be obtained at the University and other secondary schools. “We hope,” he continued, “to be able to give our boys and girls the opportunity of finding out in what direction their abilities lie; and this the manual training and technical classes should materially aid in doing.”  Complaint had been made that schools only fitted pupils for professions. It is now hoped to alter that and this Normal School training would be the chief agent in doing so. The Government, following up a most excellent report made by Mr. G. Dean on technical education, hoped to extend this form of teaching throughout the Province.  Dr. Young acknowledged the great help which is department invariably received from the Hon., the Minister of Public Works, and said that they felt they were fortunate in having secured as architect Mr. Gillam, a gentleman of wide experience in both the Old Country and in British Columbia, who suggestions had been most valuable.  “Messrs. Luney Brothers are so well known,” continued Dr. Young, “that we can rest assured that this building will be one more erected by them which will stand as an example of what such a building should be.”  “Well and Truly Laid.”  The silver trowel and mallet were then presented to His Honor by Mr. Gillam and Mr. Walter Luney, the contractor, and amid a burst of music from the band the stone was declared “well and truly laid.”  His Honor the Lieut. Governor, in congratulating the people of the Province on the provision made for the training of their children and their children’s teachers sounded a note of warning as to the long hours devoted to pure brainwork by the younger pupil in their schools. He was satisfied in his own mind that they were too long and commanded a reduction to the authorities. What they required was that the young men of the Province should be brought up so that they are capable of taking old and joining in the development and marketing of the natural resources of the country.  Hon. Mr. Eberts, Speaker of the House and Member for the Saanich Division, recalled the failure some years ago to obtain a Normal School, but bearing in mind the enormous progress made since that time and the increased demand, he believed they might be glad they had failed. He expressed the hearty thanks of himself, his constituency and the Province at large to the Minister of Education for his daring initiative in all that led to improved education.  Hon. Thomas Taylor.  Hon. Mr. Taylor drew attention to the fact that almost the whole of the material used in the construction of the school was obtained from within the Province. They had even changed the specifications for terra-cotta to Denman Island stone at an added cost of $27,000, when they found that the terra-cotta would have had to come from the other side of the line. It was only a few years ago that he had taken part in a similar ceremony at Vancouver; and it was significant of the rapid progress the Province was making that, although $100,000 was not sufficient to provide all the accommodation for the Normal School been being built, now they are spending approximately 4 times that some here.  The ceremony was been witnessed by a large group of visitors, which included His Lordship Bishop McDonald, the Rev. Dr. Campbell, Mr. G Dean, assistant superintendent of education; Mr. M Manson, M. P. P. Mr. H F W Behnsen, On M. P. P.; Mr. F Davie, M. P. P., Mr. M. P. Manson, M. P. P.; Mr. J. C. G. Wood, M. P. P. The Mayor of Victoria, alderman Dilworth, McNeil, McCandless,, Sergeant, Mr. George J and Mrs. Jenkins of the School Board for the city; Mr. G McGregor, Reeve of Saanich; Mr. Sidney Williams, Saanich Counselor; Mr. J. H. McGregor and Mr. J Brown, Oak Bay Counselors; His Honor Judge Lampman, chairman of the Oak Bay School Board; Mr. Percy James, Mr. W Campbell and Mr. JE may, of the Saanich School Board; Mr. Leonard Tate and Lieut. Mulcahey of the Esquimalt School Board, Mr. Munro Miller, and many teachers and headmasters of the city and municipal schools.  The Building.  The building stands high, facing south on sloping ground which runs down to the Lansdowne Road, where the main entrance gates will be; the turf dotted here and there with oak trees, from one of which (the only one cut down, as Mr. Gillam, the architect pointed out) the handles of the mallet and trowel, with which the ceremony was performed, were made. The age of this tree was estimated at 300 years.  Mr. W. F. C. Gillam, the architect, describing the materials used, stated that the concrete was made from rock blasted from the site; the gray sandstone was all from Denman Island, and all the floors of auditorium and classrooms were of Douglas fir, glued to the concrete with mastic. The total length of the building is 300 feet, and it contains 76 rooms on its three floors. It is fireproof throughout, and special stress is laid on the perfection of its lighting and ventilation. The music rooms are all to be sound proof.  On the lowest floor are to be found the plunge baths, 20’ x 7’, 6 inches and 6 feet deep, with dressing rooms and shower baths attached, adhered may be said that throughout the building the accommodation is duplicated for male and female students; the gymnasium, 73’ x 36’, is floored with maple planks, and there are recreation rooms for the students, the size metal and wood workshops, luncheon rooms, fireproof vaults and janitor’s workshop.  Mounting to the main floor the auditorium runs up to story and will seat 760. It is 73 feet long and one that special features is the accommodation provided for the display of cinematograph films, which are expected to be used more and more in the future in teaching. Stage at one end has ante rooms attached and the six doors will empty the whole hall in a few seconds.  The Library.  On the same floor are rooms for a library, for the secretary and committee, besides the four big classrooms, measuring 32’ x 20’ each. For more of these will be found on the top floor, where, in the left wing is placed a complete set of rooms, representing the interior of an ordinary house. In these the girls will be taught as science of housekeeping down to the smallest detail, and one or two pupils will be allowed to reside with the Mistress so as to carry out everything that they will have to do when they marry and have homes of their own, if their husbands are to be comfortable. The cooking in the building will be done by a system of air gas, which can also be used in case of emergency as a lighting agent.  The slates for the roof are green Westmoreland, and the central tower which will carry a four-sided clock, will also be used as the main ventilating shaft for the whole building. The foundations are all on the solid rock, through which, below the building a 15 foot trench has been made to hold all the pipes, mains and so on. In blasting down strata of mica, pyrites and copper were found.
1914-02-25ColonistMarine Hospital Victoria Daily Colonist, February 25, 1914.  Fire Ends Career of Old Institution.  Marine Hospital Destroyed Yesterday  Ancient Landmark of City  Built under Terms of Confederation. In the destruction yesterday of the Marine Hospital, on the former Indian reserve, an old landmark of the city disappeared. It was an inglorious end that came to the institution, for 40 years a prominent structure in the city, but for some years past it had ceased to be utilized for the work for which it was erected, and latterly it had become a menace of the standpoint of health and a refuge for undesirables, who have been using it for living quarters. The work of destruction commenced on Saturday, when a number of old shacks nearby the hospital were destroyed. It was continued yesterday morning, Chief of Police Langley and Fire Chief Davis being the chief participants in the last rights of the old time institution. Cotton waste, liberally soaked in coal oil, started the blaze, which for several hours wrapped the old building in a sheet of flame. It was testimony to the solid construction of the building that the work of the flames was resisted for so long. The blaze will, however, prove a blessing in that one of the most insanitary spots in the city has been wiped out. The sanitary conditions, as a result of the large number of tramps who have infested the place, were little short of appalling. The flames bursting from the roof of the building attracted the attention of many persons in the city, and one excited individual, not knowing that the outbreak of the fire had been planned, sent in an alarm of fire from the corner of Yates and Wharf Street. He apparently failed to figure out just how the fire apparatus, having arrived at that point, was to be sent across the Arm to the burning building. The old Marine Hospital was erected in the early 70s. In fact, its erection was stipulated in the act whereby British Columbia entered Confederation on July 1, 1871. In the same locality there had been erected and used prior to that date, the old hospital and insane asylum of colonial days, Dr. Jackson being hospital superintendent of the former for years. When the old structure ceased to be used as a hospital, the patients were removed to the French Hospital, at the head of Pandora Avenue, and, later, the amalgamation of the old Royal and French Hospitals led to the establishment of the Royal Jubilee Hospital. The old asylum was done away with, and the patient’s afterwards removed to the New Westminster Asylum. During the war in South Africa, the Marine Hospital destroyed yesterday, served as a barracks for the contingent was sent to the front. To the seafaring men who have for years sailed from this port the Marine Hospital was an institution of importance. It served the needs of the marine population, exclusive of the naval forces, and many a storm-tossed mariner who arrived at this port was giving shelter there until he could make other arrangements for his future.
1914-03-01ColonistTheatres in VictoriaDaily Colonist, March 1, 1914.  Empress Theatre Closes Its Doors.  Messrs. Sullivan and Considine Cease Connection with Old Time Amusement Place- Final Show Held Last Night.  With the completion of the performance last evening at the Empress Theatre, the connection of Messrs. Sullivan and Considine with the theatrical business in Victoria is ended. The well-known amusement purveyors have closed out their interests here after a connection with the city dating back several years.  Since 1899, when the old Savoy Theatre was opened by Messrs. McDonald and Jackson, the premises at one of the most prominent points on Government Street has been a favorite amusement place. His career has been a varied one. First, one of the chief gambling premises on the Pacific Coast, it was typical of the time when Victoria could be said to have been a “wide-open” town. From May 22, 1899, when the Savoy Theatre, bar and gambling hall, was opened, until the summer of 1906, the place was a gathering point for the sporting fraternity of the Pacific Coast, and gambling in all forms ran day and night without let or hindrance. Since 1906, when Messrs. Sullivan and Considine took charge and made the premises into a vaudeville theatre, the place has been one of the chief legitimate amusement places in the city.  Before Messrs. McDonald and Jackson took over the building, only the portion fronting on government Street was of brick, the rear portion being of lumber. In those days the Delmonica Hotel occupied the site. After the Savoy was closed and the premises taken over by Messrs. Sullivan and Considine, it was transformed into the Grand Theatre. In 1910 the name was changed to the Empress Theatre.  (Hendersons Directory for the City of Victoria, 1914, lists the Empress Theatre as being a moving picture house. H McIntyre, manager, located at 1407 Government Street. Theatre re-opened on March 6, 1914, under new management.).
1914-03-01ColonistTheatre in VictoriaEmpress Theatre Closes its Doors  Messrs. Sullivan and Considine Cease Connection With Old Time Amusement Place – Final Show Held Last Night.  With the completion of the performance last evening at the Empress Theatre, the connection of Messrs. Sullivan and Considine with the theatre business in Victoria is ended. The well-known amusement purveyors have closed out their interests here after a connection with this city dating bak several years.  Since 1899, when the old Savoy Theatre was opened by Messrs. McDonald and Jackson, the premises at one of the most prominent points on Government Street has been a favourite amusement place. Its career has been a varied one. First, one of the chief gambling premises on the Pacific Coast, it was typical of the time when Victoria could be said to have been a ‘wide-open’ town. From May 22, 1899, when the Savoy Theatre, bar and gambling hall was opened until the summer of 1906, the place was a gathering point for the sporting fraternity of the Pacific Coast and gambling in all forms ran day and night without let or hindrance. Since 1906, when Messrs. Sullivan and Considine took charge and made the premises into a vaudeville theatre, the place has been one of the chief legitimate amusement places in the city.  Before Messrs. McDonald & Jackson took over the building only the portion fronting on Government Street was of brick, the rear portion being of lumber. In those days the Delmonica Hotel occupied the site. After the Savoy was closed and the premises taken over by Messrs. Sullivan & Considine, it was transformed into the Grand Theatre. In 1910 the name was changed to the Empress Theatre.      
1914-03-03ColonistThieves in VictoriaDaily Colonist, March 3, 1914.  DARING MOTOR THIEVES.  Break into Private Garages and Purloin Cars  Exciting Chase after Fugitives.  More daring is being shown by motor car thieves, who, for the past month or two, have been giving the police authorities and motor owners occasion for much worry. On many occasions valuable cars have been stolen, and, after being used, have been found abandoned at various points in the outskirts of the city.  Of late the thieves have taken to breaking into private garages and purloining cars. On Saturday evening the car of Mr. W. C. Moresby was stolen from his garage, at the corner of Trutch and Richardson streets. About the same time Dr. Sterling’s car was stolen. The latter was found Sunday morning by Police Sgt. Harper near the corner of Kings Road and Douglas Street. It had been driven through a fence and then abandoned. The forward part of the machine was so badly damaged that the car had to be towed back to the garage. Dr. Sterling did not know his car had been stolen until notified that it had been found in a damaged condition.  Mr. Moresby’s car was stolen between 11 o’clock and midnight on Saturday night. Mr. Moresby, when coming home, notice that the doors of the garage were open. He investigated and discovered that the car was missing. He notified the police, but no trace of the machine was discovered until nearly 4 o’clock on Sunday morning, when the driver of a hire machine reported that he had passed the car bearing the number of Mr. Moresby’s machine on the Craigflower Road, traveling away from the city. Mr. Moresby was communicated with, and in a hired car he set out with Police Sgt. Harper on a chase after the missing machine.  They were outward bound on Catherine Street, near the Victoria West fire hall, when the stolen car, returning to the city, passed them at a high rate of speed. The pursuing car wheeled about and started after the other. Apparently the occupants of Mr. Moresby’s car had noticed the officer’s buttons as the cars passed. They ran ahead some distance, stopped the stolen car about 6 inches from a telephone pole and dismounted, leaving the car on the street and taking to the brush on the old Indian Reserve. Other policemen were immediately requisitioned, but a search failed to locate the thieves, of whom there were at least two. It was raining heavily at the time and in the darkness the fugitives got away.  On Sunday evening Mr. H. Chandler, Fairfield Road, reported to the police that someone had filed through the staples holding the bolt on his garage, evidently intending to return later in the evening and take out his car. A watch was set in the garage, but apparently the thief or thieves became alarmed and did not return.
1914-03-05Colonist Daily Colonist, March 5, 1914.  The crow has won the day in Oak Bay. No more will the crack of guns break the still air in that delightful municipality and a dead crow bear testimony to the skill of the shooter. Licenses to shoot crows will no longer be issued.
1914-03-18ColonistRoyal Theatre Motion picturesMoving Pictures at the Royal Theatre  Contract Closed With Vancouver Firm for a Period of Three Years – Finest Films in World to be Shown.  One of the most interesting and important announcements affecting the theatre-going public for a long time was made yesterday, to the effect that the management of the Royal Theatre had closed a contract with Messrs. J.K. Baillie and Phillip M. Jullien, of Vancouver, for a term of three years , whereby moving pictures of the highest class will be given on all occasions when the great playhouse is not otherwise engaged by the booking companies.  Mr. Baillie, in an interview with the Colonist yesterday, explained that it was hoped to give the initial picture show in about two weeks’ time. He said: “We can promise the people of Victoria the very finest films to be obtained throughout the world, and at popular prices. When it is considered that such an attraction will be offered in one of the finest theatres in Western America, with its many fine facilities for the comfort and convenience of patrons not found in any picture show house on the continent, we feel that not only will the public be quick to respond with generous patronage to our offering, but that the success of the venture is assured from the start.  “We intend putting in the very finest moving picture equipment, the latest models and screens, and we have made every arrangement to secure the finest and best films that are to be obtained from the great picture-play producing companies both in America and Europe.  Continuous Performances  “We shall run continuous performances commencing at 2 p.m. right through to 11 p.m., and e are making every arrangement to have the complete staff service of the theatre placed at our disposal so that we shall be able to offer patrons attractions of environment which in themselves will prove a magnet.”  It may be added that in the past half-dozen years the moving picture business in Victoria has shown tremendous expansion. As elsewhere throughout the world, this form of amusement has ‘caught on’ immensely with the public and, as the film makers are constantly achieving new surprises and greater successes, the very best people are among the patrons of such houses.  It is taken as a foregone conclusion that the innovation proposed at the Royal Victoria will prove an immediate and striking success. Not only is the reputation of Messrs. Baillie and Jullien is in itself a guarantee of the high-class character of the photo-plays and scenes which will be offered, but the theatre, being new and splendidly equipped, will no doubt draw large patronage.
1914-03-18ColonistBrick and manufacturingNew Pottery Works ready to Operate  Reconstructed Plant of B.C. Pottery Company on Florence Road About to Resume Business.  Announcement was made yesterday that early next week the new works and plant of the B.C. Potteries, Ltd., on Florence Road, Esquimalt district, replacing those destroyed by fire in September of last year, will commence operations.  This affords eloquent testimony of the faith of the company in the future of this section of the Province. To many concerns, fire wiping out the entire plant might easily have proved a crushing blow; but so firmly was the business established, and so great was the confidence of the directorate in the future developments of the country, that no time was lost in taking in hand the work of rehabilitation.  The old buildings have been replaced with structures of a more modern type, and in every way the company now finds itself in a superior position than formerly. The two main buildings which are corrugated iron – the drying room and the machinery buildings – are three stories in height, and built with an eye to commodiousness and convenience of internal arrangement. The works occupy …………..extent.  The very latest modern machinery for the making of their various products has been installed. There is a large engine for driving the machinery, and this is of 250 h.p. there are three boilers, each of 300 h.p. capacity; six mills, three wet and three dry, each of the latest design. When in full operation, the works give employment to about 80 men.  The company, which is one of the local pioneer industries of Victoria, makes a speciality of vitrified brick , flue lining, chimney pipe and partition tiles. Their market, which is constantly widening, not only embraces the whole of Vancouver Island, but Vancouver and all settled points in the Interior of the Province.
1914-03-18ColonistpicturesB.C. in Moving Pictures  Interesting Exhibition Yesterday at Dominion Theatre – Life of Province Shown in Colors.  How British Columbia is being advertised in the Old Country by means of motion pictures was shown for the first time to Victorians in the Dominion Theatre, Monday, where a special view was given for the benefit of those most directly interested in this undertaking.  Among the distinguished guests who took advantage of this opportunity of studying at first hand what is being done for the Province in the old land, were; His Honour, The Lieutenant Governor and Mrs. Paterson, Sir Richard McBride, Hon. W.J. Bowser, Hon. Price Ellison, Mr. W.E. Scott, Deputy Minister of Agriculture; Mr. J.J. Shallcross, president of the Board of Trade; Mr. H.A. Munn, Mr. R.E. Gosnel.  The pictures thrown on the screen at the Dominion Theatre are replicas of those taken last year by Mr. A. Sintzenich, of the famous Kinemacolor Company in London. They depicted the various industrial activities of the Province and set forth the varying conditions of life in a manner that goes far to set the seal of perfection upon this form of artistic achievement. The naturalness of the pictures and the conviction of their appeal were enhanced by the fact that in many cases the colour scheme had been preserved. In the opinion of everyone present the pictures represented the acme of cimematograph work, and it is safe to predict for them a popular reception where ever they are exhibited.  This display, which was given Monday, was arranged by Mr. Scott, Deputy Minister of Agriculture, who had a great deal to do with the taking of the pictures. His department, or rather the life work of his department, was somewhat fully depicted, and an opportunity of closely following the agricultural movement in the Province was accorded those present. It was Mr. Scott’s idea that a view of the pictures should be given here before they were exhibited in the East and in the United States, as is intended.  One of the most interesting films displayed dealt with the salmon fishing at Sooke, the various processes comprised within the business being faithfully portrayed.  Fruit growing in the Okanagan occupied a considerable portion of the exhibition. In this sphere of activity, as in the others, the utmost care was observed in setting forth every possible aspect of the industry.  In addition to the commercial aspects of the Provincial life, many attractive social affairs were portrayed. Pictures were shown of the features of Carnival Week and of the arrival of the New Zealand at Esquimalt. Various sporting events were also shown, such as a lacrosse game between New Westminster and Vancouver combinations, racing, and other attractions associated with the leading cities of the Province.  It may not be without interest to state that Mr. Sinzenich, who took the pictures, has since returned to London, where, doubtless, he will superintend their final preparations for exhibition purposes. Already some of the films have been exhibited in London, and in the last report of the  Hon. J.H. Turner, it was stated that they had met with a very marked success, not merely as motion pictures, but as a means of advertising the claims of British Columbia among the class of people likely to be impressed with benefit to themselves and to the Province at large.
1914-03-19ColonistTelephonesDaily Colonist, March 19, 1914.  Telephone Extension  — The first 1914 telephone directory has been issued by the B. C. Telephone Company, and is now in the hands of subscribers. There were 12,000 copies published, which Mr. H. C. Lane, the commercial manager, explains, means that there are now at least 11,000 telephones in use in Victoria and the districts immediately adjacent. In 1913 the company’s business increased to the extent of 19%. While there are no material alterations in the directory just from the press, if added size indicates that since November, when the last book was circulated, the growth has been at the same gratifying rate. There is only one change of note, Mr. Lane points out, namely, that the district exchanges have been arranged alphabetically. This, it is thought, will be a convenience to the company’s patrons.
1914-03-19ColonistHudson’s Bay BuildingWork on New Block  Superstructures of Hudson’s Bay Co.’s New Building Will Start in Few Days.  It is announced by Mr. John Hastie, manager of the B.C. Construction and Engineering Co., which has the contract for the erection of the Hudson’s Bay Company’s mammoth four-story concrete block at the corner of Douglas, Fisgard and Herald streets, that work on the superstructure will be in progress by the end of this or the beginning of next week.  Mr. Hastie states that the greater part of his company’s plant has been assembled, and that Mr. J. Neblach, who will have charge of the scene of operations, will begin installation of the “footings” in a few days.  For a short time there has been delay as a result of the difficulty of arranging for the excavation necessary for the huge oil tank, in which the fuel for the heating plant will be stored. The work of Luney Bros., on the general excavation has been completed. Word is expected from the architects on another point named in a short time. Meanwhile, however, the preliminary operations will be inaugurated and the building will be well in hand in a few weeks.
1914-03-25ColonistVictoria Theatres- motion picturesSecures Control of Picture Theatres  Victoria and Vancouver Theatres Taken Over by Mr. L.J. Quagliotti – Will Form the Nucleus of Larger Circuit.  As a result of negotiations recently completed two of the best known vaudeville and moving picture theatres of Victoria and Vancouver have passed under the control of Mr L.J. Quagliotti, proprietor of the Romano and Empress picture houses here. The two new houses are the Variety, located at the corner of Government and Cormorant Streets in this city, and the Colonial, corner of Dunsmuir and Granville Streets, Vancouver. It is Mr. Quagliotti’s intention to make these two houses the nucleus of a circuit which will ultimately embrace other centres. He has now in view houses in two other towns, but negotiations for the acquisition of these have not yet been consummated.  Both the Variety and Colonial theatres were financed and erected by the Kinemacolor Theatre Company and were opened for business not quite a year ago. Under the management of that concern the theatres did not prove a paying venture and passed to the control of other interests, who have been operating them up to the present. With the acquisition of the houses by Mr. Quagliotti the quality of performances will be improved especially the vaudeville acts, which have figured conspicuously on the programme. With his affiliations with the Vancouver house and the intended extension of the circuit it will be possible to secure vaudeville acts direct from what is known as the “big time” circuits, and, in consequence, a better quality of act will be possible here as is the case on the large vaudeville circuits of the South. Two of such acts will be secured weekly for each house.  Possession of the local and Vancouver houses was taken by Mr. Quagliotti on Monday. The lease of the Variety Theatre and site has yet about fourteen years to run. The land is owned by the Langley estate. The theatre, as well as the Colonial, in Vancouver, is modern in design, of first-class construction and in all respects the equal of the best type of motion picture theatres yet erected in either victoria or Vancouver.
1914-03-26ColonistVaudeville – Royal Victoria TheatreVaudeville on Monday  Splendid Programme Offered at Royal Victoria for Two Days From the Seattle Orpheum.  As an attraction which will please the numerous patrons of the Royal Victoria Theatre, on next Monday and Tuesday, and Tuesday matinee, the Orpheum show from the Orpheum Theatre, Seattle, will occupy the boards at the above theatre. An all-star vaudeville bill is promised. The Orpheum orchestra will also accompany the show.  As a feature of the attraction, Alice